Coffeeble 受读者支持。 当您通过我们网站上的链接购买时,我们可能会免费为您赚取会员佣金。 了解更多

什么是 特色咖啡? 它实际上与美食咖啡不同

如果您还没有意识到,精品咖啡与精品咖啡完全不同。 极品咖啡代表优质咖啡。 至少,营销人员告诉我们,精品咖啡质量很好。 但是,没有质量保证流程或标准化。 精品咖啡关系到整个过程的整体质量。 精品咖啡的质量不仅胜过任何大规模生产的咖啡,而且还来自可持续的方法。

精品咖啡背后的科学

那么,什么是精品咖啡? Erna Knutsen 早在 1974 年就创造了“精品咖啡”这个词。但这个词是什么意思? 这个词对不同的人意味着不同的东西。 有些人关注咖啡豆的种植或选择方式。 其他人更关注生咖啡豆的烘焙方式,而另一些人则更关注酿造过程。

精品咖啡的生产始于咖啡农场,这里的咖啡豆是经过特别挑选的。 对精品咖啡供应链至关重要的是在烘焙、研磨和冲泡这些咖啡豆方面非常熟练的专业人员。 专家根据严格的标准对精品咖啡进行分级。 我们称这个过程为“拔罐”。 然后,经过认证的咖啡买家会仔细挑选咖啡豆。 选择遵循精品咖啡协会制定的特定标准。 因此,得分高于 80 分(满分 100 分)的咖啡豆将获得精品咖啡地位。

通过Gfycat

种植豆类 

精品咖啡来自咖啡种植者种植的生咖啡豆,他们毕生致力于完善种植过程。 许多咖啡种植企业由熟悉土壤和生长条件的家庭或社区经营。 此外,特色咖啡种植者只挑选最优质的生咖啡豆进行烘焙。 在第一次收获之前,可能需要多年耐心地耕种土地。 任何有缺陷或不够成熟的生咖啡豆都不会进入产量。 过程很严格。

如果种植过程危害环境或工人,那么成品就不是精品咖啡。

可持续性是精品咖啡的核心。 因此,精品咖啡豆的价格更高。 因此,它们也吸引了更多挑剔的消费者。 这些消费者会为获得优质咖啡的特权支付更多费用。 咖啡行业认识到生产特色咖啡豆所花费的时间和精力。 从本质上讲,价格反映了为支持不断发展的社区而支付的公平工资。

焙烧 

获得正确的咖啡口味特征需要训练有素的咖啡烘焙专业人员的知识和技能。 获得这些知识需要数小时的学习和培训。 精品咖啡知识是一个复杂的、科学的过程。 为了获得正确的味道,烘焙人员必须平衡各种因素,例如热力学和热传递。 为了确保咖啡行业的高标准,精品咖啡协会为那些学习成为咖啡烘焙师的人提供认证。

烘焙的质量对什么是精品咖啡很重要

研磨

研磨对精品咖啡至关重要。 因此,研磨得越细,提取速度就越快。 如果做得不好,研磨会产生带有苦味的酸味。 粗磨咖啡往往需要更长的时间来提取,从而产生更醇厚的味道。

酿造

咖啡师在完成特色咖啡的过程中非常熟练。 咖啡师接受过特殊培训,教他们调入制作最佳咖啡的要素。 这就是为什么咖啡师培训包括学习特定冲泡所需的水温,或识别要使用的研磨尺寸。

行业精品咖啡

当然,精品咖啡的味道很棒。 但更重要的是,它还确保了咖啡生产过程不会损害环境或剥削工人。 根据 SCA,除非通过了严格的可持续性测试,否则咖啡不能被认证为精品咖啡。 很酷,对吧?

咖啡风味轮

世界咖啡研究词典隐藏了精品咖啡背后的科学。 专家们将词典简化为视觉形式,以便咖啡专业人士可以描述一种特定类型的咖啡(1)。 其中一部分是咖啡品尝者的风味轮。 风味轮帮助人们了解他们购买的是什么类型的咖啡。 尽管如此,风味轮也有助于行业专家开发新型咖啡。

词典不仅是科学工作的巅峰之作,还是未来研究的推动力。

世界咖啡研究

对于咖啡购买者和咖啡师来说,语言可以传达特定类型咖啡的风味和口感。 这 咖啡品尝者的风味轮 大约 20 年来,它一直是咖啡专业人士的首选。 它最初是一次巨大的合作,现在它是描述咖啡口味的权威资源。

SCAA 认证的咖啡酿造商

美国精品咖啡协会 (SCAA) 根据其严格的科学标准评估最好的电动滴漏式咖啡机。 通过严格测试的酿造机代表 咖啡冲泡的黄金标准 (2)。 这些机器是 SCAA 认证的咖啡机. SCAA 认证的咖啡酿造商必须通过科学家多年来开发的广泛测试。 SCAA 检查机器的冲泡时间和正确的水温。 因此,他们的认证就像一个质量保证标志。 您可以确信,经过 SCAA 认证的咖啡机将通过正确的设置制作正确类型的咖啡。

精品咖啡VS第三波咖啡

精品咖啡几乎是世界上最高标准的咖啡。 尽管如此,专家们还是进一步推动了咖啡的质量标准。 现在,作物的精华——最高品质的咖啡——现在被认为是第三波浪潮。

理解起来有点棘手,但第三波是强调客户服务的特色咖啡。 考虑第三波 更多手工,如专业巧克力或葡萄酒。 然而,可持续性、公平性和体验质量是第三波标准咖啡不可或缺的一部分。 事实上,人们很容易将精品咖啡与第三波咖啡混淆。 但是,区分这两种的最好方法是客户体验。

第三波咖啡使用特色咖啡来提供一流的咖啡体验。

使用第三波咖啡,您不仅拥有理想的种植和精选咖啡豆; 但你也可以期待:

  • 更直接的供应链
  • 致力于供应链中工人的福利
  • 精选、烘焙、研磨的熟练工艺
  • 一杯完美咖啡的最终结果

最后的思考

如果您想确保获得最优质的咖啡,请查看 SCA 的认证。 该认证将告诉您您的咖啡味道很好。 但您也可以确信,咖啡农及其家人可以获得生活工资。 特色咖啡也是环保的。 所以,虽然它们可能会贵一点,但至少它们不会花费地球。

咖啡豆环境

常见问题

美国市场上 XNUMX% 的咖啡是特种咖啡。 (3) 美国人在日常咖啡因修复方面的标准似乎很高。 根据美国精品咖啡协会的数据,美国 48% 的咖啡饮用者认为他们喝的是精品咖啡。

极品咖啡和精品咖啡的区别在于,极品咖啡没有经过任何质量保证机构的认证或测试。 更准确地说,极品咖啡是用来描述味道好的咖啡的术语。 或者它可以用来推销质量不是最好的咖啡。

评分最高的咖啡是通过美国特色咖啡协会等组织设定的标准的咖啡。 只有可持续生产的咖啡才能获得最高评价。 咖啡农场的工人必须领取最低工资,工作条件必须是人道的。 咖啡生产过程的每一步都注重质量而不是数量。 顶级咖啡的范围从精心挑选的咖啡豆到您的咖啡师在您的完美浓缩咖啡中拨出的风味。

參考資料
  1. 世界咖啡研究感官词典。 (2017 年 XNUMX 月)。 取自 https://worldcoffeeresearch.org/work/sensory-lexicon/
  2. 精品咖啡协会。 认证的家庭酿酒师计划。 取自 https://sca.coffee/certified-home-brewer
  3. 美国精品咖啡协会。 美国特色咖啡事实和数据。 取自 http://www.scaa.org/?page=resources&d=facts-and-figures

发表评论

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

通过分享
复制链接
版权所有 社交快照

Coffeeble is reader-supported. When you buy via the links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission at no cost to you. Learn more.

What is Specialty Coffee? It’s Actually Different from Gourmet Coffee

If you weren’t already aware, specialty coffee is quite different from gourmet coffee. Gourmet coffee represents good quality coffee. At least, the marketers tell us that gourmet coffee is of good quality. However, there’s no quality assurance process or standardization. Specialty coffee concerns the overall quality of the whole process. Not only does the quality of specialty coffee triumph over any mass-produced coffee, but it also comes from sustainable methods.

The Science Behind Specialty Coffee

So, what is specialty coffee? Erna Knutsen coined the term ‘specialty coffee’ back in 1974. But what does this term mean? The term means different things to different people. Some focus on the way coffee beans are grown or selected. Others focus more on how the green coffee beans are roasted while some focus on the brewing process.

The production of specialty coffee starts at the coffee farm, where coffee beans are specially selected. Vital to the specialty coffee supply chain are the professionals who are highly skilled in the act of roasting, grinding, and brewing these beans. Experts grade specialty coffee according to strict standards. We call this process “cupping”. Accredited coffee buyers then carefully select the beans. The selection adheres to particular standards laid out by the Specialty Coffee Association. Therefore, coffee beans that score higher than 80 out of 100 receive specialty coffee status.

via Gfycat

Growing Beans 

Specialty coffee comes from green coffee beans that are grown by coffee growers who have dedicated their lives to refining the growing process. Many coffee-growing businesses are run by families or communities who know the soil and growing conditions intimately. Moreover, specialty coffee growers pick only the best quality green coffee beans to be roasted. It can take years of patiently cultivating land before the first yield. Any green coffee beans with defects or any that are not ripe enough will not make it into the yield. The process is exacting.

If the growing process harms the environment or workers, then the finished product isn’t specialty coffee.

Sustainability is at the heart of specialty coffee. Therefore, specialty coffee beans command a higher price. As such, they also attract more discerning consumers. These consumers will pay a little more for the privilege of great coffee. The coffee industry recognizes the time and energy that goes into producing specialty coffee beans. Essentially, the price reflects the fair wage paid to support the growing communities.

Roasting 

Achieving the correct taste profile of coffee requires the knowledge and skill of trained coffee roasting professionals. Acquiring this knowledge requires hours of study and training. Specialty coffee knowledge is an involved, scientific process. To get the taste profile right, the roasting person must balance various factors, such as thermodynamics and heat transfer. To ensure high standards in the coffee industry, the Specialty Coffee Association provides certification for those who study to become coffee roasters.

the quality of roasting matters to what specialty coffee is

Grinding

Grinding is crucial with specialty coffee. Thus, the finer the grind, the quicker the extraction rate. If done badly, grinding can produce a sour taste with an element of bitterness. Coarsely ground coffee tends to take longer to extract, creating a mellower flavor.

Brewing

The barista is highly skilled in completing the process of specialty coffee. Baristas have special training that teaches them to dial-in the elements for producing the optimum brew. This is why a barista training includes learning the water temperature that a particular brew needs, or recognizing which grind size to use.

Specialty Coffee in the Industry

Sure, specialty coffee tastes fantastic. But, more importantly, it also ensures that the coffee production process does not harm the environment or exploit the workers. According to the SCA, coffee cannot be certified as a specialty coffee unless it has passed its stringent sustainability tests. Pretty cool, right?

Coffee Flavor Wheel

World Coffee Research Lexicon hides the science behind specialty coffee. The experts simplified the Lexicon into a visual form so that coffee professionals can describe a particular kind of coffee (1). Part of this is the coffee taster’s flavor wheel. The flavor wheel helps people learn what type of coffee they are buying. Nevertheless, the flavor wheel also helps experts in the industry develop new types of coffee.

The lexicon isn’t just the culmination of scientific work, it is an enabler of future research.

For coffee buyers and baristas, language can convey the flavor and mouthfeel of a particular type of coffee. The coffee taster’s flavor wheel has been the go-to for coffee professionals for around 20 years. It started as a colossal collaboration, and now it’s an authoritative resource for describing coffee tastes.

SCAA-Certified Coffee Brewers

The Specialty Coffee Association of America (SCAA) assesses the best electric drip coffee brewers according to their strict scientific criteria. Brewing machines that pass the rigorous test represent the gold standard in coffee brewing (2). These machines are the SCAA-certified coffee brewers. SCAA-certified coffee brewers have to pass extensive tests that were developed by scientists over the years. SCAA checks machines on brewing time and correct water temperature. Their certification is thus like a quality assurance mark. You can be confident that an SCAA-certified coffee brewer will make the correct type of coffee with the right settings.

Specialty Coffee VS Third-Wave Coffee

Specialty coffee is pretty much the highest standard of coffee in the world. Still, the experts push the quality standards of coffee even further. Right now, the cream of the crop – the very highest quality coffee – is now considered third-wave.

It’s a little tricky to understand, but third-wave is specialty coffee that emphasizes customer service. Third-wave is considered more artisanal, like specialist chocolate or wine. However, sustainability, fairness, and quality of experience are integral to third-wave standard coffee. Indeed, one can easily confuse the specialty coffee for third-wave coffee. But, the best way to distinguish between the two kinds is the customer experience.

Third-wave coffee uses specialty coffee in delivering a top-notch coffee experience.

With third-wave coffee, not only do you have ideally grown and selected beans; but you can also expect:

  • More direct supply chains
  • Commitment to the welfare of workers in the supply chain
  • Skilled processes of selection, roasting, and grinding
  • The end result of a perfect cup of coffee brewed with flair

Final Thoughts

If you want to be sure that you’re getting the most excellent coffee, check for the certification by the SCA. The certification will tell you that your coffee tastes great. But you can also be confident that the coffee farmers and their families receive a living wage. Specialty coffees are also environmentally friendly. So, while they may be a little more expensive, at least they won’t cost the earth.

coffee bean environment

FAQ

Fifty-five percent of coffee is Specialty on the U.S. market. (3) It would appear that Americans have high standards when it comes to their daily caffeine fix. According to the Specialty Coffee American Association, 48% of coffee drinkers in the U.S perceive that they drink specialty coffee.

The difference between gourmet coffee and specialty coffee is that gourmet is not certified or tested by any quality assurance organization. More accurately, gourmet coffee is a term used to describe coffee that tastes good. Or it could be used to market coffee that is not the best quality.

The top-rated coffees are coffees that pass the criteria set by organizations such as the Specialty Coffee American Association. Only sustainably-produced coffees can be top-rated. Workers at coffee farms must receive a minimum wage, and working conditions must be humane. Every step of the coffee production process focuses on quality rather than quantity. Top-rated coffee ranges from the carefully selected coffee bean to the flair with which your barista dials in your perfect cup of espresso.

References
  1. World Coffee Research Sensory Lexicon. (2017, October). Retrieved from https://worldcoffeeresearch.org/work/sensory-lexicon/
  2. Specialty Coffee Association. Certified Home Brewer Program. Retrieved from https://sca.coffee/certified-home-brewer
  3. Specialty Coffee Association of America. U.S. Specialty Coffee Facts & Figures. Retrieved from http://www.scaa.org/?page=resources&d=facts-and-figures
what is specialty coffee

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap