Coffeeble 受读者支持。 当您通过我们网站上的链接购买时,我们可能会免费为您赚取会员佣金。 了解更多

摩卡壶 vs 法国媒体:百兽之战

在家庭酿造方法方面,法压壶和摩卡壶堪称经典。 尝试、测试、非常实惠,每个厨房橱柜中肯定至少有一个。

那么两者如何比较呢? 我们将看看摩卡壶与法压壶的对比,看看哪个在易用性和冲泡质量等因素方面名列前茅。

PI_FrenchPressVSMokaPot

法国出版社

French press 是最经典的家用咖啡机之一,基于非常简单的浸入式冲泡技术。 在他们最基本的情况下, 法国印刷机 由一个带有金属柱塞的玻璃水瓶组成。 将咖啡渣浸泡在热水中,直到达到理想的萃取效果,然后压下柱塞以在倾倒前过滤掉咖啡渣。 不使用纸质过滤器,由此产生的啤酒富含天然油脂和风味。

优点

  • 制作浓郁浓郁的咖啡

  • 易于为人群酿造
  • 手把手的酿造过程

缺点

  • 过度提取的风险

  • 凌乱的清理

摩卡壶

就像法国媒体一样,摩卡壶在家庭使用方面有着悠久的历史。 它于 1933 年在意大利开发,很快就获得了炉灶浓缩咖啡机的绰号。 虽然它不能制作出真正的浓缩咖啡,但它使用与浓缩咖啡机相同的提取方法。 

当锅放在炉子上时,底部腔室中的水被加热。 产生的压力迫使它通过咖啡渣进入锅顶。 虽然它只达到 1.5 巴的压力,但它可以制作出浓烈的浓缩咖啡,甚至偶尔会产生克丽玛。

优点

  • 创造出浓烈的浓缩咖啡般的冲泡

  • 研磨尺寸更宽容
  • 非常适合露营

缺点

  • 烧咖啡的风险

  • 更多参与清洁

Moka Pot vs French Press:功能比较

咖啡的质量将是购买咖啡机时要考虑的最大因素之一,但不是唯一的因素。 你还需要考虑你打算如何使用它,以及涉及到什么样的努力。 以下是法国媒体与摩卡壶的对比。

摩卡壶VS法国媒体

使用方便

使用法压咖啡机 就这么简单。 无论如何,在纸上。 您将粗磨咖啡和热水添加到腔室中,然后静置冲泡。 这个过程将为您提供一杯相当不错的咖啡,但您可能需要对变量进行试验以完全符合您的口味。 

建议您坚持粗磨,但您可以尝试诸如水与咖啡的比例、咖啡渣的发酵和提取时间等因素。 如果您对这些东西不熟悉,这听起来可能很复杂,但是一旦您找到了自己喜欢的东西,就很容易一次又一次地复制您的食谱。

说到摩卡壶,这并不难,但你对冲泡的控制较少。 您在这里制作的咖啡量将取决于您的摩卡壶的大小,因此您不能过多地玩弄比例。 一旦锅开始加热,这个过程几乎是你无法控制的。 

您可以使用热水来启动该过程,但提取时间将取决于您的炉子加热的速度。 锅一煮好就需要从火上移开,否则你会得到焦味的咖啡。

一件好事 使用摩卡壶 是它可以很宽容地研磨大小,所以如果你发现自己手头只有预先研磨的咖啡,你仍然可以使用这种方法。

获胜者:法国媒体。 确定完美的冲泡可能需要一些时间,但这是一个直观的过程,只需很少的步骤。

冲泡时间

我们将假设您的咖啡是现磨的,并准备好使用这两种方法。 对于法国媒体来说,你需要时间烧开水,然后是浸泡时间。 我们建议从 4 分钟开始,但它是您在尝试冲泡时可以调整的变量之一。

用摩卡壶从豆子到杯子的时间可能会有所不同,具体取决于炉子加热所需的时间。 有些人喜欢将水预热以减少锅在炉子上的时间,从而防止产生任何金属味(1)。 但在这种情况下,您需要考虑额外的时间来煮沸水壶。 无论哪种方式,您花费的总时间将运行到大约 5 分钟。

获胜者:法国媒体。 这两种方法从开始到结束的时间非常相似,但是您可以在使用法国媒体冲泡时走开或多任务处理。

可移植性

使用手动冲泡器的一大好处是您不再局限于厨房的电源插座。 但这是否一定会使这些咖啡机便携?

法式压榨机可能相当小巧轻便,但如果有一个玻璃烧杯,它就太脆弱了,不能扔进你的背包里。 您还需要一个单独的热水源。 如果您想在旅途中使用其中一个,则需要专门为此目的设计的模型。

如果您正在寻找手动酿酒商露营,请查看我们的指南 法国媒体与爱乐压.

摩卡壶往往更紧凑——因为这里的“杯子”只有 2 盎司。 金属机身确实增加了重量,但它也增加了坚固性,使其更易于运输。 但 Moka 的最大好处是您不需要单独的水壶。 锅可以直接放在篝火或野营炉上,只要你不介意它变黑。

优胜者:摩卡壶。 坚固的结构和篝火兼容性使其成为户外旅行的理想伴侣。

清理

如果享用早晨的咖啡是一天中最美好的时刻之一,那么之后的清理工作肯定不是。 因此,在选择咖啡机时,您会希望让您的生活尽可能轻松。

清洁法国媒体最糟糕的部分是处理场地。 与其他酿造方法不同,您不会留下干净、干燥的冰球。 如果您不想在垃圾桶中添加大量液体,则需要先将潮湿的地面倒入过滤器中,然后再将它们扔掉。 不要将您的法式压榨机倒入水槽中。 但是一旦这一切都结束了,你只需要在柱塞和玻璃瓶中加入温肥皂水。 很多品牌的法压壶也可以直接进洗碗机(2).

无论您的摩卡壶是不锈钢的还是铝制的,都应避免将其放入洗碗机或使用研磨海绵。

…随着时间的推移,咖啡的油会调味摩卡壶,使咖啡的味道更好,所以你不想用力擦洗它,以至于你去除了薄薄的油层。

丹尼尔·奈特,比亚莱蒂

每次冲泡后,您需要清空咖啡渣,拆开锅,并用温水冲洗每个部分。 您还需要每年为锅除垢几次——如果您住在硬水区,则更频繁(3).  

获胜者:法国媒体。 处理潮湿的地面可能有点乱,但清洁啤酒机本身是轻而易举的事。

最终产品

法压壶采用浸泡法冲泡,这意味着咖啡是通过长时间与热水接触来提取的。 咖啡豆中的所有风味和天然油脂都被释放到咖啡中,创造出浓郁浓郁的咖啡。 有些人可能会觉得口感有点过于饱满,但这正是法国媒体粉丝们喜欢的地方。 请务必避免从锅中滴出最后一滴水,否则您会留下大量沉淀物。

如果您正在寻找没有昂贵机器的意式浓缩咖啡,那么摩卡壶无疑是您的最佳选择。 来自炉灶浓缩咖啡机的浓烈浓缩咖啡是拿铁等牛奶饮料的理想基础,或者为美式咖啡加满热水。 炉灶上的意式浓缩咖啡确实因有焦味而声名狼藉,但这通常只是将锅放在炉子上太久的问题(4).

获胜者:领带。 两种方法都可以创造出自己独特的咖啡风格,只是哪种方法能吸引您的味蕾。

判决:法国媒体 vs 炉灶浓缩咖啡 

如您所见,这两种冲泡方法之间存在许多差异,使其适用于不同的情况。 但归根结底,影响你决定的可能是口味,所以这只是你喜欢喝哪种咖啡的问题。

在以下情况下使用法国媒体:

  • 您想品尝更多豆类的天然油脂
  • 你正在为人群酿造
  • 您希望清洁的零件更少

在以下情况下使用摩卡壶:

  • 你想喝杯咖啡
  • 你要去露营
  • 您使用的是预磨咖啡粉

常见问题

最适合您的摩卡壶将取决于您拥有的炉子类型和您的预算。 我们喜欢 Bialetti Express 的经典意大利风情,但您可以看到更多 最好的炉灶浓缩咖啡机 点击此处。

是的,您可以使用法式压榨机制作冷萃咖啡。 只需将冷水和粗磨咖啡添加到您的法压壶中即可。 在过滤和上菜前,在室温下静置 12 小时。

还有比更18 冲泡咖啡的不同方法,但我们可以将它们分为四大类:浸泡、压力、过滤和沸腾。

參考資料
  1. 如何制作炉灶咖啡。 契约咖啡。 (nd)。 取自 https://www.pactcoffee.com/brew-guides/stovetop。
  2. BODUM® – 常见问题解答。 博登。 (nd)。 取自 https://www.bodum.com/us/en/faq。
  3. 奥登,G. (nd)。 摩卡壶安全和清洁快速指南。 JavaPresse 咖啡公司。 取自 https://www.javapresse.com/blogs/stovetop-brewing/moka-pot-safety-and-cleaning。

发表评论

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

通过分享
复制链接
版权所有 社交快照

Coffeeble is reader-supported. When you buy via the links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission at no cost to you. Learn more.

Moka Pot vs French Press: The Battle of the Beasts

When it comes to home brewing methods, the French press and Moka pot stand out as classics. Tried, tested, very affordable, there’s sure to be at least one of these in every kitchen cupboard.

So how do the two compare? We’ll take a look at the Moka pot vs French press and see which comes out on top for factors like ease of use and the quality of the brew.

PI_FrenchPressVSMokaPot

French Press

The French press is one of the most classic home coffee makers, based on a very simple immersion brewing technique. At their most basic, French presses consist of a glass carafe with a metal plunger. The grounds are steeped in hot water until the ideal extraction has been achieved, then the plunger is depressed to filter out the grounds before pouring. With no paper filter used, the resulting brew is rich with natural oils and flavors.

Pros

  • Creates a rich, full-bodied coffee

  • Easy to brew for a crowd
  • Hands-off brewing process

Cons

  • Risk of over-extraction

  • Messy cleanup

Moka Pot

Just like the French press, the Moka pot has a long history of home use. Developed in Italy in 1933,  it quickly gained the nickname of the stovetop espresso maker. Though it doesn’t create a true espresso, it uses the same extraction method as an espresso machine. 

When the pot is placed on the stove, water is heated in the bottom chamber. The pressure created forces it up through the coffee grounds and into the top of the pot. Though it only reaches 1.5 bars of pressure, it makes a strong, concentrated coffee, and even the occasional crema.

Pros

  • Creates a strong espresso-like brew

  • More forgiving with grind sizes
  • Great for camping

Cons

  • Risk of burning the coffee

  • More involved cleaning

Moka Pot vs French Press: The Features Compared

The quality of the coffee is going to be one of the biggest factors to consider when buying a coffee maker, but not the only one. You need also need to think about how you plan to use it, and what kind of effort is involved. Here’s how the French press vs Moka pot stack up.

moka pot vs french press

Ease of use

Using a French press coffee maker is about as simple as it gets. Well on paper anyway. You add coarsely ground coffee and hot water to the chamber, and let it sit to brew. This process will get you a pretty decent cup of coffee, but you might need to experiment with the variables to perfectly match your taste. 

It’s recommended you stick with a coarse grind, but you can experiment with things like the water to coffee ratio, blooming the coffee grounds, and the extraction time. It might sound complicated if you’re new to these things, but once you find what you like, it’s easy to replicate your recipe time and time again.

It’s not difficult when it comes to the Moka pot, but you have less control over the brew. The amount of coffee you make here will be determined by the size of your Moka pot, so you can’t play around too much with ratios. Once the pot is on the heat, the process is pretty much out of your hands. 

You can use hot water to kickstart the process, but the extraction time will depend on how quickly your stove heats up. The pot needs to be removed from the heat as soon as it’s done, or you’ll end up with burnt-tasting coffee.

The one good thing about the Moka pot is that it can be quite forgiving of grind size, so if you find yourself with only pre-ground coffee to hand, you can still use this method.

Winner: French press. It can take a little time to nail the perfect brew, but it’s an intuitive process with very few steps.

Brew time

We’re going to assume you have your coffee freshly ground and ready to go for both of these methods. For the French press, you’ll need time to boil your water, then the time for steeping. We suggest starting with 4 minutes, but it’s one of the variables you can adjust when experimenting with your brew.

The time from bean to cup with a Moka pot can vary a little, depending on the time it takes your stove to heat up. Some people like to preheat the water to reduce the pot’s time on the stove, which prevents any metallic flavors from developing (1). But in this case, you’ll need to factor in extra time for boiling the kettle. Either way, your total time spent will run to about 5 minutes.

Winner: French press. The two methods have a pretty similar time from start to finish, but you can walk away or multitask while you’re brewing with a French press.

Portability

One of the great things about using a manual brewer is that you’re no longer confined to the power outlets in your kitchen. But does that necessarily make these coffee makers portable?

The French press might be reasonably small and lightweight, but having a glass beaker makes it too fragile for throwing in your backpack. You’re also going to need a separate source of hot water. If you want to take one of these on the road, you’ll need a model that’s been specifically designed for that purpose.

If you’re looking at a manual brewer to take camping, check out our guide to the French press vs AeroPress.

A Moka pot tends to be a little more compact–as a “cup” here is just 2 ounces. The metal body does add weight, but it also adds sturdiness that makes it easier to transport. But the biggest benefit with a Moka is that you don’t need a separate kettle. The pot can be placed directly over a campfire or camping stove, so long as you don’t mind it getting a little blackened.

Winner: Moka pot. The sturdy construction and campfire compatibility make this an ideal companion for traveling in the great outdoors.

Clean up

If enjoying your morning coffee is one of the best moments of the day, the clean-up afterward is certainly not. So when choosing a coffee maker, you’re going to want to make your life as easy as possible.

The worst part of cleaning a French press is dealing with the grounds. Unlike with other brewing methods, you’re not left with a neat, dry puck. If you don’t want to add a lot of liquid to your trash bin, you’ll need to pour the wet grounds through a strainer before you toss them. Do not pour your French press grounds down the sink. But once that’s out of the way, you just need to was the plunger and carafe with warm, soapy water. Many brands of French press can also go directly into the dishwasher (2).

Whether your Moka pot is stainless steel or aluminum, you should avoid putting it in the dishwasher or using abrasive sponges.

…over time the coffee’s oils will season the Moka pot, which makes the coffee taste better, so you don’t want to scrub it so hard that you remove that thin oily layer.

Daniel Knight, Bialetti

After every brew, you’ll need to empty the grounds, disassemble the pot, and rinse each part with warm water. You’ll also need to descale the pot a couple of times a year–more often if you live in a hard water area (3).  

Winner: French press. It can be a little messy to deal with the wet grounds, but cleaning the brewer itself is a breeze.

The end product

The French press brews by immersion, which means that the coffee is extracted by prolonged contact with hot water. All of the flavors and natural oils from the beans are released into the coffee, creating a rich, full-bodied brew. Some people may find the mouthfeel a little too full, but it’s what French press fans love about it. Just be sure to avoid the last drops from the pot or you’ll wind up with a whole lot of sediment.

If you’re looking for an espresso-style coffee without the expensive machine, the Moka pot is hands-down your best option. The punchy, concentrated brew from a stovetop espresso maker is a great base for milk drinks like lattes or topped up with hot water for an Americano. Stovetop espresso coffee does get a bad reputation for having a burnt taste, but this is usually just a problem with leaving the pot on the stove too long (4).

Winner: Tie. Both methods create their own, unique style of coffee, it’s just a matter of which one appeals to your taste buds.

The Verdict: French Press vs Stovetop Espresso 

As you can see, there are many differences between these two brewing methods that make them suitable for different situations. But at the end of the day, it’s probably going to be the taste that sways your decision, so it’s just a matter of what kind of coffee you like to drink.

Use a French press if:

  • You want to taste more of the beans’ natural oils
  • You’re brewing for a crowd
  • You want fewer parts to clean

Use a Moka pot if:

  • You want coffee with punch
  • You’re going camping
  • You’re using pre-ground coffee

FAQs

The best Moka pot for you will depend on the type of stove you have and your budget. We like the Bialetti Express for its classic Italian vibes, but you can see more of the best stovetop espresso makers here.

Yes, you can make cold brew with a French press. Simply add cold water and coarse ground coffee to your French press. Leave to sit at room temperature for 12 hours before filtering and serving.

There are more than 18 different methods of brewing coffee, but we can group them into four main categories: immersion, pressure, filtration, and boiling.

References
  1. How to make stovetop coffee. Pact Coffee. (n.d.). Retrieved from https://www.pactcoffee.com/brew-guides/stovetop.
  2. BODUM® – FAQ. Bodum. (n.d.). Retrieved from https://www.bodum.com/us/en/faq.
  3. Oden, G. (n.d.). The quick guide To Moka Pot safety and cleaning. JavaPresse Coffee Company. Retrieved from https://www.javapresse.com/blogs/stovetop-brewing/moka-pot-safety-and-cleaning.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap