Coffeeble 受读者支持。 当您通过我们网站上的链接购买时,我们可能会免费为您赚取会员佣金。 了解更多

2022 年最佳手动浓缩咖啡机

最好的手动杠杆浓缩咖啡机就像 超级跑车. 它们代表了咖啡设备设计中的佼佼者,并具有出色的规格。 显然,它们的性能不同于您以前使用过的任何其他工具。

更重要的是,手动浓缩咖啡机的掌握是 许多有抱负的咖啡师的成年礼 和浓缩咖啡爱好者。 但首先,您需要合适的工具来完成这项工作。

所以,继续阅读前七名,这将帮助你成为一名浓缩咖啡 领袖.

乍看上去:

如何选择最好的手动浓缩咖啡机

如果你习惯了 自动浓缩咖啡机 这 只需按一下按钮即可制作饮品,切换到手册可能会很棘手。 但是相信我们,如果你想掌握拉杆的艺术,手动机器是唯一的出路。

如果有一个词来描述手动或杠杆浓缩咖啡机,那就是“酷”。

加入其他杠杆爱好者不仅需要您学习新技能,还需要调整您在机器中寻找的东西。 自动机器给你这么多选择 可供选择,但正如您所料,手动浓缩咖啡机更适合小众。 以下是购买杠杆机时应考虑的一些事项。

产品 详细信息 按键
总体而言 elektra-s1c-1 Elektra S1C 微型卡萨
  • 中型
  • 压力计
点击查看价格
PB-16 La Pavoni 专业铜和黄铜
  • 中型
  • 铜和黄铜
  • 压力计
点击查看价格
最适合初学者 La Pavoni Europiccola 浓缩咖啡机 (EPC-8) La Pavoni EPC-8 欧洲短笛
  • 紧凑
  • 不锈钢
  • 压力计
点击查看价格
拉帕沃尼 PSW-16 斯特拉迪瓦里 拉帕沃尼 PSW-16 斯特拉迪瓦里
  • 紧凑
  • 不锈钢
  • 压力计
点击查看价格
最适合旅行 7181QiKGlhL._AC_SL1500_-2 杠杆式
  • 紧凑
  • 混合材料
  • 没有压力表
亚马逊标志 在亚马逊上查看
最超值 Flair 浓缩咖啡机 Flair 浓缩咖啡机
  • 紧凑
  • 不锈钢和铝
  • 没有压力表
亚马逊标志 在亚马逊上查看
bezzera-浓缩咖啡机-bezzera-strega-1-group-manual-espresso-machine-23526201229465_large-2 贝泽拉斯特雷加
  • 不锈钢
  • 压力计
点击查看价格
Elektra S1C 微型卡萨
总体而言 elektra-s1c-1
  • 中型
  • 压力计
La Pavoni 专业铜和黄铜
PB-16
  • 中型
  • 铜和黄铜
  • 压力计
La Pavoni EPC-8 欧洲短笛
最适合初学者 La Pavoni Europiccola 浓缩咖啡机 (EPC-8)
  • 紧凑
  • 不锈钢
  • 压力计
拉帕沃尼 PSW-16 斯特拉迪瓦里
拉帕沃尼 PSW-16 斯特拉迪瓦里
  • 紧凑
  • 不锈钢
  • 压力计
杠杆式
最适合旅行 7181QiKGlhL._AC_SL1500_-2
  • 紧凑
  • 混合材料
  • 没有压力表
Flair 浓缩咖啡机
最超值 Flair 浓缩咖啡机
  • 紧凑
  • 不锈钢和铝
  • 没有压力表
贝泽拉斯特雷加
bezzera-浓缩咖啡机-bezzera-strega-1-group-manual-espresso-machine-23526201229465_large-2
  • 不锈钢
  • 压力计

大小和重量

您可能会注意到这些手动浓缩咖啡机中的大部分内容。 在不需要泵或储液罐的情况下,杠杆式浓缩咖啡机往往比其自动柜台部件小一些。 但这并不一定意味着您可以将它们放入更小的空间。 这里有更多的零件从机器上伸出来,特别是杠杆,它需要一些空间来移动。 如果没有外壳,手动机器会变得非常热,因此需要在四周留出一点空间,以免烧毁其他电器。

一些手动机器不需要电力这一事实可能使它们看起来是便携式机器的好选择。 但是所有那些闪亮的金属零件都可以制造这些东西 . 如果您希望能够携带杠杆机旅行,请寻找一款设计为便携式的。 它不会有同样光滑的设计,但它会更容易运输。

材料

手动浓缩咖啡机采用全金属设计,让人一眼就能认出来。 但是,尽管外观漂亮,但这不仅仅是关于美学。 金属的类型将影响机器的使用寿命以及锅炉的传导和保持热量的能力。 以下是一些最常见的材料及其优缺点。

– 众所周知,铜是一种令人难以置信的热导体,这就是它用于炊具和管道的原因。 但你可能不知道它具有抗菌特性,有助于杀死水中的细菌(1)。 缺点是它非常昂贵,有时会渗入水中。

黄铜 – 作为一种合金,黄铜对制造商来说更容易使用,而且比铜便宜得多。 它不具备与铜相同的导热性或稳定性,但优于铝,后者用于许多更便宜的浓缩咖啡机。

不锈钢 – 虽然薄不锈钢的保温性很差,但厚不锈钢和绝缘材料的锅炉可以提供令人难以置信的温度一致性。 它还具有耐水垢的优点,并且不会像铜那样浸出(2).

– 被列为镀铬的机器指的是表面处理,而不是锅炉的实际建筑材料。 它通常是镀铬的黄铜,以提高耐用性、耐腐蚀性和漂亮的光泽度(3)。 这样做的缺点是镀铬会剥落。

旅行浓缩咖啡机是个例外。 不涉及锅炉——您需要单独加热水——因此不需要导热金属。 他们经常使用塑料来减轻重量,因此请确保您寻找不含 BPA 的东西。

学习曲线

一目了然,您会发现这些机器看起来与您的普通台面浓缩咖啡机有很大不同。 为了开始完善您的早晨拍摄,您需要学习一些东西 - 即使您已经是半自动的高手。 

在任何类型的自动意式浓缩咖啡机中,机器都会产生压力,只需按一下按钮,就可以迫使它通过咖啡粉。 而在这里,您是处理咖啡中水流的人。 

这意味着不仅要学习压力科学,还要学习一些新的机器零件。

其中最重要的是杠杆,有两种类型:

  1. 新的 弹簧活塞 就像赢得玩具一样工作。 拉动控制杆会在弹簧中增加张力,当您松开控制杆时,弹簧会向组头施加压力。
  2. 随着 直接杠杆 机器,没有中介。 您施加在杠杆上的压力就是施加在组头上的压力(4)。 弹簧杆更易于使用,但直接杆将为您提供更多控制。

有些机器有一个压力表来帮助您管理流量,但在其他机器上,您只需要让咖啡成为您的向导! 最适合您的手动浓缩咖啡机指日可待。

直接杠杆与弹簧杠杆浓缩咖啡机

7 台最佳手动浓缩咖啡机

什么是杠杆浓缩咖啡机中的法拉利? 继续阅读以了解更多关于成功晋级的模型。 每种预算和风格都有手动咖啡机。

1. Elektra S1C 微型卡萨 – 最佳整体杠杆机 

产品参数

  • 尺寸:10” x 10” x 21”

  • 重量:22磅
  • 材质:铬
  • 压力表:是的 

Elektra S1C Microcasa 拥有手动浓缩咖啡机所需的所有功能。 从出色的镀铬设计到高品质黄铜锅炉,该型号经过精心设计,可提供多年的可靠服务。

您应该知道这是一款弹簧活塞式浓缩咖啡机。 这意味着您拉下杠杆,一旦您松开它,提取过程就开始了。 该装置还具有一个模拟压力表。 当针进入绿色区域时,就该冲一杯浓缩咖啡了。

至于黄铜锅炉,它可容纳 60 盎司的水,并提供足够干燥的蒸汽,让您轻松为您的牛奶起泡 卡布奇诺或拿铁. 传统的蒸汽棒采用精密设计的喷嘴设计,以实现最佳性能。

S1C 还带有一个观察镜,可以告诉您系统中有多少水。 请记住,杠杆机器上的加热元件需要始终浸入水中。 否则,您可能会损坏机器或加热器。

就尺寸而言,这款 Elektra 是一款中型机器,尺寸为 10 英寸 x 10 英寸 x 21 英寸,重 22 磅。 但是,当你得到这样一个单元时,紧凑性可能是你最不关心的问题。 

有了这样的机器,你肯定希望它在前面和中间。 没有挤在一些橱柜之间。

一线设备

最适合: 浓缩咖啡爱好者正在寻找一种易于操作且经久耐用的杠杆式咖啡机。

2. La Pavoni 专业铜和黄铜 – 最佳无弹簧杠杆浓缩咖啡机

产品参数

  • 尺寸:11.4” x 12.6” x 17.9”

  • 重量:12.1磅
  • 材料:铜和黄铜
  • 压力表:是的

这款 La Pavoni 来自世界上最古老的制造商之一,是一股不可忽视的力量。 铜和黄铜设计不容错过,您的客人一定会喜欢它。 但是,这台机器的功能远不止眼前所见。

如前所述,这是一个完全手动的单元,没有弹簧、泵或花哨的电子设备。 这意味着整个提取过程取决于您,但您不应该让这吓到您。 这种简约中蕴含着优雅,La Pavoni 非常易于使用。

38 盎司的锅炉,应该足够煮大约 16 杯双份浓缩咖啡,是这台伟大机器的亮点。 它由铜制成,顶部有漆涂层,更易于维护和更耐用。 另外,锅炉的内部是镀镍的,可以更好地保持热量。

还有一个观察镜,可以查看水箱中有多少液体。 您还可以使用模拟压力表来确定完美浓缩咖啡所需的 9 巴压力。 La Pavoni 还有一个内部温度开关,因此您无需担心它会过热。

该机器配有自动和标准蒸汽棒,无需任何工具即可切换。 最后,您会收到一个教学视频,让您开始。

最适合: 有人正在寻找一台漂亮的全手动机器来完善您的咖啡师技能。 这个 La Pavoni 可能就在你的小巷里。

3. La Pavoni EPC-8 欧洲短笛 – 适合初学者的最佳杠杆机

产品参数

  • 紧凑

  • 不锈钢
  • 压力计

La Pavoni Europiccola 在价格、功能和易用性方面取得了很好的平衡。 因此,这是一个完美的入门级模型,可以帮助您磨练手动提取技能。

更重要的是,您可以立即获得开始酿造所需的一切。 Europiccola 有一个测量勺、捣实器、一个筛网支架和一个筛网。 最具挑战性的部分是校准您的研磨机以获得理想的咖啡渣。

与所有 La Pavoni 浓缩咖啡机一样,EPC-8 的结构像一辆坦克,看起来像一辆法拉利。 Europiccola 采用抛光不锈钢结构、内部恒温器和传统蒸汽棒。 值得注意的是,魔杖不是机器的最强套装,起泡可能很棘手。

除此之外,您不应该在这台机器上遇到任何问题。 该装置是活塞式的,您应该快速掌握提取时间。 至于容量,水箱可容纳 20 盎司,足以制作约 XNUMX 杯单份浓缩咖啡。

如果空间有限,EPC-8 也是一个不错的选择。 该机器尺寸为 7 英寸 x 11 英寸 x 12 英寸,重 14 磅。

最适合: 任何希望从自动或半自动浓缩咖啡机轻松过渡的人。

相关新闻: 1000 美元以下的最佳浓缩咖啡机

4. 拉帕沃尼 PSW-16 斯特拉迪瓦里 – 最佳 16 杯杠杆机

产品参数

  • 尺寸:4.5” x 12” x 16.2”

  • 重量:15.6磅
  • 材质:不锈钢
  • 压力表:是的 

由于其出色的设计,La Pavoni 机器可以在一英里外被识别。 PSW-16 Stradivari 也不例外,它名副其实。

这篇评论中的模型带有银色饰面,手动杆和阀门旋钮上有木制手柄。 如果这不是你的事,你可以得到相同的单元,镀铬表面和硼硅酸盐把手和阀门旋钮。 除了美学,出色的工程和酿造能力是这款咖啡​​机的主要资产。

Stradivari 有一个内部镀镍的 38 盎司黄铜锅炉。 还有一个双重起泡系统可帮助您为卡布奇诺获得合适的奶油。 此外,内部恒温器可防止过热。

为了更加安全和方便,PSW-16 配备了一个复位保险丝和一个嵌入式电源开关。 该机器还装有一个模拟压力表。 最后,您会得到一个双喷口过滤器,以及一个和两杯咖啡篮。

就尺寸而言,这款杠杆机是中型型号,尺寸为 4.5 英寸 x 12 英寸 x 16.2 英寸,重 15.6 磅。

最适合: 有人正在寻找一台具有所有功能的机器来提取完美的浓缩咖啡,并且有足够的预算来匹配。

5. 杠杆式 – 最适合旅行

“杠杆压力咖啡”

产品参数

  • 尺寸:3.15” x 3.15” x 7.09”

  • 重量:1.1磅
  • 材料:混合材料
  • 压力表:否

遗憾的是,大多数假日装箱单上都没有浓缩咖啡机,但有了 Leverpresso,这一切都可能改变。 它仅重 1.1 磅,重量轻到可以考虑真正便携,而且 3.15 英寸 x 7.09 英寸的尺寸足够紧凑,甚至可以在需要时放入手提包中。

与列表中的其他机器不同,这个小数字与双杠杆一起使用,您可以从两侧拉下。 对于这种尺寸的机器来说,这是一种更一致的提取方法,根据制造商的说法,仍然可以为您提供 9 巴的压力。 没有压力表,但由于透明的 Tritan 塑料机身(顺便说一下不含 BPA),您可以跟踪您的进度。

水室可容纳 120 毫升的水,因此使用 18 克的手持式过滤器可以提取完整的双镜头。 购买时,您还可以选择加压或非加压过滤篮 - 因此无论是新手还是经验丰富的人都可以选择。

最适合: 旅途中的咖啡鉴赏家。

相关新闻:

6. 天赋咖啡so 制造商 – 最实惠的手动印刷机

Flair 浓缩咖啡机

产品参数

  • 尺寸:3.25” x 9” x 12.5”

  • 重量:5磅
  • 材质:不锈钢/铝
  • 压力表:否 

Flair Espresso Maker 属于预算类别,但您不应该让低价欺骗您。 这台机器有很多花样,是这份名单上最便携的机器之一。 是什么让 Flair 如此特别?

首先,这与超级自动机器完全相反。 没有电线、插头或泵; 一切都是手工完成的,手动杆让您负责冲泡。 此外,您不应忽视构建质量。

机器支架由铝制成,冲泡头为优质不锈钢。 更重要的是,您很难找到另一台带有可拆卸冲泡头的手动浓缩咖啡机。 尺寸方面,Flair 尺寸为 3.25 英寸 x 9 英寸 x 12.5 英寸,重 5 磅。

重量可能在印刷机型号的上限范围内,但尺寸正好在钱上。 该包装包括一个旅行箱,因此您可以轻松地在路上携带 Flair。

最适合: 那些想尝尝手工浓缩咖啡冲泡的人。 它也非常适合作为旅行或露营的辅助装置。

相关新闻: 200 美元以下的最佳浓缩咖啡机

7. 贝泽拉斯特雷加 – 最适合重度使用

产品参数

  • 大小:27.95″ x 12.99″ x 17.72″

  • 重量:63.93磅
  • 材质:不锈钢
  • 压力表:是的

典型的手动杠杆机器可能位于较小的一端,但这并不意味着它们不适合繁忙的办公室甚至小型咖啡店。 这台较大的机器具有一个 135 盎司的大水箱,也可以直接插入。

这个意大利品牌应该对咖啡有所了解。 早在 1901 年,Luigi Bezzera 就为第一台浓缩咖啡机申请了专利。Strega 延续了其咖啡机生产的悠久传统,但具有用于精确冲泡的现代功能。 这包括创造一些他们自己的技术,例如一个包含自己的加热元件的杠杆组,以保持一致的温度。

Strega 实际上是一个杠杆泵混合动力,带有一个支撑振动泵,用于对 67 盎司锅炉进行快速加注。 锅炉通过热交换系统工作,因此在拉枪和热牛奶之间没有延迟。

最适合: 大家庭或小型特色咖啡店。

该判决

这个最佳手动浓缩咖啡机列表中的每个型号都经过精心挑选,基于手动浓缩咖啡机可能具有的最理想的特性。 然而,Elektra S1 Microcasa 是同类产品中最好的。 如果您考虑到卓越的工程设计、大水容量和易用性,该型号将物有所值。

别忘了,S1C Microcasa 旨在成为厨房的核心。 唯一棘手的事情是找到与 Elektra 的意大利风格相匹配的研磨机。

最好的手动浓缩咖啡机

常见问题

手动浓缩咖啡机是 类型 浓缩咖啡机,让您完全控制萃取过程。 这些机器有一个锅炉、一个压力表和一个手动控制杆来控制冲泡时间和输液。

有两种类型的手动浓缩咖啡机——活塞式和弹簧式。 这些工作方式略有不同,但最终结果几乎相同。

是的,拉帕沃尼很好。 该公司是历史最悠久的浓缩咖啡机制造商之一,拥有 100 多年的传统。 多年来,La Pavoni 完善了手动浓缩咖啡机的设计,并提供大量型号可供选择。

您可以使用内置蒸汽棒给牛奶起泡。 最好将冷鲜牛奶倒入水壶中,然后将喷嘴的尖端插入牛奶中。 您还应该将魔杖靠近水壶一侧以形成漩涡。

在开始蒸制过程之前,不要忘记将一些蒸汽注入新毛巾以清洁魔杖。 这样可以防止杂质和牛奶残留物与新鲜牛奶接触。

參考資料
  1. Elert, G. (nd)。 浓缩咖啡机中蒸汽的温度。 取自 https://hypertextbook.com/facts/2004/StaceyJohnson.shtml
  2. Rao, S. Prewetting:什么时候做,什么时候不做。 (2016 年 28 月 XNUMX 日)。 取自 https://www.scottrao.com/blog/prewetting-when-to-do-it-when-not-to
  3. 经认证的意大利浓缩咖啡。 (nd)。 取自 http://www.espressoitaliano.org/en/The-Certified-Italian-Espresso.html
  4. Stamp, J.(2012 年 19 月 126012814 日)。 浓缩咖啡机的悠久历史。 取自 https://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/the-long-history-of-the-espresso-machine-XNUMX/

发表评论

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

复制链接
版权所有 社交快照

Coffeeble is reader-supported. When you buy via the links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission at no cost to you. Learn more.

Best Manual Espresso Machine in 2021

The best manual lever espresso machines are like supercars. They represent the best of the best in coffee gear design, and feature outstanding specs. Clearly, they perform unlike any other tool you’ve used before.

What’s more, manual espresso machine mastery is a rite of passage for many aspiring baristas and espresso enthusiasts. But first, you need the right tool for the job.

So, keep reading for out top seven picks that will help you become an espresso guru.

At A Glance:

How to Pick the Best Manual Espresso Machine

If you’re used to automatic espresso machines that make drinks with a touch of a button, the switch to a manual can be tricky. But believe us, if you want to master the art of pulling a shot, the manual machine is the only way to go.

If there’s one word to describe the manual or lever espresso machine, it’s ‘cool’.

Joining the other lever lovers will require you not only to learn new skills, but you’ll also need to adjust what you’re looking for in a machine. Automatic machines give you so many options to choose from, but as you would expect, the manual espresso machines are a little more niche. Here are a few of the things you should consider when purchasing a lever machine.

Product Details Button
Best Overall elektra-s1c-1 Elektra S1C Microcasa
  • Medium-sized
  • Chrome
  • Pressure gauge
Click to Check Price
pb-16 La Pavoni Professional Copper & Brass
  • Medium-sized
  • Copper and Brass
  • Pressure gauge
Click to Check Price
Best for Beginners La Pavoni Europiccola Espresso Machine (EPC-8) La Pavoni EPC-8 Europiccola
  • Compact
  • Stainless steel
  • Pressure gauge
Click to Check Price
La Pavoni PSW-16 Stradivari La Pavoni PSW-16 Stradivari
  • Compact
  • Stainless steel
  • Pressure gauge
Click to Check Price
Best for Travel 7181QiKGlhL._AC_SL1500_-2 Leverpresso
  • Compact
  • Mixed materials
  • No pressure gauge
amazon-logo See on Amazon
Best Value Flair Espresso Maker Flair Espresso Maker
  • Compact
  • Stainless steel and aluminium
  • No pressure gauge
amazon-logo See on Amazon
bezzera-espresso-machine-bezzera-strega-1-group-manual-espresso-machine-23526201229465_large-2 Bezzera Strega
  • Large
  • Stainless steel
  • Pressure gauge
Click to check price
Elektra S1C Microcasa
Best Overall elektra-s1c-1
  • Medium-sized
  • Chrome
  • Pressure gauge
La Pavoni Professional Copper & Brass
pb-16
  • Medium-sized
  • Copper and Brass
  • Pressure gauge
La Pavoni EPC-8 Europiccola
Best for Beginners La Pavoni Europiccola Espresso Machine (EPC-8)
  • Compact
  • Stainless steel
  • Pressure gauge
La Pavoni PSW-16 Stradivari
La Pavoni PSW-16 Stradivari
  • Compact
  • Stainless steel
  • Pressure gauge
Leverpresso
Best for Travel 7181QiKGlhL._AC_SL1500_-2
  • Compact
  • Mixed materials
  • No pressure gauge
Flair Espresso Maker
Best Value Flair Espresso Maker
  • Compact
  • Stainless steel and aluminium
  • No pressure gauge
Bezzera Strega
bezzera-espresso-machine-bezzera-strega-1-group-manual-espresso-machine-23526201229465_large-2
  • Large
  • Stainless steel
  • Pressure gauge

Size and weight

You will probably notice something about most of these manual espresso machines. Without the need for a pump or reservoir, lever espresso machines tend to be somewhat smaller than their automatic counter parts. But this doesn’t necessarily mean you can get them into smaller spaces. There are a lot more parts that stick out from the machine here, the lever in particular, which will need some room to move. With no outer casing, manual machines can get very hot, so it’ll need a bit of room on all sides to avoid burning other appliances.

The fact that some manual machines don’t require electricity might make them seem a good pick for a portable machine. But all of those shiny metal parts can make these things heavy. If you want to be able to travel with your lever machine, look for one that’s designed to be portable. It won’t have the same slick design, but it will be much easier to transport.

Material

The manual espresso machine is instantly recognizable with its all-metal design. But despite the good looks, this is not just about aesthetics. The type of metal will impact both the longevity of the machine, and the boiler’s ability to conduct and retain heat. Here are some of the most common materials and their pros and cons.

Copper – Copper is well-known as being an incredible conductor of heat, which is why it’s used in cookware and plumbing. But what you might not know that it has antimicrobial properties that help kill bacteria in water (1). The downside is that it’s very expensive and can sometimes leach into water.

Brass – As an alloy, brass is much easier for manufacturers to work with, and is considerably cheaper than copper. It doesn’t have the same thermal conductivity or stability as copper, but it is better than aluminum, which is used in many cheaper espresso machines.

Stainless steel – While thin stainless steel has very poor thermal retention, a boiler of thick stainless steel and insulation can provide incredible temperature consistency. It also has the advantage of being resistant to limescale, and will not leach in the way that copper does (2).

Chrome – A machine that’s listed as chrome will refer to the finish, and not actually the construction material for the boiler. It’s usually brass that has been chrome plated to give it increased durability, resistance to corrosion and a nice shiny finish (3). The downside to this is that the chrome plating can peel.

Travel espresso makers are the exception for this. There’s no boiler involved – you need to heat the water separately – so there’s no need for heat-conducting metal. They often use plastic to keep the weight down, so make sure you look for something that’s BPA-free.

Learning curve

At a glance you can see that these machines look a lot different to your average countertop espresso maker. In order to start perfecting your morning shot, there are a few things that you’ll need to learn – even if you’re already a whizz with a semi-automatic. 

In any kind of automatic espresso maker, the machine generates the pressure and forces it through the grounds at the touch of a button. Whereas here, you are the one handling the flow of water through the coffee. 

This means not only learning about the science of pressure, but also some new machine parts.

The most important of these is the lever, and there are two types:

  1. The spring piston works like wining up a toy. Pulling the lever builds up tension in the spring, and when you release the lever, the spring applies the pressure to the group head.
  2. With a direct lever machine, there’s no intermediary. The pressure you apply to the lever is what’s applied to the group head (4). Spring levers are easier to use, but a direct lever will give you more control.

Some machines have a pressure gauge to help you manage the flow, but on others, you just have to let the coffee be your guide! The best manual espresso maker for you is just around the corner.

direct lever vs spring lever espresso machines

7 Best Manual Espresso Machines

What is the Ferrari among lever espresso machines? Keep reading to find more about the models that made the cut. There is a manual coffee machine for every budget and style.

1. Elektra S1C Microcasa – Best Overall Lever Machine 

Specifications

  • Size: 10” x 10” x 21”

  • Weight: 22 pounds
  • Material: Chrome
  • Pressure Gauge: Yes 

The Elektra S1C Microcasa has all the bells and whistles you want from a manual espresso machine. From the outstanding chrome-plated design to the high-quality brass boiler, this model is engineered to provide years of reliable service.

You should know that this is a spring-piston espresso maker. This means you pull down on the lever and once you release it the extraction process begins. The unit also features an analog pressure gauge. When the needle gets in the green area, it’s time for an espresso shot.

As for the brass boiler, it holds 60 oz of water and delivers steam that’s dry enough for you to easily froth milk for your cappuccino or latte. The steam wand is traditionally styled with a precision-engineered nozzle for optimal performance.

The S1C also comes with a sight glass which tells you how much water is in the system. Bear in mind, the heating element on lever machines needs to be submerged at all times. Otherwise, you risk damaging the machine or the heater.

In terms of size, this Elektra is a medium machine and it measures 10” x 10” x 21” and weighs 22 pounds. But, compactness is probably the least of your concerns when you get such a unit. 

With a machine like this, you definitely want it front and center. Not crammed in between some cabinets.

1st-line Equipment

BEST SUITED FOR: The espresso fan looking for a lever machine that’s easy to operate and built to last a lifetime.

2. La Pavoni Professional Copper & Brass – Best Springless Lever Espresso Machine

Specifications

  • Size: 11.4” x 12.6” x 17.9”

  • Weight: 12.1 pounds
  • Material: Copper and Brass
  • Pressure Gauge: Yes

Coming from one of the oldest manufacturers in the world, this La Pavoni is a force to be reckoned with. The copper and brass design is hard to miss and your guests are bound to love it. But there is more to this machine than meets the eye.

As said, this is a fully manual unit and there are no springs, pumps, or fancy electronics. This means that the whole extraction process is up to you, but you shouldn’t let this scare you. There is elegance in this kind of simplicity and the La Pavoni is pretty easy to use.

The 38oz boiler, which should be enough for about 16 double espressos, is the highlight of this great machine. It’s made of copper with a lacquer coating on top for easier maintenance and greater durability. Plus, the boiler’s interior is nickel-plated for better heat retention.

There is also a sight glass to see how much liquid is in the water tank. And you also get an analog pressure gauge to nail that 9 bar pressure required for a perfect espresso. The La Pavoni also has an internal temperature switch, so you don’t need to worry about it overheating.

The machine comes with an automatic and a standard steam wand which can be switched without any tools. Finally, you get an instructional video to start you off.

BEST SUITED FOR: Someone looking for a beautiful, fully manual machine to perfect your barista skills. This La Pavoni might be right up your alley.

3. La Pavoni EPC-8 Europiccola – Best Lever Machine for Beginners

Specifications

  • Compact

  • Stainless steel
  • Pressure gauge

The La Pavoni Europiccola has a good balance of price, features, and ease of use. As such, this is the perfect entry-level model that can help you hone your manual extraction skills.

What’s more, you get everything you need to start brewing right out of the box. The Europiccola has a measuring ladle, tamp, a screen holder and a screen. The most challenging part is to calibrate your grinder to get the ideal coffee grounds.

Like all La Pavoni espresso machines, the EPC-8 is built like a tank and it looks like a Ferrari. The Europiccola features polished stainless steel construction, an internal thermostat, and a traditional steam wand. It’s worth noting that the wand is not the machine’s strongest suit and the frothing can be tricky.

Other than that, you shouldn’t experience any problems with this machine. The unit is piston-operated and you should quickly master the extraction time. As for the capacity, the water tank holds 20oz which is enough to get about eight single espresso shots.

The EPC-8 is also a good choice if you are strapped for space. The machine measures 7” x 11” x 12” and weighs 14 pounds.

BEST SUITED FOR: Anyone looking to make an easy transition from an automatic or a semi-automatic espresso maker.

Related: Best Espresso Machines Under $1000

4. La Pavoni PSW-16 Stradivari – Best 16-Cup Lever Machine

Specifications

  • Size: 4.5” x 12” x 16.2”

  • Weight: 15.6 pounds
  • Material: Stainless Steel
  • Pressure Gauge: Yes 

Due to their outstanding design, La Pavoni machines can be recognized from a mile away. The PSW-16 Stradivari is no different, and it lives up to its legendary name.

The model in this review comes with a silver finish with wooden handles on the manual lever and valve knobs. If this is not your thing, you can get the same unit with a chrome finish and borosilicate handles and valve knobs. Aesthetics aside, great engineering and brewing capabilities are the main assets of this coffee maker.

The Stradivari has a 38oz brass boiler with nickel plating on the inside. There is also a dual frothing system to help you get the right cream for your cappuccino. Plus, an internal thermostat prevents overheating.

For some extra safety and convenience, the PSW-16 has a reset safety fuse and a recessed power switch. The machine also sports a mounted analog pressure gauge. Finally, you get a double spout portafilter, plus one and two-cup coffee baskets.

When it comes to size, this lever machine is a medium model and measures 4.5” x 12” x 16.2” and weighs 15.6 pounds.

BEST SUITED FOR: Someone looking for a machine with all the features to extract a perfect shot of espresso, and who has the budget to match.

5. Leverpresso – Best for Travel

“Leverpresso”

Specifications

  • Size: 3.15” x 3.15” x 7.09”

  • Weight: 1.1 pounds
  • Material: Mixed materials
  • Pressure Gauge: No

An espresso machine sadly isn’t on most holiday packing lists, but with the Leverpresso, all this could change. Weighing just 1.1 pounds, it really is light enough to consider truly portable, and the 3.15” x 7.09” size is compact enough to even fit in a handbag should you need to.

Unlike the other machines on the list, this little number works with dual levers, which you pull down on either side. This is a more consistent method of extraction for a machine this size, and according to the manufacturer will still get you 9 bars of pressure. There’s no pressure gauge, but you can track your progress thanks to the transparent Tritan plastic body (which by the way is BPA free).

The water chamber can take 120ml of water, so with the 18g portafilter you can extract full double shots. When purchasing you’ll also have the choice of pressurized or non-pressurized filter baskets – so it’s great for both newbies or the more experienced.

BEST SUITED FOR: Coffee connoisseurs on the go.

Related:

6. Flair Espresso Maker – Best Affordable Manual Press

Flair Espresso Maker

Specifications

  • Size: 3.25” x 9” x 12.5”

  • Weight: 5 pounds
  • Material: Stainless Steel/Aluminum
  • Pressure Gauge: No 

The Flair Espresso Maker falls into the budget category, but you shouldn’t let the low price trick you. This machine has a lot of tricks up its sleeve, and is among the most portable on this list. What makes the Flair so special?

To begin with, this is the complete opposite of a super-automatic machine. There are no wires, plugs, or pumps; everything is done by hand and the manual lever puts you in charge of brewing. Also, you shouldn’t overlook the build quality.

The machine’s stand is made of aluminum and the brewing head is high-quality stainless steel. What’s more, you’d be hard-pressed to find another manual espresso machine with a detachable brewing head. Dimension-wise, the Flair measures 3.25” x 9” x 12.5” and weighs 5 pounds.

The weight might be in the upper range for press models, but the size is right on the money. The package includes a travel case, so you can easily take the Flair on the road.

BEST SUITED FOR: Those who want to get a taste of manual espresso brewing. It also works great as a secondary unit for travel or camping.

Related: Best Espresso Machines Under $200

7. Bezzera Strega – Best for Heavy Use

Specifications

  • Size: 27.95″ x 12.99″ x 17.72″

  • Weight: 63.93 pounds
  • Material: Stain less Steel
  • Pressure Gauge: Yes

The typical manual lever machine might sit on the smaller end of things, but that doesn’t mean they’re not suitable for busy offices or even small coffee shops. This larger scale machine features a hefty 135oz water tank, and can also be plumbed in directly.

The Italian brand should know a thing or two about coffee. It was Luigi Bezzera who patented the first espresso machine back in 1901. The Strega continues their long tradition of coffee machine production, but with modern features for precision brewing. This includes creating some of their own tech, such as a lever group that contains its own heating element for consistent temperatures.

The Strega is actually a lever-pump hybrid, with a supporting vibratory pump for raid refilling of the 67oz boiler. The boiler works off a heat-exchange system, so there’s no delay in between pulling shots and steaming milk.

BEST SUITED FOR: Large households or small, specialty coffee shops.

The Verdict

Each model in this best manual espresso machines list was carefully selected, based on the most desirable characteristics a manual espresso machine could have. However, the Elektra S1 Microcasa stands out as the best of the bunch. If you factor in exceptional engineering, large water capacity, and ease of use, this model offers the best value for the money.

And let’s not forget, the S1C Microcasa is designed to be the centerpiece of the kitchen. The only tricky thing is finding a grinder that matches the Elektra’s Italian style.

best manual espresso maker

FAQs

A manual espresso machine is a type of espresso maker that gives you complete control over the extraction process. These machines have a boiler, a pressure gauge, and a manual lever to control the brewing time and infusion.

There are two types of manual espresso machines – piston and spring-operated. These work a bit differently, but the final result is pretty much the same.

Yes, La Pavoni is good. The company is among the oldest espresso machine manufacturers with more than 100 years of tradition. Over the years, La Pavoni has perfected the manual espresso maker design and offers a huge selection of models.

You foam milk with the built-in steam wand. It’s best to pour cold fresh milk into a jug and insert the tip of the nozzle into the milk. You should also keep the wand close to the jug side to make a vortex.

Before you start the steaming process, don’t forget to run some steam into a fresh towel to clean the wand. This way you prevent impurities and milk residue from coming in contact with the fresh milk.

References
  1. Elert, G. (n.d.). Temperature of Steam in an Espresso Machine. Retrieved from https://hypertextbook.com/facts/2004/StaceyJohnson.shtml
  2. Rao, S. Prewetting: When to do it, when not to. (2016, October 28). Retrieved from https://www.scottrao.com/blog/prewetting-when-to-do-it-when-not-to
  3. The Certified Italian Espresso. (n.d.). Retrieved from http://www.espressoitaliano.org/en/The-Certified-Italian-Espresso.html
  4. Stamp, J. (2012, June 19). The Long History of the Espresso Machine. Retrieved from https://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/the-long-history-of-the-espresso-machine-126012814/

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Copy link
Powered by Social Snap