Coffeeble 受读者支持。 当您通过我们网站上的链接购买时,我们可能会免费为您赚取会员佣金。 了解更多

6热销品 浓咖啡豆 - 热门精选和评论

没有什么比早上一杯意式浓缩咖啡更好的了。 令人振奋的香气扑鼻而来,然后在味蕾上爆发出浓郁的风味。 这种组合使浓缩咖啡成为你能得到的最好的提神咖啡之一。

乍看上去:

如何选择最好的浓缩咖啡豆

咖啡豆的特性,如烘焙程度和原产地,会影响咖啡的风味特征。 中度烤豆, 像这些,做好倒咖啡。 另一方面,深色烘焙可以制作出很棒的浓缩咖啡。 然后,有一个争论是去单一来源还是混合。 本指南为您提供了选择最能激发您感官的最佳浓缩咖啡豆所需知道的一切。

烘烤水平——真的很重要吗?

快速的回答是,是的,烘烤程度很重要。 通常,浓缩咖啡豆是中等深度或深度烘焙。 如果你想吃清淡的烤肉, 像其中任何一个,你的镜头可能会变酸。 也就是说,在购买意式浓缩咖啡甚至咖啡豆之前,您必须始终考虑烘焙 报名 订阅。 但是,为什么会发生这种情况?

秘诀在于温度和咖啡与水的比例。 [1] 浓缩咖啡机中的萃取咖啡与水的比例从 2 比 1 到 3 比 1 不等。 将其与 190 至 196°F 的温度相结合,较轻的烘烤可能会被提取不足,从而带来酸味。

同样重要的是要注意 深烤会杀死大部分酸度 在咖啡豆中。 反过来,浓缩咖啡豆具有饱满的口感,富含天然咖啡油。 您实际上可以在咖啡豆表面看到一些油脂,它们是意式浓缩咖啡具有丰富的克丽玛的原因之一。

通常情况下,为了帮助我们实现萃取,烘焙师会做的就是烤得更久一点,颜色更深一点。 意式浓缩咖啡在外面烤得更光滑一点,我们的颜色非常均匀。 由于在烘焙机中的时间更长,豆子要大得多。

IKAWA Coffee 的咖啡专家 Jeff

巨人之战——罗布斯塔与阿拉比卡

您可能知道阿拉比卡咖啡豆比罗布斯塔更昂贵且更受欢迎。 但这是否使阿拉比卡浓缩咖啡豆优于罗布斯塔?

在某种程度上,是的,阿拉比卡咖啡豆更胜一筹。 [2] 它们的味道更温和、更甜,并且带有明显的水果、浆果和糖分。 阿拉比卡还具有较高的酸度,使咖啡具有酒味。 但是,在生产过程中发生的烘烤或发酵过程中,大部分酸度会丢失。

由于其令人振奋的特性,罗布斯塔在欧洲人来到非洲大陆之前的几个世纪就已成为非洲文化的主食。

罗布斯塔的味道更加辛辣,给人以咖啡坚果味和颗粒感。 这种豆比阿拉比卡含有更多的咖啡因,这是一些烘焙商和制造商将两者结合起来的原因之一。 这给我们带来了混合豆和单一来源咖啡豆的问题。

十年之争——混合与单一来源

铁杆鉴赏家可能会声称这里没有竞争,单一来源的豆子更好。 但是,您不应低估高品质混合物中风味的平衡。 一些工匠咖啡店/公司甚至拥有使它们在竞争中脱颖而出的专有混合物。

添加更强的罗布斯塔允许更复杂的配置并增加混合物中的咖啡因含量。 一些高度评价的浓缩咖啡豆混合物含有高达 25% 的罗布斯塔,足以使更温和的阿拉比卡味道更加完美。 无论哪种方式,种植豆类的地区也起着重要作用。 [3]

你知道巴西是世界上最大的咖啡生产国吗? 2016 年,该国提供了超过 2.5 万公吨的咖啡豆。

阿拉比卡豆在中美洲和南美洲占主导地位。 其实里面只有阿拉比卡豆 牙买加. 哥伦比亚、危地马拉、 哥斯达黎加,巴西也是顶级产地,它们的咖啡豆通常清淡甜美,与罗布斯塔混合时效果很好。 非洲土壤含有更多的矿物质,干燥的气候使豆子的味道更浓郁。 (4)

至于罗布斯塔,它来自东半球。 一些非洲种植园种植这种菌株,但印度尼西亚的罗布斯塔确实很特别。 这个东南亚国家有丰富的火山土壤,影响了豆子的外形。 印尼咖啡通常具有低酸度和浓郁风味的良好平衡,非常适合中等深度烘焙。

标签和证书是什么意思?

偶然发现公平贸易和美国农业部有机等证书并不少见。 这些让您更好地了解用于种植和咖啡生产的 TLC。 所以,仔细看看每一个都是值得的。

公平贸易

鉴于名称,不难猜测该证书表明了公平的商业行为。 这意味着过程中的每一方都受到尊重,农民没有受到剥削。

公平贸易联合会 (FTF) 和世界公平贸易组织 (WFTO) 要求最严格的道德标准。 然而,这些并不是唯一颁发公平贸易证书的组织。

USDA有机

该证书表明浓缩咖啡豆是根据可持续农业实践种植的。 这意味着农场不使用化学杀虫剂或化肥。 周围生态系统的自然流动保持完整,农民促进生物多样性。

一般来说,有机生产利用传统的土壤和农场管理技术,如上述遮荫种植。

最佳浓缩咖啡豆评论

产品 详细信息 按键
全球混合 踢马咖啡 踢马悬崖衣架浓缩咖啡
  • 类型:混合
  • 原产地:印度尼西亚、非洲、中南美洲
  • 烤:中等
亚马逊标志 在亚马逊上看到
2. Stumptown 卷发器 Stumptown 卷发器
  • 类型:混合
  • 原产地:印度尼西亚、拉丁美洲和非洲
  • 品酒笔记:果味和柑橘味,黑巧克力味
点击查看价格
我们的首选 Lavazza 超级霜 我们的首选
  • 类型:混合
  • 原产地:印度尼西亚、越南、巴西和哥伦比亚
  • 烤:中等
亚马逊标志 在亚马逊上看到
亚军 亚军 illy 阿拉比卡精选
  • 类型:单一来源
  • 来源:埃塞俄比亚
  • 品酒笔记:甜美、果香、花香
亚马逊标志 在亚马逊上看到
Koffee Kult 雷霆之箭 Koffee Kult 雷霆之箭
  • 类型:单一来源
  • 起源:哥伦比亚
  • 烤:深色
亚马逊标志 在亚马逊上看到
Cafe Don Pablo 经典意大利浓缩咖啡 Cafe Don Pablo 经典意大利浓缩咖啡
  • 类型:混合
  • 原产地:苏门答腊和哥伦比亚
  • 烤:深色
亚马逊标志 在亚马逊上看到
踢马悬崖衣架浓缩咖啡
全球混合 踢马咖啡
  • 类型:混合
  • 原产地:印度尼西亚、非洲、中南美洲
  • 烤:中等
Stumptown 卷发器
2. Stumptown 卷发器
  • 类型:混合
  • 原产地:印度尼西亚、拉丁美洲和非洲
  • 品酒笔记:果味和柑橘味,黑巧克力味
我们的首选
我们的首选 Lavazza 超级霜
  • 类型:混合
  • 原产地:印度尼西亚、越南、巴西和哥伦比亚
  • 烤:中等
illy 阿拉比卡精选
亚军 亚军
  • 类型:单一来源
  • 来源:埃塞俄比亚
  • 品酒笔记:甜美、果香、花香
Koffee Kult 雷霆之箭
Koffee Kult 雷霆之箭
  • 类型:单一来源
  • 起源:哥伦比亚
  • 烤:深色
Cafe Don Pablo 经典意大利浓缩咖啡
Cafe Don Pablo 经典意大利浓缩咖啡
  • 类型:混合
  • 原产地:苏门答腊和哥伦比亚
  • 烤:深色

从独家的单一来源品牌到强大的混合咖啡,以下列表为所有咖啡爱好者提供了选择。 诀窍是找到激发您味觉的风味特征。 这是我们最好的浓缩咖啡豆列表。

1. 踢马悬崖衣架浓缩咖啡 – 印度尼西亚、中南美洲和非洲 – 全球融合

踢马悬崖衣架浓缩咖啡

产品参数

  • 品牌: 踢马

  • 类型:混合
  • 原产地:印度尼西亚、非洲、中南美洲
  • 烤:中等
  • 品鉴笔记:丝滑、可可、果香、浆果
  • 冲泡风格:浓缩咖啡、法式压榨、倾倒、冷冲

有没有比从世界各地带来最好的浓缩咖啡豆来创造独特的品尝笔记更好的方法来开始列表? Kicking Horse Cliff Hanger Espresso 是一款中度烘焙咖啡,旨在让专业咖啡师和咖啡鉴赏家露出笑容。

鉴于豆类的血统,这种咖啡具有最复杂的风味特征之一。 冲泡后,您将能够享受可可和异国水果的明亮酒体和明显的味道。 回味是巧克力味,非常独特。

因此,这种混合物非常适合浓缩咖啡,但它也 对法国媒体来说就像一个魅力. 当然,您的工作是为 espresso 提供精细研磨,或为其他冲泡方法提供更粗糙的质地,所以不要忘记选择 好的浓缩咖啡研磨机. 除了多功能性,Kicking Horse Cliff Hanger 拥有所有正确的证书。

这种全豆咖啡混合物是公平贸易公平的,它具有加拿大有机标签,并通过了犹太洁食认证。 因此,您可以放心,没有可能影响口味或冲泡质量的污染物。

最适合: 大胆的浓缩咖啡爱好者,他们喜欢尝试混合和酿造方法。

2. Stumptown 卷发器 – Stumptown's House Espresso Blend,印度尼西亚,拉丁美洲和非洲

产品参数

  • 品牌: Stumptown Coffee Roasters

  • 类型:混合
  • 原产地:印度尼西亚、拉丁美洲和非洲
  • 烤:不适用
  • 品酒笔记:果味和柑橘味,黑巧克力味
  • 冲泡方式:浓缩咖啡、手动冲泡

Stumptown Coffee Roasters 是一家咖啡店,您可以在波特兰、纽约、芝加哥、新奥尔良、洛杉矶和西雅图的多个地点找到。 除了提供优质咖啡外,这些场所还因其专有的混合咖啡而成为标志性的。

Stumptown Hair Bender 是该公司最受欢迎的全豆混合物,这是有原因的。 首先,非洲和南美豆子的果味触动了您的味蕾。 然后,风味发展出大胆的质地,带有黑巧克力味,并带有一丝来自印度尼西亚风味的矿物质。

我认为在拨入研磨机时这是一种非常宽容的混合。 回味有点接近苦味,但它有那种黑巧克力的味道。

咖啡礼宾(推荐)

该公司没有提供有关烘烤水平的确切信息。 但可以肯定的是,Hair Bender 是中度至中度烘焙,因为咖啡豆的来源和意式浓缩咖啡特性。 不管怎样,这些豆子都是小批量手工烘焙的,以确保质量和风味一致。

最后,这种浓缩咖啡混合物非常适合喜欢拿铁或卡布奇诺的人。 但是,您也可以毫不犹豫地尝试使用手动冲泡方法的 Hair Bender。

最适合: 想要一种非常适合自动浓缩咖啡机和传统杠杆模型的内部混合? 试试 Stumptown Hair Bender。

3. Lavazza 超级霜 – 意大利最受欢迎的烘焙机; 20% 罗布斯塔添加酒体

Lavazza 超级霜

产品参数

  • 品牌:拉瓦扎

  • 类型:混合
  • 原产地:印度尼西亚、越南、巴西和哥伦比亚
  • 烤:中等
  • 品酒笔记:蜂蜜、坚果和干果
  • 冲泡风格:浓缩咖啡

Lavazza 是一个几乎不需要介绍的意大利品牌。 该公司以混合优质咖啡豆以生产出符合意大利浓缩咖啡国家研究所标准的咖啡而闻名。 但是是什么让 Super Crema 浓缩咖啡豆与众不同?

Lavazza 平衡了来自越南和印度尼西亚的强大罗布斯塔咖啡豆与来自印度、巴西和哥伦比亚的阿拉比卡品种。 豆子经过中度烘烤,提供奶油质地和更温和的味道。 现在你可能想知道外观和味道。

吸引眼球的第一件事是天鹅绒般的油脂和香气,暗示着独特的风味。 蜂蜜和杏仁在酒体中占主导地位,您可以品尝到淡淡的干果味。 总体而言,这种混合物经过精心制作,可让您的浓缩咖啡更上一层楼。

除了优质之外,Super Crema 浓缩咖啡豆作为一种物有所值的混合物脱颖而出。 豆子装在一个 2.2 磅的袋子里,如果你买三包或四包,你可以享受折扣。 唯一的限制是这种 Lavazza 混合物专为浓缩咖啡机设计。

最适合: 传统意大利浓缩咖啡风味的爱好者。 您可以在一杯咖啡中品尝到 120 多年的经验。 这就是为什么推荐任何浓缩咖啡爱好者使用这款 Lavazza 混合物的原因。

4. 意利阿拉比卡精选 – 意大利最受尊敬的烘焙师; 100% 埃塞俄比亚风味的浓缩咖啡特别烘焙

illy 阿拉比卡精选

产品参数

  • 品牌:意利

  • 类型:单一来源
  • 来源:埃塞俄比亚
  • 烤:不适用
  • 品酒笔记:甜美、果香、花香
  • 冲泡方式:浓缩咖啡、滴灌、冷冲泡、倾倒

illy 从 1930 年代的卑微起步开始,现已发展成为享誉全球的烘焙巨头。 此外,Ethisphere Institute 将该公司列为 2019 年最有道德的公司之一。传统和奖项都很棒,但你在这家埃塞俄比亚得到什么类型的咖啡?

不难猜测您会享受到单一来源咖啡的好处。 然而,埃塞俄比亚出众的风味一定会给您留下深刻印象。 这些豆子来自著名的耶加雪菲地区,口感细腻甜美。

优雅是最能描述 illy 埃塞俄比亚身材的形容词。 当您啜饮时,浓郁的味道与柑橘和花香相得益彰,尤其是茉莉花香。 余味中只有一丝苦味来完善轮廓。

该公司没有透露有关烘烤水平的确切信息。 然而,它经过校准,可以让咖啡的天然风味散发出来。 从豆子的颜色来看,可以肯定地认为这是一种较深的烘焙。

最适合: 那些自认为是咖啡爱好者的人 - 尝试 illy 埃塞俄比亚是必须的。 独特的香气一定会激发您的感官。

5. Koffee Kult 雷霆之箭 – 来自哥伦比亚的单一产地

Koffee Kult 雷霆之箭

产品参数

  • 品牌:Koffee Kult

  • 类型:单一来源
  • 起源:哥伦比亚
  • 烤:深色
  • 品酒笔记:甜味、中等酸味、柑橘味和水果味
  • 冲泡方式:浓缩咖啡、滴灌、冷冲泡、倾倒

Koffee Kult 深色烘焙咖啡豆已经积累了与该品牌名称相匹配的追随者。 来自有机来源的咖啡豆,如 我们的一些最爱 到工匠烘焙,这个 哥伦比亚单一产地咖啡 拥有完美拍摄意式浓缩咖啡所需的一切。

与大多数其他烤肉不同,Thunder Bolt 略带酸味,回味浓郁而甜美。 酿造揭示了酸橙、菠萝和青苹果的味道。 总体而言,身体可以被描述为中等和充满活力。

Thunder Bolt 小批量烘焙,之后立即包装以确保新鲜。 你可以在 16 盎司和 32 盎司的可重复密封袋中买到这种手工烘焙,还有一个单向阀可以让豆子脱气。 可以选择订购它 预接地,但我们建议您坚持使用整粒咖啡豆。

多功能性是 Koffee Kult 深色烘焙咖啡豆的另一大优点。 除了浓缩咖啡,这种咖啡也很适合冷冲泡 其他品牌.

最适合: 渴望大胆品尝哥伦比亚咖啡豆的咖啡爱好者。 如果您想尝试不同的冲泡风格,这是一个不错的选择。

6. Cafe Don Pablo 经典意大利浓缩咖啡 – 哥伦比亚和苏门答腊 Mandheling 的混合物,物超所值

Cafe Don Pablo 经典意大利浓缩咖啡

产品参数

  • 品牌:Cafe Don Pablo

  • 类型:混合
  • 原产地:苏门答腊和哥伦比亚
  • 烤:深色
  • 品尝笔记:甜味、泥土味、黑巧克力和可可
  • 冲泡风格:浓缩咖啡、手动冲泡

如果没有唐巴勃罗咖啡馆及其苏门答腊和哥伦比亚的混合咖啡豆,最好的浓缩咖啡豆的名单就不完整。 这种优质阿拉比卡咖啡的组合融合了哥伦比亚 Supremo 强大的曼特林风味和顺滑口感。

除了仔细挑选豆子外,部分诀窍还在于烘焙过程。 小批量和慢速烘烤可以让天然香气散发出来,并且通过这种混合物,您可以获得最复杂的风味特征之一。 这是一种深烤,但没有任何苦味。

Don Pablo Classic Italian Espresso 酒体甜美,几乎是焦糖。 苏门答腊曼特林酒在口感上带有一丝黑巧克力的泥土味。 咖啡有 低酸度,酒体顺滑,回味中带有淡淡的可可味。

作为深色烘焙,它适用于手动酿造风格。 然而,传统的意大利浓缩咖啡是您可以充分利用异国情调的咖啡豆的地方。

最后,应该指出的是,Don Pablo 有共享证书,而且咖啡是 100% 非转基因的。

最适合: 喜欢探索异国风味和手工烘焙的新手和资深浓缩咖啡爱好者。

底线

宣布一种混合或单一来源的最好的浓缩咖啡豆是一项艰巨的任务。 是的,咖啡豆的来源和类型、烘焙程度和质量证书很重要。 但最终,这一切都归结为您的个人喜好。

但是,如果您渴望经典的意大利式浓缩咖啡,那么 Lavazza 或 Illy 都不会出错。 如果您想尝试一些不同的东西,请尝试 令人兴奋的味道 Stumptown Hair Bender 和 Kicking Horse Cliff Hanger 必须提供。 无论哪种方式,您都不会做出错误的选择。

常见问题

不,浓缩咖啡豆和咖啡豆不一样——不完全一样。 主要区别在于咖啡豆的烘焙过程通常需要更长的时间。

话虽如此,浓缩咖啡全豆可用于其他酿造方法,例如摩卡壶或法压壶。 但是用普通的方法制作浓缩咖啡 咖啡豆 冒着制造酸杯的风险。

是的,浓缩咖啡比咖啡更浓。 通常,一杯(1 盎司)浓缩咖啡含有大约 63 毫克的咖啡因。 普通咖啡每盎司含有约 16 毫克咖啡因,这使得浓缩咖啡的效力更强。 强度也因一种混合物而异。

不,4 杯意式浓缩咖啡并不多,前提是您不会一次全部喝完。 全天传播,四杯甚至更多的浓缩咖啡可以让你在比赛中保持领先。 但是你应该慢慢来,看看你的身体对这么多咖啡因的反应。

不,你不能用速溶咖啡制作浓浓的浓缩咖啡。 它不会像真正的浓缩咖啡那样品尝、出现或具有相同的咖啡因刺激。 但是,您可以在市场上找到一些速溶“浓缩咖啡”品牌。 你可以 在此处了解有关它们的更多信息.

无咖啡因 出售浓缩咖啡豆。 你可以从星巴克和 Amazon.

參考資料
  1. Salamanca, CA, Fiol, N., González, C., Saez, M. 和 Villaescusa, I.(2017 年 1 月 27507518 日)。 利用温度梯度提取意式浓缩咖啡。 对浓缩咖啡理化和感官特性的影响。 取自 https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/XNUMX
  2. FRED® 博客。 (nd)。 取自 https://fredblog.stlouisfed.org/2016/03/two-shades-of-coffee/
  3. Szenthe, A.(2015 年 8 月 XNUMX 日)。 顶级咖啡生产国。 取自 https://www.worldatlas.com/articles/top-coffee-produce-countries.html
  4. 浓缩咖啡混合。 (nd)。 取自 http://www.coffeeresearch.org/espresso/blending.htm

发表评论

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

复制链接
版权所有 社交快照

Coffeeble is reader-supported. When you buy via the links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission at no cost to you. Learn more.

6 Best Coffee Beans for Espresso Brewing

There’s nothing like a shot of espresso in the morning; the reinvigorating aroma hits your nose, then there’s an explosion of flavors on the palate. This combination makes espresso one of the best pick-me-ups you can get.

However, it’s not always like that. Choose the wrong beans and even the best espresso machine in the world cannot help you get the right taste. Don’t worry because you are in the right place. We’ve picked the six best espresso beans you can order today, plus there are some tips and tricks to help you make the right choice.

How to Choose the Best Coffee Beans for Espresso

Beans’ characteristics, such as roast level and origin, affect the flavor profile of your coffee. Medium roast beans, like these, make good pour over coffee. Dark roasts, on the other hand, make great espresso. Then, there’s a debate whether to go for single-origin or blend. This guide provides you everything you need to know to choose the best espresso beans that excite your senses.

Roast Level – Does It Really Matter?

The quick answer is, yes the roast level matters. As a rule, espresso beans are a medium-dark or dark roast. Should you go for a lighter roast, like any of these, your shot might turn out sour. That said, you must always consider the roast before buying beans for espresso or even signing up for a subscription. But, why does this happen?

The secret lies in the temperature and the coffee-to-water ratio. [1] The extraction coffee-to-water ratio in an espresso machine ranges from 2-to-1 to 3-to-1. Combine that with a temperature of 190 to 196°F and a lighter roast could get under-extracted which brings the sourness.

It’s also important to note that a dark roast kills most of the acidity in the coffee beans. In turn, the espresso beans have a full body and are rich in natural coffee oils. You can actually see some of the oils on the beans’ surface and they are one of the reasons an espresso shot has a rich crema.

Typically, what roasters will do to help us achieve that extraction is roast a little bit longer and a little bit darker. An espresso roasts a little bit smoother on the outside, we’ve got very even coloration. The beans are quite a lot larger due to a little bit more time in the roaster.

Battle of the Giants – Robusta vs. Arabica

You probably know that Arabica is more expensive and more popular than Robusta. But does this make Arabica espresso beans superior to Robusta?

To a point, yes, Arabica beans are superior. [2] They have a milder, sweeter taste and there are distinct tones of fruits, berries, and sugar in them. Arabica also has a higher acidity which gives the coffee a winey flavor. But then, much of the acidity is lost during the roasting or fermentation which occurs in the production process.

Due to its invigorating properties, Robusta has been a staple of African culture centuries before the Europeans came to the continent.

Robusta has a more poignant taste which gives coffee nutty notes and grainy tone. This bean has much more caffeine than Arabica, which is one of the reasons some roasters and manufacturers combine the two. This brings us to the question of blends and single origin beans.

The Debate of the Decade – Blends vs. Single Origin

Hard-core connoisseurs might claim that there is no contest here, single origin beans are simply better. However, you shouldn’t underestimate the balance of flavors in a high-quality blend. Some artisan coffee shops/companies even have proprietary blends that make them stand out from the competition.

Adding the stronger Robusta permits a more complex profile and increases the caffeine content in the mix. Some highly rated espresso beans blends contain up to 25% of Robusta, more than enough to round off the milder Arabica taste. Either way, the region where the beans are grown plays an important part as well. [3]

Did you know Brazil is the world’s largest coffee producer? In 2016, the country provided more than 2.5 million metric tons of coffee beans.

Arabica beans are dominant in Central and South America. In fact, there are only arabica beans in Jamaica. Colombia, Guatemala, and Brazil are also among the top locations and their beans are often light and sweet, and work great when blended with Robusta. African soil has more minerals and the dry climate delivers beans with a richer flavor.  (4)

As for Robusta, it comes from the Eastern Hemisphere. Some African plantations grow this strain, but the Indonesian Robusta is truly special. This Southeast Asian country is rich in volcanic soil which affects the beans’ profile. Indonesian coffee usually has a good balance of low acidity and bold flavor which are great for a medium-dark roast.

What Do Labels and Certificates Mean?

It’s not uncommon to stumble upon certificates such as Fair Trade and USDA Organic. These give you a better idea about the TLC that has gone into the cultivation and coffee production. So, it pays to take a closer look at each one.

Fair Trade

Given the name, it’s not hard to guess that this certificate indicates fair business practices. This means that each party in the process is treated with respect and the farmers are not being exploited.

The most rigorous ethical standards are demanded by the Fair Trade Federation (FTF) and the World Fair Trade Organization (WFTO). However, these are not the only organizations that issue fair trade certificates.

USDA Organic

This certificate indicates that the espresso beans have been grown according to sustainable farming practices. It means that a farm doesn’t use chemical pesticides or fertilizers. The natural flow of the surrounding ecosystem stays intact and the farmers promote biodiversity.

In general, organic production utilizes traditional soil and farm management techniques like the above-mentioned shade growing.

Best Espresso Coffee Beans Reviews

From exclusive single-origin brands to powerful blends, the following list features options for all coffee lovers. The trick is to find the flavor profile that excites your palate.

1. Kicking Horse Cliff Hanger Espresso – Indonesia, Central & South America, and Africa – a Global Blend

Kicking Horse Cliff Hanger Espresso

Specifications:

  • Brand: Kicking Horse
  • Type: Blend
  • Origin: Indonesia, Africa, and Central & South America
  • Roast: Medium
  • Tasting notes: Silky, cocoa, fruity, berries
  • Brew styles: Espresso, French press, pour-over, cold brew

SEE ON AMAZON

Is there a better way to start the list than with a blend that brings the best beans from all over the world to create unique tasting notes? The Kicking Horse Cliff Hanger Espresso is a medium roast designed to put a smile on the face of professional barista and coffee connoisseurs.

Given the beans’ pedigree, this coffee has one of the most complex flavor profiles. Once brewed, you will be able to enjoy the bright body and pronounced taste of cocoa and exotic fruits. The aftertaste is chocolaty and pretty unique.

As such, this blend is great for espresso shots, but it also works like a charm for French press. Of course, your job is to get a fine grind for espresso or a coarser texture for other brewing methods. Versatility aside, the Kicking Horse Cliff Hanger has all the right certificates.

This whole bean coffee blend is Fair Trade equitable and it features Canada Organic label, as well as being certified kosher. Therefore,  you can rest assured that there are no pollutants that might affect the taste or the brew quality.

BEST SUITED FOR: Daring espresso aficionados who like to experiment with blends and brewing methods.

2. Stumptown Hair Bender – Stumptown’s House Espresso Blend, Indonesia, Latin America, and Africa

Specifications:

  • Brand: Stumptown Coffee Roasters
  • Type: Blend
  • Origin: Indonesia, Latin America, and Africa
  • Roast: N/A
  • Tasting notes: Fruity and citrusy, dark chocolate
  • Brew styles: Espresso, manual brew

CLICK TO CHECK PRICE

Stumptown Coffee Roasters is a coffee shop you can find on several locations in Portland, New York, Chicago, New Orleans, Los Angeles, and Seattle. Besides serving great coffee, these establishments have become iconic for their proprietary blends.

The Stumptown Hair Bender is the company’s most popular whole bean blend for a reason. First, your palate is touched by the African and South American beans’ fruity body. Then, the flavor develops a bold texture with dark chocolate notes with just a hint of minerals that come from the Indonesian side of the blend.

I think it’s a pretty forgiving blend when it comes to dialing in your grinder. The aftertaste is a little close to bitter, but it has that dark, kinda chocolate taste.

The company doesn’t provide exact information about the roast level. But it’s safe to assume the Hair Bender is a medium to medium-dark roast, due to the beans’ origin and espresso-ready characteristics. Be it as it may, the beans are hand-roasted in small batches to ensure a consistent quality and flavor profile.

Finally, this espresso blend is great for those who love a latte or a cappuccino. However, you shouldn’t hesitate to try the Hair Bender with manual brewing methods, either.

BEST SUITED FOR: Want an in-house blend that’s great for automatic espresso machines as well as traditional lever models? Give the Stumptown Hair Bender a try.

3. Lavazza Super Crema – Italy’s Most Popular Roaster; 20% Robusta Adds Body

Lavazza Super Crema

Specifications:

  • Brand: Lavazza
  • Type: Blend
  • Origin: Indonesia, Vietnam, Brazil, and Colombia
  • Roast: Medium
  • Tasting notes: Honey, nuts, and dried fruits
  • Brew styles: Espresso

SEE ON AMAZON

Lavazza is an Italian brand that needs little introduction. The company is renowned for blending quality beans to yield a brew that can meet the criteria of the Italian Espresso National Institute. But what makes the Super Crema espresso beans special?

Lavazza balances powerful Robusta beans from Vietnam and Indonesia with Arabica varieties from India, Brazil, and Colombia. The beans get a medium roast which provides a creamy texture and milder tasting notes. Now you are probably wondering about the look and the flavor.

The first thing that catches the eye is the velvety crema and aroma that hints at a unique flavor profile. Honey and almonds dominate the body and you can taste a touch of dried fruits. Overall, this blend is carefully crafted to take your espresso shot to the next level.

In addition to great quality, the Super Crema espresso beans stand out as a value-for-money blend. The beans come in a 2.2 pound bag and you can get a discount if you go for a three or four-pack. The only limitation is that this Lavazza blend is designed exclusively for espresso machines.

BEST SUITED FOR: Lovers of traditional Italian espresso flavor. You can taste more than 120 years of experience in your cup of coffee. This is why this Lavazza blend is recommended for any espresso lover.

4. illy Arabica Selection – Italy’s Most Respected Roaster; 100% Ethiopian in a Special Roast for Espresso

illy Arabica Selection

Specifications:

  • Brand: illy
  • Type: Single origin
  • Origin: Ethiopia
  • Roast: N/A
  • Tasting notes: Sweet, fruity, with floral notes
  • Brew styles: Espresso, drip, cold brew, pour-over

SEE ON AMAZON

From its humble beginnings in the 1930s, illy has grown into a roasting powerhouse recognized throughout the world. Plus, the Ethisphere Institute puts the company among the most ethical in 2019. Tradition and awards are great, but what type of coffee are you getting with this Ethiopia?

It’s not hard to guess that you’ll enjoy the benefits of single origin coffee. However, Ethiopia’s outstanding flavor profile is bound to impress you. The beans come from the famous Yirgacheffe region and have a delicate, sweet taste.

Elegant is the adjective that best describes illy Ethiopia’s body. And as you sip, the rich taste is complemented by citrusy and floral notes, most notably jasmine. There is just a touch of bitterness in the aftertaste to round out the profile.

The company doesn’t disclose exact information about the roast level. However, it is calibrated to allow for coffee’s natural flavors to shine through. Judging by the beans’ color, it’s safe to assume that this is a darker roast.

BEST SUITED FOR: Those who consider themselves coffee lovers – trying illy Ethiopia is a must. The distinct aromas are bound to excite your senses.

5. Koffee Kult Thunder Bolt – Single Origin from Colombia

Koffee Kult Thunder Bolt

Specifications:

  • Brand: Koffee Kult
  • Type: Single origin
  • Origin: Colombia
  • Roast: Dark
  • Tasting notes: Sweet, medium acidic, citrusy and fruity notes
  • Brew styles: Espresso, drip, cold brew, pour-over

SEE ON AMAZON

Koffee Kult dark roast coffee beans have amassed a following that match the brand’s name. From organically-sourced beans like some of our favorites to artisan roasting, this Colombian single origin has everything you need for a perfect shot of espresso.

Unlike most other roasts, Thunder Bolt is somewhat acidic with a punchy, sweet aftertaste. The brew reveals hints of lime, pineapple, and green apple. Overall, the body can be described as medium and invigorating.

Thunder Bolt is roasted in small batches and packaged immediately after to ensure freshness. You can get this artisan roast in 16oz and 32oz resealable bags and there is also a one-way valve to let the beans degas. There is an option to order it pre-ground, but we’d advise you to stick to whole beans.

Versatility is another great thing about Koffee Kult dark roast coffee beans. Besides espresso, this coffee is also great for cold brew like these other brands.

BEST SUITED FOR: Coffee lovers who covet bold-tasting Colombian beans. And it’s a great option if you like to experiment with different brew styles.

6. Cafe Don Pablo Classic Italian Espresso – Blend of Colombian and Sumatra Mandheling, Very Good Value

Cafe Don Pablo Classic Italian Espresso

Specifications:

  • Brand: Cafe Don Pablo
  • Type: Blend
  • Origin: Sumatra and Colombia
  • Roast: Dark
  • Tasting notes: Sweet, earthy, dark chocolate, and cocoa
  • Brew styles: Espresso, manual brews

SEE ON AMAZON

The list of best espresso beans wouldn’t be complete without Cafe Don Pablo and its Sumatra and Colombia blend. This combination of premium Arabica brings together the potent Mandheling flavors and smooth taste of Colombian Supremo.

Aside from carefully picking the beans, part of the trick also lies in the roasting process. Small batches and slow roasting allow the natural aromas to shine through and you get one of the most intricate flavor profiles out there with this blend. This is a dark roast, but there is no bitterness whatsoever.

The Don Pablo Classic Italian Espresso body is sweet, almost caramel. And the Sumatran Mandheling reveals earthy notes with a touch of dark chocolate on the palate. The coffee has low acidity, smooth body, and a touch of cocoa in the aftertaste.

Being a dark roast, it works well for manual brew styles. However, traditional Italian espresso is where you can take full advantage of the exotic beans.

Lastly, it should be pointed out that the Don Pablo has a Sharing certificate and the coffee is 100% non-GMO.

BEST SUITED FOR: Novice and veteran espresso lovers who like to explore exotic flavors and artisan roasts.

The Bottom Line

Pronouncing one blend or single origin the bestespresso beans is a daunting task. Yes, the origin and type of the beans, the roast level, and quality certificates matter. But ultimately, it all boils down to your personal preferences.

If you’re yearning for a classic Italian-style espresso, though, you can’t go wrong with either Lavazza or Illy. If you want to go for something a little different, try the exciting flavors that Stumptown Hair Bender and Kicking Horse Cliff Hanger have to offer. Either way, you won’t be making a wrong choice.

FAQs

No, espresso beans and coffee beans are not the same – not exactly. The main difference is in the roasting process which typically takes longer with espresso beans.

That being said, espresso whole beans can be used for other brewing methods such as a Moka pot or French press. But making espresso with regular coffee beans risks creating a sour cup.

Yes, espresso can be stronger than coffee. As a rule, a single shot (1oz) of espresso has about 63mg of caffeine. Regular coffee has about 16mg of caffeine per ounce which makes espresso much more potent. The strength also varies from one blend to another.

No, 4 shots of espresso is not a lot, assuming you don’t drink them all at once. Spread throughout the day, four or even more shots espresso can keep you on top of your game. But you should take things slowly and see how your body reacts to this much caffeine.

No, you cannot make a thick, concentrated shot of espresso using instant coffee. It won’t taste, appear, or have the same caffeine kick as a real espresso. However, you can find some instant “espresso” brands in the market. You can learn more about them here.

There are decaf espresso beans available for sale. You can get them from Starbucks and Amazon.

References
  1. Salamanca, C. A., Fiol, N., González, C., Saez, M., & Villaescusa, I. (2017, January 1). Extraction of espresso coffee by using gradient of temperature. Effect on physicochemical and sensorial characteristics of espresso. Retrieved from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/27507518
  2. The FRED® Blog. (n.d.). Retrieved from https://fredblog.stlouisfed.org/2016/03/two-shades-of-coffee/
  3. Szenthe, A. (2015, March 8). Top Coffee Producing Countries. Retrieved from https://www.worldatlas.com/articles/top-coffee-producing-countries.html
  4. Espresso Blending. (n.d.). Retrieved from http://www.coffeeresearch.org/espresso/blending.htm
beans in a portafilter for making espresso
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap