Coffeeble 受读者支持。 当您通过我们网站上的链接购买时,我们可能会免费为您赚取会员佣金。 了解更多

7 最佳 咖啡秤: 评论和购买指南

咖啡秤是您可能很容易忘记的小工具。 但是,它与任何其他装备一样重要。 无论您喜欢哪种冲泡风格, 猜测 咖啡豆的量不会产生始终如一的完美咖啡。

但是是什么造就了一个伟大的咖啡规模? 您应该寻找任何关键功能吗? 我们将提供答案。 继续阅读我们的购买指南和今年的首选。

热门精选
Hario V60 滴漏式咖啡秤

Hario 滴水秤

V60 是一款规格齐全的咖啡秤,可测量到 0.1 克。 它是滴漏式咖啡和倾倒咖啡的理想选择,但该装置同样适用于浓缩咖啡或任何其他冲泡咖啡。 使用 Hario,您还可以获得日本的设计和工程。

如何为您的家庭或咖啡馆选择最佳的咖啡秤

打开你的研磨机,拿起一个过滤器和眼球,刚好可以装满咖啡粉。 咖啡师多年来一直在完善这项技术,但它就足够了吗?

加权测量 […] 确保每次冲泡咖啡时使用的咖啡量一致。 这可以帮助您确保每次都能品尝到美味的 [咖啡]。

查尔斯凯尔索,克莱夫咖啡

首先,量出咖啡豆或咖啡渣可以让您更好地控制咖啡冲泡过程。 您将快速确定多少咖啡足以让您恢复活力的 doppio 或有力的法式压榨机。

一个装有咖啡豆的容器,上面有我们最好的咖啡秤之一,用于冲泡咖啡

然后是实验。 例如,您可能会发现倾倒的咖啡粉比您习惯的咖啡粉更少。 使用秤,您可以在每个罐子中添加或减去几克,直到您达到完美倾倒的幸福——然后您知道如何每次都重复倾倒(1).

简而言之,出色的咖啡秤让您在追求以最佳方式冲泡咖啡时占据上风。 以下是您应该寻找的功能的快速概述。

准确性

当您尝试新咖啡豆或切换到不同的咖啡冲泡方法时,将咖啡豆测量到十分之一克有助于保持一致性。 更重要的是,体积测量不如公制加权测量(2).

公制使用千克和克; 一公斤是 2.2 磅或 35.27 盎司,一克是 0.035 盎司或 0.0022 磅。

公制允许您将微小的重量差异归零,而不必为小数和分数而烦恼。 这很重要,因为咖啡的体积和浓度会根据烘焙程度和咖啡豆的新鲜度而显着变化(3)。 也就是说,把你的咖啡豆放在密封的容器里 保持新鲜. 或者,如果您对在家烘焙咖啡豆感兴趣,这里有一些 您可以选择的好机器.

设计

新手咖啡爱好者可能会认为秤的设计仅次于其准确性。 这在一定程度上是对的。 但请记住,您的咖啡秤会在炎热潮湿的环境中使用一段时间,您可能很容易将水或咖啡洒在上面。

出于这个原因,最好选择防水的,或者至少是防水的咖啡秤。 从好的方面来说,大多数咖啡秤的设计都考虑到了这一点,并且可以承受一次溢出。 接下来,您应该考虑秤的足迹。

您的咖啡设备已经包括一台机器、一台研磨机和 各种各样的配件 如筛子、过滤器、 牛奶起泡剂, 和更多。 添加一个秤,您的咖啡师角落可能会变得局促。 这就是为什么您应该使用紧凑型模型的原因。

可移植性

便携性问题让我们回到了秤的紧凑性。 大型模拟秤在您的杠杆浓缩咖啡机旁边可能看起来很酷,但是当您不需要它时很难将它移开。

除了准确和紧凑之外,数字秤还应该具有时尚的外形。 最好的选择是选择不太高的电池供电型号。 理想情况下,如果您想随身携带咖啡冲泡套件,秤也应该适合您的厨房抽屉或背包。

额外的便利功能

自动关闭或计时器等额外方便的功能不会使秤更准确。 但是,它们有助于确保顺畅的冲泡体验并延长电池寿命。

带有触摸感应或电容按钮的型号通常比带有传统按下控件的型号更耐用。 咖啡渣细腻而细腻,因此很容易出现在常规按钮周围的角落和缝隙中。 触敏控件很少发生这种情况。

去皮功能不是额外功能,某些咖啡秤会自动启动它(4)。 这基本上将加权度量重置为零。 准确地说,去皮功能可以减去您的过滤器、杯子或玻璃水瓶的重量,只为您提供咖啡重量。

将过滤器或杯子放在秤上,然后按下去皮按钮。 一旦重量读数为 0,您就可以测量豆子了。

7 种最佳咖啡秤

为您自己的厨房购买咖啡秤或 给它 给你倒咖啡势利的朋友,你不会后悔的。

产品 详细信息 按键
我们的首选 Hario V60 滴漏式咖啡秤 Hario V60 滴水秤
  • 有用的功能:自动关闭,集成定时器
  • 尺寸:1.1” x 4.7” x 7.4”
  • 重量:9.6oz
亚马逊标志 在亚马逊上看到
预算挑选 Etekcity 咖啡秤 Etekcity 咖啡和厨房秤
  • 有用的功能:自动关闭功能
  • 尺寸:0.67” x 5.70” x 7.32”
  • 重量:7oz
亚马逊标志 在亚马逊上看到
物超所值 咖啡鳄鱼数字秤 咖啡鳄鱼数字秤
  • 有用的功能:自动关闭功能,集成定时器
  • 尺寸:1.97” x 6.02” x 8.98”
  • 重量:1lbs
亚马逊标志 在亚马逊上查看
Eravsow 数字手滴咖啡秤 Eravsow 数字手滴咖啡秤
  • 有用的功能:自动关闭功能,集成定时器
  • 尺寸:1.15” x 6.1” x 7.7”
  • 重量:10.6oz
亚马逊标志 在亚马逊上看到
金合欢珍珠 S 金合欢珍珠 S
  • 实用功能:集成定时器、流速定时器、高级应用模式
  • 尺寸:1.26” x 6.13” x 6.13”
  • 重量:1.3磅
亚马逊标志 在亚马逊上查看
Brewista 智能秤 II Brewista 智能秤 II
  • 有用的功能:集成定时器、6 种浓缩咖啡模式、可调节自动关闭
  • 尺寸:0.7” x 4.2” x 5”
  • :8盎司
亚马逊标志 在亚马逊上查看
更大的商品滋养数字秤 Greater Goods Nourish 数字咖啡秤
  • 有用的功能:集成定时器、6 种浓缩咖啡模式、可调节自动关闭
  • 尺寸:0.8” x 6” x 10”
  • 重量:1.1磅
亚马逊标志 在亚马逊上查看
Hario V60 滴水秤
我们的首选 Hario V60 滴漏式咖啡秤
  • 有用的功能:自动关闭,集成定时器
  • 尺寸:1.1” x 4.7” x 7.4”
  • 重量:9.6oz
Etekcity 咖啡和厨房秤
预算挑选 Etekcity 咖啡秤
  • 有用的功能:自动关闭功能
  • 尺寸:0.67” x 5.70” x 7.32”
  • 重量:7oz
咖啡鳄鱼数字秤
物超所值 咖啡鳄鱼数字秤
  • 有用的功能:自动关闭功能,集成定时器
  • 尺寸:1.97” x 6.02” x 8.98”
  • 重量:1lbs
Eravsow 数字手滴咖啡秤
Eravsow 数字手滴咖啡秤
  • 有用的功能:自动关闭功能,集成定时器
  • 尺寸:1.15” x 6.1” x 7.7”
  • 重量:10.6oz
金合欢珍珠 S
金合欢珍珠 S
  • 实用功能:集成定时器、流速定时器、高级应用模式
  • 尺寸:1.26” x 6.13” x 6.13”
  • 重量:1.3磅
Brewista 智能秤 II
Brewista 智能秤 II
  • 有用的功能:集成定时器、6 种浓缩咖啡模式、可调节自动关闭
  • 尺寸:0.7” x 4.2” x 5”
  • :8盎司
Greater Goods Nourish 数字咖啡秤
更大的商品滋养数字秤
  • 有用的功能:集成定时器、6 种浓缩咖啡模式、可调节自动关闭
  • 尺寸:0.8” x 6” x 10”
  • 重量:1.1磅

寻找最准确和便携的咖啡秤? 这是最终的纲要。

1. Hario V60 滴漏式咖啡秤 – 行业最爱和首选

“哈里奥”

产品参数

  • 有用的功能:自动关闭,集成内置定时器

  • 尺寸:1.1” x 4.7” x 7.4”
  • 重量:9.6oz
  • 材质:ABS树脂

吸引注意力的第一件事是纤薄而时尚的轮廓。 然而,V60 并不是这个列表中最小的咖啡秤——它的尺寸为 1.1 英寸 x 4.7 英寸 x 7.4 英寸。

我们审查的模型是全黑的,你也可以得到一个金属顶部的模型。 这应该使 Hario 具有普遍的审美吸引力。 但是,准确性和易用性才是 V60 的真正亮点。 它可以测量到 0.1g,并提供简单的触摸控制。

我们喜欢 Hario V60 滴水秤的原因在于其精美简单的设计……我们喜欢这款秤的光滑黑色哑光饰面和 [...] 显示屏上的流线型设计。

一线设备

还有一个集成计时器,可让您控制手动冲泡过程。 如果无人看管,Hario 会在五分钟内自动关闭,但当您使用内置计时器时此选项会取消。 另一个亮点是易于阅读的大型 LCD 显示屏。

两节 AAA 电池为 V60 供电,它们包含在包装中。 然而,日本的工程和顶级规格并不便宜,这意味着这个规模有一个较高的价格点。

最适合: 鉴赏家需要无与伦比的准确性。 它将使您的酿造更上一层楼。

2. Etekcity 咖啡秤  - 预算选择

“Etekcity”规模

产品参数

  • 有用的功能:自动关闭功能

  • 尺寸:0.67” x 5.70” x 7.32”
  • 重量:7oz
  • 材质:304不锈钢

获得一个好的咖啡秤并不意味着你需要花一大笔钱,Etekcity 可以证明这一点。 更重要的是,这个模型的外观和感觉都很优质。 此外,它还提供更昂贵单位的某些功能。

首先,Etekcity 咖啡和厨房秤具有不锈钢顶部、大型背光显示屏和层压按钮。 这使得这款数字厨房秤更耐用,并增加了其整体美感。 外形纤薄,秤尺寸为 0.67” x 5.70” x 7.32”,重 7 盎司。 这使它成为最紧凑的单元之一,但功能呢?

Etekcity 咖啡和厨房秤旨在为您提供英制和公制系统的精确测量,并且可以轻松在两者之间切换。 最大重量容量为 11 磅(5 千克或 176 盎司),秤以 1 克(0.035 盎司)为增量。

另一方面,推荐的最小测量值有 3g 到 5g 的限制。 这并不意味着秤不能测量到 3g 以下,只是说它可能在更大的体积下更准确。 这不应该引起关注,因为无论如何您都会测量最小重量或高于最小重量的咖啡豆。 该秤带有两节预先安装的 AAA 电池。

最适合: 初学者正在寻找一款出色的入门级咖啡和厨房秤,或者如果您手头拮据但又不想在规格上妥协。

3. 咖啡鳄鱼数字秤 –最佳性价比

“咖啡

产品参数

  • 有用的功能:自动关机功能,集成内置定时器

  • 尺寸:1.97” x 6.02” x 8.98”
  • 重量:1lbs
  • 材质:塑料/橡胶垫

Coffee Gator 数字秤具有所有花里胡哨的功能,可以让咖啡爱好者开心,而且价格合理。 这就是为什么该模型获得最佳性价比奖杯的原因。

这是一款多功能咖啡秤,带有层压按钮,可提供额外保护。 您将获得一个具有重置、停止和启动功能的内置计时器,以帮助您确定倾倒、法式压榨或浓缩咖啡的开花/提取时间。 还有单位按钮可以在盎司、磅、克、毫升等之间切换。

这意味着您可以精确测量您需要多少研磨咖啡,然后切换并测量完美提取所需的水量。 还有一个专用的去皮按钮,该型号具有最大的背光 LCD 显示器之一。

至于精度,Coffee Gator 很难与之匹敌,范围在 0.002 盎司到 6.6 磅之间。 除了测量咖啡外,这款秤还可以用作多功能数字厨房秤。 该秤配有两节 AAA 电池。

最适合: 希望在广泛范围内进行测量的新手和老手。 橡胶垫为这款多功能秤提供了额外的保护层。

4. Eravsow 数字手持咖啡秤 - 预算选择

“埃拉夫索”

产品参数

  • 有用的功能:自动关闭功能,集成定时器

  • 尺寸:1.15” x 6.1” x 7.7”
  • 重量:10.6oz
  • 材质:塑料/不锈钢

Eravsow 咖啡秤的价格是其他咖啡秤的一半,肯定可以满足任何预算。 然而,这个小工具不仅仅是它的低价。

例如,Eravsow 是少数配备 G 负载传感器的经济型咖啡秤之一。 无需赘述,该传感器可帮助您进行更准确的测量。 该秤的额定重量在 1g 和 3,000g (3kg) 之间。

当然,您可以在单位之间切换,并测量流体和固体。 作为手滴秤,Eravsow 厨房秤也有一个计时器,另外还有一个自动关闭功能,可以在五分钟后关闭机器。 此外,这款秤具有超时尚的设计。

该装置具有水滴形主体,顶部为圆形,底部较窄。 圆形测量平台由不锈钢制成,增加了一些耐用性点。 Eravsow 还具有一个带有低电量指示器的大型背光显示屏。

至于尺寸,这款咖啡秤是最紧凑的秤之一。 它的尺寸为 1.15 英寸 x 6.1 英寸 x 7.7 英寸,重 10.6 盎司。 其圆形设计可帮助您轻松找到台面上的秤的位置。 该秤配有两节 AAA 电池。

最适合: 一位咖啡爱好者在预算紧张的情况下寻找可靠的咖啡秤。

5. 金合欢珍珠 S – 咖啡师的选择

“相思

产品参数

  • 实用功能:集成定时器、流速定时器、高级应用模式

  • 尺寸:1.26” x 6.13” x 6.13”
  • 重量:1.3磅
  •  材质:塑料

Acaia Pearl S 是 21 世纪的咖啡秤。 从最小的全黑或全白设计到智能测量功能,Pearl S 拥有有抱负或资深咖啡师可能需要的一切。 此外,还有一个专有的智能手机应用程序可以跟踪您的测量结果并获得高级功能。

从尺寸开始,Pearl S 的尺寸为 1.26 英寸 x 6.13 英寸 x 6.13 英寸,重 1.3 磅。 从本质上讲,它是一个小型方形小工具,可放入超大口袋,完全适合旅行。 该秤还配备了可通过 USB 充电的锂离子充电电池。

在容量方面,Acaia 可以准确测量 0.1 克到 3,000 克之间的重量,如果您愿意,可以选择切换到盎司。 与大多数其他型号不同,该型号具有 LED 点阵屏幕,可根据环境光调节亮度。

当您使用秤进行倾倒时,显示屏会显示重量、冲泡时间和流速。 该包装包括一个耐热垫,以保护表面免受热杯子的伤害。

最后,Pearl S 应用程序允许您下载酿造指南。 还有一些高级模式——例如,portafilter 模式。

最适合: 时尚、痴迷于数据的咖啡师,对他们来说钱不是问题。 它精确、紧凑且具有智能功能。

6. Brewista 智能秤 II – 最容易使用

“布鲁斯塔”

产品参数

  • 有用的功能:集成定时器、6 种浓缩咖啡模式、可调节自动关闭

  • 尺寸:0.7” x 4.2” x 5”
  • :8盎司
  • 材质:塑料/不锈钢平台

您是否需要无需浪费时间进行正确设置的智能秤? 如果是这样,Brewista II 咖啡和厨房秤可能就是您要找的那个。 总的来说,这个模型有六种不同的浓缩咖啡模式,让你专注于咖啡冲泡而不是测量。

在模式 2 中,一旦您放置杯子,Brewista 将自动去皮。 模式 5 自动对杯子进行去皮,并在液体到达杯子后立即启动计时器。 最棒的是,您可以通过按下按钮轻松切换模式或手动启动计时器。

值得注意的是,即使 Brewista II 设计为浓缩咖啡秤,它也适用于其他冲泡方法。 如何? 如果您要使用更大或热的杯子,它有一个保护性硅胶垫。 该秤还具有防水功能,可以将其直接放在组头下方非常安全。

该模型也不缺乏准确性。 最大负载能力为 2,000 克,精确测量至 0.1 克。 最重要的是,Brewista II 是最紧凑的型号之一——它的尺寸为 0.7 英寸 x 4.2 英寸 x 5 英寸,重 8 盎司。

最后,您不需要 AAA 电池来为秤供电,因为它有一个可充电的锂离子电池。 此外,您可以使用可设置为一分钟、两分钟或三分钟的自动关闭功能来延长电池寿命。

最适合: 寻找最容易使用的规模的初学者。 但它也具有使其适合专业人士和咖啡店的所有功能。

7. 更大的商品滋养数字秤 – 最紧凑

“更大

产品参数

  • 有用的功能:集成内置定时器、6 种浓缩咖啡模式、可调节自动关闭

  • 尺寸:0.8” x 6” x 10”
  • 重量:1.1磅
  • 材质:钢化玻璃/塑料

Greater Goods Nourish 足够紧凑,可以轻松放入您的口袋或背包。 该装置的尺寸为 0.8 x 6 x 10 英寸,重 1.1 磅,因此您不会发现将这个秤与您的其他装备打包在一起很困难。 但是这种数字咖啡秤必须提供的唯一功能是便携性吗?

几乎不!。 Nourish 配有特殊传感器,可确保秤精确到 0.1 盎司。 您可以在英制和公制单位之间进行选择,也可以测量液体。 像所有伟大的咖啡秤一样,这个有一个计时器和一个大的背光显示屏。

另一个很棒的特点是带有触摸感应按钮的耐热玻璃顶部。 这也使维护变得轻而易举。 除此之外,该模型作为食品秤非常有效,但制造商没有指定最大负载。

如果您考虑到钢化玻璃、触摸感应按钮和卓越的精度,Nourish 也属于物超所值的类别。

最适合: 那些正在寻找能让铁杆咖啡爱好者高兴的功能的人。 另外,不使用时很容易藏起来。

该判决

总而言之,最好的咖啡秤需要准确、易于使用并且在不使用时易于收起。 Hario Coffee Drip 量表勾选了所有这些框。

该单位是迄今为止该列表中最准确的单位。 它的设计可以让您终生受益,其设计与任何自动或手动咖啡机相匹配。

“哈里奥

常见问题

是的,你需要一个好的咖啡冲泡秤来制作倾吐咖啡。 这并不意味着你必须得到一个花哨的模型。 测量水和咖啡的普通秤就足够了。 然而,带有计时器的天平会更方便地计时开花和倾倒。

根据美国咖啡协会的数据,咖啡与水的比例为每 6 液盎司水一汤匙咖啡粉。 然而,这些测量是体积的,应被视为指导方针。 美国精品咖啡协会使用 55 克咖啡与 16 升水作为“黄金比例”。 咖啡师使用一系列咖啡与水的比例,从 1:19 到 1:XNUMX,具体取决于商店的风格和个人口味。

体积比可以为自动滴灌机提供足够的结果。 但是对于意式浓缩咖啡或倾倒咖啡,最好使用刻度来确保精确度和可重复性(5)。 您也可以使用鹅颈水壶 用于浇水以产生出色的效果.

是的,您可以将咖啡秤用于其他厨房任务。 秤对于烘焙特别有用,在烘焙中,重量更精确的测量比体积测量更准确和一致。

参考资料
  1. Mazzarello, B.(2017 年,27 月 XNUMX 日)。 您需要秤来制作咖啡吗? 取自 https://blog.bluebottlecoffee.com/posts/do-you-need-a-scale-to-make-coffee
  2. 好处。 (2017 年 8 月 XNUMX 日)。 取自 https://thinkmetric.org.uk/benefits/
  3. 咖啡烘焙指南。 (nd)。 全国咖啡协会。 取自 http://www.ncausa.org/about-coffee/coffee-roasts-guide
  4. 在数字厨房秤上使用皮重功能。 (2019 年 28 月 XNUMX 日)。 取自 https://escali.com/blog/using-the-tare-feature-on-digital-kitchen-scales/
  5. 完美的日常研磨。 (2019 年 1 月 2016 日)。 在服务中称量浓缩咖啡:精神错乱还是必不可少? 取自 https://www.perfectdailygrind.com/01/XNUMX/weighing-espresso-shots-in-service-insanity-or-essential/

发表评论

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

复制链接
版权所有 社交快照

Coffeeble is reader-supported. When you buy via the links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission at no cost to you. Learn more.

Coffee Scale Reviews: 2020. They have come a long way!

A coffee scale is a gadget you might easily forget about. However, it’s as important as any other piece of gear. Regardless of your preferred brew style, guesstimating the amount of coffee beans won’t yield a consistently perfect cup of coffee.

But what are the best scales? Are there any key features you should be looking for? We’ll provide the answers, but check out our top pick first.

TOP PICK
Hario V60 Drip Coffee Scale

Hario V60 Drip Coffee Scale

The V60 is a fully spec’d, café-ready scale with a capability to measure down to 0.1 gram. It’s ideal for drip coffee and pour-over, but the unit performs equally well for espresso or any other brew. With Hario, you are also getting Japanese design and engineering.

How to Select the Best Coffee Scale for Your Home or Cafe

Turn on your grinder, pick up a portafilter and eyeball just enough grounds to fill it up. This technique has been perfected by baristas for years, but does it suffice?

Weighted measurements […] ensure using a consistent amount of coffee each time you brew. This helps you ensure delicious [coffee] every time.

First of all, measuring out the coffee beans or grounds gives you more control over the brewing process. You’ll quickly determine exactly how much coffee is enough for a reinvigorating doppio or a punchy French press.

a container with coffee beans on a coffee scale
coffee beans on a coffee scale

Then, there’s the experimentation. For example, you might find that your pour over yields a better brew with fewer grounds than you are used to. WIth a scale, you can add or subtract a few grams to each pot until you reach the bliss of a perfect pour – and then you know how to repeat that pour every time (1).

In short, a coffee scale gives you the upper hand in pursuit of brewing perfection. Here is a quick overview of the features you should look for.

Accuracy

Measuring your coffee beans down to a tenth of a gram helps you maintain consistency when you’re trying new beans or switching to a different brewing style. What’s more, volumetric measurements are inferior to metric weighted measurements. (2)

Quick guide: The metric system uses kilograms and grams; one kilogram is 2.2 pounds or 35.27 ounces, one gram is 0.035 ounces or 0.0022 pounds.

The metric system allows you to zero in on the minute weight differences without having to hassle with decimals and fractions. This is important because the volume and strength of your coffee can significantly vary based on the roast level and beans’ freshness (3). That said, keep your coffee beans in airtight container to keep them fresh.

Design

A novice coffee lover might believe that the scale design is second to its accuracy. This is true, to an extent. But remember, your coffee scale will be spending time in a hot, moist environment and you might easily spill water or coffee over it.

For this reason, it’s best to go for a waterproof or, at least, a water-resistant unit. On the upside, most models are engineered with this in mind and can withstand a single spill. Next, you should think about the scale’s footprint.

Your coffee gear already includes a machine, a grinder, and an assortment of accessories such as sifters, filters, milk frothers, and more. Add a scale and your barista nook is likely to become cramped. This is why you should go with a compact model.

Portability

The question of portability brings us back to the scale’s compactness. A large analog scale might look cool next to your lever espresso machine, but it’s hard to move it out of the way when you don’t need it.

Besides being accurate and compact, a digital scale should also have a sleek profile. The best option is to go for a battery-operated model that’s not too tall. Ideally, the scale should also fit your kitchen drawer or backpack if you like to take the brewing kit on the go.

Extra Handy Features

Extra handy features like auto-off or timers don’t make a scale more accurate. However, they help to ensure a smooth brewing experience.

A model with touch-sensitive or capacitive buttons is usually more durable than the one with traditional press-down controls. Coffee grounds are delicate and fine, so they can easily end up in nooks and crannies around the regular buttons. This rarely happens with touch-sensitive controls.

Tare function is not an extra feature and certain coffee scales initiate it on auto (4). This basically resets the weighted measure to zero. To be exact, the tare function can subtract the weight of your portafilter, cup or carafe and give you just the coffee weight.

Place the portafilter or cup on the scale and press the tare button. Once the weight reads 0, you can measure the beans.

The Best Coffee Scale Review

Looking for the most accurate and portable coffee scale? Here’s the ultimate rundown.

1. Hario V60 Drip Coffee Scale – Industry Favorite and Top Pick

Hario V60 Drip Coffee Scale

Specifications: 

  • Helpful features: Auto-shutoff, integrated timer
  • Dimensions: 1.1” x 4.7” x 7.4”
  • Weight: 9.6oz
  • Material: ABS resin

SEE ON AMAZON

The first thing that grabs the attention is a slim and sleek profile. However, the V60 is not the smallest scale on this list – it measures 1.1” x 4.7” x 7.4”.

The model we reviewed is completely black and you can also get one with a metallic top. This should make the Hario universally aesthetically appealing. But, the accuracy and ease of use are the V60’s true highlights. It can measure down to 0.1 gram and it offers simple touch controls.

What we love about the Hario V60 drip scale is a beautifully simple design… We love this scale’s sleek black matte finish and […] streamlined design on the display screen.

There is also an integrated timer that allows you to take control of the manual brewing process. If left unattended, the Hario turns off automatically in five minutes though this option disengages when you use the timer. Another highlight is the large and easy to read LCD display.

Two AAA batteries power the V60 and they are included in the package. However, Japanese engineering and top specs don’t come cheap, meaning this scale has an upper price point.

BEST SUITED FOR: Connoisseurs in need of unparalleled accuracy. It will take your brewing to the next level.

2. Etekcity Coffee Scale  – Budget Pick

Etekcity Coffee Scale

Specifications: 

  • Helpful features: Auto-off feature
  • Dimensions: 0.67” x 5.70” x 7.32”
  • Weight: 7oz
  • Material: 304 stainless steel

SEE ON AMAZON

Getting a good coffee scale doesn’t mean you need to spend a small fortune, and Etekcity is there to prove it. What’s more, this model looks and feels premium. Plus, it offers certain features of more expensive units.

For starters, the Etekcity has a stainless steel top, large backlit display, and laminated buttons. This makes the scale more durable and adds to its overall aesthetic appeal. The profile is slim and the scale measures 0.67” x 5.70” x 7.32” and weighs 7 ounces. This puts it among the most compact units, but what about the features?

The Etekcity is designed to give you precise measurements in the Imperial and metric systems and it’s easy to switch between the two. The maximum weight capacity is 11 pounds (5kg or 176oz) and the scale features 1g (0.035oz) increments.

On the other hand, there is a 3g to 5g limit to the minimum recommended measurement. It doesn’t mean that the scale cannot measure below 3g, only that it might be more accurate with larger volumes. This shouldn’t be of concern since you’d be measuring coffee beans at or above the minimum weight anyway.

BEST SUITED FOR: Beginners looking for a great entry-level scale, or if you are strapped for cash but don’t want to compromise on the specs.

3. Coffee Gator Digital Scale – Best Value for Money

Coffee Gator Digital Scale

Specifications: 

  • Helpful features: Auto-off function, integrated timer
  • Dimensions: 1.97” x 6.02” x 8.98”
  • Weight: 1lbs
  • Material: Plastic/rubber mat

SEE ON AMAZON

The Coffee Gator digital scale has all the bells and whistles to keep a coffee lover happy and it comes at a reasonable price point. That’s why this model gets the best value for money trophy.

This is a multi-functional coffee scale and it has laminated buttons for some extra protection. You get a timer with reset, stop, and start functions to help you nail the bloom/extraction time for your pour-over, French press, or espresso. There is also the Units button to switch between ounces, pounds, grams, milliliters, and more.

This means you can precisely measure how much ground coffee you need, then switch and gauge how much water is needed for the perfect extraction. There is also a dedicated Tare button and this model has one of the largest backlit LCD displays around.

As for the accuracy, the Coffee Gator is hard to rival and the range is between 0.002oz and 6.6lbs. Aside from measuring coffee, this scale works great as a multipurpose digital kitchen scale.

BEST SUITED FOR: Novice and veteran brewers looking to measure across a wide range. The rubber mat gives an extra layer of protection to this versatile scale.

4. Eravsow Digital Hand Drip Coffee Scale – Budget Pick

Eravsow Digital Hand Drip Coffee Scale

Specifications: 

  • Helpful features: Auto-off function, integrated timer
  • Dimensions: 1.15” x 6.1” x 7.7”
  • Weight: 10.6oz
  • Material: Plastic/stainless steel

SEE ON AMAZON

Coming at half the price of some other models, the Eravsow hand drip coffee scale can surely fit any budget. However, there’s much more to this gadget than its low price.

For example, the Eravsow is among the few budget scales that have the G load sensor. Without going into unnecessary technicalities, this sensor is there to help you measure with greater accuracy. And this scale is rated to measure between 1g and 3,000g (3kg).

Of course, you can switch between units, and measure fluids as well as solids. As a hand-drip scale, the Eravsow has a timer as well, plus there is an auto-off feature that turns off the machine after five minutes. Also, this scale sports a super-sleek design.

The unit has a droplet-shaped body with a rounded top and a somewhat narrower bottom. The round measuring platform is made of stainless steel, which adds some durability points. The Eravsow also has a sizable backlit display that incorporates a low battery indicator.

As for the size, this coffee scale is one of the most compact. It measures 1.15” x 6.1” x 7.7” and weighs 10.6oz. Its rounded design helps you easily find the place for the scale on your countertop.

BEST SUITED FOR: A coffee lover looking for a reliable coffee scale on a tight budget.

5. Acaia Pearl S – Baristas’ Choice

Acaia Pearl Model S Professional-Grade Digital Smart Coffee Scale (Black)

 Specifications: 

  • Helpful features: Integrated timer, flow rate timer, advanced app modes
  • Dimensions: 1.26” x 6.13” x 6.13”
  • Weight: 1.3 pounds
  •  Material: Plastic 

SEE ON AMAZON

The Acaia Pearl S is a coffee scale for the 21st century. From the minimal all-black or all-white design to smart measuring features, the Pearl S has everything an aspiring or veteran barista might need. Plus, there is a proprietary smartphone app to keep track of your measurements and get advanced functions.

To start with the dimensions, the Pearl S measures 1.26” x 6.13” x 6.13” and weighs 1.3 pounds. Essentially, it’s a small square gadget that fits an oversized pocket and is completely travel-ready. This scale also features a Li-ion rechargeable battery that you can charge via USB.

When it comes to capacity, the Acaia can accurately measure between 0.1g and 3,000g and there is an option to switch to ounces if that’s what you prefer. Unlike most other models, this one features an LED dot matrix screen which adjusts the brightness to the ambient light.

The display shows weight, brewing time, and flow rate when you use the scale for pour overs. The package includes a heat-resistant pad to protect the surface from hot mugs.

Finally, the Pearl S app allows you to download a brew guide. There are also a few advanced modes – portafilter mode, for example.

BEST SUITED FOR: Stylish, data-obsessed baristas for whom money is no object. It’s precise, compact, and packed with smart features.

6. Brewista Smart Scale II – Easiest to Use

Brewista Smart Scale II

Specifications:

  • Helpful features: Integrated timer, 6 espresso modes, adjustable auto-off
  • Dimensions: 0.7” x 4.2” x 5”
  • Weight: 8 ounces
  • Material: Plastic/stainless steel platform

SEE ON AMAZON

Are you in need of a smart scale that doesn’t require you to waste time getting the correct settings? If so, the Brewista II might be the one you are looking for. In total, this model has six different espresso modes that allow you to focus on coffee brewing instead of measuring.

When in mode 2, the Brewista will auto-tare once you place a cup. Mode 5 auto-tares the cup and starts the timer as soon as the liquid hits the cup. What’s best about it, you can easily switch between the modes at a press of a button or manually start the timer.

It’s worth noting that even though the Brewista II is designed as an espresso scale, it works great for any other brewing method. How? It has a protective silicone pad if you are to use larger or hot mugs. The scale is also water-resistant and it’s perfectly safe to place it directly under the group head.

This model doesn’t lack accuracy either. The maximum load capacity is 2,000g and it precisely measures down to 0.1g. On top of that, the Brewista II is one of the most compact models – it measures 0.7” x 4.2” x 5” and weighs 8 ounces.

In the end, you don’t need AAA batteries to power the scale because it has a rechargeable Li-ion battery. Plus, you can extend the battery life with the auto-off function that you can set to one, two, or three minutes.

BEST SUITED FOR: Beginners looking for the easiest-to-use-scale. But it also has all the features that make it suitable for pros and coffee shops.

7. Greater Goods Nourish Digital Scale – Most Compact

Greater Goods Nourish Digital Scale

Specifications: 

  • Helpful features: Integrated timer, 6 espresso modes, adjustable auto-off
  • Dimensions: 0.8” x 6” x 10”
  • Weight: 1.1 pounds
  • Material: Tempered glass/plastic

SEE ON AMAZON

The Greater Goods Nourish is compact enough to easily fit your pocket or backpack. The unit measures 0.8 x 6 x 10” and weighs 1.1 pounds, so you won’t find it hard to pack this scale with your other gear. But is portability the only thing that this digital coffee scale has to offer?

Hardly!. The Nourish has special sensors that ensure the scale is accurate down to 0.1oz. You get to choose between Imperial and metric units, and you can measure liquids as well. Like all great coffee scales, this one has a timer and a large backlit display.

Another great feature is the heat-resistant glass top that incorporates touch-sensitive buttons. This also makes maintenance a breeze. Aside from that, this model works great as a food scale, but the manufacturer doesn’t specify the maximum load.

If you factor in the tempered glass, touch-sensitive buttons, and superb precision, the Nourish also falls into the great value for money category.

BEST SUITED FOR: Those looking for features that make even a hard-core coffee aficionado happy. Plus, it is easy to stash away when not in use.

The Verdict

When all is said and done, the best coffee scale needs to be accurate, easy to use, and easy to put away when not in use. The Hario Coffee Drip scale ticks all those boxes.

This unit is by far the most accurate on this list. It is built to last you a lifetime and sports a design that matches any coffee maker, automatic or manual. Get it for your own kitchen or give it to your pour over coffee snob friend, you won’t regret it. Don’t forget to tell us about your top pick in the comments section below.

FAQs

Yes, you need a scale for pour-over coffee. This doesn’t mean you must get a fancy model. An ordinary scale that measures water and coffee will suffice. A scale with a timer, however, will be more convenient for timing bloom and pours.

The ratio of coffee to water is one tablespoon of grounds per 6 fluid oz of water, according to the National Coffee Association. However, these measurements are volumetric and should be regarded as guidelines. The Specialty Coffee Association of America uses 55 grams of coffee to one liter of water as “the golden ratio.” Baristas use a range of ratios of coffee to water, from 16:1 up to 19:1, depending on the shop’s style and personal taste.

The volumetric ratio can provide adequate results for automatic drip machines. But for espresso or pour over, it’s best to use a scale for precision and repeatability (5). You can also use a gooseneck kettle for pouring water to produce great results.

Yes, you can use a coffee scale for other kitchen tasks. Scales are especially useful for baking, where more precise measurements by weight yield more accurate and consistent results than measuring by volume.

References
  1. Mazzarello, B. (2017, February 27). Do You Need a Scale to Make Coffee? Retrieved from https://blog.bluebottlecoffee.com/posts/do-you-need-a-scale-to-make-coffee
  2. Benefits. (2017, July 8). Retrieved from https://thinkmetric.org.uk/benefits/
  3. Coffee Roasts Guide. (n.d.). National Coffee Association. Retrieved from http://www.ncausa.org/about-coffee/coffee-roasts-guide
  4. Using the Tare Feature on Digital Kitchen Scales. (2019, May 28). Retrieved from https://escali.com/blog/using-the-tare-feature-on-digital-kitchen-scales/
  5. Perfect Daily Grind. (2019, May 1). Weighing Espresso Shots in Service: Insanity or Essential? Retrieved from https://www.perfectdailygrind.com/2016/01/weighing-espresso-shots-in-service-insanity-or-essential/