Coffeeble 受读者支持。 当您通过我们网站上的链接购买时,我们可能会免费为您赚取会员佣金。 了解更多

7 最佳有机 咖啡豆 (购买指南+评论)

数百年来,喝咖啡一直是世界范围内的一种享受,但它是否是有机种植的却是一个更现代的问题。 随着环保实践和符合道德标准的产品比以往任何时候都更加重要,要找到一种不会让你感到内疚的好咖啡可能会很棘手。

这就是为什么我们汇总了 7 个最佳有机咖啡品牌的概要,以及一些注意事项,以确保您每天生产的咖啡对环境的影响最小。

乍看上去:

经过认证的有机无咖啡因有机咖啡——如何为您找到最好的有机咖啡

大多数我们最喜欢的 豆类是有机的。 但是有机甚至意味着什么?

平面上最好的有机咖啡豆

有机咖啡,顾名思义,要求它不使用化学物质,如化肥和杀虫剂。 当然,它也必须是无转基因的。 它天生就比非有机咖啡更加环保。 然而,仅仅因为它被证明是有机的并不意味着它是合乎道德的,甚至它的味道很好。

因此,让我们来看看您在寻找一杯对您的灵魂和能量水平同样有益的完美咖啡时需要了解的一些重要事项。

哪些认证很重要?

有许多不同的组织提供有机认证,每个组织都有自己的合格标准。 所有人都同意不应使用合成杀虫剂或化肥,但并非所有人都坚持认为它生长的土壤也必须不含这些有害化学物质。

美国农业部 (USDA) 提供了最受尊重的标准之一,在公司获得批准之前必须满足一系列严格的要求。 咖啡在哪里种植并不重要,因为所有生产商的标准都是相同的。 美国农业部有机认证表明土壤至少 3 年不含违禁合成化学物质,并且产品含有至少 95% 的有机成分(1).

这些方法整合了促进资源循环、促进生态平衡和保护生物多样性的文化、生物和机械实践。

USDA

其他重要的认证包括:

  • 公平贸易——你现在很可能听说过这个。 这是一个全球公认的标准,要求产品必须以市场价格购买。 他们还必须满足供应链各个层面的社会、经济和环境标准。 它最初是作为对墨西哥人所经历的可怕斗争的回应
  • 认证 B – 要成为认证 B 公司,公司需要考虑其业务实践在所有阶段的影响(2)。 从员工可获得的福利到产品的采购地点,B 级认证公司根据 80 项不同的标准进行评估,以确保其以负责任的方式运作。
  • 雨林联盟认证——为了获得雨林联盟认证,公司必须满足其严格的可持续农业标准。 该标准侧重于保护生物多样性、保护自然资源以及为农民提供安全和公平的工作环境。

它是阴影生长的吗?

如果您想知道,成为一家环保咖啡公司不仅仅是生产有机产品。 真正以生态为导向的种植实践的标志之一是遮荫种植。

世界上大部分的咖啡都是在向太阳开放的种植园中生产的,这会产生更高的作物产量。 然而,这种做法并没有为从鸟类到蜻蜓等种类繁多的野生动物提供栖息地,这些野生动物以遮荫种植的咖啡农场为家(3)。 为了为这些巨大的种植园腾出空间,必须砍掉自然生长,耗尽野生动物和植被的多样性(4).

遮荫种植的农场有助于减少水土流失,并为生物多样性生态的繁荣创造完美的环境。

遮荫种植使植物更健康,消除了使用合成肥料和杀虫剂的大部分原因,因此可以生产出更好的咖啡。

我怎样才能找到我附近最好的有机咖啡?

您的第一站应该是当地的 Third Wave 咖啡店。 虽然像星巴克这样的知名品牌经常在他们的菜单中加入有机咖啡,但手工咖啡馆通常有更广泛的选择,并且更注意采购各种环保选择。 还有速溶咖啡 品牌 提供有机认证的变体。

如果您生活在世界上适合生产咖啡的地方,他们很可能还会知道是否有当地来源可以直接从农场购买有机咖啡。 好吧,也许夏威夷除外。 在夏威夷种植的咖啡,甚至在 科纳 区,不是有机的。

如果您附近没有有机咖啡店,那么快速的 Google 搜索会有所帮助,因为如今大多数企业都利用 Google 列表中包含的免费广告。

找到当地的咖啡生产商后,您应该询问他们拥有哪些认证,以及来自哪些组织。 如果他们没有您认可的证书,那么他们的咖啡很可能不是有机的,甚至不一定是合乎道德的。 询问他们是否使用转基因作物,他们如何施肥,以及他们对环境的承诺程度。 他们如何回答这些问题将告诉你很多关于他们公司的道德规范。

2022 年最佳有机咖啡品牌

产品 详细信息 按键
最强 死亡之愿 死亡愿望咖啡
  • 原产地:混合——印度和秘鲁
  • 烤:深色
  • 品鉴笔记:顺滑、樱桃、巧克力
亚马逊标志 在亚马逊上看到
卡马诺岛有机咖啡烘焙机 卡马诺岛有机咖啡烘焙机
  • 原产地:单一——苏门答腊
  • 烤:深色
  • 品鉴笔记:浓郁、果香、坚果味、焦糖味
亚马逊标志 在亚马逊上看到
我们的首选 火山咖啡有机系列 火山咖啡有机系列
  • 原产地:单身——喀麦隆、多米尼加共和国、萨尔瓦多、危地马拉、尼加拉瓜、埃塞俄比亚、苏门答腊、秘鲁
  • 烤:中等
  • 品酒笔记:取决于原产地
点击查看价格
Cafe Don Pablo Subtle Earth 有机美食咖啡 Cafe Don Pablo Subtle Earth 有机美食咖啡
  • 原产地:洪都拉斯
  • 烤:中深
  • 品鉴笔记:浓郁的黑巧克力、牛奶巧克力、焦糖、可可、蜂蜜
亚马逊标志 在亚马逊上看到
亚军 踢马咖啡自作聪明 踢马咖啡自作聪明
  • 产地:混合——非洲、中美洲、南美洲
  • 烤:中等
  • 品鉴笔记:红醋栗、甘蔗、牛奶巧克力、蜂蜜、浆果
亚马逊标志 在亚马逊上查看
昏昏欲睡的僧侣咖啡埃塞俄比亚 昏昏欲睡的僧侣咖啡埃塞俄比亚
  • 原产地:单一——埃塞俄比亚
  • 烤:中等
  • 品酒笔记:巧克力、蓝莓、泥土
点击查看价格
蓝瓶巨步 蓝瓶巨步
  • 原产地:苏门答腊、巴布亚新几内亚和乌干达
  • 烤:中深
  • 品酒笔记:可可、烤棉花糖、全麦饼干
亚马逊标志 在亚马逊上查看
死亡愿望咖啡
最强 死亡之愿
  • 原产地:混合——印度和秘鲁
  • 烤:深色
  • 品鉴笔记:顺滑、樱桃、巧克力
卡马诺岛有机咖啡烘焙机
卡马诺岛有机咖啡烘焙机
  • 原产地:单一——苏门答腊
  • 烤:深色
  • 品鉴笔记:浓郁、果香、坚果味、焦糖味
火山咖啡有机系列
我们的首选 火山咖啡有机系列
  • 原产地:单身——喀麦隆、多米尼加共和国、萨尔瓦多、危地马拉、尼加拉瓜、埃塞俄比亚、苏门答腊、秘鲁
  • 烤:中等
  • 品酒笔记:取决于原产地
Cafe Don Pablo Subtle Earth 有机美食咖啡
Cafe Don Pablo Subtle Earth 有机美食咖啡
  • 原产地:洪都拉斯
  • 烤:中深
  • 品鉴笔记:浓郁的黑巧克力、牛奶巧克力、焦糖、可可、蜂蜜
踢马咖啡自作聪明
亚军 踢马咖啡自作聪明
  • 产地:混合——非洲、中美洲、南美洲
  • 烤:中等
  • 品鉴笔记:红醋栗、甘蔗、牛奶巧克力、蜂蜜、浆果
昏昏欲睡的僧侣咖啡埃塞俄比亚
昏昏欲睡的僧侣咖啡埃塞俄比亚
  • 原产地:单一——埃塞俄比亚
  • 烤:中等
  • 品酒笔记:巧克力、蓝莓、泥土
蓝瓶巨步
蓝瓶巨步
  • 原产地:苏门答腊、巴布亚新几内亚和乌干达
  • 烤:中深
  • 品酒笔记:可可、烤棉花糖、全麦饼干

以下是您可以考虑的最佳有机咖啡豆列表:

1. 死亡愿望咖啡 – 最强有机咖啡

死亡愿望咖啡

产品参数

  • 原产地:混合——印度和秘鲁

  • 烤:深烤
  • 品鉴笔记:顺滑、樱桃、巧克力

每杯咖啡的咖啡因含量是普通咖啡的两倍,Death Wish 混合了阿拉比卡和罗布斯塔咖啡豆,主要来自印度和秘鲁。 它不适合胆小的人或体质脆弱的人。 尽管名称如此,但它实际上是一个环保品牌。 它通过了有机和公平贸易认证。 所以,你的心跳可能开始加快,但你不会加速生态灾难。

自从几年前尝试死亡愿望咖啡以来,它现在是我唯一可以轻松喝的咖啡。 不管我如何修复它:黑色、防弹、奶油、糖等。如果我绝对需要的话,我可以扼杀另一种类型,但死亡愿望是我唯一可以喝黑色的。

珍妮 M.,客户

额外的咖啡因刺激不会以风味为代价,因为它可以避免变得太酸或太苦。 事实上,它的酸含量实际上也低于普通咖啡。 尽管罗布斯塔咖啡豆是混合物的一部分,但它还是一种光滑的深色烘焙。 这种咖啡很浓郁,你会闻到巧克力和樱桃的味道。

死亡愿望咖啡有多种尺寸可供选择,以及预磨、全豆甚至豆荚。 他们甚至有一个订阅服务 类似于这些. 这意味着您可以为您想要使用的任何类型的咖啡机购买合适的数量。 这是开始新一天的好方法,无需加倍喝咖啡的量。 如果您想从早上的浓缩咖啡中获得最大的收益,那就别无所求。

优点:

  • 世界上最浓的咖啡——浓度是普通杯子的两倍

  • 低酸度
  • 美国农业部有机认证
  • 公平贸易
  • 提供预磨、整豆或豆荚

缺点:

  • 不适合对咖啡因敏感的人

  • 如果您怀孕了,请避免

2. 卡马诺岛有机咖啡烘焙机 – 苏门答腊有机咖啡

卡马诺岛有机咖啡烘焙机

产品参数

  • 原产地:单一——苏门答腊

  • 烤:深烤
  • 品鉴笔记:浓郁、果香、坚果味、焦糖味

卡马诺岛咖啡烘焙师关心环境和制作咖啡的人们的生计。 这就是为什么他们种植的一切不仅是有机的、遮荫的和公平贸易的,而且还以标准价格支付。 他们的咖啡可能比平均价格贵一点,但你可以肯定它正在改变种植咖啡的农民的生活。

苏门答腊咖啡并未受到普遍喜爱,但即使您通常不是粉丝,这种单一产地的咖啡也值得一试。 它浓郁而丰富,具有复杂的口味,从果味开始,带有一丝坚果和一丝焦糖甜味,使其成为晚餐后的绝佳选择。 更适合晚上饮酒的人,它的咖啡因含量自然很低,所以不要去喝无咖啡因的,试试这个。

卡马诺岛的苏门答腊岛也有轻烤和中烤,大小从 48 磅到 XNUMX 磅不等。 他们保证您的咖啡将在烘焙后的 XNUMX 小时内送到您的手中,因此您可以确定它到达时是一批新鲜的。 此外,装入袋中的豆子经过认证的特种等级,这意味着它们的质量非常高。

优点:

  • 天然低咖啡因含量

  • 特级顶级 1% 阿拉比卡咖啡豆
  • 美国农业部有机认证
  • 公平贸易
  • 阴影生长

缺点:

  • 对于早上的咖啡因提升来说不是很好

3. 火山咖啡有机系列 – 大多数有机品种

产品参数

  • 原产地:单身——喀麦隆、多米尼加共和国、萨尔瓦多、危地马拉、尼加拉瓜、埃塞俄比亚、苏门答腊、秘鲁

  • 烤:中度烤
  • 品酒笔记:取决于原产地

Volcanica 正迅速成为价格合理、符合道德标准的优质咖啡的代名词。 他们甚至 稀有的牙买加咖啡豆 在他们的范围内。 他们在购买农产品之前会参观农场,并将所有零售额的 1% 捐赠给慈善机构。

有来自 11 个不同地区的 9 种不同的单一原产地咖啡可供选择,他们几乎可以满足每一种口味。 它们都是中度烘焙咖啡,所以如果你正在寻找 黑暗的东西 or 轻烤咖啡豆,您将不得不寻找其他地方。 虽然如果某个国家的咖啡是您最喜欢的,那么您很可能会找到一种有机 Volcanica 版本,它可能只是完美的道德替代品。

你可以确定你得到了 最好的味道 也有可能,因为当您订购咖啡豆时,它们是小批量烘焙的,并且提供全豆咖啡或预磨咖啡豆。

优点:

  • 11 种不同的单一来源咖啡可供选择

  • 美国农业部有机认证
  • 公平贸易
  • 南美咖啡获得雨林联盟认证
  • 点菜时烤

缺点:

  • 没有浅烤或深烤选项

4. Cafe Don Pablo Subtle Earth 有机美食咖啡 - 物有所值

Cafe Don Pablo Subtle Earth 有机美食咖啡

产品参数

  • 原产地:洪都拉斯

  • 烤:中深烤
  • 品鉴笔记:浓郁的黑巧克力、牛奶巧克力、焦糖、可可、蜂蜜

Don Pablo 咖啡是另一个高度重视道德种植和环保咖啡的品牌。 他们坚持使用高海拔、遮荫种植的豆类,并且由于他们的小型家族拥有和经营的公司,他们能够与种植者建立个人关系。 这就是他们创建自己的共享认证计划的原因,他们将其描述为更有效的公平贸易标准版本。

咖啡本身口感丰富而柔软,带有甜巧克力味,从黑巧克力到牛奶巧克力,带有焦糖、蜂蜜和可可的味道。 是的,这是三种不同类型的巧克力口味! 好可爱, 低酸,最好是黑色。

Don Pablo 的 Subtle Earth 以小批量的方式进行烘焙,以确保您的咖啡豆的新鲜度。 它有 Light、Dark 和 Full City Dark 烘焙,以及水处理的 无咖啡因品种. 预磨、全豆,甚至豆荚,这是有机咖啡,提供深度风味而不破坏银行。

优点:

  • 阴凉处

  • 美国农业部有机认证
  • 共享认证
  • 小批量按订单烤制
  • 酸含量低
  • 也可提供无咖啡因
  • 经济实惠

缺点:

  • 最近批次的一些质量问题

5. 踢马咖啡自作聪明 - 我们最喜欢的中度烘焙选项

踢马咖啡自作聪明

产品参数

  • 原产地:混合——非洲、中美洲、 南美

  • 烤:中度烤
  • 品鉴笔记:红醋栗、甘蔗、牛奶巧克力、蜂蜜、浆果

Kicking Horse 是一个轻松愉快的加拿大咖啡品牌,但不要上当。 该公司认真对待其对社会责任的承诺,并在不影响可持续种植实践的情况下生产一些优秀的混合物。 它拥有您对关心环境的公司所期望的所有认证,甚至可以确保其咖啡是犹太洁食。

Smart Ass 只是现有的有机咖啡品种之一,我们之所以选择它是有原因的。 这是一种美味的早餐混合物,带有浆果和红醋栗的甜味,带有甘蔗和牛奶巧克力的味道。 正如 Kicking Horse Coffee 自己所说,它“厚颜无耻、明亮而早熟”。 就像一个过分好奇的五岁孩子一样,这肯定会带来一个有趣的早晨!

Kicking Horse Coffee 的 Smart Ass 仅提供全豆咖啡,因此您需要购买自己的研磨机才能享用这种咖啡。 然而,无论如何,新鲜研磨的咖啡豆是充分利用咖啡豆的最佳方式,因此请将其视为它们可以让您从饮料中获得最佳风味。 它适用于各种咖啡制作方法,从精细研磨 表达 粗暴的法国媒体,甚至出来 非常适合制作冷酿.

优点:

  • 美味的中烤

  • 美国农业部有机认证
  • 公平贸易
  • 犹太教

缺点

  • 不可用预磨

6. 昏昏欲睡的僧侣咖啡埃塞俄比亚 – 我们最喜欢的单一来源埃塞俄比亚咖啡

产品参数

  • 原产地:单一——埃塞俄比亚

  • 烤:中度烤
  • 品酒笔记:巧克力、蓝莓、泥土

Sleepy Monk Coffee 是一家位于俄勒冈州坎农海滩的小型海滨咖啡馆,以确保菜单上的所有咖啡豆都经过有机认证以及美味佳肴而自豪。

你知道埃塞俄比亚是咖啡树的祖籍地吗?

只有最优质的埃塞俄比亚咖啡豆在您饮用时才会呈现出蓝莓味,而这正是您在 Sleepy Monk 的中度烘焙中所发现的。

Sleepy Monk 的埃塞俄比亚酒是一种带有泥土气息的浓烈饮品。 蓝莓与巧克力的味道和光滑、朴实的余味相结合,构成了一种无与伦比的单一产地埃塞俄比亚咖啡。 其复杂而微妙的风味特征使其成为必须尝试的,尤其是如果您是第三波咖啡饮用者。 他们还有一系列来自其他来源的不同咖啡,从清淡到法式烘焙。

优点:

  • 美国农业部有机认证

  • 小批量按订单烤制
  • 有多种预磨尺寸和整豆可供选择

缺点:

  • 没有关于其供应商可持续性的信息

7. 蓝瓶巨步 - 我们最喜欢的中深色混合

蓝瓶咖啡巨步

产品参数

  • 原产地:苏门答腊、巴布亚新几内亚和乌干达

  • 烤:中深烤
  • 品酒笔记:可可、烤棉花糖、全麦饼干

蓝瓶咖啡是众所周知的,但不要让这阻止你尝试这个。 从加利福尼亚州旧金山(美国咖啡因最多的城市)开始,Blue Bottle 很快扩展到世界各地的咖啡馆。

他们从位于加利福尼亚州奥克兰的烘焙厂发货,并承诺每份订单在烘焙后不超过 24 小时发货。 他们还每周对每一个进来的咖啡豆进行一次拔罐——对于像 Giant Steps 这样的混合咖啡豆,无论是在单个咖啡豆中还是在最终组合中。 Giant Steps 中使用的所有豆类——来自乌干达苏门答腊岛和巴布亚新几内亚——均获得了 CCOF 的有机认证,CCOF 是一家位于加利福尼亚州圣克鲁斯的美国农业部认可的认证机构。

这种咖啡证明了为什么混合咖啡可以很棒,如果它们是由热爱美妙咖啡的人制作的。 在浓郁的可可基础上,Giant Steps 散发出香草和焦糖烤棉花糖的香气,以及全麦饼干的全麦风味。 如果这对你来说听起来有点像“smores”,别担心—— 这些豆子在法国媒体上做得很好甚至倾倒 和摩卡壶。

是的,爵士乐迷:它以 John Coltrane 的经典作品命名(5),它结合了平滑度、烟火和声音层次。 就像这杯咖啡有味道一样。

优点:

  • CCOF有机认证

  • 在经过认证的有机烘焙机中烘焙
  • 每周质量控制口味测试
  • 烘烤后最长运输时间 24 小时

缺点:

  • 仅适用于整豆

有机咖啡豆和品牌——我们的判决

有机种植的咖啡不仅对地球更好,而且它们也很容易成为市场上最好的品尝选择。 值得庆幸的是,您不必为了获得美味的浓缩咖啡而牺牲自己的道德。 虽然我们喜欢死亡愿望咖啡令人难以置信的冲击力,但还有很多其他很棒的选择值得品尝。 老实说,如果你找不到最适合你的,你可能还不够努力。

常见问题

有机咖啡确实对您的健康更好。 它具有许多健康益处,这些益处通过其更自然的生产方法得到提升。 这些包括:

富含抗氧化剂和微量营养素

自然较低的酸度更适合胃部敏感的人,并减少对牙釉质的损害

有机无咖啡因还使用一种工艺,避免有时用于从咖啡中去除咖啡因的有害化学物质

认证过程因提供批准印章的组织而异。 它通常涉及一系列冗长的分析和审查,以确保产品符合标准。 在许多国家,谎称产品是有机的,每次违法都会被处以巨额罚款。 它们还需要经常检查,并且需要定期更新认证,通常在一到三年之间。

參考資料
  1. 有机生产和处理标准,美国农业部。 (2002 年 XNUMX 月)。 取自 https://www.ams.usda.gov/sites/default/files/media/OrganicProductionandHandlingStandards.pdf
  2. 关于 B 军团。 (nd)。 取自 https://bcorporation.net/about-b-corps
  3. 遮荫咖啡的生态效益。 (nd) 取自 https://nationalzoo.si.edu/migratory-birds/ecological-benefits-shade-grown-coffee
  4. Rodewald, A.(2017 年,30 月 2017 日)。 “遮荫”咖啡具有惊人的环境效益。 取自 https://www.businessinsider.com/shade-grown-coffee-has-a-surprising-environmental-benefit-4-XNUMX
  5. 琼斯,J(2018 年 13 月 2018 日)。 爵士乐解构:是什么让 John Coltrane 的“Giant Steps”如此开创性和激进? 取自 http://www.openculture.com/11/XNUMX/jazz-deconstructed-makes-john-coltranes-giant-steps-groundbreak-radical.html

发表评论

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

复制链接
版权所有 社交快照

Coffeeble is reader-supported. When you buy via the links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission at no cost to you. Learn more.

7 Best Organic Coffee Beans (Buying Guide + Awesome Brands to Try)

Drinking coffee has been a pleasure enjoyed worldwide for hundreds of years, but whether or not it has been grown organically is a much more modern concern. With environmentally friendly practices and ethically sourced products being more important than ever, it can be tricky to find a good coffee that won’t make you feel guilty.

That’s why we’ve put together this rundown of our 7 best certified organic coffee brands, as well as a few tips on what to look out for to ensure that your daily cup of coffee is produced with the minimum environmental impact.

Certified and Organic, Decaf Organic Coffee – How to Find the Best Organic Coffee for You

Most of our favorite beans are organic. But what does organic even mean?

Organic coffee, by definition, requires that it be grown without the use of chemicals, such as fertilizers and pesticides. Of course, it has to be GMO-free as well. It is inherently and incomparably more environmentally friendly than non-organic coffee. However, just because it is certified organic doesn’t mean it’s ethically produced, or even that it’ll taste good.

coffee beans on a flat surface

So, let’s take a look at a few of the important things you need to know when you’re on the lookout for the perfect cup of coffee that is equally good for your soul and your energy levels.

What Certifications Are Important?

There are a number of different organizations that offer organic certifications, with each having their own standards as to what qualifies. All agree that there should be no synthetic pesticides or fertilizers used, but not all of them insist that the soil it grows on also has to be free of these harmful chemicals.

The United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) offers one of the most respected standards, with a strict set of requirements that have to be met before a company earns its seal of approval. It doesn’t matter where the coffee was grown, as the standards are the same for all producers. The USDA organic certification indicates that the soil has been free of prohibited synthetic chemicals for at least 3 years and that the products have at least 95% organically produced content (1).

These methods integrate cultural, biological, and mechanical practices that foster cycling of resources, promote ecological balance, and conserve biodiversity.

Other important certifications include:

  • Fairtrade – You’ve most likely heard of this one by now. It’s a globally recognized standard that requires that products must be purchased at the market price. They also have to meet social, economic and environmental standards at all levels of the supply chain. It first came about as a response to the terrible struggles endured by Mexican
  • Certified B – For a business to be a Certified B Corporation, it requires companies to consider the impact of their business practices at all stages (2). From the benefits available to their employees, to where they source their products, a Certified B company is assessed on 80 separate criteria to ensure that it works responsibly.
  • Rainforest Alliance Certified – In order to earn a Rainforest Alliance certification, a company has to meet their rigorous Sustainable Agriculture Standard. The standard focuses on preserving biodiversity, conserving natural resources, and providing a safe and fair working environment for its farmers.

Is It Shade Grown?

In case you’ve wondered, there’s more to being an environmentally friendly coffee company than just producing an organic product. One of the marks of a truly eco-orientated growing practice is shade growing.

Much of the world’s coffee is produced in plantations that are open to the sun, which produces higher crop yields. This practice, however, does little to provide a habitat for the huge range of wildlife, from birds to dragonflies that call shade-grown coffee farms home (3). In order to make the space for these huge plantations, natural growth has to be cut away, depleting both wildlife and vegetation diversity (4).

Shade-grown farms help to reduce soil erosion and create the perfect environment for a bio-diverse ecology to thrive.

Shade growing makes for healthier plants, eliminates much of the cause for using synthetic fertilizers and pesticides, and arguably produces better coffee as a result.

How Can I Find the Best Organic Coffee Near Me?

Your first stop should be your local Third Wave coffee shop. While high profile brands like Starbucks often include organic coffees in their menu, artisan cafes usually have a wider selection and take more care to source a variety of eco-friendly options. There are also instant coffee brands that offer organic certified variants.

If you live in a part of the world that is suitable for producing coffee, chances are that they will also know if there is a local source from which you can buy organic coffee straight from the farm. If you don’t have an organic coffee shop nearby, a quick Google search will help, as most businesses these days take advantage of the free advertising that a Google listing includes.

Once you’ve found a local coffee producer, then you should ask them which certifications they have, and from which organizations. If they don’t have a certificate that you recognize, chances are their coffee is not going to be organic or even necessarily ethically produced. Ask if they use genetically modified crops, how they fertilize their plants, and how committed they are to the environment. How they answer these questions will tell you a lot about the ethics of their company.

The Best Organic Coffee Brands of 2020

Here’s a list of organic coffee beans you may consider:

1. Death Wish Coffee – Strongest Organic Coffee

Death Wish Coffee

Specifications:

  • Origin: Blend – India and Peru
  • Roast: Dark
  • Tasting notes: Smooth, cherry, chocolate

SEE ON AMAZON

With each cup boasting twice the caffeine content of the average cup of coffee, Death Wish is a blend of Arabica and Robusta beans sourced mostly from India and Peru. It’s not for the faint of heart, or fragile of constitution. Despite the name though, it’s actually an eco-friendly brand. It is certified both Organic and Fair Trade. So, your heart may start beating faster, but you won’t be hastening the ecological apocalypse.

Since trying Death Wish Coffee several years ago, it is now the only coffee I can easily drink. Doesn’t matter how I fix it: black, bulletproof, cream, sugar, etc. I can choke down another type if I absolutely have to, but Death Wish is the only one I can drink black.

The extra caffeine kick doesn’t come at the cost of flavor, as it avoids becoming too acidic or bitter. In fact, it’s actually lower in acid content than your average coffee, too. It’s a dark roast that is smooth despite the Robusta beans being part of the mix. The Death Wish is bold and you’ll get notes of chocolate and cherry coming through.

Death Wish Coffee is available in a number of size options, as well as pre-ground, whole bean, or even in pods. They even have a subscription service that’s similar to these. This means you can buy the right amount for you for any type of coffee maker you want to use it with. It’s a great way to kick start your day without having to double up on the amount of coffee you’re drinking. If you want to get the best bang for your buck from your morning espresso, look no further.

Pros:

  • The world’s strongest coffee – twice as strong as the average cup
  • Low acidity
  • USDA Certified organic
  • Fairtrade
  • Available pre-ground, whole bean, or in pods

Cons:

  • Not suitable for people who are sensitive to caffeine
  • Avoid if you are pregnan

SEE ON AMAZON

2. Camano Island Coffee Roasters Organic – Sumatran Organic Coffee

Camano Island Coffee Roasters Organic

Specifications:

  • Origin: Single – Sumatra
  • Roast: Dark
  • Tasting notes: Rich, fruity, nutty, caramel

SEE ON AMAZON

Camano Island Coffee Roasters care about both the environment and the livelihoods of the people that make their coffee. That’s why everything they grow is not only organic, shade-grown, and Fairtrade, but also paid at the standard prices. Their coffee might cost a bit over the average price, but you can be sure that it is making a difference to the lives of the farmers growing it.

Sumatran coffee isn’t universally loved, but even if you’re not normally a fan this single-origin brew is worth a try. It’s robust and rich, with a complex repertoire of flavors, starting out fruity, with hints of nuts and a hint of caramel sweetness that makes it a great choice for after dinner. Even better for evening drinkers, it has a naturally low caffeine content, so instead of reaching for the decaf, give this one a try.

Camano Island’s Sumatra is also available in light and medium roasts, and in sizes from one to three pounds. They guarantee that your coffee will be sent to you within 48 hours of being roasted, so you can be sure it’s a fresh batch when it arrives.  Plus, the beans that go into the bag are certified Specialty Grade, which means they’re extra high quality.

Pros:

  • Naturally low caffeine content
  • Specialty Grade Top 1% Arabica Beans
  • USDA Certified Organic
  • Fairtrade
  • Shade Grown

Cons:

  • Not so great for a morning caffeine boost

SEE ON AMAZON

3. Volcanica Coffee Organic Range – Most Organic Varieties

Volcanica Coffee Organic Range

Specifications:

  • Origin: Single – Cameroon, Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Guatemala, Nicaragua, Ethiopia, Sumatra, Peru
  • Roast: Medium
  • Tasting notes: Depend on the origin

CLICK TO CHECK PRICE

Volcanica are swiftly becoming synonymous with ethically sourced, high-quality coffee at reasonable prices. They even rare Jamaican Coffee Beans in their range. They visit farms before buying their produce, and they donate 1% of all their retail sales to charity.

With 11 different single origin coffees from 9 different regions to choose from, they have a coffee for almost every palate. All of them are medium roast coffees, so if you’re looking for something lighter or darker, you’ll have to look elsewhere. Though if a particular country’s coffee is your favorite, chances are you’ll find an organic Volcanica version that might just be the perfect ethical replacement.

You can be sure that you’re getting the best flavor possible too, as the beans are roasted in small batches when you order them, and are available in whole bean coffee or pre-ground.

Pros:

  • 11 different single origin coffees to choose from
  • USDA Certified organic
  • Fairtrade
  • South American coffees are Rainforest Alliance Certified
  • Roasted when you order

Cons:

  • No light or dark roast options

CLICK TO CHECK PRICE

4. Cafe Don Pablo Subtle Earth Organic Gourmet Coffee – Good Value for Money

Cafe Don Pablo Subtle Earth Organic Gourmet Coffee

Specifications:

  • Origin: Honduras
  • Roast: Medium-dark
  • Tasting notes: Rich dark chocolate, milk chocolate, caramel, cocoa, honey

SEE ON AMAZON

Don Pablo coffee is another brand that puts a high value on ethically grown and environmentally friendly coffee. They stick to high altitude, shade-grown beans, and thanks to their small, family-owned and operated company they are able to establish personal relationships with their growers. That’s why they created their own Sharing Certified program, which they describe as an even more effective version of the Fairtrade Standard.

The coffee itself is rich and velvety on the tongue, with a sweet chocolate profile that moves from dark chocolate to milk chocolate, with hints of caramel, honey, and cocoa. Yes, that’s three different types of chocolate flavors! It’s sweet, low in acid, and best served black.

Don Pablo’s Subtle Earth is roasted to order in small batches to ensure the freshness of your beans. It is available in Light, Dark, and Full City Dark roasts, as well as a water-processed Decaf variety. Pre-ground, whole bean, or even in pods, this is organic coffee provides a depth of flavor without breaking the bank.

Pros:

  • Shade-grown
  • USDA Certified organic
  • Sharing Certified
  • Roasted to order in small batches
  • Low acid content
  • Also available Decaf
  • Affordable

Cons:

  • Some quality issues with recent batches

SEE ON AMAZON

5. Kicking Horse Coffee Smart Ass – Our Favorite Medium Roast Option

Kicking Horse Coffee Smart Ass

Specifications:

  • Origin: Blend – Africa, Central America, South America
  • Roast: Medium
  • Tasting notes: Red currant, sugar cane, milk chocolate, honey, berries

SEE ON AMAZON

Kicking Horse is a light-hearted Canadian coffee brand, but don’t be fooled. The company takes its commitment to social responsibility seriously and produces some excellent blends without compromising on sustainable growing practices. It has all the certifications you’d expect from a company that cares about the environment, and it’s even ensured that its coffees are Kosher.

The Smart Ass is just one of the available varieties of organic coffee, and it’s the one we’ve featured for a reason. It’s a delicious breakfast blend, with a sweet palate of berries and red currants, with hints of sugarcane and milk chocolate. As Kicking Horse Coffee themselves put it, it’s “cheeky, bright, and precocious.” Like an overly-inquisitive five-year-old, it certainly makes for an interesting morning!

Kicking Horse Coffee’s Smart Ass is only available as whole bean coffee, so you’ll need to invest in a grinder of your own to enjoy this coffee. However, freshly ground is the best way to go to get the most from your beans anyway, so look at it as them allowing you to have the best possible flavor from your drink. It’s good for all sorts of coffee-making methods, from a finely-ground espresso to a coarse French press, and even comes out great for making cold brew.

Pros:

  • Delicious medium roast
  • USDA Certified organic
  • Fairtrade
  • Kosher

Cons:

  • Not available pre-ground

SEE ON AMAZON

6. Sleepy Monk Coffee Ethiopian – Our Favorite Single-Origin Ethiopian Coffee

Ethiopian

Specifications:

  • Origin: Single – Ethiopia
  • Roast: Medium
  • Tasting notes: Chocolate, blueberry, earthy

CLICK TO CHECK PRICE

Sleepy Monk Coffee is a small, beachside coffee house in Cannon Beach, Oregon that prides itself on ensuring that all of the coffee beans on the menu are organically certified, as well as tasting great.

Did you know that Ethiopia is the ancestral home of the coffee plant?

Only the highest quality Ethiopian beans exhibit blueberry notes when you drink them, and that’s exactly what you’ll find in Sleepy Monk’s medium roast.

Sleepy Monk’s Ethiopian is a robust drink with an earthy aspect. The blueberry combines with hints of chocolate and a smooth, earthy finish to comprise a single-origin Ethiopian coffee that’s hard to beat. Its complex and nuanced flavor profile makes this a must-try, especially if you’re a Third Wave coffee drinker. They also have a range of different coffees from other sources, from light to French roast.

Pros:

  • USDA Certified organic
  • Roasted to order in small batches
  • Available in a wide range of pre-ground sizes as well as whole bean

Cons:

  • No information on the sustainability of their suppliers

CLICK TO CHECK PRICE

7. Blue Bottle Giant Steps – Our Favorite Medium-Dark Blend

Blue Bottle Coffee Giant Steps

Specifications:

  • Origin: Sumatra, Papua New Guinea, and Uganda
  • Roast: Medium-dark
  • Tasting notes: Cocoa, toasted marshmallow, graham cracker

SEE ON AMAZON

Blue Bottle Coffee is well-known, but don’t let that keep you from trying this. Beginning in San Francisco, California (the United States’ most-caffeinated city), Blue Bottle soon expanded to cafes around the world.

They ship from their roastery in Oakland, California, and promise that each order is shipped no more than 24 hours after roasting. They also perform weekly cuppings on every bean that comes in – in the case of blends like the Giant Steps, both in the individual beans and in the eventual combination. All the beans used in Giant Steps – from Sumatra, Uganda, and Papua New Guinea – are certified organic by CCOF, a USDA-accredited certification agency based in Santa Cruz, California. Plus, all roasting equipment is certified organic, so you don’t have to worry about residual contamination in the roaster.

This coffee demonstrates why blends can be great, if they’re made by people with a great love for fabulous coffee. Over a deep cocoa base, Giant Steps blossoms with vanilla and caramel notes of toasted marshmallow and the whole-grain flavor of graham crackers. If this sounds a little too much like ‘smores for you, don’t worry – these beans work beautifully in French press, and even pour over and Moka pot.

And yes, jazz fans: it’s named for the John Coltrane classic (5), which combines smoothness, pyrotechnics, and layers of sound. Just like this coffee does with flavor.

Pros:

  • CCOF certified organic
  • Roasted in certified organic roasting machines
  • Weekly quality-control taste testing
  • Shipping time maximum 24 hours after roasting

Cons:

  • Only available in whole bean

SEE ON AMAZON

Organic Coffee Beans and Brands – Our Verdict

Not only are organically grown coffees better for the planet, but they are also easily some of the best tasting options on the market. Thankfully, you don’t have to compromise your morals to get a delicious espresso. While we love the incredible punch of Death Wish Coffee, there are so many other great options out there that deserve to be tasted. In all honesty, if you can’t find one that is perfect for you, you might not be trying hard enough.

FAQs

Organic coffee is indeed better for your health.  It has a number of health benefits which are boosted by their more natural production methods. These include:

Rich in antioxidants and micronutrients

Naturally lower acidity is better for people with sensitive stomachs and reduces damage to tooth enamel

Organic decaf also uses a process that avoids the harmful chemicals sometimes used to strip caffeine from coffee

The certification process varies depending on the organization providing its seal of approval. It usually involves a lengthy series of analyses and reviews to ensure that the product meets the standards.  In many countries, falsely claiming that a product is organic can carry a large fine for each offense. They also are subject to frequent checks, and certifications need to be renewed regularly, usually between one to three years.

References
  1. Organic Production and Handling Standards, USDA. (2002, October). Retrieved from https://www.ams.usda.gov/sites/default/files/media/OrganicProductionandHandlingStandards.pdf
  2. About B Corps. (n.d.). Retrieved from https://bcorporation.net/about-b-corps
  3. Ecological Benefits of Shade-grown Coffee. (n.d.) Retrieved from https://nationalzoo.si.edu/migratory-birds/ecological-benefits-shade-grown-coffee
  4. Rodewald, A. (2017, April 30). ‘Shade-grown’ coffee has a surprising environmental benefit. Retrieved from https://www.businessinsider.com/shade-grown-coffee-has-a-surprising-environmental-benefit-2017-4
  5. Jones, J (2018, November 13). Jazz Deconstructed: What Makes John Coltrane’s “Giant Steps” So Groundbreaking and Radical? Retrieved from http://www.openculture.com/2018/11/jazz-deconstructed-makes-john-coltranes-giant-steps-groundbreaking-radical.html
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap