Coffeeble يدعم القارئ. عندما تشتري عبر الروابط الموجودة على موقعنا ، فقد نربح عمولة تابعة دون أي تكلفة عليك. يتعلم أكثر

كيفية جعل قهوة فيتنامية (وصفة سهلة الاتباع)

إذا كنت قد تناولت قهوة فيتنامية من قبل ، فلا داعي لنسيانها. يتم ترشيح هذا المشروب الغامق والداكن ببطء ، وعادة ما يتم تقديمه مثلجًا مع الحليب المكثف المحلى. 

إنها ليست مجرد قهوة ، ولكنها تجربة كاملة!

إذا كنت ترغب في إعادة إنشاء هذا العلاج البارد في المنزل ، فما عليك سوى اتباع هذا الدليل البسيط حول كيفية صنع القهوة الفيتنامية. لقد قمنا أيضًا بتضمين طرق بديلة إذا لم تتمكن من وضع يديك على مرشح القهوة الفيتنامي التقليدي.

كيفية صنع القهوة الفيتنامية

ماذا تحتاج

وقت التحضير: 2 دقيقة
وقت الطهي: 5 دقيقة
الوقت الإجمالي: 7 دقائق
يجعل كوب 1

المكونات:

  • 2 ملاعق كبيرة من البن المطحون Trung Nguyen أو Café Du Monde (انظر الملاحظة أدناه)
  • 2 ملاعق كبيرة حليب مكثف محلى
  • الماء الساخن
  • مكعبات الثلج
  • مرشح فن القهوة (انظر الملاحظة أدناه)
  • زجاج مقاوم للحرارة

تاريخ القهوة في فيتنام

كان الفرنسيون يشربون القهوة منذ القرن السابع عشر ، لذلك عندما استعمروا فيتنام ، جاءت القهوة معهم. يعتقد أن الأول من الفاصوليا المجفف صنف أرابيكا المزروع في فيتنام ، زرعه كاهن كاثوليكي عام 1857. بحلول نهاية القرن التاسع عشر ، كان الفرنسيون قد أسسوا صناعة قهوة مزدهرة. بعد فترة وجيزة ، قدموا مجموعة روبوستا. في الخمسينيات من القرن الماضي ، اتخذ الإنتاج خطوة أخرى من خلال إنشاء مصنع لمعالجة القهوة سريعة الذوبان (1).

بالطبع ، تسببت حرب فيتنام في دمار كبير في إنتاج القهوة وتركت الصناعة تتعثر. ومع ذلك ، بحلول عام 1985 ، بدأ السوق أخيرًا في التعافي ، وتنتج البلاد الآن ثاني أكبر كمية من القهوة في جميع أنحاء العالم. بعد البرازيل ، على الرغم من ثقافة القهوة الفريدة في فيتنام ، فإن القهوة هي في الغالب محصول تصديري وليس استهلاكًا محليًا (2).

ما الذي يجعل القهوة الفيتنامية مختلفة؟

بعض العناصر تجعل القهوة الفيتنامية المثلجة مميزة عما قد تجده في أجزاء أخرى من العالم. إنه مشروب قوي جدًا ، وغالبًا ما يكون مرًا ، يتم تخفيفه عن طريق إضافة الحليب المكثف المحلى. جاء الحليب المكثف إلى البلاد عن طريق الفرنسيين ، الذين وجدوا صعوبة في الحصول على الحليب الطازج. إضافة كميات كبيرة من السكر والتخلص من الكثير من الماء جعلت تخزينه أسهل لفترات طويلة. 

الأكثر شهرة هي ماركة Longevity ، والتي يمكن العثور عليها في العديد من متاجر البقالة الآسيوية. إذا لم تتمكن من العثور على هذه العلامة التجارية ، فإن أي علامة تجارية أخرى ستفعلها. فقط تأكد من أنه حليب مكثف محلى وليس حليب مبخر.

إن إضافة الحليب المكثف لا يجلب الحلاوة فحسب ، بل يجلب أيضًا ملمسًا شرابًا للقهوة.

ولكن الأهم من ذلك ، ربما ، هو طريقة التخمير، وهو ما تفعله باستخدام جهاز تنقيط فين. إن صنع القهوة باستخدام فين لا يحدد فقط المذاق الفريد لهذا المشروب ، ولكن وتيرته البطيئة ضرورية لخلق تجربة المقهى الفيتنامي.

إذا تم تقديم القهوة بهذه الطريقة ، فهذا يجبرك على الإبطاء والاستمتاع بالتجربة.

أليسون شبيجل ، هافينغتون بوست

الوقت الذي يستغرقه الماء للتقطير ببطء من خلال القهوة المطحونة هو الوقت الذي تقضيه في الاسترخاء مع صحيفة أو حتى مجرد مشاهدة الناس.

أي قهوة يجب أن تستخدمها؟

الخبر السار هو أنه يمكنك استخدام أي قهوة لصنع هذا المشروب. ومع ذلك ، إذا كنت تريد التجربة الأكثر أصالة ، فيجب أن تحاول الحصول على إحدى ماركات القهوة الفيتنامية الشهيرة.

استخدم فقط حبوب البن الفيتنامية ، لأنها أقوى مع نكهات الجوز والشوكولاتة والكراميل.

لوك نجوين ، رئيس الطهاة

يعد Trung Nguyen و Café Du Monde أكثر الأماكن المتاحة على نطاق واسع ، وهو مزيج مُسبَق من القهوة والهندباء. من الناحية الفنية ، فإن قهوة Café Du Monde ليست ماركة فيتنامية ؛ إنهم ينتجونها في نيو أورلينز. ومع ذلك ، ستجد أن قهوة الهندباء هذه عنصر أساسي في كل من المنازل الفيتنامية الأمريكية والمطاعم الفيتنامية (3). عندما وصل المهاجرون واللاجئون الفيتناميون في أعقاب حرب فيتنام ، وجدوا هذا المزيج أقرب إلى القهوة التي استخدموها.

ولكن إذا لم تتمكن من العثور على هذه العلامات التجارية المحددة أو غيرها من حبوب البن الفيتنامية ، فلا تقلق كثيرًا. أي روبوستا مشوي غامق أو فرنسي سيفي بالغرض. بينما تعتبر حبوب الروبوستا أقل جودة في معظم أنحاء العالم ، فإنها تزرع على نطاق واسع في فيتنام وتستخدم لقهوتهم اليومية (4).

ما هو فلتر القهوة فين؟

يُعد فلتر الفين عنصرًا أساسيًا في صنع القهوة الفيتنامية التقليدية. وهي متوفرة بأحجام مختلفة ، ولكنها الأكثر شيوعًا في خيار الخدمة الواحدة.

يمكن وصف مرشح فن القهوة بأنه تقاطع بين المصفاة والضغط الفرنسي.

إنه جهاز مصنوع بالكامل من المعدن ويتكون من أربعة أجزاء مختلفة. القاعدة هي الصحن المثقوب ، والذي يسمح للفن بالجلوس بثبات على الكوب بينما يسمح للقهوة بالتقطير. فوق هذا توجد غرفة التخمير ، حيث يحدث السحر. هذا هو المكان الذي تضع فيه القهوة المطحونة وله قاعدة مثقبة تعمل كفلتر للقهوة.

يتم إدخال مكبس القهوة في حجرة التخمير. الصحافة تمسك الأرض بطريقة مماثلة للصحافة الفرنسية. تحتوي بعض الأوعية على مرشح لولبي يسمح لك بضبط الضغط والحفاظ عليه ، لكن البعض الآخر يتم ضغطه ببساطة. أخيرًا ، يوجد غطاء يساعد على الاحتفاظ بالحرارة أثناء تخمير القهوة.

كيفية تقديم القهوة الفيتنامية

ما يعرفه معظمنا بالقهوة الفيتنامية هو النسخة الحلوة المثلجة التي قمنا بتكرارها هنا. هذا يسمي cà phê sua dá باللغة الفيتنامية وتعني حرفيًا "ثلج حليب القهوة". ومع ذلك ، فهذه ليست الطريقة الوحيدة التي ستجد بها القهوة التي يتم تقديمها في فيتنام. أول شيء في الصباح ، غالبًا ما يحتسي الناس مشروبات كا في نونج (قهوة سوداء ساخنة) أو أ كا في سوا نونغ - قهوة ساخنة مع حليب مكثف محلى (5).

إذا كان لديك حنك أكثر ميلاً إلى المغامرة ، فيمكنك الاختيار sữa chua cà phê (قهوة مع لبن ، وأحيانًا مغطاة بالفاكهة) ، أو أ كا في ترونج، حيث يُخفق الحليب المكثف المحلى أولاً مع صفار البيض لتكوين رغوة سميكة ومتجددة الهواء (6). تعتبر قهوة البيض حلوى أكثر من كونها مشروبًا ، حيث يشبهها البعض بالنسخة الفيتنامية من التيراميسو.

كيفية صنع القهوة الفيتنامية

الآن بعد أن اكتشفنا أساسيات القهوة المثلجة الفيتنامية ، حان الوقت لمحاولة صنع واحدة. ستوجهك هذه الخطوات البسيطة خلال إنشاء ذوقك الخاص لفيتنام.

جهز كوبك

ستحتاج إلى البدء بزجاج مقاوم للحرارة ، حيث ستضيف القهوة الساخنة ، متبوعًا بالثلج. من الناحية المثالية ، تريد شيئًا طويلاً بما يكفي لاستيعاب الكثير من مكعبات الثلج ، بالإضافة إلى القهوة والحليب المكثف. صب ملعقتين كبيرتين من الحليب المكثف المحلى في قاع الكوب. يضيف بعض الأشخاص الحليب المكثف في النهاية ، ولكن بإضافته أولاً ، تسمح للقهوة "بطهيها" قليلاً ، مما يضيف إلى النكهة الإجمالية.

نصيحة محترف: الحليب المكثف حلو جدًا ، لذا ستحتاج إلى تعديل الكمية لتناسب أذواقك. إذا وجدت أنها حلوة جدًا ولكنك لا تزال ترغب في الحصول على جودة الحليب ، فإنها تجلب لك المشروب ، فلا تتردد في استبدال ملعقة كبيرة بنصف ونصف. إنها ليست تقليدية ، لكنها لا تزال لذيذة!

سخن الماء

كما هو الحال مع جميع أنواع القهوة ، فأنت تريد التأكد من أن الماء الخاص بك ليس في الواقع يغلي ، ولكن أقل بقليل. ستؤدي إضافة الماء المغلي إلى القهوة المطحونة إلى حرق القهوة والتأثير على الطعم ، حتى مع حبوب روبوستا. يجب أن تتراوح درجة الحرارة المثالية لتحضير القهوة بين 195 و 205 فهرنهايت / 90 إلى 96 درجة مئوية (7). تسمح لك بعض الغلايات الحديثة بضبط درجات حرارة الماء ؛ بدلا من ذلك ، يمكنك استخدام مقياس حرارة.

نصيحة محترف: إذا لم يكن لديك مقياس حرارة ، اترك الماء يجلس لمدة 30 ثانية تقريبًا بعد الغليان. هذا يجب أن يسمح لها بالتبريد في نطاق درجة الحرارة المثلى.

تحضير فين

أضف ملعقتين كبيرتين من القهوة المحمصة الداكنة إلى حجرة التخمير في الفين. أفضل قهوة لصنع القهوة الفيتنامية المثلجة هي طحن خشن ، ويرجع ذلك أساسًا إلى بنية الفين. نظرًا لعدم وجود مرشح ورقي ، يجب أن تكون حبيبات القهوة خشنة بما يكفي لتظل في حجرة التخمير وألا تنزلق عبر الثقوب الموجودة في الفلتر المعدني وفي الكوب.

أدخل عصارة القهوة في حجرة التخمير واضغط برفق لكشط حبيبات القهوة المطحونة مع لفها قليلًا مع تقدمك. إذا كان phin الخاص بك يحتوي على مرشح لولبي ، فسيكون لديك خيار دك وتثبيت الحبيبات بكمية محددة من الضغط.

نصيحة محترف: اشطف الفين بالماء الساخن قبل بدء عملية التخمير. وهذا يضمن نظافته ويسخن المعدن ويسمح للقهوة بأن تزدهر بشكل متساوٍ.

كيفية صنع القهوة الفيتنامية

تحضير القهوة

مع وضع الفين فوق الكوب ، أضف كمية صغيرة من الماء الساخن للسماح للأطعمة المطحونة بالتفتح. بعد 30-40 ثانية ، املأ الفرن حتى الحافة بالماء الساخن وأضف الغطاء للاحتفاظ بالحرارة. يجب أن تكون عملية التخمير بطيئة جدًا. يجب ألا ترى القطرات الأولى حتى دقيقتين تقريبًا ، ومن المفترض أن يستغرق الأمر حوالي خمس دقائق إجمالاً حتى يفرغ الفين تمامًا.

إذا وجدت أن الماء يمر بسرعة أكبر من ذلك ، فسينتهي بك الأمر بشرب قهوة ضعيفة ومائية. الحل هو زيادة الضغط عند الحك أو استخدام طحن أنعم قليلاً - قد تحتاج إلى مزيج من الاثنين. إذا استغرقت عملية التخمير أكثر من خمس دقائق ، فسوف ينتهي بك الأمر بالحصول على قهوة مُرة مفرطة الاستخراج. العلاج هو حشو أخف أو طحن خشن. باستخدام فين الفلتر اللولبي ، يمكنك إحكام أو تخفيف الضغط لضبط معدل التنقيط.

نصيحة محترف: لا تيأس إذا كانت قهوتك المصنوعة في المنزل لا تحتوي على قوام كثيف ربما تكون قد جربته أثناء السفر في فيتنام - فأنت لم ترتكب أي خطأ. من الشائع في الواقع أن يضيف الباعة الجائلين مكونات مثل الذرة أو فول الصويا لتكثيف القهوة (8). إذا كنت قد ضبطت قلبك على تكرار هذا بالضبط ، فحاول إضافة القليل من زيت جوز الهند مع الحليب المكثف.

يقلب ويضاف الثلج

بمجرد أن تنتهي القهوة من التقطير ، حان الوقت لتحويل هذا الشراب إلى قهوة مثلجة. أولاً ، ستحتاج إلى التقليب لمزج القهوة والحليب المكثف ، وهو أمر صعب بعض الشيء إذا انتظرت حتى بعد إضافة الثلج. أضف الثلج الآن للوصول إلى قمة الكوب واستمتع به!

لا تنس أن الثلج الذي تضيفه سينتهي في النهاية في شرابك. لهذا السبب ، عليك الانتباه إلى جودة المياه التي تستخدمها لصنعها - لا تجمد أي مياه لن تسعد بشربها بمفردها.

نصيحة محترف: إذا كنت ترغب في تجربة أ كا في سوا نونغ (قهوة الحليب الساخنة) ، الأمر ببساطة يتعلق بتخطي مكعبات الثلج. لتحضير مشروب دافئ أكثر ، جرّب تسخين الكوب قبل إضافة الحليب والقهوة المكثف.

صنع القهوة الفيتنامية بالضغط الفرنسي

إذا لم يكن لديك وصول إلى مرشح القهوة الفيتنامي التقليدي ، فإن الخيار التالي هو أفضل خيار للمطبعة الفرنسية. استخدم نفس القهوة الفرنسية المحمصة التي ذكرناها هنا بالمقادير الدقيقة ، مع إضافة 2/3 كوب من الماء الساخن (وليس المغلي) للتخمير. اضغط على الفلتر واترك القهوة حتى تنقع لمدة أربع دقائق. صب القهوة المخمرة في الكوب مع الحليب المكثف ، وحركها جيدًا وأضف مكعبات الثلج.

صنع القهوة الفيتنامية بالنبيذ البارد

ربما تتساءل لماذا تبدأ وصفة القهوة المثلجة بتخمير ساخن. تُستخدم هذه التقنية تقليديًا للحصول على أقوى نكهة من البن المطحون في فترة زمنية قصيرة ، ولكن يمكنك بالفعل صنع هذا المشروب باستخدام المشروب البارد أيضًا. لهذه الطريقة ، ستحتاج إلى البدء في تحضير القهوة في اليوم السابق ، ثم إضافة المشروب البارد إلى الحليب المكثف والثلج كالمعتاد. يمكنك العثور على تعليمات حول كيفية القيام بذلك لصنع الشراب البارد هنا.

تحقق من بعض تعليماتنا الأخرى لصنع لاتيه أو كيفية استخدام Aeropress.

افكار اخيرة

لست بحاجة إلى السفر إلى فيتنام للاستمتاع بالنكهات الغنية والممتعة لقهوة البلاد. يجب أن يخبرك دليلنا بكل ما تحتاج إلى معرفته لتحضير كوب من القهوة الفيتنامية في مطبخك. إنها تتطلب بعض المكونات والمعدات الفريدة ، لكن المكافأة تستحق العناء.

هل علمناك كيفية صنع القهوة الفيتنامية؟ دعنا نعرف!

الأسئلة والأجوبة

يمكنك صنع القهوة المثلجة الفيتنامية مع لحظة قهوة ، لكن النكهة لن تكون هي نفسها. لاستخدام هذه الطريقة ، اصنع قهوة قوية وقصيرة في فنجان منفصل واسكبها ببساطة فوق الحليب المكثف ، ثم أضف الثلج كما هو مذكور أعلاه.

القهوة الفيتنامية قوية جدًا لأنهم يستخدمون روبوستا لصنع القهوة. أنت لا تتخيل الأشياء! ربما يكون أقوى مما اعتدت عليه. غالبًا ما يغفل المنتجون عن روبوستا لأنه أكثر مرارة من أرابيكا. لكنها تحتوي على قدر أكبر من الكافيين ، مع ما يقرب من ضعف محتوى الكافيين (9).

القهوة الفيتنامية ليست سيئة بالنسبة لك. على الرغم من تحضيرها بطريقة مختلفة ، فإن القهوة الفيتنامية هي مجرد قهوة. ومع ذلك ، كما ذكرنا ، يحتوي على نسبة أعلى من الكافيين. إذا كنت تشرب مشروبك اليومي مثل cà phê sua dá ، فستتناول الكثير من السكر مع الحليب المكثف المحلى.

مراجع
  1. هوتسون ، سي (2019 ، 18 سبتمبر). استكشاف ثقافة القهوة الفيتنامية التقليدية: Atlas Coffee Club. تم الاسترجاع من https://club.atlascoffeeclub.com/exploring-traditional-vietnamese-coffee-culture/
  2. سامرز ، سي (2014 ، 25 يناير). كيف أصبحت فيتنام عملاق قهوة. مأخوذ من https://www.bbc.com/news/magazine-25811724
  3. إيوبانك ، أ. (2018 ، 05 فبراير). المكون السري للقهوة الفيتنامية الأمريكية. تم الاسترجاع من https://www.atlasobscura.com/articles/chicory-vietnamese-coffee-cafe-du-monde
  4. شيرير ، ب. (2019 ، 11 مايو). تعلم كيفية صنع القهوة المثلجة الفيتنامية التقليدية في المنزل. تم الاسترجاع من https://www.thespruceeats.com/vietnamese-coffee-4771158
  5. Bogenschutz ، B. (2016 ، 03 فبراير). كيفية طلب القهوة في فيتنام مثل السكان المحليين. تم الاسترجاع من http://thehungrysuitcase.com/how-to-order-coffee-in-vietnam-like-a-local/
  6. روزين ، إي (2020 ، 11 فبراير). دليل للقهوة الفيتنامية. تم الاسترجاع من https://www.lonelyplanet.com/articles/a-guide-to-vietnamese-coffee
  7. كيفية تحضير القهوة. (اختصار الثاني). تم الاسترجاع من https://www.ncausa.org/About-Coffee/How-to-Brew-Coffee
  8. ما هو مرشح Phin الفيتنامي؟ (وكيف يستعمل). (اختصار الثاني). تم الاسترجاع من https://nguyencoffeesupply.com/blogs/news/vietnamese-coffee-phin-filter-st Stainless-steel
  9. بايك ، م. (2018 ، 23 يناير). كيف تشرب القهوة على الطريقة الفيتنامية. تم الاسترجاع من https://theculturetrip.com/asia/vietnam/articles/drink-coffee-vietnamese-style/

اترك تعليق

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

شارك عبر
انسخ الرابط

Coffeeble is reader-supported. When you buy via the links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission at no cost to you. Learn more.

How to Make Vietnamese Coffee (Easy-to-Follow Recipe)

How to Make Vietnamese Coffee (Easy-to-Follow Recipe)

If you’ve ever had a Vietnamese coffee, there’s no forgetting it. The dark, syrupy brew is slowly filtered and usually served iced with and sweetened condensed milk. 

It’s not just a coffee, but a whole experience!

If you want to recreate this cold treat at home, just follow this simple guide on how to make Vietnamese coffee. We’ve also included alternative methods if you can’t get your hands on a traditional Vietnamese coffee filter.

How to Make Vietnamese Coffee

What You Need

Prep time: 2 mins
Cook time: 5 mins
Total time: 7 mins
Makes 1 cup

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons Trung Nguyen or Café Du Monde ground coffee (see note below)
  • 2 tablespoons sweetened condensed milk
  • Hot water
  • Ice cubes
  • Phin coffee filter (see note below)
  • Heat-Proof glass

The history of coffee in Vietnam

The French had been drinking coffee since the 1600s, so when they colonized Vietnam, the coffee came with them. It’s believed that the first beans planted in Vietnam were the Arabica variety, sown in 1857 by a Catholic priest. By the end of the 1800s, the French had established a thriving coffee industry. Shortly after, they introduced the Robusta variety. In the 1950s, production took another step by constructing a plant to process instant coffee (1).

Of course, the Vietnam War wreaked havoc with coffee production and left the industry floundering. Yet, by 1985 the market finally began to recover, and the country now produces the second-highest amount of coffee worldwide. After Brazil, that is.Despite the unique coffee culture in Vietnam, coffee is predominantly an export crop rather than domestic consumption (2).

What makes Vietnamese coffee different?

A few elements make Vietnamese iced coffee stand out from what you might find in other parts of the world. It’s a very strong, often bitter brew, which is tempered by the addition of sweetened condensed milk. Condensed milk came to the country by way of the French, who found fresh milk hard to come by. The addition of large quantities of sugar and the removal of a lot of the water made it easier to store for long periods. 

The most popular is the Longevity brand, which can be found in many Asian grocery stores. If you can’t find this brand, any other will do. Just make sure it’s sweetened condensed milk and not evaporated milk.

The addition of condensed milk brings not only sweetness but also a syrupy texture to the coffee.

But most importantly, perhaps, is the brewing method, which you do with a phin dripper. Making coffee with a phin doesn’t just determine the brew’s unique taste, but its slow pace is essential in creating the Vietnamese coffee shop experience.

If the coffee is served this way, it forces you to slow down and savor the experience.

Alison Spiegel, Huffington Post

The time it takes the water to drip through the coffee grounds slowly is time to be spent relaxing with a newspaper or even just people-watching.

Which coffee should you use?

The good news is that you can use any coffee to create this drink. However, if you want the most authentic experience, you should try to get your hands on one of the famous Vietnamese coffee brands.

Use only Vietnamese coffee beans, as they are more robust with nutty, chocolate, caramel notes.

Luke Nguyen, chef

Trung Nguyen and Café Du Monde are the most widely available, which is a pre-ground mix of coffee and chicory. Technically, Café Du Monde coffee isn’t a Vietnamese brand; they produce it in New Orleans. However, you’ll find that this chicory coffee is a standard fixture in both US Vietnamese households and Vietnamese restaurants (3). When Vietnamese immigrants and refugees arrived in the wake of the Vietnam war, they found this blend much closer to the coffee they used.

But if you can’t find these specific brands or other Vietnamese coffee beans, don’t worry too much. Any dark or French roast Robusta will do the trick. While Robusta beans are considered lower quality in most parts of the world, they’re grown widely in Vietnam and used for their daily coffee (4).

What is a phin coffee filter?

The phin filter is the key element to creating a traditional Vietnamese coffee. It is available in different sizes, but the most commonly seen in the single-serve option.

The phin coffee filter could be described as a cross between a pour over and a French press.

It’s an all-metal device that consists of four different parts. The base is the perforated saucer, which allows the phin to sit firmly on the cup while allowing the coffee to drip through. On top of this sits the brewing chamber, which is where the magic happens. This is where you place the coffee grounds and has a perforated base that acts as the coffee filter.

Inserted into the brewing chamber is the coffee press. The press holds down the grounds in a way similar to a French press. Some phins have a screw filter that allows you to adjust and maintain the pressure, but others are simply tamped down. Finally, there is a lid, which helps to retain heat while the coffee is brewing.

How to serve Vietnamese coffee

What most of us know as Vietnamese coffee is the sweet, iced version we’ve replicated here. This is called cà phê sua dá in Vietnamese and literally means “coffee milk ice”. However, it’s not the only way you’ll find coffee served in Vietnam. First thing in the morning, people often sip on a cà phê nóng (hot black coffee) or a cà phê sua nóng – hot coffee with sweetened condensed milk (5).

If you have a more adventurous palate you can opt for sữa chua cà phê (coffee with yogurt, sometimes topped with fruit), or a cà phê trứng, where the sweetened condensed milk is first whipped with egg yolk to create a thick, airy foam (6). Egg coffee is more of a dessert than a drink, with some people equating it to the Vietnamese version of tiramisu.

How To Make Vietnamese Coffee

Now that we’ve discovered the basics of Vietnamese iced coffee, it’s time to try making one. These simple steps will guide you through creating your very own taste of Vietnam.

Prepare your glass

You’ll need to start with a heatproof glass, as you will be adding hot coffee, followed by ice. Ideally, you want something that’s tall enough to hold plenty of ice cubes, as well as the coffee and condensed milk. Pour 2 tablespoons of sweetened condensed milk into the bottom of the glass. Some people add the condensed milk at the end, but by adding it first you allow the coffee to “cook” it slightly, which will add to the overall flavor.

PRO tip: Condensed milk is very sweet, so you’ll need to adjust the amount to suit your tastes. If you find it’s too sweet but still want the milky quality, it brings to the drink, feel free to substitute one tablespoon with half-and-half. It’s not traditional, but it’s still tasty!

Heat the water

As with all coffee, you want to make sure that your water is not actually boiling, but just below. Adding boiling water to coffee grounds will burn the coffee and affect the taste, even with Robusta beans. The ideal temperature for preparing coffee should be between 195 and 205 Fahrenheit/90 to 96 degrees Celsius (7). Some modern kettles allow you to set water temperatures; alternatively, you could use a thermometer.

PRO tip: If you don’t have access to a thermometer, let the water sit for approximately 30 seconds after boiling. This should allow it to cool to within the optimum temperature range.

Prepare the phin

Add 2 tablespoons of dark roast coffee grounds to the brewing chamber of your phin. The best coffee for making Vietnamese iced coffee is a coarse grind, mainly due to the structure of the phin. As there is no paper filter, the grounds need to be coarse enough to stay in the brewing chamber and not slip through the perforations in the metal filter and into your cup.

Insert the coffee press into the brewing chamber and press lightly to tamp the grounds, twisting slightly as you go. If your phin has a screw filter, you’ll have the option to tamp and secure the grounds with a specific amount of pressure.

PRO tip: Rinse your phin with hot water before you start the brewing process. This ensures it is clean and preheats the metal, and allows the coffee to bloom more evenly.

How to Make Vietnamese Coffee

Brew the coffee

With the phin sitting over the cup, add a small amount of hot water to allow the grounds to bloom. After 30-40 seconds, fill the phin to the rim with hot water and add the lid to retain the heat. The brewing process should be very slow. You shouldn’t see the first drips until about two minutes in, and it should ideally take around five minutes in total for the phin to empty completely.

If you find the water passes through more quickly than this, you will end up with a weak and watery coffee. The solution is to apply more pressure when tamping or to use a slightly finer grind – you may need a combination of the two. If the brewing process takes more than five minutes, you’ll end up with over-extracted, bitter coffee. The remedy is lighter tamping or a coarser grind. With a screw filter phin, you can tighten or loosen the pressure to adjust the drip-rate.

PRO tip: Don’t despair if your home-brewed coffee doesn’t have the thick texture that you might have experienced while traveling in Vietnam – you haven’t done anything wrong. It’s actually common for street vendors to add ingredients like corn or soy to thicken the coffee (8). If you’ve got your heart set on replicating this exactly, try adding a little coconut oil with the condensed milk.

Stir and add ice

Once the coffee has finished dripping, it’s time to turn this brew into an iced coffee. First, you’ll need to stir to combine the coffee and condensed milk, which is a little tricky if you wait until after you’ve added the ice. Now add ice to reach the top of the glass and enjoy!

Don’t forget that the ice you add will ultimately end up in your drink. For this reason, you need to pay attention to the quality of water you use to make them – don’t freeze any water you wouldn’t be happy drinking on its own.

PRO tip: If you want to experience a cà phê sua nóng (hot milk coffee), it simply a matter of skipping the ice cubes. For an extra warming brew, try preheating your glass before adding the condensed milk and coffee.

Making Vietnamese coffee with a French press

If you don’t have access to a traditional Vietnamese coffee filter, the French press’s next best option. Use the same French roast coffee that we have listed here in the exact amounts, adding 2/3 cup of hot (not boiling) water to brew. Depress the filter and leave the coffee to brew for four minutes. Pour the brewed coffee into the glass with the condensed milk, stir well and add ice cubes.

Making Vietnamese coffee with cold brew

Perhaps you’re wondering why a recipe for an iced coffee starts with a hot brew. This technique is traditionally used to get the strongest flavor from the ground coffee in a short amount of time, but you could indeed make this drink with cold brew too. For this method, you’ll need to start preparing the coffee the day before, then add the cold brew to the condensed milk and ice as usual. You can find instructions on how to make cold brew here.

Check out some of our other instructions for making a latte or how to use the Aeropress.

Final Thoughts

You don’t need to travel to Vietnam to enjoy the rich, indulgent flavors of the country’s coffee. Our guide should tell you everything you need to know to whip up a glass of Vietnamese coffee in your kitchen. It does require some unique ingredients and equipment, but the payoff is more than worth it.

Have we taught you how to make Vietnamese coffee? Let us know!

FAQs

You can make Vietnamese iced coffee with instant coffee, but the flavor won’t be the same. To use this method, make a strong, short coffee in a separate cup and simply pour it over the condensed milk, then add ice as mentioned above.

Vietnamese coffee is so strong because they use Robusta for making coffee. You’re not imagining things! It’s probably stronger than what you’re used to. Producers often overlook Robusta because it’s more bitter than Arabica. But it does have more of a kick, with almost double the caffeine content (9).

Vietnamese coffee is not bad for you. Despite being prepared with a different method, Vietnamese coffee is just coffee. However, as we’ve mentioned, it does have higher caffeine content. If you’re drinking your daily brew as a cà phê sua dá, you will be taking in a lot of sugar with the sweetened condensed milk.

References
  1. Hutson, C. (2019, September 18). Exploring Traditional Vietnamese Coffee Culture: Atlas Coffee Club. Retrieved from https://club.atlascoffeeclub.com/exploring-traditional-vietnamese-coffee-culture/
  2. Summers, C. (2014, January 25). How Vietnam became a coffee giant. Retrieved from https://www.bbc.com/news/magazine-25811724
  3. Ewbank, A. (2018, February 05). The Secret Ingredient to America’s Vietnamese Coffee. Retrieved from https://www.atlasobscura.com/articles/chicory-vietnamese-coffee-cafe-du-monde
  4. Scherer, P. (2019, May 11). Learn to Make Traditional Vietnamese Iced Coffee at Home. Retrieved from https://www.thespruceeats.com/vietnamese-coffee-4771158
  5. Bogenschutz, B. (2016, February 03). How to Order Coffee in Vietnam Like a Local. Retrieved from http://thehungrysuitcase.com/how-to-order-coffee-in-vietnam-like-a-local/
  6. Rosen, E. (2020, February 11). A guide to Vietnamese coffee. Retrieved from https://www.lonelyplanet.com/articles/a-guide-to-vietnamese-coffee
  7. How to Brew Coffee. (n.d.). Retrieved from https://www.ncausa.org/About-Coffee/How-to-Brew-Coffee
  8. What is a Vietnamese Phin Filter? (And How to Use It). (n.d.). Retrieved from https://nguyencoffeesupply.com/blogs/news/vietnamese-coffee-phin-filter-stainless-steel
  9. Pike, M. (2018, January 23). How To Drink Coffee Vietnamese Style. Retrieved from https://theculturetrip.com/asia/vietnam/articles/drink-coffee-vietnamese-style/

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap