Coffeeble 受读者支持。 当您通过我们网站上的链接购买时,我们可能会免费为您赚取会员佣金。 了解更多

如何以 烤你自己的咖啡豆 在家

在家烘焙咖啡豆既简单又有趣。 它还可以节省金钱,并为您提供更美味的早晨冲泡。 你甚至不需要专门的设备。 所以没有理由不试一试。

请继续阅读,了解在家中制作新鲜烘焙咖啡豆的四种简单方法。 您可能已经拥有其中一些所需的一切。 不过,我们建议您购买合适的家用烘焙机,以获得最稳定的质量结果。

烘焙咖啡豆

家庭咖啡烘焙简介

最基本的烘焙咖啡是将生咖啡豆加热到变成棕色。 但是,其中涉及许多微妙之处。 为了 最好的咖啡豆,适当的烘焙必须平衡生咖啡豆的果味和烘焙的焦糖味。 此外,随着烘焙过程的进行,烘焙过程可以产生多达 1,000 种新的香气化合物,从而使烘焙曲线对咖啡的味道产生重大影响(1)

咖啡烘焙的阶段

烘烤的第一阶段是干燥阶段,此时绿豆失去水分。 然后,初始阶段继续到 320 ℉,此时褐变阶段开始。 褐变阶段的结果是烘烤香气。 在 385 ℉,豆子会开始爆裂,这被称为第一次爆裂。 此时停止烘烤以进行轻度烘烤。 豆子表面仍然是干燥的浅棕色,并且绿豆的大部分特征仍然存在(2).

裂纹对风味至关重要。 这也是咖啡可以开始正确提取的最早时刻。

Tom Nieminen,保利格咖啡师学院

对于中度和中度深度烘烤,继续烘烤至 410 至 460 ℉。 豆子会更黑,但表面仍然很干。 然后,大约 440 ℉,咖啡豆将经历第二次破裂。 在这里,油脂开始从豆子的内部迁移到豆子的外部。

这个阶段标志着深色烘烤。 它们将有光泽、油腻的表面、非常深的颜色,其风味的特征更多是烘焙而不是豆子。

为什么要在家烤

虽然听起来很复杂,但家庭烘焙有很多好处(3).

就像拉出完美的浓缩咖啡一样,咖啡烘焙也有自己的一组变量来调整以寻找理想的结果。

一方面,新鲜烘焙的咖啡味道更好,自己烘焙可以让您根据自己的口味进行调整。 其次,它会帮你省钱。 绿豆的价格大约是烤豆的一半(4),如果储存得当,它们的保质期为 3 到 6 个月,让您可以通过批量购买进一步降低成本 (5)。 最后,咖啡烘焙是一门手艺,掌握它很有趣。

相关新闻: 咖啡豆能保鲜多久?

在家烤咖啡的四种方法

无论您选择如何烘焙自己的咖啡,都必须满足三件事才能获得可接受的结果。 首先,你需要把豆子弄得很热。 其次,为了获得均匀的烤肉,您需要让它们始终移动。 第三,您需要能够快速冷却它们以避免过度烘烤。

在选择家庭咖啡烘焙技术时,还应考虑通风和清洁。

烘焙咖啡豆可能会冒烟,在这方面有些方法比其他方法更糟。 澄清一下,当它们烘烤时,青豆会释放出一种叫做谷壳的片状物质,如果不包含这种物质,它会弄乱你的烤箱或厨房。

在家烘焙咖啡有四种常用的方法。 您可以使用烤箱或煎锅,但这两者往往都是凌乱和冒烟的事情。 同样,炉子也无法搅动豆子。 一个升级的策略是使用爆米花机,同时注意并非所有爆米花机都可以容纳咖啡豆。

最好的选择,虽然也是最昂贵的,是投资一台家用咖啡烘焙机(6)。 如果你想确保你的钱是明智的,我们有一份很棒的清单 机器可供选择.

专门制造的咖啡烘焙机起价约为 250 美元,并迅速攀升至数千美元。 好消息是您可以使用您可能已经拥有的设备开始烘焙。

AC 希尔顿,外部杂志

无论您选择哪种方法,您还应该确保拥有 最好的咖啡储存容器 随时保持新鲜烤豆的新鲜。

烤咖啡豆

如何在家烤咖啡豆

在家烘焙咖啡比您想象的要简单。 如果您已经购买了青豆,那么您可能拥有所需的一切。 这里是 四种久经考验的方法。

在烤箱里

烤箱可能是最方便的方法,因为几乎每个人都已经有了烤箱。 尽管如此,它也是最不稳定的,因为不可能让豆子始终移动以进行均匀的烘烤。

满足您的所需

  • 你的烤箱
  • 绿色咖啡豆
  • 一个穿孔的烤盘或带有烘焙纸的普通烤盘
  • 金属滤锅
  • 烤箱手套

第一步:加热

将烤箱预热至 500 ℉。 不同的豆子和不同的烤箱需要不同的烘烤温度,但这是一个很好的起点。 随着烘烤的进行,您可以随时进行调整。

专业提示:如果您的烤箱有对流选项,请不要尝试使用它。 风扇会到处吹糠。

第 2 步:建立通风。

为一些危险的烟雾做好准备。 尽可能多地打开门窗,并打开该区域的每个排气扇。

专业提示:烘焙咖啡产生的烟雾中含有双乙酰,这是一种经常吸入可能导致肺部疾病的化合物(7). 如果您的目标是深色烘焙,最好在户外工作或使用烟熏较少的烘焙方法之一。

第三步:准备烤盘。

将豆子单层铺在多孔托盘上。 不要试图把它们塞进去。如有必要,再拿一个托盘。 穿孔托盘是最好的,因为它们可以让咖啡豆周围有更多的气流。 

如果你没有穿孔托盘,你可以使用标准烤盘,在豆子下面放一张羊皮纸。

专业提示:确保您的穿孔托盘不允许任何豆子从孔中滑出。 豆子在烘烤过程中会膨胀,它们会卡住。

第四步:开始烤。

将烤盘放入烤箱中央,温度最稳定的地方,让豆子开始加热。 听第一次爆裂,这应该在 4 到 8 分钟后发生。 如果你现在把咖啡豆拿出来,你会得到轻微的烘焙。

第五步:继续烤。

继续听第二次爆裂声,这表明中度烘烤。 如果你再等 60 秒取出豆子,你会得到一个可爱的中等深色。

专业提示:在这个阶段要非常小心,不要过早把豆子拿出来。 它们可以非常迅速地从中度燃烧到燃烧。

第6步:冷却豆子。

使用烤箱手套,从烤箱中取出托盘,然后将豆子倒入滤锅中。 如果您有很多咖啡豆,请使用两个过滤器以最大化气流。 摇晃滤锅以冷却豆子。 如果可以的话,最好在外面做这一步。 摇晃将有助于快速冷却,让您无需清理杂乱无章的谷壳。

专业提示:咖啡豆将继续从余热中烘烤。 尽快执行此步骤以避免过度烘烤。

第7步:让他们休息。

让您的烤豆静置至少 12 小时。 此时,它们仍在释放二氧化碳,如果您在此期间冲泡,萃取会受到负面影响(8).

在一个平底锅里

使用平底锅几乎和烤箱一样方便,前提是您已经有一个厚重的无涂层平底锅可供使用。 此外,它还允许您在烘烤过程中搅拌豆子。 但这种方法最难建立正确的温度。 另外,它会变得非常冒烟。

满足您的所需

  • 绿色咖啡豆
  • 一个沉重的煎锅,如铸铁或钢
  • 热板、气体元件或炉灶燃烧器
  • 滤器
  • 烤箱手套
  • 木勺子

第 1 步:建立通风。

与烤箱方法一样,在平底锅中烘焙咖啡豆是另一种烟熏选择。 在室外使用燃气燃烧器是最好的方法。 不过,如果您必须在室内,请打开门窗并将排气扇调到最大。

第2步:打开暖气

把你的燃烧器调到中高。 使用加热器比烤箱更难控制咖啡烘焙温度,因此请准备好在烘焙过程中调整温度。 此外,预计您的前几批可能并不完美。

第3步:开始烤

把你的青豆加到锅里,开始用木勺搅拌它们。 随着烘烤的继续,继续搅拌。 咖啡豆移动得越多,甚至烘焙也会移动。

专业提示:不要把豆子挤在锅里,否则它们将无法均匀加热。 瞄准单个密集层。

第四步:用耳朵烤

在一整盘不断移动的豆子中,你不想依靠你的眼睛来衡量烘焙的进展。 听第一次爆裂,这应该在 4 到 8 分钟后发生。 如果你现在停下来,你会吃到清淡的烤肉。 对于中度至深度烘焙,继续聆听第二次爆裂声。 立即将豆子从火上移开进行中度烘烤,或者再等一两分钟进行中度或深色。

专业提示:小心不要等待太久。 在这个阶段可以过度烘烤豆子。 特别是因为它们在远离热源后会继续烘烤。

第5步:冷却豆子

使用烤箱手套,将豆子从锅中倒入滤锅中。 摇晃滤锅,让豆子尽快冷却,这样它们就不会烤过头了。 如果可以的话,最好在外面做这一步。 与其他方法一样,摇晃有助于快速冷却,让您无需清理杂乱的谷壳。

第6步:让他们休息

让您的烤豆静置至少 12 小时,以完成释放二氧化碳。

用爆米花机

大多数家庭烘焙师会首先尝试爆米花爆米花。 它们以更低的价格提供许多与咖啡烘焙机相同的功能。 请注意,爆米花机不能容纳较重的咖啡豆,您可能会在此过程中损坏它们。

满足您的所需

  • 绿色咖啡豆
  • 爆米花机,侧面散热
  • 木勺子
  • 滤器
  • 烤箱手套

第 1 步:建立通风。

爆米花机的烟雾会比烤箱或平底锅少,但您仍应打开门窗并将排气扇调至最大。

第二步:预热爆米花机。

根据型号的不同,准备好爆米花机大约需要一分钟。

专业提示:您必须使用侧面通风的爆米花机以确保旋转并避免烧焦豆子。

第3步:开始烤。

将豆子加入机器,使用制造商推荐的爆米花数量。 他们应该开始激动。 你可以通过用木勺搅拌它们来帮助这个阶段,让它们移动。 一旦豆子持续移动,将盖子放在机器上并监控烘烤情况。

专业提示:如果你不能让豆子移动,你可能添加了太多。

第四步:烤豆子。

听第一次爆裂,这应该在 4 到 8 分钟后发生。 现在关闭机器进行轻微烘烤。 对于中度至深度烘焙,继续聆听第二次爆裂声。 立即停止烘烤以进行中度烘烤,或者再等待一两分钟以进行中度或深色。

第5步:冷却豆子。

使用烤箱手套,将豆子倒入滤锅中。 摇晃滤锅,让豆子尽快冷却,这样它们就不会烤过头了。 如果可以的话,最好在外面做这一步。 摇晃将有助于快速冷却,让您无需清理杂乱无章的谷壳。

第6步:让他们休息。

让您的烤豆静置至少 12 小时,以完成释放二氧化碳。

用咖啡烘焙机

不可否认,家用咖啡烘焙机是在家烘焙咖啡豆的最佳方式。 虽然它们更贵,但它们的使用寿命会比改造后的爆米花机长得多。 最重要的是,烘焙的质量远远优于其他方法。 所以,如果你打算定期烤豆子,这是一项值得的投资。

满足您的所需

  • 绿色咖啡豆
  • 一台咖啡烘焙机
  • 烤箱手套(可选)
  • 滤锅(可选)

第 1 步:建立通风。

专用的家用咖啡烘焙机通常配备烟雾抑制系统。 尽管如此,你还是应该努力最大限度地通风或在外面烤。

第二步:准备好机器。

所有咖啡烘焙机都不同,因此您应该按照制造商的说明进行此步骤。 对于电动烘焙机,打开电源并添加咖啡豆。 对于使用燃气燃烧器的烘焙机,启动加热器并让它们加热,然后加入豆子。

第四步:烤豆子。

许多家庭咖啡烘焙机声称是完全自动化的,但您仍应仔细监控烘焙。 观察豆子颜色变深,听一听和二听。 

专业提示:一些烘焙机允许您在烘焙过程中调整温度和风扇速度。 其他人则配备了探头,因此您可以在烘烤过程中对豆子进行采样。 使用这些来优化您的烘焙。

第4步:冷却豆子。

一个好的家庭烘焙机通常会提供一个内置的冷却系统。 如果是这种情况,只需打开它。 如果您的烘焙机没有此功能,您可以像使用其他烘焙方法一样使用滤锅。

使用烤箱手套,将豆子倒入滤锅中。 摇晃滤锅,让豆子尽快冷却,这样它们就不会烤过头了。 如果可以的话,最好在外面做这一步。 这将有助于快速冷却,让您无需清理杂乱的谷壳。

第5步:让他们休息。

让您的烤豆静置至少 12 小时,以完成释放二氧化碳。

通过GIPHY

最后的思考

如果您对咖啡充满热情,那么在家烘焙咖啡豆是一件轻而易举的事。 这很有趣,可以为您省钱,最重要的是,它可以生产出更新鲜、味道更好的咖啡。 通过这篇文章,您现在掌握了如何在家烘焙咖啡豆的所有信息。 即使您只有基本的厨房设备。

但是,如果您打算成为一名普通的烘焙师,我们强烈建议您购买一台家用咖啡烘焙机,它将在未来几年内生产出完美烘焙的咖啡豆。

常见问题

烘焙咖啡豆大约需要 10 到 15 分钟。 时间段取决于绿豆的类型、烘烤的深度和烘烤的方法。

不,您不需要在烘烤生咖啡豆之前清洗它们。 但是,如果您愿意,这是另一个可以试验的烘焙变量。

是的,咖啡豆需要烘烤。 烘烤会破坏豆子的外部结构,这就是在酿造时允许正确提取的原因。

參考資料
  1. Latvakangas, S.(2017 年,30 月 2017 日)。 咖啡烘焙基础知识:通过烘焙开发风味。 取自 https://www.baristainstitute.com/blog/sampo-latvakangas/may-XNUMX/coffee-roasting-basics-developing-flavour-roasting
  2. Nieminen, T.(2017 年 6 月 2017 日)。 在家烘焙咖啡:愚蠢的想法或烹饪冒险。 取自 https://www.baristainstitute.com/blog/tomi-nieminen/june-XNUMX/coffee-roasting-home-stupid-idea-or-culinary-adventure
  3. Cho, N.(2018 年 9 月 2013 日)。 你应该在家烤咖啡吗? 取自 https://drinks.seriouseats.com/12/XNUMX/why-you-shouldnt-roast-coffee-at-home-pros-cons-green-coffee-roasting-kit.html
  4. 一世阿尔布雷希特(2018 年 22 月 2018 日)。 购买合适的生咖啡的家庭烘焙指南。 取自 https://perfectdailygrind.com/08/XNUMX/a-home-roasters-guide-to-buying-the-right-green-coffee/
  5. Guerra, G.(2017 年 6 月 2017 日)。 绿豆储存:您需要控制哪些因素? 取自 https://perfectdailygrind.com/11/XNUMX/green-bean-storage-what-factors-do-you-need-to-control/
  6. 希尔顿,交流。 (2020 年 8 月 2408826 日)。 我们尝试自己烘焙咖啡。 向我们学习。 取自 https://www.outsideonline.com/XNUMX/roast-your-own-coffee
  7. 贝利,R。 勒布夫,射频; 卡明斯,KJ(2016 年 25 月 2016 日)。 有患肺病风险的咖啡工人。 取自 https://blogs.cdc.gov/niosh-science-blog/01/25/XNUMX/coffee-workers/
  8. McPhee, H.(2018 年 29 月 XNUMX 日)。 了解脱气:新鲜是最好的吗? 取自 https://fellowproducts.com/blogs/learn/understanding-degassing-is-fresh-best

发表评论

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

通过分享
复制链接
版权所有 社交快照

Coffeeble is reader-supported. When you buy via the links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission at no cost to you. Learn more.

How to Roast Your Own Coffee Beans At Home

Roasting coffee beans at home is easy and fun. It also saves money and leaves you with a better-tasting morning brew. You don’t even need specialized equipment. So there’s no reason not to give it a try.

Read on for four simple ways to produce freshly roasted coffee beans in your own home. You probably already have everything you need for some of them. Though, we recommend investing in a proper home roaster for the most consistent quality results.

Coffee Beans Roasting

A Short Introduction to Home Coffee Roasting

At its most basic, roasting coffee is heating green coffee beans until they turn brown. However, there are a multitude of subtleties involved. For the best coffee beans, a proper roast must balance the fruity flavors of the green coffee bean with the caramelized flavors of the roast. Moreover, the roasting process can produce up to 1,000 new aroma compounds as it progresses, giving the roast profile significant influence over the taste of your cup of coffee (1)

The Stages of Coffee Roasting

The first stage of the roast is the drying stage when the green beans lose their humidity. Then, the initial phase continues to 320 ℉, at which point the browning stage begins. The result of the browning stage is a toasted aroma. At 385 ℉, the beans will start to pop, and this is known as the first crack. Stop the roast at this point for a light roast. The bean surface will still be dry and light brown, and much of the character of the green bean is still present (2).

The crack is crucial for the flavor. It is also the earliest moment when the coffee can start to actually extract properly.

For medium and medium-dark roasts, continue roasting to between 410 and 460 ℉. The beans will be much darker but still quite dry on the surface. Then, around 440 ℉, coffee beans will undergo a second crack. Here, oils begin to migrate from the inside to the outside of the bean.

This stage marks a dark roast. They will have a shiny, oily surface, a very dark color, and the flavor will be characterized more by the roast than the bean.

Why Roast at Home

Though it sounds complicated, there are many benefits to home roasting (3).

Just like pulling the perfect shot of espresso, coffee roasting comes with its own set of variables to tweak in search of that ideal result.

For one, freshly roasted coffee simply has better flavor, and roasting it yourself allows you to tailor it to your taste. Secondly, it will save you money. Green beans are about half the price of roasted beans (4), and when stored correctly, they have a 3 to 6-month shelf life, allowing you to lower costs even further by buying in bulk (5). Finally, coffee roasting is a craft, and mastering it is fun.

Four Ways to Roast Coffee at Home

No matter how you choose to roast your own coffee, three things must occur for an acceptable result. First, you need to get the beans very hot. Second, for an even roast, you need to keep them always moving. Third, you need to be able to cool them quickly to avoid over roasting.

When choosing home coffee roasting techniques, you should also take into account ventilation and clean-up.

Roasting coffee beans can be very smoky, with some ways being worse than others in this regard. To clarify, as they roast, green beans release a flaky material called chaff that can make a mess of your oven or kitchen if not contained.

There are four commonly used methods to roast coffee at home. You can use your oven or a frying pan, but both of these tend to be messy and smoky affairs. In a similar vein, the stove offers no means of agitating the beans. An upgraded strategy is to use a popcorn popper while being aware that not all popcorn machines can accommodate coffee beans.

The best option, though also the most expensive, is to invest in a home coffee roasting machine (6). If you want to be sure you’re spending your money wisely, we’ve got a list of great machines to choose from.

Purpose-built coffee roasters start at about $250 and quickly climb into the thousands. The good news is that you can begin roasting with equipment you may already own.

No matter which method you choose, you should also be sure to have the best coffee storage container on hand to keep your freshly roasted beans fresh.

Roasted Coffee Beans

How To Roast Coffee Beans at Home

Roasting coffee at home is simpler than you might imagine. If you’ve already bought green beans, you probably have everything you need. Here are four tried and tested methods.

In the oven

The oven may be the most convenient method because nearly everyone already has an oven. Still, it is also the least consistent as it is impossible to keep the beans always moving for an even roast.

What you need

  • Your oven
  • Green coffee beans
  • A perforated oven tray or plain baking sheet with baking paper
  • Metal colander
  • Oven mitts

Step 1: Crank up the heat

Preheat your oven to 500 ℉. Different beans and different ovens will require varying roast temperatures, but this is a good starting point. You can always adjust as the roast progresses.

Pro tip: If your oven has a convection option, don’t be tempted to use it. The fan will blow chaff everywhere.

Step 2: Establish ventilation.

Be prepared for some dangerous smoke. Open your doors and windows as much as possible and turn on every exhaust fan in the area.

Pro tip: The smoke from roasting coffee contains diacetyl, a chemical compound that may cause lung disease when regularly inhaled (7). If you’re aiming for a dark roast, it’s best to work outside or use one of the less smoky roasting methods.

Step 3: Prepare the oven trays.

Spread the beans in a single layer over the perforated tray. Don’t be tempted to cram them in. Get a second tray if necessary. Perforated trays are best because they allow more airflow around the beans. 

If you don’t have a perforated tray, you can use a standard baking sheet with a piece of parchment paper under the beans.

Pro tip: Make sure your perforated tray doesn’t allow any beans to slip through the holes. Beans expand during roasting, and they will get stuck.

Step 4: Start the roast.

Put the oven tray into the center of your oven, where the temperature is most consistent, and let the beans begin to heat. Listen for the first crack, which should occur after 4 to 8 minutes. If you pull the coffee beans out now, you will have a light roast.

Step 5: Continue the roast.

Continue listening for the second crack, which indicates a medium roast. If you wait another 60 seconds to remove the beans, you will have a lovely medium-dark.

Pro tip: Be very careful at this stage, and err on the side of pulling your beans out too early. They can progress from medium to burn very quickly.

Step 6: Cool the beans.

Using the oven mitts, remove the tray(s) from the oven, and pour the beans into a colander. Use two filters if you have a lot of coffee beans to maximize airflow. Shake the colander around to cool the beans. If you can, it’s best to do this step outside. Shaking will facilitate fast cooling and leave you without a mess of chaff to clean up.

Pro tip: Coffee beans will continue roasting from their residual heat. Carry out this step as quickly as possible to avoid over roasting.

Step 7: Let them rest.

Let your roasted beans sit out for at least 12 hours. At this point, they are still off-gassing CO2, and extraction will be negatively affected if you brew during this time (8).

In a pan

Using a pan is nearly as convenient as the oven, provided you have a heavy uncoated pan already at your disposal. Also, it allows you to agitate the beans as the roast progresses. But this method is the most difficult to establish the correct temperature. Plus, it can get very smoky.

What you need

  • Green coffee beans
  • A heavy frying pan, like cast iron or steel
  • A hot plate, gas element, or stovetop burner
  • Colander
  • Oven mitts
  • Wooden spoon

Step 1: Establish ventilation.

Like the oven method, roasting coffee beans in a pan is another smoky option. Using a gas burner outside is the best way. Still, if you have to be indoors, open your doors and windows and turn your exhaust fans to max.

Step 2: Turn on the heat

Turn your burner to medium-high. Coffee roasting temperature control is more difficult with a heater than an oven, so be prepared to adjust the heat as your roast progresses. Also, expect that your first few batches may not be perfect.

Step 3: Begin the roast

Add your green beans to the pan, and begin stirring them with the wooden spoon. Keep stirring as the roast continues. The more the coffee beans are moving, the move even the roast will be.

Pro tip: Don’t crowd the pan with beans, or they won’t be able to heat evenly. Aim for a single dense layer.

Step 4: Roast with your ears

In a full pan of continually moving beans, you don’t want to rely on your eyes to gauge the progression of the roast. Listen for the first crack, which should occur after 4 to 8 minutes. If you stop now, you will have a light roast. For a medium to dark roast, continue listening for the second crack. Remove the beans from the heat right away for a medium roast or wait another minute or two for medium-dark or dark.

Pro tip: Be careful not to wait too long. It’s possible to over-roast the beans at this stage. Especially because they will continue to roast after being removed from the heat.

Step 5: Cool the beans

Using the oven mitts, pour the beans from the pan into a colander. Shake the colander around to cool the beans as quickly as possible, so they don’t over-roast. If you can, it’s best to do this step outside. Like with other methods, shaking will facilitate fast cooling and leave you without a mess of chaff to clean up.

Step 6: Let them rest

Let your roasted beans sit out for at least 12 hours to finish off-gassing CO2.

With a popcorn maker

Most home roasters will first experiment with a popcorn popper. They offer a lot of the same functionality as a coffee roaster at a much lower price. Just be aware that popcorn machines cannot accommodate heavy coffee beans, and you can damage them in the process.

What you need

  • Green coffee beans
  • Popcorn machine with side-vented heat
  • Wooden spoon
  • Colander
  • Oven mitts

Step 1: Establish ventilation.

The popcorn machine will be less smoky than the oven or pan, but you should still open your doors and windows and turn your exhaust fans to max.

Step 2: Preheat the popcorn machine.

Depending on the model, it will take about a minute to get your popcorn machine ready to go.

Pro tip: You must use a side vented popcorn machine to ensure rotation and avoid burning your beans.

Step 3: Begin the roast.

Add the beans to the machine, using the same quantity the manufacturer recommends for popcorn. They should begin to agitate. You can assist this stage by stirring them around with the wooden spoon to get them moving. Once the beans are moving consistently, place the lid on the machine and monitor the roast.

Pro tip: If you can’t get the beans moving, you have probably added too many.

Step 4: Roast the beans.

Listen for the first crack, which should occur after 4 to 8 minutes. Turn off the machine now for a light roast. For a medium to dark roast, continue listening for the second crack. Stop the roast right away for a medium roast or wait another minute or two for medium-dark or dark.

Step 5: Cool the beans.

Using the oven mitts, pour the beans into a colander. Shake the colander around to cool the beans as quickly as possible, so they don’t over-roast. If you can, it is best to do this step outside. Shaking will facilitate fast cooling and leave you without a mess of chaff to clean up.

Step 6: Let them rest.

Let your roasted beans sit out for at least 12 hours to finish off-gassing CO2.

With a coffee roasting machine

A home coffee roaster is undeniably the best way to roast coffee beans at home. Though they are more expensive, they will last much longer than a repurposed popcorn machine. Most importantly, the quality of the roast is far superior to the other methods. So, if you plan to roast your beans regularly, it’s a worthwhile investment.

What you need

  • Green coffee beans
  • A coffee roasting machine
  • Oven mitts (optional)
  • Colander (optional)

Step 1: Establish ventilation.

Dedicated home coffee roasters often feature smoke suppression systems. Still, you should make an effort to maximize ventilation or do your roasting outside.

Step 2: Ready the machine.

All coffee roasters are different, so you should follow the manufacturer’s instructions for this step. For electric roasters, power them on and add the beans. For roasters that use a gas burner, start the heater and allow them to heat up, then add the beans.

Step 3: Roast the beans.

Many home coffee roasters claim to be fully automated, but you should still monitor the roast carefully. Watch the darkening color of the beans, and listen for the first and second crack. 

Pro tip: Some roasters allow you to adjust temperature and fan speed as the roast progresses. Others feature a probe so you can sample beans during the roast. Use these to optimize your roast.

Step 4: Cool the beans.

A good home roaster typically offers a built-in cooling system. If this is the case, simply turn it on. If your roaster doesn’t have this feature, you can use a colander the same way as the other roasting methods.

Using oven mitts, pour the beans into a colander. Shake the colander around to cool the beans as quickly as possible, so they don’t over-roast. If you can, it is best to do this step outside. This will facilitate fast cooling and leave you without a mess of chaff to clean up.

Step 5: Let them rest.

Let your roasted beans sit out for at least 12 hours to finish off-gassing CO2.

via GIPHY

Final Thoughts

If you’re enthusiastic about coffee, roasting your coffee beans at home is a no-brainer. It’s fun, it saves you money, and most importantly, it results in fresher, better-tasting coffee. With this article, you now have all the information to know how to roast coffee beans at home. Even if you only have essential kitchen equipment.

If you plan to be a regular roaster, though, we strongly recommend you invest in a home coffee roaster, which will produce perfectly roasted beans for years to come.

FAQs

It takes about 10 to 15 minutes to roast coffee beans. The time period depends on the type of green beans, the darkness of the roast, and the method of roasting.

No, you do not need to wash green coffee beans before you roast them. However, this is yet another roast variable to experiment with if you wish.

Yes, coffee beans need to be roasted. Roasting breaks down the outer structure of the bean, which is what permits proper extraction when brewing.

References
  1. Latvakangas, S. (2017, May 30). Coffee Roasting Basics: Developing Flavour by Roasting. Retrieved from https://www.baristainstitute.com/blog/sampo-latvakangas/may-2017/coffee-roasting-basics-developing-flavour-roasting
  2. Nieminen, T. (2017, January 6). Coffee Roasting at Home: A Stupid Idea or a Culinary Adventure. Retrieved from https://www.baristainstitute.com/blog/tomi-nieminen/june-2017/coffee-roasting-home-stupid-idea-or-culinary-adventure
  3. Cho, N. (2018, August 9). Should You Roast Coffee at Home? Retrieved from https://drinks.seriouseats.com/2013/12/why-you-shouldnt-roast-coffee-at-home-pros-cons-green-coffee-roasting-kit.html
  4. Albrecht, I. (2018, August 22). A Home Roaster’s Guide to Buying the Right Green Coffee. Retrieved from https://perfectdailygrind.com/2018/08/a-home-roasters-guide-to-buying-the-right-green-coffee/
  5. Guerra, G. (2017, November 6). Green Bean Storage: What Factors Do You Need to Control? Retrieved from https://perfectdailygrind.com/2017/11/green-bean-storage-what-factors-do-you-need-to-control/
  6. Shilton, AC. (2020, February 8). We Tried Roasting Our Own Coffee. Learn From Us. Retrieved from https://www.outsideonline.com/2408826/roast-your-own-coffee
  7. Bailey, R.; LeBouf, R. F.; Cummings, K. J. (2016, January 25). Coffee Workers at Risk for Lung Disease. Retrieved from https://blogs.cdc.gov/niosh-science-blog/2016/01/25/coffee-workers/
  8. McPhee, H. (2018, March 29). Understanding Degassing: Is Fresh Best? Retrieved from https://fellowproducts.com/blogs/learn/understanding-degassing-is-fresh-best
How to Roast Coffee Beans

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Share via
Copy link