Coffeeble 受读者支持。 当您通过我们网站上的链接购买时,我们可能会免费为您赚取会员佣金。 了解更多

畅销款式 家用咖啡烘焙机 烘焙小批量豆类的机器

在家烘焙生咖啡豆似乎是一种先进的技术,只为最热情的家庭酿造者保留,但 合适的家庭烘焙机,这对任何人来说都很容易。 一旦你尝试了新鲜烘焙的咖啡,你将无法回头。

请继续阅读我们的清单 五台最好的咖啡烘焙机 今年,所以你可以从今天开始。

乍看上去:

如何选择适合家庭使用的咖啡烘焙机

最简单的烘焙咖啡可以被描述为加热生咖啡豆直到它们变成棕色。 但这大大简化了完美烘焙的工艺,它必须平衡生咖啡豆的果味和烘焙过程中的烤焦糖味。 (1)

烘焙咖啡的方法有很多种。 您选择的方法应该取决于您需要多少烘焙咖啡以及您想花多少钱。

甜蜜的玛丽亚

除了传递热量之外,咖啡豆烘焙机还有两个关键要求。 一,豆子必须不断地移动,以确保整个批次的烘焙均匀。 第二,一旦达到所需的烘焙效果,豆子必须迅速冷却。 有很多方法可以满足上述所有要求,我们的买家指南将引导您完成您的选择。

产品 详细信息 按键
最佳家用鼓式咖啡烘焙机 卡迪宽 卡迪宽
  • 大烤炉
  • 用户控制少
  • 外部热源
亚马逊标志 在亚马逊上看到
最好的电动咖啡烘焙机 家万顺家用咖啡烘焙机 家万顺咖啡豆烘焙机
  • 小烤炉
  • 用户控制少
  • 包括热源
亚马逊标志 在亚马逊上看到
最佳流化床空气咖啡烘焙机 鲜烤SR540 鲜烤SR540
  • 中型烘焙机
  • 直接用户控制
  • 包括热源
亚马逊标志 在亚马逊上查看
最好的炉灶咖啡烘焙机 大烤炉 DYVEE 咖啡烘焙机燃气燃烧器
  • 大烤炉
  • 用户控制少
  • 外部热源
亚马逊标志 在亚马逊上看到
最佳手动咖啡烘焙机 Nuvo Eco 陶瓷手持式 Nuvo Eco 陶瓷手持式
  • 小烤炉
  • 用户控制少
  • 外部热源
亚马逊标志 在亚马逊上查看
卡迪宽
最佳家用鼓式咖啡烘焙机 卡迪宽
  • 大烤炉
  • 用户控制少
  • 外部热源
家万顺咖啡豆烘焙机
最好的电动咖啡烘焙机 家万顺家用咖啡烘焙机
  • 小烤炉
  • 用户控制少
  • 包括热源
鲜烤SR540
最佳流化床空气咖啡烘焙机 鲜烤SR540
  • 中型烘焙机
  • 直接用户控制
  • 包括热源
DYVEE 咖啡烘焙机燃气燃烧器
最好的炉灶咖啡烘焙机 大烤炉
  • 大烤炉
  • 用户控制少
  • 外部热源
Nuvo Eco 陶瓷手持式
最佳手动咖啡烘焙机 Nuvo Eco 陶瓷手持式
  • 小烤炉
  • 用户控制少
  • 外部热源

为什么要购买家用咖啡豆烘焙机

在家烤咖啡肯定比买烤豆更辛苦。 那么,是什么让家庭咖啡豆烘焙机成为您供应的值得补充的 咖啡制作工具? 家庭烘焙的好处比您想象的要多(2).

首先,新鲜烘焙的咖啡味道更好。 一旦你烘焙咖啡,它就开始散发出美味的味道和香气。 你越早把它放在你的杯子里越好。 说到那些香气,如果你喜欢冲泡咖啡的味道,你就会喜欢烘焙咖啡的味道。 如果您已经投资了一台出色的研磨机和咖啡机,并且 拿铁和卡布奇诺的最佳奶泡器,或 倒咖啡的最佳鹅颈壶,下一个明显的升级是家用烘焙机。

其次,它会帮你省钱。 买青豆要便宜得多,大约是烤豆价格的一半(3)。 此外,它们的保质期更长,正确储存时大约为 3 至 6 个月。 因此,您可以通过批量购买进一步降低成本(4)。 如果你是批量购买,一定要投资一个伟大的 咖啡罐 用于存储。

通过GIPHY

最后,咖啡烘焙很有趣。 如果您喜欢冲泡一杯完美咖啡的工艺,无论是恰到好处地倒出咖啡还是冲出理想的浓缩咖啡,烘焙过程都提供了一组新的变量供您掌握。 烘焙时间和温度的微小变化会对咖啡的味道和口感产生重大影响,您可以根据自己的喜好定制烘焙。

咖啡烘焙机的种类

我们可以将咖啡烘焙机分为 两种主要类型,各有利弊。

空气烤炉

空气烘焙机类似于爆米花爆米花,100% 通过对流传递。 流入烘焙室的热空气既是热源,又是使豆子旋转以进行均匀烘焙的手段。 空气烘烤器往往烘烤得最快。 与鼓式烘焙机相比,它们提供强烈的香气、较轻的酒体和焦糖化。

空气烘烤器的一个子类别是流化床烘烤器,其中热空气风洞从烘烤器底部向上推并在顶部排出。 这会导致咖啡豆在热流中翻滚并均匀烘烤(5).

鼓式烤炉

在滚筒烘焙机中,豆子在一个大滚筒中旋转,就像在干衣机中一样。 滚筒壁和滚筒内的空气被加热。 因此,该技术通过传导和对流的混合提供均匀的烧毁。 这些需要外部热源,例如燃气燃烧器。 与空气烘焙机相比,鼓式烘焙机通常可以处理更高的容量。 大多数商业规模的烘焙机都是鼓式烘焙机。

在咖啡烘焙机中寻找什么

购买家用咖啡烘焙机时需要考虑三个主要事项。

用最好的家庭咖啡烘焙机烘焙的咖啡豆

容量

购买咖啡豆烘焙机时,一个关键的考虑因素是容量。 烘焙咖啡相对简单快捷,但您可能不想每天早上都这样做。 考虑一下您一周喝了多少咖啡,并瞄准可以处理负载的烘焙机。 如果你是一个重度咖啡饮用者,那么鼓式烘焙机可能最适合你。 (6)

新烘焙机常犯的一个错误是不了解烘焙机的最佳批量大小。 机器超载会使烘焙时间比应有的时间更长,并产生烘焙、清淡的咖啡。

Lon Ford,完美的日常磨练

请记住,当您没有将它们加载到最大容量时,大多数烘焙机运行最佳。 此外,豆子在烘烤时会收缩,100 克生豆可产生约 85 克烤豆。

清洁用品

当你烤青豆时,它们会释放出一种叫做谷壳的轻质片状物质。 为了最轻松的清理,寻找带有谷壳收集器的烘焙机。 一些家庭烘焙机还配备了烟雾抑制系统,这将使您的烘焙区域保持清洁,并使整体体验更加愉快。

用户友好

一些咖啡烘焙机更先进,具有内置定时器或温度和风扇设置。 有些甚至可以记住您最喜欢的设置,以确保一致的烘焙。 这些往往是更昂贵的型号,但如果您的烘焙更成功,从长远来看,它们可能会省钱。

关于咖啡烘焙两条规则的信息图

5 年 2022 款最佳家用咖啡烘焙机

此列表包含适合各种风格和预算的咖啡豆烘焙机,因此您一定会找到适合您生活方式的完美咖啡豆烘焙机。 更不用说,咖啡豆烘焙机可以制作 送给咖啡爱好者的好礼物.

1. 卡迪宽 – 最佳家用鼓式咖啡烘焙机

KALDI WIDE 家用咖啡烘焙机电动

产品参数

  • 外形尺寸: 6.7x14.6x18.1英寸

  • 用户友好性: 用户控制少
  • 加热源: 外部
  • 烘烤能力: 10.5盎司

我们的首选是 Kaldi Wide,我们并不孤单。 虽然相对昂贵,但这款韩国制造的家用烘焙机在世界各地都有粉丝。

这种鼓式烘焙机本质上是顶级商业烘焙机使用的微型版本,它可以提供同样高端的结果。

它采用创新的空气烘烤技术确保内部温度分布均匀,滚筒上的铜套可防止烧焦。

Kaldi 没有热源。 相反,它安装在燃气燃烧器上,如果您没有燃气灶,您可以从公司购买,而内部电机则保持咖啡豆旋转。 它具有温度计和探针杆,因此您可以一次取出一些豆子来监控正在进行的烘焙。

KALDI WIDE 家用咖啡烘焙机电动

这种不锈钢机器非常耐用,证明其成本略高是合理的。 此外,木手柄保持凉爽,完成后可以轻松从燃烧器上移开。 容量足够大,足以满足普通烘焙师的需求。 每次烘烤只需 10 到 15 分钟,完成后,可拆卸的谷壳收集盘让清理工作变得轻而易举。

请阅读我们的 Kaldi家用咖啡烘焙机评论.

2. 家万顺家用咖啡烘焙机 – 最佳电动咖啡烘焙机

家万顺家用咖啡烘焙机家用电动咖啡豆烘焙机

产品参数

  • 外形尺寸: 11.8 x 6.2英寸

  • 用户友好性: 用户控制少
  • 加热源: 包含
  • 烘烤能力: 28.2盎司

佳万顺电动咖啡豆烘焙机是一款可插入标准壁式插座的台面烘焙机。 它既便宜又紧凑,同时提供了出色烘焙所需的所有功能。 0 至 240 ℃ 的温度刻度盘可让您密切控制烘烤温度,您可以随时调整。 此外,内部的旋转臂使咖啡豆保持移动,以实现完美均匀的烘烤。 此外,耐热玻璃盖可让您监控正在进行的烘焙并进行相应调整。

Jiawanshun 具有此列表中所有机器的最大容量。 您一次可以烤近一磅,因此它是大家庭和重度咖啡饮用者的绝佳选择。 然而,更大的容量意味着需要更长的时间,大约 20 分钟进行一次深色烘烤。 尽管如此,它使用起来很简单,而且由于食品级不粘涂层内表面,清理起来轻而易举。 只需冲洗谷壳,就是这样。

因为它依靠机械臂而不是气流来旋转咖啡豆,所以家万顺烘焙机是多用途的。 你也可以用它来烤爆米花、坚果或其他谷物和种子。

3. 鲜烤SR540 – 最佳流化床空气咖啡烘焙机

鲜烤SR540

产品参数

  • 外形尺寸: 14.7x8.3x8.3英寸

  • 用户友好性: 直接用户控制
  • 加热源: 包含|
  • 烘烤能力: 4盎司

广受欢迎的 Fresh Roast SR540 是一款全能出色的咖啡豆烘焙机,是初露头角的家庭咖啡师的完美入门级机型。 它是广受欢迎的 SR500 的升级版,具有重新设计的烘烤室,可在整个烘烤过程中提供更好的可见性和更均匀的结果。

Fresh Roast 是一种空气烘烤器,它使用向上的热空气流来移动咖啡豆并均匀地烘烤它们。 它还具有易于清洁的谷壳收集器。

它的低价掩盖了它高度可编程的事实,可选择九种烘烤温度以及可调节的风扇和计时器。

Fresh Roast 运行时非常安静,只需 6 到 9 分钟即可完成烘烤。 它的占地面积非常小,可以在任何大小的家中使用。 这台机器的紧凑性确实意味着它的容量非常低,因此对于大量消费咖啡的家庭来说可能不实用。

请阅读我们的 新鲜烤肉 SR500 SR540 审查.

4. DYVEE 咖啡烘焙机燃气燃烧器 – 最佳炉灶咖啡烘焙机

咖啡烘焙机 燃气燃烧器 咖啡烘焙机 咖啡豆 贝克

产品参数

  • 外形尺寸: 18.4x10.9x9.9英寸

  • 用户友好性:  用户控制少
  • 加热源:  外部
  • 烘烤能力: 14.1盎司

Coffee Roaster Gas Burner 是一款炉灶鼓式烘焙机,设计用于安装在典型的家用燃烧器或电炉上。 它最独特的特点是它的透明石英鼓,它可以让您仔细监控烘焙过程。 手柄由木头制成,因此可以保持凉爽,机身是耐用的不锈钢。 尽管有这些优质的制造材料,但这款家用烘焙机相对便宜。

这个项目操作起来毫不费力。 只需将其放在燃烧器上并打开电源即可启动滚筒旋转。 当然,它的 14 盎司容量将满足大多数家庭咖啡烘焙师的需求。 缺点是该机器不提供温度反馈,因此您必须根据视觉和实验调整燃烧器的温度。 它也比大多数需要更长的时间,大约一个小时或更长时间才能达到深烤。

为了清洁,滚筒可以很容易地拆卸、拆卸和冲洗。 请记住,石英鼓比标准金属选项更易碎,所以不要掉落它。

5. Nuvo Eco 陶瓷手持式 – 最佳手动咖啡烘焙机

Nuvo Eco 陶瓷便携咖啡豆烘焙机

产品参数

  • 外形尺寸: 9.9x6.4x3.0英寸

  • 用户友好性: 用户控制少
  • 加热源: 外部
  • 烘烤能力: 2.4盎司

Nuvo Eco Ceramic Handy 咖啡豆烘焙机与此列表中的所有其他产品非常不同。 它不是一台机器,而是一个为您设计用于容纳热源的小容器。

Nuvo 的简约设计既美观又实用,具有华夫饼形内腔,烘烤均匀。 这种简单性也使其非常便宜。

Nuvo Eco 非常易于使用。 只需加入豆子并在热源上搅拌,直到烘烤完成,此时豆子可以通过空心手柄倒出,让它们快速冷却。 手柄有一个牛皮握把,可以保护你的手,但要注意在烘烤过程中它仍然会变热。 我们的建议是也使用烤箱手套或毛巾。

虽然与自动化程度更高的机器相比,学习如何使用这种豆烘焙机很容易,但要获得完美和一致的结果却更具挑战性。 没有可依赖的计时器、控件或温度计来提供反馈。 因此,您需要依靠视觉、听觉、嗅觉和大量练习才能让您的烤肉恰到好处。

只有 3 盎司,这款烘焙机的容量很小。 尽管如此,这也意味着它很快,只需 3 到 10 分钟即可完成烘烤。 也许这款烘焙机最大的特点就是它的便携性。 凭借其小巧的尺寸且无需电源,您可以轻松地将 Nuvo Eco 带到露营之旅中,并发现自己在篝火上烘烤新鲜咖啡。

请阅读我们的 Nuvo Eco Ceramic Handy Coffee Roaster 评测.

该判决

在家烘焙生咖啡豆是一种有趣且具有教育意义的爱好,不仅可以改善咖啡的味道,还可以为您省钱。 我们每个最好的家用咖啡烘焙机都会为合适的用户提供出色的烘焙效果。 然而, 卡迪宽 提供最佳平衡 质量, 承受能力容量. 今天拿起一个,你很快就会制作出咖啡馆品质的烤肉。

[amazon fields=”B00SM3HXXY” image=5 value=”thumb” image_size=”large” image_alt=”KALDI WIDE Home Coffee Roaster Motorize Type” link_overwrite=”https://geni.us/cblkaldirstr”>

常见问题

烘焙咖啡的温度取决于您喜欢咖啡豆的深浅程度。 对于轻烤,您将豆子烘烤到 350 到 400 华氏度之间的内部温度。 对于中度烘焙,范围为 400 至 450 ℉,深度烘焙范围为 450 至 480 ℉。 你很少烤咖啡超过 490 ℉。

哪种烘焙的咖啡最强很难说。 尽管如此,一个普遍的神话仍然存在,即轻烤含有更多的咖啡因。 浅烘焙比深烘焙更浓,所以如果你用勺子测量你的咖啡,而不是使用一个更可取的策略 咖啡秤,你会得到更多的轻度烘焙咖啡,因此咖啡因也更多(7).

您可以在爆米花机中烘烤咖啡豆。 许多家庭烘焙机开始使用爆米花机。 但是,如果您对烘焙咖啡豆很认真,那么专用的咖啡豆烘焙机会产生更好的效果。

你不准备烘焙咖啡豆。 只需购买最优质的豆子并将它们添加到烘焙机中即可。

参考资料
  1. 如何烤自己的咖啡。 (nd)。 取自 https://legacy.sweetmarias.com/library/how-to-roast-your-own-coffee
  2. 乔,尼克。 (2013 年 17 月 2013 日)。 你应该在家烤咖啡吗? 取自 https://drinks.seriouseats.com/12/XNUMX/why-you-shouldnt-roast-coffee-at-home-pros-cons-green-coffee-roasting-kit.html
  3. 一世阿尔布雷希特(2018 年 22 月 2018 日)。 购买合适的生咖啡的家庭烘焙指南。 取自 https://www.perfectdailygrind.com/08/XNUMX/a-home-roasters-guide-to-buying-the-right-green-coffee/
  4. Guerra, G.(2017 年 6 月 2017 日)。 绿豆储存:您需要控制哪些因素? 取自 https://www.perfectdailygrind.com/11/XNUMX/green-bean-storage-factors-need-control/
  5. Holshuh, A.(2018 年 11 月 2018 日)。 流化床焙烧:少走的路。 取自 https://coffeetechniciansguild.org/blog/4/10/XNUMX/fluid-bed-roasting-the-path-less-taken
  6. 福特,L.(2019 年 11 月 2019 日)。 烘焙师常犯的错误以及如何避免它们。 取自 https://www.perfectdailygrind.com/11/XNUMX/common-mistakes-that-roasters-make-how-to-avoid-them/
  7. 哪种烤肉含有更多的咖啡因? (nd)。 取自 https://www.kickinghorsecoffee.com/en/blog/which-roast-has-more-caffeine

发表评论

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

复制链接
版权所有 社交快照

Coffeeble is reader-supported. When you buy via the links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission at no cost to you. Learn more.

5 Best Home Coffee Roaster Machines for Roasting Small Batches of Beans

Roasting green coffee beans at home might seem like an advanced technique reserved for only the most enthusiastic of homebrewers, but with the right home roaster, it’s easy enough for anyone. And once you try freshly roasted coffee, you won’t be able to turn back.

Read on for our list of the five best home coffee roaster machines this year, so you can get started today.

Top Pick
KALDI WIDE  Home Coffee Roaster Motorize

KALDI WIDE

Large-capacity drum roaster.
Innovative air roasting technology for even heat distribution.
Includes thermometer and test probe to monitor roast.

How to Choose the Right Home Coffee Roaster

At its simplest, roasting coffee can be described as heating green coffee beans until they turn brown. But this considerably over-simplifies the craft of a perfect roast, which must balance the fruity flavors of the green coffee bean with the toasty, caramelized flavors from the roasting process. (1)

There are many ways to roast coffee. The method you choose should be influenced by how much roaster coffee you need and how much money you want to spend.

Aside from delivering heat, there are two crucial requirements of a coffee roaster. One, the beans must be continuously kept moving to ensure an even roast throughout the batch. Two, the beans must be cooled quickly as soon as you achieve the desired roast. There are many ways to meet all the above, and our buyers’ guide will walk you through your options.

Why buy a home coffee roaster

Roasting coffee at home is certainly more work than buying roasted beans. So, what makes a home coffee bean roaster a worthwhile addition to your supply of coffee-making tools? There are more benefits to home roasting than you might guess (2).

First and foremost, freshly roasted coffee tastes better. As soon as you roast the coffee, it begins shedding its delicious flavors and aromas. The sooner you get it in your cup, the better. And speaking of those aromas, if you like the smell of brewing coffee, you will love the smell of roasting coffee. If you’ve already invested in a great grinder and coffee maker, and the best milk frothers for your latte and cappuccino, or the best gooseneck kettle for pour over coffee, the next obvious upgrade is a home roaster.

Secondly, it will save you money. It’s much less expensive to buy green beans, which are about half the price of roasted beans (3). Moreover, they have a longer shelf life, on the order of 3 to 6 months when stored correctly. Thus you can lower costs further by buying in bulk (4). If you are buying in bulk, be sure to invest in a great coffee canister for storage.

via GIPHY

Lastly, coffee roasting is fun. If you love the craft of brewing the perfect cup of coffee, whether it’s getting that pour over just right or pulling the ideal shot of espresso, the roasting process provides a new set of variables to master. Small changes in roasting time and temperature can have a significant impact on the coffee’s taste and body, and you can tailor your roast to your exact preferences.

Types of coffee roasters

We can classify coffee roasters into two main types, each with some pros and cons.

Air Roasters

Air roasters are similar to popcorn poppers, relaying 100% on convection. Hot air flowing into the roasting chamber serves as both a heat source and a means of spinning the beans for even roasting. Air roasters tend to bake the fastest. Compared with drum roasters, they provide intense aromas, a lighter body, and caramelization.

A subcategory of air roasters is fluid bed roasters, in which a wind-tunnel of hot air is pushed up from the bottom of the roaster and vented at the top. This causes the beans to tumble and roast evenly in the hot current (5).

Drum Roasters

In a drum roaster, beans rotate in a large drum, like in a clothes dryer. The drum walls and the air inside the drum are heated. Therefore, this technology provides even burn through a mixture of conduction and convection. These require an external heat source, like a gas burner. As compared with air roasters, drum roasters can usually handle higher capacity. Most commercial-scale roasters are drum roasters.

What to Look for in a Coffee Roaster

There are three major things to consider when buying a home coffee roaster.

beans roasted with best Home coffee roasters

Capacity

When buying a coffee roaster, one crucial consideration is capacity. Roasting coffee is relatively quick and easy, but you probably won’t want to do it every morning. Consider how much coffee you drink in a week, and aim for a roaster that can handle the load. If you’re a heavy coffee drinker, a drum roaster will probably suit you best. (6)

A common mistake made by new roasters is not understanding the optimal batch size for your roaster. Overloading a machine will make the roast take longer than it should and produce a baked, bland coffee.

Keep in mind that most roasters operate best when you don’t load them to maximum capacity. Also, beans will shrink on roasting, with 100 g of green beans yielding about 85 g of roasted beans.

Cleaning

When you roast green beans, they release a light, flaky material called chaff. For the most effortless clean-up, look for a coffee roaster with a chaff collector. Some home roasters also feature a smoke suppression system, which will keep your roasting area cleaner and make the experience more enjoyable overall.

User-Friendliness

Some coffee roasting machines are more advanced, with built-in timers or temperature and fan settings. Some can even remember your favorite settings to ensure consistent roasting. These tend to be the more expensive models, but they might save money in the long run if your roasts are more successful.

infographic about the two rules of coffee roasting

The 5 Best Home Coffee Roaster Machines in 2020

This list contains home coffee roasters to suit every style and budget, so you’re sure to find the perfect one for your lifestyle. Not to mention, a home coffee roaster machine can make a great gift for coffee-lovers.

1. KALDI WIDE – Best Home Drum Coffee Roaster

KALDI WIDE  Home Coffee Roaster Motorize

Specifications:

  • Dimensions: 6.7 x 14.6 x 18.1 inches
  • User-friendliness: Little user control
  • Heating source: External
  • Roasting capacity: 10.5 ounces

SEE ON AMAZON

Our top pick is the Kaldi Wide, and we’re not alone. Though relatively pricey, this Korean-made home roasting machine has fans around the world.

This drum roaster is essentially a miniature version of what the top commercial roasters use, and it can deliver equally high-end results.

It uses innovative air roasting technology to guarantee even temperature distribution inside, and a copper sleeve over the drum prevents scorching.

The Kaldi doesn’t come with a heat source. Instead, it settles over a gas burner, which you can purchase from the company if you don’t have a gas stove, while an internal motor keeps the beans rotating. It features a thermometer and probe rod, so you can take out a few beans at a time to monitor the roast in progress.

KALDI WIDE  Home Coffee Roaster Motorize

This stainless steel machine is very durable, justifying its slightly higher cost. Moreover, the wooden handle stays cool and makes it easy to move off the burner when it’s finished. The capacity is plenty large enough to satisfy the average home coffee roaster. Each roast takes only 10 to 15 minutes, and when you finish, a removable chaff collection tray makes clean up a breeze.

Read our Kaldi home coffee roaster review.

2. JIAWANSHUN Home Coffee Roaster – Best Electric Coffee Roaster

JIAWANSHUN Home Coffee Roaster Machine Electric Coffee Bean Roaster for Home Use

Specifications:

  • Dimensions: 11.8 x 6.2 inches
  • User-friendliness: Little user control
  • Heating source: Included
  • Roasting capacity: 28.2 ounces

SEE ON AMAZON

The Jiawanshun electric coffee bean roaster is a countertop roaster that plugs into a standard wall socket. It is inexpensive and compact while providing all the functionality you need for a great roast. A temperature dial from 0 to 240 ℃ gives you intimate control over the roasting temperature, which you can adjust on the fly. Moreover, a rotating arm inside keeps the beans moving for a perfectly even roast. Plus, the heatproof glass cover allows you to monitor the roast in progress and adjust accordingly.

The Jiawanshun features the largest capacity of any machine on this list. You can roast nearly one pound at a time, so it’s an excellent option for large households and heavy coffee drinkers. However, the larger capacity means that it takes a bit longer, about 20 minutes for a dark roast. Still, it’s straightforward to use, and clean-up is a breeze thanks to a food-grade non-stick-coated inner surface. Just rinse out the chaff, and that’s it.

Because it relies on a mechanical arm to rotate the beans rather than an air current, the Jiawanshun coffee roaster is multipurpose. You can also use it to roast things like popcorn, nuts, or other grains and seeds.

3. Fresh Roast  SR540 – Best Fluid Bed Air Coffee Roaster

Fresh Roast SR540

Specifications:

  • Dimensions: 14.7 x 8.3 x 8.3 inches
  • User-friendliness: Direct user control
  • Heating source: Included
  • Roasting capacity: 4 ounces

SEE ON AMAZON

The popular Fresh Roast SR540 is an all-around excellent coffee bean roaster, the perfect entry-level model for the budding home barista. It’s an upgrade to the much sought-after SR500, featuring a redesigned roasting chamber that offers better visibility throughout the roast process and a more even result.

Fresh Roast is an air roaster that uses an upward current of hot air to move the beans around and roast them evenly. It also features a chaff collector for easy cleaning.

Its low price belies the fact that it is highly programmable, with a choice of nine roast temperatures and an adjustable fan and timer.

The Fresh Roast is very quiet while running and only takes 6 to 9 minutes to complete a roast. It has a notably small footprint, making it functional in any size of the home. The compact nature of this machine does mean that its capacity is quite low, so it may not be practical for heavy coffee consuming households.

Read our Fresh Roast SR500 SR540 review.

4. DYVEE Coffee Roaster Gas Burner – Best Stovetop Coffee Roaster

Coffee Roaster Gas Burner Coffee Roasting Machine Coffee Beans Baker

Specifications:

  • Dimensions: 18.4 x 10.9 x 9.9 inches
  • User-friendliness:  Little user control
  • Heating source:  External
  • Roasting capacity: 14.1 ounces

SEE ON AMAZON

The Coffee Roaster Gas Burner is a stovetop drum roaster designed to sit on a typical household burner or hotplate. Its most unique feature is its transparent quartz drum, which allows you to monitor the roast as it progresses carefully. The handle is made of wood so that it stays cool, and the body is durable stainless steel. Despite these quality manufacturing materials, this home roaster is relatively inexpensive.

The Coffee Roaster Gas Burner is effortless to operate. Just put it over a burner and turn the power on to start the drum rotating. Surely, its 14-ounce capacity will satisfy the needs of most home coffee roasters. A downside is that this machine offers no temperature feedback, so you will have to adjust your burner’s temperature based on sight and experimentation. It also takes longer than most, on the order of an hour or more to reach a dark roast.

For cleaning, the drum can be easily removed, disassembled, and rinsed. Just keep in mind that the quartz drum will be more fragile than standard metal options, so don’t drop it.

5. Nuvo Eco Ceramic Handy – Best Manual Coffee Roaster

Nuvo Eco Ceramic Handy Coffee Bean Roaster

Specifications:

  • Dimensions: 9.9 x 6.4 x 3.0 inches
  • User-friendliness: Little user control
  • Heating source: External
  • Roasting capacity: 2.4 ounces

SEE ON AMAZON

The Nuvo Eco Ceramic Handy coffee bean roaster is very different from all the others on this list. It’s not a machine but rather a small vessel designed for you to hold over a heat source.

Nuvo’s minimalist design is both beautiful and practical, featuring a waffle-shaped internal chamber for even roasting. This simplicity also makes it very inexpensive.

The Nuvo Eco is incredibly easy to use. Just add the beans and agitate it over a heat source until the roast is complete, at which point the beans can be poured out through the hollow handle, allowing them to cool quickly. The handle has a cowhide leather grip to protect your hands, but beware that it can still get hot during roasting. Our advice is to use an oven mitt or towel too.

While it is easy to learn how to use this bean roaster as compared with the more automated machines, it is much more challenging to achieve perfect and consistent results. There are no timers, controls, or thermometers to rely on for feedback. Thus you will need to rely on sight, sound, smell, and lots of practice to get your roast just right.

At just 3 ounces, the capacity of this roaster is minimal. Still, that also means it is speedy, taking only 3 to 10 minutes to complete a roast. Perhaps the best feature of this roaster is its portability. With its tiny size and no need for a power supply, you could easily take the Nuvo Eco on a camping trip and find yourself roasting fresh coffee over a campfire.

Read our review of the Nuvo Eco Ceramic Handy Coffee Roaster.

The Verdict

Roasting your green coffee beans at home is a fun and educational hobby, one that will not only improve the taste of your coffee but will also save you money. Each of our best home coffee roasters will deliver a great roast for the right user. However, Kaldi Wide offers the best balance of quality, affordability, and capacity. Pick one up today, and you’ll be producing cafe-quality roasts in no time.

KALDI WIDE Home Coffee Roaster Motorize Type

FAQs

At what temperature you roast coffee will depend on how dark or light you like your beans. For a light roast, you bake the beans to an internal temperature of between 350 and 400 ℉. For a medium roast, the range is from 400 to 450 ℉, and dark roasts range from 450 to 480 ℉. You rarely roast coffee beyond 490 ℉.

What roast of coffee is the strongest is hard to tell. Though, a common myth persists that light roasts have more caffeine. Light roasts are denser than dark, so if you measure your coffee with a scoop, instead of the preferable strategy of using a coffee scale, you’ll get more coffee with a light roast and thus more caffeine (7).

You can roast coffee beans in a popcorn popper. Many home roasters start out using a popcorn maker. However, if you’re serious about roasting your beans, a dedicated coffee bean roaster will produce much better results.

You don’t prepare coffee beans for roasting. Just buy the best quality beans you can and add them to the roaster.

References
  1. How to Roast Your Own Coffee. (n.d.). Retrieved from https://legacy.sweetmarias.com/library/how-to-roast-your-own-coffee
  2. Cho, Nick. (2013, December 17). Should You Roast Coffee at Home? Retrieved from https://drinks.seriouseats.com/2013/12/why-you-shouldnt-roast-coffee-at-home-pros-cons-green-coffee-roasting-kit.html
  3. Albrecht, I. (2018, August 22). A Home Roaster’s Guide to Buying The Right Green Coffee. Retrieved from https://www.perfectdailygrind.com/2018/08/a-home-roasters-guide-to-buying-the-right-green-coffee/
  4. Guerra, G. (2017, November 6). Green Bean Storage: What Factors Do You Need to Control? Retrieved from https://www.perfectdailygrind.com/2017/11/green-bean-storage-factors-need-control/
  5. Holshuh, A. (2018, April 11). Fluid-Bed Roasting: The Path Less Taken. Retrieved from https://coffeetechniciansguild.org/blog/2018/4/10/fluid-bed-roasting-the-path-less-taken
  6. Ford, L. (2019, November 11). Common Mistakes That Roasters Make & How to Avoid Them. Retrieved from https://www.perfectdailygrind.com/2019/11/common-mistakes-that-roasters-make-how-to-avoid-them/
  7. Which Roast Has More Caffeine? (n.d.). Retrieved from https://www.kickinghorsecoffee.com/en/blog/which-roast-has-more-caffeine
Roasted coffee beans on a poster
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap