Coffeeble 受读者支持。 当您通过我们网站上的链接购买时,我们可能会免费为您赚取会员佣金。 了解更多

最好的咖啡豆 法国出版社: 5 个值得尝试的顶级品牌

尽管是冲泡咖啡的最简单方法之一,但使用法压咖啡机可以提供一些金钱可以买到的最好的咖啡杯。 买一些豆子,研磨它们,在咖啡渣中加入热水,按下柱塞,差不多就是这样。

这是制作法式压榨咖啡的最佳咖啡豆。

乍看上去:

法国媒体的最佳咖啡豆

请记住,在制作法式压榨咖啡时,关键在于咖啡豆以及研磨方式。 弄错了,你最终会得到一杯淡味的污泥,而不是你所期待的微妙的咖啡。 这就是为什么我们为法国媒体挑选了最好的咖啡,以帮助您避免常见的陷阱并找到适合您口味的美味咖啡豆。

如何冲泡最好的法式压榨咖啡

热门精选

乔的咖啡馆——Celebes Kalossi Coffee

这是一款浓郁的奶油黑烘焙咖啡,有着令人印象深刻的血统和美妙的草本香气,并带有一丝甘草味。 这种印尼咖啡的甜味在法国媒体上是家常便饭。

比 DC 超级英雄电影更黑暗——得到正确的烤肉

黑咖啡

传统上,法式压榨咖啡是使用深色烘焙来冲泡的,因为烘焙时间越长, 豆子中的美味油. 它还可以抑制它可能携带的任何酸性音符。 深色烘焙咖啡豆在用于其他冲泡方法时通常会很苦,但是当您使用法式压榨机时,苦味会降低,从而带出最好的咖啡风味(1)。 缓慢的萃取过程带出您的咖啡豆的烟熏味、浓郁的特性,并产生一杯更甜美的咖啡。

当然,这不是一个硬性规定。 在轻烤豆的同时, 像这些,都是 更适合冷酿,中度烘焙咖啡豆通常是法国媒体的绝佳选择。 与更大胆的深色烤肉相比,这种烤肉还提供更轻、更细腻的风味。 这就是为什么它们受到第三波咖啡爱好者的青睐。

处理日常研磨——法国媒体最好的咖啡研磨是什么?

简而言之,在中等粗度的环境中研磨咖啡豆,但您应该尝试看看哪种环境最适合您。 粗磨咖啡豆的较大表面积将导致从咖啡中提取出更多更明亮的风味,从而减少苦味,从而获得更甜的味道。

记下您的研磨量,以便稍后进行调整:如果您的冲泡较弱,则下次研磨得更细一些,如果您品尝到很多令人不快、盘子粗糙、过度萃取的味道,则研磨得更粗一些。

Nick Cho,Wrecking Ball Coffee Roasters 联合创始人

任何精通咖啡师都会建议您避免使用预磨咖啡,原因有两个。 首先,对于连接到法国压榨机柱塞的网状过滤器来说,它通常会被磨得太细。 这意味着当你完成冲泡时,你会得到一杯坚韧不拔的咖啡。 虽然你永远不会完全摆脱精细 磨碎的咖啡豆 使用法式压榨机,新鲜的粗磨可以最大限度地减少它们,并使质地更接近丝滑。

第二个原因是味道。 在研磨和冲泡之间等待的时间越长,失去的味道就越多。 此外,较小的表面积不适用于法式压榨法,导致酒体微弱、令人不满意。 保存预接地 浓缩咖啡机的咖啡,买整颗豆子,把你的研磨机磨碎。 说到味道,这里有一些 味道最好的咖啡 我们推荐。

等待的人会有好事 - 你应该酿造多长时间?

对此意见不一。 可靠的经验法则是 XNUMX 到 XNUMX 分钟,尽管研磨得越粗,从豆子中获得最佳风味所需的时间就越长(2)。 同样,值得尝试一下以找到每种咖啡的最佳时机。

时机对法国媒体来说至关重要。 标准是 4-6 分钟,但有些豆子可能需要 8 分钟才能制作出完美的杯子。

时间到后,轻轻按下柱塞。 速度太快会搅动咖啡渣,最终会使咖啡变得更苦。 为了从您的法式压榨机中获得最好的咖啡,最好在下水后将其倒出,否则剩菜会继续冲泡。

我们为法国媒体推荐的 5 款最佳咖啡

产品 详细信息 按键
我们的首选 Joe's-Coffee-House--Celebes-Kalossi-Coffee 乔的咖啡馆 Celebes Kalossi
  • 产地:南苏拉威西马萨勒
  • 风味笔记​​:浓郁、浓郁、草本、甘草、泥土、奶油、甜味、浓郁
  • 烘烤简介:深烤
点击查看价格
最佳混合咖啡 Peet's Coffee Major Dickason's Blend Peet's Coffee Major Dickason's Blend
  • 产地:签名混合
  • 风味笔记​​:丰富、顺滑和复杂的风味
  • 烘烤简介:深烤
点击查看价格
亚军 蓝瓶咖啡 蓝瓶咖啡巨步
  • 原产地:乌干达、巴布亚新几内亚和苏门答腊
  • 风味笔记​​:可可,烤棉花糖,全麦饼干
  • 烘烤简介:中深烘烤
点击查看价格
昏昏欲睡的僧侣咖啡法式烤苏门答腊 昏昏欲睡的僧侣咖啡法式烤苏门答腊
  • 产地:苏门答腊
  • 风味注释:非常饱满,烟熏,法式烤
  • 烤肉简介:深色法式烤肉
点击查看价格
Volcanica Coffee 埃塞俄比亚耶加雪菲咖啡 Volcanica Coffee 埃塞俄比亚耶加雪菲咖啡
  • 来源:埃塞俄比亚
  • 风味笔记​​:花香和水果
  • 烘烤简介:中度烘烤
点击查看价格
乔的咖啡馆 Celebes Kalossi
我们的首选 Joe's-Coffee-House--Celebes-Kalossi-Coffee
  • 产地:南苏拉威西马萨勒
  • 风味笔记​​:浓郁、浓郁、草本、甘草、泥土、奶油、甜味、浓郁
  • 烘烤简介:深烤
Peet's Coffee Major Dickason's Blend
最佳混合咖啡 Peet's Coffee Major Dickason's Blend
  • 产地:签名混合
  • 风味笔记​​:丰富、顺滑和复杂的风味
  • 烘烤简介:深烤
蓝瓶咖啡巨步
亚军 蓝瓶咖啡
  • 原产地:乌干达、巴布亚新几内亚和苏门答腊
  • 风味笔记​​:可可,烤棉花糖,全麦饼干
  • 烘烤简介:中深烘烤
昏昏欲睡的僧侣咖啡法式烤苏门答腊
昏昏欲睡的僧侣咖啡法式烤苏门答腊
  • 产地:苏门答腊
  • 风味注释:非常饱满,烟熏,法式烤
  • 烤肉简介:深色法式烤肉
Volcanica Coffee 埃塞俄比亚耶加雪菲咖啡
Volcanica Coffee 埃塞俄比亚耶加雪菲咖啡
  • 来源:埃塞俄比亚
  • 风味笔记​​:花香和水果
  • 烘烤简介:中度烘烤

如前所述,您选择的豆子可以成就或破坏您的最终结果。 我们所有的选择都是因为它们微妙的口味,在使用法国媒体时体验最好。

1. 乔的咖啡馆——Celebes Kalossi Coffee – 我们的首选 – 香草和甘草味

产品参数

  • 产地:南苏拉威西马萨勒

  • 风味笔记​​:浓郁、浓郁、草本、甘草、泥土、奶油、甜味、浓郁
  • 烘烤简介:深烤

这种稀有的咖啡每年只种植有限的数量,来自印度尼西亚群岛之一的苏拉威西岛卡洛西市附近的高地。 它所生长的许多树木已有 250 多年的历史,据说早于荷兰人抵达岛上。 树木令人印象深刻的成熟度为咖啡豆注入了甜美的泥土风味,并带有一丝香草和甘草的味道,酸度平衡。

这是我最喜欢的咖啡之一,在过去的几年里我一直在喝。 我很难描述回味,也许是甘草味,但这是这款咖啡​​最好的东西之一。

来自 Joescoffeehouse.com 上的评论者

该地区的湿度所需的湿脱壳加工方法,再加上咖啡豆生长的高海拔(约 4,300 英尺),可生产出浓郁浓郁的咖啡,具有奶油质地和真正闪耀的甜味使用法国媒体酿造时。 这是一种具有悠久而丰富传统的咖啡,您应该尽可能获得。

2. 皮特咖啡——迪卡森少校的混合咖啡 – 对于大胆口味的爱好者 – 经典混合、深烤、复杂的音符

产品参数

  • 产地:签名混合

  • 风味笔记​​:丰富、顺滑和复杂的风味
  • 烘烤简介:深烤

Peet's 制作咖啡已有 50 多年的历史,这种浓郁的深烤混合咖啡是他们的畅销品。 最初由公司创始人开发,与他们最忠实的客户之一合作,他们设法结合了来自世界上一些最好地区的咖啡。 幸运的是,他们设法从每种菌株中获得最佳风味。

Major Dickason's 是一款浓郁、浓郁的经典混合咖啡,是一款浓郁的咖啡,具有多层次的风味和复杂的香气。 它的复杂性归功于其多样化的组件和传统。 它有一种非常顺滑的感觉和一种大胆而强烈的香气,不适合胆小的人。 如果您寻求强烈的口味,这是一种很棒的咖啡选择。

它也很新鲜,因为 Peet's 在您订购的同一天小批量烘烤它。 它从烘焙机出来后立即包装,并在 24 小时内运送给您。 该公司表示,最好使用法国压榨机酿造。

3. 蓝瓶咖啡——巨大的台阶 – 一种美味的巧克力混合 – 乌干达、新几内亚和苏门答腊,一种带有层层风味的中深色混合

产品参数

  • 原产地:乌干达、巴布亚新几内亚和苏门答腊

  • 风味笔记​​:可可,烤棉花糖,全麦饼干
  • 烘烤简介:中深烘烤

作为我们清单上较轻的选择之一,这款来自 Blue Bottle Coffee 的中度深烘焙混合咖啡混合了来自苏门答腊、巴布亚新几内亚和乌干达的有机种植的咖啡豆,打造出具有层次感的美味咖啡。 以 John Coltrane 的经典爵士乐命名,它创造了一种粘性饮料,在酿造时具有与其同名的一些复杂性。

您从这款甜美、朴实的咖啡中获得的主要风味和香气几乎是软糖般的巧克力,带有棉花糖和烤面包的味道。 这是一种很好的混合,不需要非常精致的味觉来享受,所以它是与朋友分享的好选择。 当您添加牛奶或奶油时,它的巧克力风味更加闪耀。

Giant Steps 咖啡经过 Blue Bottle 质量控制团队的定期严格测试。 它会在下单后 24 小时或更短的时间内烘烤、包装和发货。 这是一款人人都能享用的高品质咖啡。

Blue Bottle Coffee 还提供咖啡订阅服务,并根据您的口味、首选冲泡方法等发送咖啡豆。 你可以阅读 我们在这里对最佳咖啡订阅服务的评论.

4. 昏昏欲睡的僧侣咖啡——法式烤苏门答腊 – 如果您喜欢烟熏味浓郁的咖啡,那就太好了 – 非常浓郁,烟熏味,法式烘焙 = 法国媒体

产品参数

  • 产地:苏门答腊

  • 风味注释:非常饱满,烟熏,法式烤
  • 烤肉简介:深色法式烤肉

这种高海拔、单一产地的印尼咖啡产于苏门答腊岛。 有机种植,湿去壳,然后晒干,这款深色法式烘焙咖啡具有非常饱满的酒体和浓郁的烟熏味。 它非常适合法国媒体。 毕竟,这是有道理的:法式烘焙咖啡应该适合法式压榨咖啡,对吧?

由于湿脱壳过程,它产生了一种光滑、天鹅绒般的咖啡,具有泥土的香气和蘑菇的味道。 它有一个真正的踢,即使它有 少酸 和咖啡因多亏了烤肉。

在 Sleepy Monk 烘焙店小批量新鲜烘焙,然后直接送到您家门口,这款不那么出名的咖啡是您开始新一天的好方法。

5. 火山咖啡——埃塞俄比亚耶加雪菲 – 适合第三波鉴赏家的正宗咖啡 – 埃塞俄比亚耶加雪菲、中度烘焙、花香和水果

产品参数

  • 来源:埃塞俄比亚

  • 风味笔记​​:花香和水果
  • 烘烤简介:中度烘烤

这款中度烘焙咖啡来自埃塞俄比亚的耶加雪菲地区,这里是阿拉比卡咖啡豆的祖籍地。 由于大多数豆类都是野生的,因此它的传统起源翻了一番。

虽然中度烘焙通常不是法国媒体的最佳选择,但这里并非如此。 它通常是一种有点酸的咖啡。 然而,使用法式压榨机将其压实,这样菠萝番石榴、草莓、薰衣草和雪松的复杂混合物就可以通过。 它的收尾有一点黑巧克力的味道,你可以用法式压榨机真正突出豆子固有的甜味。

凭借毛绒、饱满的质地,饮用这种花香浓郁的咖啡是一种真正的体验,任何咖啡爱好者都会情不自禁地享受。 它也有一个 无咖啡因的选项 可用的。 如果你喜欢无咖啡因咖啡, 在这里查看我们的首选。

法国媒体的最佳咖啡——底线

我们名单上的大多数咖啡都是深烘焙的,这是有原因的——在烘焙机中的额外时间会增强天然风味的油。 此外,法式压榨机确实能充分发挥研磨咖啡的精华,同时减少它们的苦味倾向并增强甜味。

最后,为法国媒体挑选一个单一的咖啡品牌或变体作为最好的咖啡是不可能的。 例如,什么被认为是 咖啡世界的香槟蓝山咖啡,使用法压壶冲泡时,味道令人难以置信。

在另一个说明中,虽然深烤品种在世界范围内更受欢迎,但最终的选择取决于您以及您的口味和偏好。

常见问题

法式压榨的正确比例当然是个人口味的问题,但建议您从水与咖啡的比例约为 15:1 开始。 这比比例使用更多的咖啡 倾倒,因为法式压榨法的萃取比倾倒要慢。 从每升水约 65 克咖啡的比例开始(当然要根据法式咖啡机的容量进行调整)。

法式压榨咖啡比滴滤咖啡更浓,因为在您按下柱塞后,油和沉淀物仍留在冲泡中。 这一点,加上咖啡与水的更高比例,意味着法式压榨咖啡比滴漏或倒咖啡具有更丰富的风味和更饱满的质地。 如果您谈论的是咖啡因,法式压榨咖啡的咖啡因通常比其他冲泡方法的咖啡因少,因为它的研磨度较粗(4)。 什么时候 选择咖啡豆 和烘烤,始终考虑您打算烘烤的酿造方法。 这里是我们 比较倾倒和法式压榨咖啡.

您可以通过将法式压榨咖啡倒入保温杯或保温瓶中来保持其热度。 我们建议在冲煮后立即倒出法式压榨咖啡,否则与咖啡渣的接触会继续萃取并导致咖啡变苦。

是的,您可以在您的法国出版社使用速溶咖啡,但我们不保证它的味道会很好。 更多来自Google的 速溶咖啡也太适合法式压滤机过滤器,因此可能会导致堵塞。 它也违背了“即时”的目的。

參考資料
  1. 咖啡酿造。 取自 http://www.coffeeresearch.org/coffee/brewing.htm
  2. 咖啡科学:如何在家制作最好的法式压榨咖啡。 取自 https://www.seriouseats.com/2014/07/how-to-make-better-french-press-coffee-tips-technique-grind-timing.html
  3. 咖啡的历史。 取自 http://www.ncausa.org/about-coffee/history-of-coffee
  4. 塔克,A.(2018 年 24 月 XNUMX 日)。 您冲泡咖啡的方式会影响咖啡因水平——这就是方法。 取自 https://www.wellandgood.com/good-food/coffee-brewing-caffeine-connection/

发表评论

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

复制链接
版权所有 社交快照

Coffeeble is reader-supported. When you buy via the links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission at no cost to you. Learn more.

Best Coffee Beans for French Press: 5 Top Brands Worth Trying

Despite being one of the simplest ways of brewing coffee, using a French press coffee maker can provide some of the best tasting cups of java that money can buy. Buy some beans, grind them, add hot water to your coffee grounds, press the plunger down, and that is pretty much that.

The key, though, lies in the beans, and how you grind them. Get it wrong, and you’ll end up with a weak-flavored mug of sludge rather than the nuanced cup of coffee you were expecting. That’s why we’ve put together our picks of the best coffee for French press, to help you avoid the common pitfalls and find delicious coffee beans that will suit your palate.

TOP PICK

Joe’s Coffee House – Celebes Kalossi Coffee

This is a full-bodied, creamy dark roasted coffee with an impressive lineage and a wonderfully herbal aroma with hints of licorice. The sweetness of this Indonesian coffee is right at home in a French press.

How to Brew the Best French Press Coffee

Darker than a DC Superhero Movie – Getting the Right Roast

Traditionally, French press coffee is brewed using a dark roast, because the longer roast time brings out the flavorful oils in the beans. It also tamps down any acidic notes it might carry. Dark roasted coffee is normally quite bitter when used in other brewing methods, but when you use a French press, bitterness is reduced which brings out the best of the coffee’s flavor (1). The slow extraction process brings out your beans’ smoky, rich character, and results in a sweeter tasting cup of coffee.

dark roast coffee

It’s not a hard and fast rule, of course. While lighter roast beans (like these) are better for cold brew, medium-roast coffee can often be a great choice for French Press. This roast also provides a lighter, more nuanced flavor than the bolder dark roasts. This is why they are favored by Third Wave coffee lovers.

Dealing with the Daily Grind – What’s the Best Coffee Grind for French Press?

Simply put, grind your coffee beans on a medium-coarse setting, though you should experiment to see which setting tastes the best to you. The larger surface area of a coarse grind will result in more of the brighter flavors being extracted from the coffee, reducing bitterness in favor of a sweeter taste.

Take note of your grind size so you can make adjustments later: grind a little finer next time if your brew was weak, a bit coarser if you’re tasting a lot of unpleasant, dish-raggy, over-extracted flavors.

Any well-versed barista will advise you to steer clear of pre-ground coffee for two reasons. First, it will usually be too finely ground for the mesh filter attached to the French press’ plunger. This means you’ll end up with a gritty cup of coffee when you finish brewing. While you’ll never completely get rid of fines in French press coffee, a fresh coarse grind minimizes them and results in a texture closer to silky.

The second reason is the flavor. The longer you wait between grinding and brewing, the more flavor is lost. Plus, the smaller surface area doesn’t work as well with the French press brewing method, resulting in a weak, unsatisfying drink. Save the pre-ground coffee for your espresso machine, and buy whole beans and crack out your grinder.

Good Things Come to Those Who Wait – How Long Should You Brew?

Opinions vary on this one. A reliable rule of thumb is between four and six minutes, though the coarser your grind, the longer it can take to get the best flavor from your beans (2). Again, it’s worth experimenting a bit to find the perfect timing for each coffee.

Timing is critical in French press. The standard is 4-6 minutes, but with some beans it can take up to 8 minutes to yield the perfect cup.

Once the time is up, press the plunger down gently. Going too fast will agitate the grounds, and can end up making your coffee more bitter. To get the best from your French press coffee, it’s a good idea to decant it once you’ve plunged, otherwise the leftovers will carry on brewing.

Our Top 5 Best Coffees for a French Press

As mentioned, the beans you choose can make or break your end result. All of our picks were chosen for their nuanced flavors that are best experienced when using a French press.

1. Joe’s Coffee House – Celebes Kalossi Coffee – Our Top Pick – Hints of Herb and Licorice

Joe's Coffee House - Celebes Kalossi Coffee

With only a limited amount grown each year, this rare coffee hails from the highlands near the city of Kalossi on Sulawesi, one of the islands in the Indonesian archipelago. Many of the trees it grows on are over 250 years old, supposedly predating the arrival of the Dutch on the island. The impressive maturity of the trees imbues the coffee beans with a sweet, earthy flavor enriched by hints of herb and licorice, with a well-balanced acidity.

This is one of my most favorite coffees and I’ve been getting it for the last couple years. It’s hard for me to describe the aftertaste, maybe it’s the licorice, but it’s one of the best things about this coffee.

The wet hulling processing method required by the humidity of the region, combined with the high altitude (around 4,300 feet) that the beans are grown at, results in a rich, full-bodied coffee with a creamy texture, and a sweetness that really shines when brewed using a French press. This is a coffee with a long and rich heritage that you should get while you can.

2. Peet’s Coffee – Major Dickason’s Blend – For Lovers of Bold Flavors – Classic Blend, Dark Roast, Complex Notes

Peet’s have been making coffee for over 50 years and this rich, dark roasted blend is their best seller. Originally developed by the company’s founder, working with one of their most loyal customers, they managed to combine coffees from some of the best regions in the world. Luckily, they’ve managed to get the best flavors from each strain.

A rich, full bodied classic blend, Major Dickason’s is a full-bodied coffee that has a multi-layered flavor with complex notes. It owes its complexity to its diverse components and heritage. It has a wonderfully smooth feel and a bold, powerful aroma that is not for the faint of heart. It’s a great coffee to choose if you seek out strong flavors.

It’s also reliably fresh, as Peet’s roasts it in small batches the same day you order it. It is packaged as soon as it comes out of the roaster and is shipped to you within 24 hours. The company says that it’s best brewed using French press.

3. Blue Bottle Coffee – Giant Steps – A Delicious, Chocolaty Blend – Uganda, New Guinea, and Sumatra, a Medium-Dark Blend with Layers of Flavor

Blue Bottle Coffee

One of the lighter options on our list, this medium-dark roasted blend from Blue Bottle Coffee mixes organically grown beans from Sumatra, Papua New Guinea, and Uganda to create a delicious brew with layers of flavor. Named for John Coltrane’s Jazz classic, it creates a viscous drink that shares some of the complexity of its namesake when brewed.

The main flavor and aroma you’ll get from this sweet, earthy coffee is almost fudge-like chocolate, with hints of marshmallow and toast. It’s a great blend that doesn’t require a hugely refined palate to enjoy, so it’s a good option for sharing with friends. Its chocolaty flavors shine through even more when you add milk or cream.

The Giant Steps coffee is subjected to regular, rigorous testing by Blue Bottle’s quality control team. It is roasted, packaged, and shipped within 24 hours or less of the order. This is a high-quality coffee that everyone can enjoy.

Blue Bottle Coffee also offers a coffee subscription service and sends your beans depending on your taste, preferred brew methods, and more. You can read our reviews of the best coffee subscription services here.

4. Sleepy Monk Coffee – French Roast Sumatra – Great if You Like Smoky, Fully Bodied Coffee – Very Full Body, Smoky, French Roast = French Press

This high-altitude, single-origin Indonesian coffee is grown on Sumatra. Organically grown, wet hulled, and then sun-dried, this dark French roast coffee has a very full body and a bold, smoky flavor. It is perfectly suited for French press. This makes sense, after all: French roast coffee should suit French press coffee, right?

It produces a smooth, velvety cup of coffee that has an earthy aroma with hints of mushroom due to the wet hulling process. It has a real kick to it, even though it has less acid and caffeine thanks to the roast.

Freshly roasted in small batches at Sleepy Monk’s roastery, and delivered straight to your door, this not-so-famous coffee is a great way to start your day.

5. Volcanica Coffee – Ethiopian Yirgacheffe – An Authentic Coffee for Third Wave Connoisseurs – Ethiopian Yirgacheffe, Medium Roast, Floral & Fruit

Ethiopian Yirgacheffe Coffee from Volcanica Coffee Company

This medium roasted coffee comes from Yirgacheffe region of Ethiopia, the ancestral homeland of the Arabica bean. It doubles down on its traditional origins, as the majority of the beans grow wild.

While medium roasts aren’t usually the best choice for a French press, that’s not the case here. It’s normally a somewhat acidic coffee. However, using a French press tamps this down so that the sophisticated mix of pineapple guava, strawberry, lavender, and cedar, can come through. Its finish has a touch of dark chocolate, and you can really highlight the inherent sweetness of the beans with a French press.

With a plush, full texture, drinking this flowery, robust coffee is an authentic experience that any coffee lover can’t help but enjoy. It’s also also has a decaf option available. If you’re into decaf coffee, see our top picks here.

Best Coffee for French Press – The Bottom Line

There’s a reason that most of the coffees on our list are dark roasted – the extra time in the roaster enhances the natural flavorsome oils. Also, French press coffee makers really brings out the best of the coffee grounds while reducing their tendency towards bitterness and enhancing the sweetness.

In the end, picking out one single coffee brand or variant as the best coffee for French press is impossible. For example, what’s considered as the champagne of the coffee world, the Blue Mountain Coffee, tastes unbelievably amazing when brewed using the French Press.

In another note, while the dark roast variety is more popular around the world, the final choice is up to you and your palate and preference.

FAQs

The right ratio for French press is a matter of personal taste, of course, but it’s recommended that you start with about a 15:1 water to coffee ratio. This uses more coffee than the ratio for pour over, because the French press infusion method is a slower extraction than pour over. Start with a ratio of about 65g of coffee per liter of water (adjusting for your French press coffee maker’s volume, of course).

French press coffee is stronger than drip coffee, because the oils and sediment remain in the brew after you press the plunger. This, plus the higher ratio of coffee to water, means that French press coffee has a richer flavor and a fuller texture than drip or pour over coffee. If you’re talking about caffeine, French press coffee  typically has less caffeine than other brew methods because of the coarse grind size (4). When selecting coffee beans and roasts, always consider the brew method you intend to roast.

You keep French press coffee hot by pouring it into an insulated mug or thermal carafe. We recommend decanting French press coffee immediately after brewing, as otherwise the contact with the grounds can continue extraction and lead to bitter coffee.

Yes, you can use instant coffee in your French Press but we don’t guarantee that it’s going to taste good. Many instant coffees are also too fine for French Press filters so it might result in some clogging. It also defeats the purpose of being ‘instant’.

References
  1. Coffee Brewing. Retrieved from http://www.coffeeresearch.org/coffee/brewing.htm
  2. Coffee Science: How to Make the Best French Press Coffee at Home. Retrieved from https://www.seriouseats.com/2014/07/how-to-make-better-french-press-coffee-tips-technique-grind-timing.html
  3. The History of Coffee. Retrieved from http://www.ncausa.org/about-coffee/history-of-coffee
  4. Tucker, A. (2018, October 24). The way you brew your coffee affects the caffeine levels-here’s how. Retrieved from https://www.wellandgood.com/good-food/coffee-brewing-caffeine-connection/
coffee pouring out of a french press
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap