Coffeeble 受读者支持。 当您通过我们网站上的链接购买时,我们可能会免费为您赚取会员佣金。 了解更多

如何制作冷萃咖啡 (你可以在家做的食谱)

冷泡咖啡最近获得了很大的关注。 它正在成为最受欢迎的冲泡方法之一,甚至一些零售冷冲咖啡也进入超市的过道。 它甚至进入了星巴克的菜单。

你可能想知道有什么大不了的。 冷泡咖啡再简单不过了。 你拿些咖啡渣泡在水里,对吧? 好吧,你可以这样做,但是在你做对之前,你会经历很多糟糕的批次。 如果你想更实用一点,这篇文章会教你 如何制作冷冲泡咖啡 并在此过程中为您提供一些有用的技巧。

什么是冷萃咖啡?

就像壁炉一样,冷萃咖啡正是顾名思义。 咖啡,冷煮。 但是不要让这个简单的名字欺骗了你,因为关于这种美味的酿造方法有很多要了解的。 也许最好颠倒这个问题。 什么不是冷泡咖啡?

对于初学者来说,冷泡咖啡不是冰咖啡。 这种以浓缩咖啡为基础的咖啡饮料是用通过细磨碎的热水冲泡的。 冷泡咖啡也不是法式压榨咖啡。 它可以在法式压榨机中制作,但法式压榨机传统上用于冲泡热咖啡。

尽管您可能听说过,冷泡咖啡都是为了方便。 这是一劳永逸的缩影。

通常,它被制成可以储存数周的浓缩物,并且只需很少的工作即可获得很好的效果。

什么是冷萃浓缩液?

因为冷酿使用冷水,您可以将其储存起来以备将来使用。 制作冷萃咖啡的流行方法之一是使咖啡过饱和并储存浓缩版本以备日后稀释(1)。 这是有效的,因为大部分口味都是在最初的四到八小时内提取的。 咖啡不会像使用热量过度提取咖啡豆那样变得更浓(2).

它与冰咖啡有何不同?

这两种含咖啡因的冷饮之间的主要区别在于冲泡方法。 冰咖啡稍浓,用热水冲泡,冷却后加冰饮用。 冷泡是用冷水长时间冲泡。

冷萃咖啡往往比大多数其他咖啡更顺滑、更温和 咖啡冲泡方法. 冷冲泡突出了许多在普通咖啡冲泡中被压倒的风味,例如滴灌或浓缩咖啡。

“咖啡因的溶解能力取决于温度。 在较高温度下,比在较低温度下溶解的咖啡因要多得多。”

约瑟夫·里维拉,咖啡化学

在相同的水与咖啡比例下,冷萃咖啡比大多数其他冲泡咖啡的咖啡因少一些。 有一种误解,认为它有更多,但事实并非如此。

为什么人们如此喜欢冷萃咖啡?

冷泡咖啡有什么不喜欢的? 有些人不喜欢咖啡中单宁和其他酸的苦味(3)。 因为它们的提取非常依赖热量,所以冷酿咖啡的数量更少,味道更甜更醇。

“这是一个简单而精致的过程,让咖啡豆的美感成为所有话题。”

鲁珀特·霍洛威 (Rupert Holloway),康克冷酿啤酒

正如您将在本文中看到的那样,它也很容易制作。 您可以在舒适的家中轻松享用咖啡店般的冷酿美食。 它也是常规酿造方法的绿色替代品,因为它不使用任何能量来加热水(4).

量身定制

  • 你最喜欢的咖啡,粗磨
  • 常温水
  • 梅森罐或其他宽颈容器
  • 粗棉布或纸质过滤器
  • 量杯
  • 一个过滤器

一旦你变得更有经验,你将不再需要测量太多。 在此之前,请使用本食谱中列出的水与咖啡的比例作为基础。 像任何其他冲泡方法一样,更多的咖啡渣将制作更浓缩的咖啡。

也像其他方法一样,最好在冲泡之前研磨自己的豆子。 确保您有一台咖啡研磨机,可以处理冷酿所需的粗磨。

冷萃咖啡配方

制作冷煮咖啡不需要高超的技巧或完美的时机。 这是一种非常宽容的技术,所以不要过分强调确定完美的时间或数量。 只要你在正确的社区,一切都会好起来的。

一个人展示如何在家里用梅森罐制作冷泡咖啡

不要纠结于比率。 将此食谱视为指南:尝试不同量的水和咖啡。

1.测量咖啡和水

您将使用一盎司(28 克)咖啡渣与一杯水(250 毫升)的比例。 如果你自己磨豆子,那大约是整豆的四分之一。 如果您使用的是预先磨碎的豆子,则大约是半杯咖啡渣。 一些水分会在菌株中流失,但最终的结果还是会被稀释。

如果您正在研磨自己的豆子,请将研磨机设置为最粗的设置。 如果研磨得太细,最终结果会留下咖啡渣,而且不会那么光滑。 第一次尝试时,将大约 3 盎司的咖啡粉与 3 杯水混合,看看味道如何。

双专业提示: 如果您不想麻烦使用量杯,请改用咖啡秤或灵敏的厨房秤。 此外,水的质量会对冷冲泡产生很大影响,因此请尽可能使用过滤后的泉水。

2. 泡咖啡

量出玻璃瓶中的水量。 然后,加入咖啡渣并搅拌。等待大约五分钟,然后再次搅拌以确保咖啡渣充分浸泡。 使用这种方法,您将在浸泡完成后滤出咖啡渣。 但是,还有另一种方法。

您可以制作一种咖啡“豆荚”,而不是将磨碎的咖啡直接放入水中。 将粗棉布折叠成 4 层。 将咖啡渣倒入粗棉布中,并用厨房绳子将其系好,制成豆荚。 将豆荚浸入水中,轻轻揉搓以浸泡豆子。 您可能需要再陡峭一点,但完成后,您只需卸下吊舱即可完成该过程。

您可以冷藏冷萃咖啡或将其置于室温下。 让它陡峭覆盖约 12 小时,但不超过 18 小时。

专家提示: 您还可以使用法式压榨机或 Toddy 冷萃系统。 用法式压榨机而不是罐子来准备咖啡,以便于清理。 使用相同的咖啡与水的比例。 Toddy 让制作冷煮咖啡变得非常容易,无需太多工作。

3.应变你的冷酿

完成浸泡后,除非您使用咖啡包方法,否则您必须过滤咖啡渣。 将咖啡过滤器放入细过滤器中,然后将混合物过滤到杯子或罐子中,以便以后存放。 您也可以使用一些粗棉布代替咖啡过滤器。 冷萃咖啡应完全不含任何残留的咖啡渣。

您可能需要重复该过程一两次,以确保所有的理由都被过滤掉。 如果你不能把它们全部弄出来,下次再磨粗一点。

专家提示: 如果您有 Chemex 或滴漏式咖啡机等手冲式咖啡机,它们非常适合此应用。 您可以使用倾倒式滴头代替带过滤器的过滤器。 这比设置过滤器更容易,并且在您完成过滤后即可存放。

4。 享受!

由此产生的冷酿浓缩物会有点太浓而不能直接饮用。 将一些冰块放入玻璃杯中,然后将水或牛奶装满一半。 然后用冷萃浓缩液填充其余部分。 加入糖或其他甜味剂调味。 您可以根据自己的喜好使用更多或更少的水。 您应该尽快完成它,但您也可以将其冷藏长达两周。

专家提示: 如果您不想在冰融化时稀释味道,请制作咖啡冰块。 使用相同的冷萃咖啡配方,将其冷冻成冰块,制成冰咖啡和冷萃咖啡。

最后的思考

制作冷萃咖啡非常简单,而且在家里做起来也相对便宜。 在商店购买时价格昂贵的原因是需要很长时间才能陡峭。 但是,如果您自己制作,则不必担心。

真正需要的是粗磨豆、纯净水和一个容器。 哦,还有一点点肘部油脂。 这个食谱很宽容,但你要坚持咖啡与水的比例在 1:5 到 1:8 之间。 浸泡时间可以变化,而不会对味道产生巨大影响,因此浸泡一夜是一种非常方便的方法。

奖金专业提示: 如果您想在一杯热咖啡中尝到冷萃咖啡的味道,请将室温冷萃浓缩咖啡与开水混合。 风味将保持不变,您将获得一杯丝般柔滑的热咖啡。

常见问题

冷煮咖啡是否比普通咖啡更浓,取决于你所说的浓是什么意思。 冷煮咖啡是浓缩的,因为它是为了稀释,然后在冰上或以其他方式冷饮。 所以,冲泡时,它的味道肯定会更浓一些,咖啡因的浓度也更高。 稀释后饮用时,它比其他酿造方法更甜、更温和。

您可以用水或牛奶以及牛奶替代品和替代品稀释冷冲泡咖啡。 牛奶会给它更多的拿铁咖啡的味道和感觉。 有些人还使用奶油或无麸质奶精,进一步软化味道。 稀释量取决于冷酿的浓度,但大多数冷酿配方在 1 比 1 稀释时效果最佳。

是的,冷泡咖啡可以泡太久,但很难喝。 如果你得到的是过度提取的冷煮咖啡,则更有可能是研磨量的问题。 小研磨不适合冷酿。 话虽如此,浸泡超过 24 小时确实开始提取一些不太令人愉快的味道。 它还取决于豆类和烘焙程度。 12-18 小时内的任何地方通常都应该没问题。

參考資料
  1. Jui, T.(2019 年 14 月 XNUMX 日)。 冷萃浓缩咖啡——如何在家制作。 取自 https://www.theworktop.com/breakfast-brunch-recipes/cold-brew-coffee-concentrate-how-to-make/
  2. Handground Team(2018 年 05 月 XNUMX 日)。 浸入式冷酿咖啡初学者指南。 取自 https://handground.com/grind/beginners-guide-immersion-cold-brew-coffee
  3. Kalmus, S.(2019 年 455484 月)。 咖啡中的单宁和酸。 取自 https://healthfully.com/XNUMX-tannins-and-acids-in-coffee.html
  4. 冲泡办公室咖啡需要多少能量? (nd)。 取自 https://business.directenergy.com/blog/2017/september/international-coffee-day

发表评论

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

通过分享
复制链接
版权所有 社交快照

Coffeeble is reader-supported. When you buy via the links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission at no cost to you. Learn more.

How to Make Cold Brew Coffee (Recipe You Can Make at Home)

Cold-brew coffee has gained a lot of traction recently. It’s becoming one of the most popular brewing methods with even some retail cold brew coffees reaching supermarket aisles. It has even made its way onto Starbucks menus.

You’re probably wondering what the big deal is. Cold-brew coffee couldn’t be easier; you get some coffee grounds and soak them in water, right? Well, you can do that, but you’ll go through a whole lot of bad batches before you get it right. If you want to be a little more practical, this article will teach you how to make cold brew coffee at home and give you some helpful tricks along the way.

What Is Cold Brew Coffee?

Like a fireplace, cold brew coffee is exactly what the name implies. Coffee, brewed cold. But don’t let the simple name fool you because there’s a lot to know about this delicious brewing method. Maybe it’s better to invert the question. What is not cold brew coffee?

Cold brew coffee is not iced coffee, for starters. That espresso-based coffee drink is brewed using hot water squeezed through fine grounds. Cold brew coffee is also not French press coffee. It can be made in a French press, but the French press is traditionally used to brew hot coffee.

Despite what you might have heard, cold brew coffee is all about convenience. It’s the epitome of set-and-forget.

Typically, it’s made into a concentrate that can be stored for weeks and it requires very little work for great results.

What Is Cold Brew Concentrate?

Because cold brewing uses cold water, you can store it for future use. One of the popular ways to make cold brew is to oversaturate the brew and store a concentrated version to be diluted later (1). This works because most of the flavors are extracted in the first four to eight hours. The coffee doesn’t get stronger as it would if beans are over-extracted using heat (2).

How Is It Different from Iced Coffee?

The main difference between these two cold caffeinated drinks is the brewing method. Iced coffee is slightly stronger, brewed with hot water, cooled and served over ice. Cold-brew is brewed with cold water over a long period of time.

Cold brews tend to be smoother and milder than most other brewing methods. Brewing cold highlights a lot of flavors that are overpowered in regular coffee brews such as drip or espresso.

“Caffeine’s ability to dissolve depends on temperature. At higher temperatures, significantly more caffeine will dissolve than at cooler temperatures.”

Cold-brew has a little less caffeine than most other brews in the same water to coffee ratios. There is a misconception that it has more, but that’s not true.

Why Do People Love Cold Brew Coffee so Much?

What’s not to love about cold brew coffee? Some people aren’t fans of the bitter taste of tannins and other acids in coffee (3). Because their extraction is so dependent on heat, cold brew has fewer of them and tastes sweeter and mellower.

“It’s a simple, delicate process that lets the beauty of coffee bean do all the talking.”

It’s also very easy to make, as you’ll see in this article. You can have coffee shop-worthy cold-brewed goodness in the comfort of your home with very little effort. It’s also a green alternative to regular brewing methods, as it doesn’t use any energy to heat the water (4).

What You Need

  • Your favorite coffee, ground coarse
  • Room temperature water
  • A mason jar or other wide-necked vessel
  • Cheesecloth or paper filter
  • Measuring cups
  • A strainer

Once you become more experienced, you won’t need to measure too much anymore. Until then, use the ratios of water to coffee laid out in this recipe as a foundation. Like any other brewing method, more grounds will make more concentrated coffee.

Also like other methods, it’s best to grind your own beans just before you brew them. Make sure you have a coffee grinder that can handle the coarse grind necessary for cold-brew.

Cold Brew Coffee Recipe

Making cold-brewed coffee doesn’t take razor-sharp skills or perfect timing. It’s a very forgiving technique, so don’t stress out too much about nailing the perfect timing or quantities. As long as you’re in the right neighborhood, it will turn out just fine.

a guy showing how to make cold brew coffee at home using a mason jar

Don’t get hung up on the ratios. Consider this recipe a guideline: experiment with different amounts of water and coffee.

1. Measure the Coffee and Water

You’re going to use a ratio of one ounce (28g) of coffee grounds to a cup of water (250ml). If you’re grinding your own beans, that will be about a quarter of a cup of whole beans. If you are using pre-ground beans it’s about half a cup of grounds. Some water will be lost in the strain, but the end result will be diluted anyway.

If you’re grinding your own beans, set the grinder to the coarsest setting. If the grind is too fine you’ll have coffee grime left in the end result and it won’t be as smooth. For the first attempt, mix about 3 ounces of ground coffee with 3 cups of water and see how that tastes.

DOUBLE PRO TIP: If you don’t want to hassle with measuring cups, use a coffee scale or a sensitive kitchen scale instead. Also, the quality of your water will have a great impact on your cold brew, so use filtered spring water if possible.

2. Steep the Coffee

Measure out your water in the mason jar. Then, add the coffee grounds and stir them in. Wait around five minutes and stir it again to make sure the coffee grounds are well soaked. Using this method you’ll strain out the coffee grounds when they’re done steeping. However, there is another way.

Instead of putting the ground coffee directly into the water, you can make a sort of coffee “pod” instead. Fold your cheesecloth to make a 4-layer piece. Pour the coffee grounds into the cheesecloth and tie it with a kitchen string to create your pod. Immerse the pod into the water and knead it gently to soak the beans. You may have to steep a little longer, but when it’s done you’ll just have to remove the pod to finish the process.

You can refrigerate your cold brew or leave it at room temperature. Let it steep covered for about 12 hours, but no more than 18 hours.

PRO TIP: You can also use a French press or a Toddy cold brew system. Prepare the coffee in a French press instead of a jar for easy cleanup. Use the same coffee to water ratio. The Toddy makes it really easy to prepare cold brew coffee without much work.

3. Strain Your Cold Brew

After it’s done steeping, unless you used the coffee pod method, you’ll have to strain the coffee grounds. Put your coffee filter into a fine strainer and filter the mixture through it into a mug or jar you can store later. You can also use some cheesecloth instead of the coffee filter. The cold brew coffee concentrate should be entirely free of any remaining grounds.

You may have to repeat the process once or twice to make sure all the grounds are strained out. If you can’t get them all out, grind coarser the next time.

PRO TIP: If you have a pour-over coffee maker such as Chemex or a drip coffee maker, they’re perfect for this application. Instead of a strainer with a filter, you can use the pour-over dripper. It’s easier than setting up a strainer and it’s ready to store when you finish straining.

4. Enjoy!

The resulting cold brew concentrate will be a little too strong to drink straight. Put some ice in a glass and fill it about halfway with water or milk. Then fill the rest with the cold brew concentrate. Add sugar or another sweetener to taste. You can use more or less water, depending on your preference. You should aim to finish it off as soon as you can but you can also keep it refrigerated for up to two weeks.

PRO TIP: If you don’t want to dilute the flavor as your ice melts, make coffee ice cubes. Use the same recipe for cold brew coffee and freeze it into cubes for your iced coffee and cold brew.

Final Thoughts

Making cold brew coffee is about as easy as it gets, and it’s relatively inexpensive to do at home. The reason it’s pricey when you buy it in stores is the long time it takes to steep. But that’s not a concern if you’re making it yourself.

All it really takes is coarse ground beans, purified water, and a container. Oh, and a tiny bit of elbow grease. The recipe is pretty forgiving, but you want to stick to between 1:5 and 1:8 parts coffee to parts water ratio. The steep time can vary without a huge impact on the flavor, so steeping it overnight is a very convenient way to do it.

BONUS PRO TIP: If you want the taste of cold brew in a hot cup of coffee, mix room temperature cold brew concentrate with boiling water. The flavors will remain intact and you’ll have a hot cup of silky smooth coffee.

FAQs

Whether cold brew coffee is stronger than regular coffee depends on what you mean by stronger. Cold brew coffee is concentrated because it’s meant to be diluted, then served over ice or otherwise cold. So, when brewed, it’s definitely a little stronger-tasting and has a higher concentration of caffeine. When diluted and served, it’s sweeter and milder than other brewing methods.

You dilute cold brew coffee with water or milk, as well as milk substitutes and alternatives. Milk will give it more of a latte kind of taste and feel. Some people also use cream or gluten-free creamers which soften the flavor even further. The amount of dilution will depend on how concentrated the cold brew is, but most cold brew recipes work best in a 1 to 1 dilution.

Yes, cold brew coffee can steep for too long, but it’s very hard to pull off. If you’re getting over-extracted cold brew coffee, it’s more likely a problem with the size of the grind. Small grinds aren’t ideal for cold brew. That being said, steeping for over 24 hours does start to extract some of the less pleasant flavors. It also depends on the bean type and roast. Anywhere within 12-18 hours should generally be fine.

References
  1. Jui, T. (2019, March 14). Cold Brew Coffee Concentrate – How to Make at Home. Retrieved from https://www.theworktop.com/breakfast-brunch-recipes/cold-brew-coffee-concentrate-how-to-make/
  2. Handground Team (2018, August 05). The Beginner’s Guide to Immersion Cold Brew Coffee. Retrieved from https://handground.com/grind/beginners-guide-immersion-cold-brew-coffee
  3. Kalmus, S. (2019, January). Tannins and Acids in Coffee. Retrieved from https://healthfully.com/455484-tannins-and-acids-in-coffee.html
  4. How Much Energy Does It Take To Brew Your Office Coffee? (n.d.). Retrieved from https://business.directenergy.com/blog/2017/september/international-coffee-day

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap