Coffeeble يدعم القارئ. عندما تشتري عبر الروابط الموجودة على موقعنا ، فقد نربح عمولة تابعة دون أي تكلفة عليك. يتعلم أكثر

كيفية تحقيق ملف معايير SCA Golden Cup Coffee

أنشأ متخصصو القهوة مجموعة معايير جمعية القهوة المتخصصة (SCA) من خلال الاختبارات العلمية. توفر قواعدهم وسيلة قابلة للقياس الكمي لإنتاج وإعادة إنتاج فنجان القهوة المثالي. من الفاصوليا الخضراء ، خلال عملية التخمير الكاملة ، يتم استخدام فنجان القهوة الذهبي من هيئة الأوراق المالية والسلع معايير تضمن لك الحصول على أفضل أنواع القهوة التي تقدمها.

تابع القراءة لمعرفة كيفية تطبيق هذه المعايير في عملية تخمير القهوة. شاهد كيف يمكنك الاستمتاع بالقهوة القياسية الذهبية في المنزل.

ما هي معايير هيئة الأوراق المالية والسلع؟

وضعت لجنة المعايير بهيئة الأوراق المالية والسلع معايير مدعومة علميًا لأربعة معايير. تسمح المعايير لخبراء الصناعة والمقاهي وعشاق المنزل بالحصول على مقاييس كمية لجودة القهوة. متطلباتهم هي الفاصوليا الخضراء ، وعملية تذوق القهوة ، والمعروفة باسم الحجامة ، والمياه المستخدمة في التخمير ، وطريقة التخمير نفسها (1).

معايير القهوة الخضراء

يقوم خبراء القهوة بتصنيف حبوب البن الخضراء وفقًا لعدد العيوب ونشاطها المائي. تحدد SCA أيضًا نوع السطح والإضاءة وحجم العينة الذي يجب على المرء عند تحليل عينة من القهوة الخضراء. أولا القهوة التخصص، يجب ألا تحتوي عينة الفاصوليا الخضراء على أكثر من عيب واحد من الفئة 1. هذا هو الكرز المجفف أو مادة غريبة. ثانيًا ، لا يمكن أن تحتوي على أكثر من خمسة عيوب من الفئة 2. هذه أشياء مثل الفاصوليا المكسورة أو المقطعة. 

يجب أن تحتوي أفضل قهوة أيضًا على قياس نشاط مائي لا يزيد عن 0.70 أوقية. نشاط الماء هو قياس مشابه لمحتوى الرطوبة. ومع ذلك ، فإنه يوفر حسابًا أكثر دقة للمياه الموجودة داخل المادة الغذائية. عندما يتعلق الأمر بحبوب البن الخضراء ، فإن المحتوى المائي العالي يجعل الحبوب أكثر عرضة للتلف. كما أنها ترفع سعرها بشكل مصطنع عن طريق إضافة الوزن الذي سيتبخر أثناء التحميص.

معايير الحجامة

القهوة بالحجامة هي في الغالب مجرد تذوق القهوة. الفرق الرئيسي هو تذوقها بطريقة موصوفة ومدروسة ، مثل نسخة محبي القهوة من تذوق النبيذ. هناك طرق عديدة لتحجيم القهوة. ومع ذلك ، وفقًا للخبراء ، فإن معايير SCA هي إصدار عالي المستوى بشكل خاص (2). تملي SCA العديد من المعايير لعمل القهوة بالحجامة. وتتراوح هذه من الواضح إلى الباطني. على سبيل المثال ، وزن القهوة المخمرة أو حجم ملعقة التحريك. 

الأهم من ذلك ، يجب على المختبرين تحضير القهوة باستخدام 8.25 جم من حبوب البن الكاملة لكل 150 مل من الماء. يجب أن يكون الماء عند درجة حرارة 200 ℉ وأن يفي بمعايير المياه SCA. بعد ذلك ، يجب تقديم القهوة في وعاء زجاجي أو خزفي يتسع من 7 إلى 9 أونصات ويبلغ قطرها العلوي بين 3 و 3.5 بوصات. تتضمن القواعد الأخرى أشياء مثل حجم الطحن ، وظلام الشواء ، أو حتى نوع طاولة الحجامة.

معايير المياه

القهوة في الغالب ماء. على الرغم من أن مصانع الجعة المنزلية غالبًا ما تتجاهل هذا العامل ، فمن المنطقي أن المياه المستخدمة في التخمير لها تأثير كبير على جودة فنجان القهوة. تستهدف معايير المياه الصادرة عن هيئة الأوراق المالية والسلع صلابة المياه ، والرائحة ، واللون ، والقلوية ، والحموضة. لتكون قادرًا على تلبية المعايير ، يجب أن يكون الماء خاليًا من الألوان والرائحة ولا يحتوي على الكلور. يجب أن يكون أيضًا قريبًا من الحياد ، مع درجة حموضة 7.0.

إذا كانت المياه شديدة القلوية أو الحمضية ، فقد تؤثر على الاستخلاص والنكهة في الكوب.

والمثير للدهشة أن القليل من الصلابة أفضل لمياه تخمير القهوة. وبالتالي ، لا توصي المعايير بالماء المقطر أو المخفف. هذه التوصية مهمة ، على الرغم من أن الماء المقطر يمنع تراكم الترسبات داخل آلة القهوة الخاصة بك. تتفاعل المعادن مع القهوة لتمنحها قوامًا أكثر دسمًا وإحساسًا بالفم (3).

معايير التخمير

تتمتع SCA بمعايير تخمير محددة جدًا والتي تحدد قوة التحضير المثالية. يُعرف هذا النموذج المثالي بمعيار الكأس الذهبية ، وينص على (4):

يجب أن تُظهر القهوة مقاومة تخمير ، مقاسة في إجمالي المواد الصلبة الذائبة ، من 11.5 إلى 13.5 جرامًا لكل لتر ، بما يعادل 1.15 إلى 1.35 بالمائة على مخطط التحكم في التخمير في هيئة الأوراق المالية والسلع ، الناتجة عن استخلاص قابل للذوبان بنسبة 18 إلى 22 بالمائة.

معايير الكأس الذهبية SCA

لكن ماذا يعني ذلك من الناحية العملية؟ دعنا نتعمق أكثر في القسم التالي.

ما هو معيار الكأس الذهبية؟

معيار الكأس الذهبي هو تعريف هيئة الأوراق المالية والسلع للمشروب المثالي. يوضح هذا النموذج بشكل أساسي قوة التحضير المثلى باستخدام إجمالي المواد الصلبة الذائبة كمقياس كمي. تسعى كل من المقاهي ومصنعي ماكينات القهوة إلى تلبية هذا المبدأ التوجيهي ، و ماكينات صنع القهوة المعتمدة من SCAA مضمونة لتحقيق ذلك.

كوبان من لاتيه يفي بمعايير SCA Golden Cup Coffee

للوفاء بالمعيار ، فإن النسبة المطلوبة من القهوة إلى الماء هي 55 جم لكل لتر. يجب أن تكون درجة حرارة الماء 200 ℉. يحتاج صانع القهوة الذي يتطلع إلى تلبية هذا المعيار إلى الحفاظ على وقت محدد للتلامس بين الماء والقهوة. هذا ، مرة أخرى ، يعتمد على الطحن: من 1 إلى 4 دقائق لطحن ناعم ، 4 إلى 6 دقائق للطحن بالتنقيط ، أو 6 إلى 8 دقائق للطحن الخشن. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يجب أن يسبب الاضطراب مثل خلط القهوة والماء لاستخراج منتظم. أخيرًا ، يجب أن يكون للفلتر تأثير ضئيل على نكهة وجسم القهوة مع الحد من الرواسب في الكوب.

بروتوكول الحجامة من SCAA

عند تذوق القهوة لتحديد هذه المعايير ، يتبع المختبرون بروتوكولًا معينًا للحجامة. الأهم من ذلك ، أن البروتوكول يفي أيضًا بمعايير الحجامة التي تمت مناقشتها أعلاه. للبدء ، يجب أن تكون الغرفة التي تقام فيها مضاءة جيدًا وخالية من الروائح والمشاهد والأصوات المشتتة للانتباه.

عند الحجامة ، من الضروري أن تكون قادرًا على تركيز كل حواس الفرد على المهمة التي يقوم بها.

يجب أن تكون القهوة المختبرة قد تم تحميصها في غضون 24 ساعة من تذوقها وطحنها قبل مدة لا تزيد عن 15 دقيقة. يقوم الفاحص بعد ذلك بوضع البن المطحون في أوعية الحجامة ويصب الماء الساخن فوقه مباشرة. تُترك الحبيبات لتنقع لمدة 3 إلى 5 دقائق. بعد ذلك ، يقوم الخبراء بتقييم القهوة من حيث الرائحة والنكهة والمذاق والحموضة والجسم والتوازن والتوحيد والنظافة والحلاوة والعيوب ، مع جوانب مختلفة تعتبر بمثابة تبريد للقهوة. 

الخطوة الأولى هي فحص القهوة بصريًا ثم تقليبها وتقييم العطر. بعد 8 إلى 10 دقائق من التبريد ، يتم تقليبها ورشفها لاختبار النكهة ، والمذاق ، والتوازن ، والقوام ، والحموضة. أخيرًا ، عندما تقترب القهوة من درجة حرارة الغرفة ، يتم تسجيل التوحيد والنظافة والحلاوة. يستخدم Cuppers ملف عجلة نكهة متذوق القهوة لتحديد الأذواق والروائح بدقة. يتوقف التقييم عندما تصل القهوة إلى 70.

الأفكار النهائية

إن فهم معايير SCA هو الخطوة الأولى للارتقاء بتقدير قهوتك إلى مستوى أعلى. في الواقع ، بعض القواعد أسهل في التنفيذ في المنزل من غيرها. تقدم هذه المقالة نصائح عملية لجعل قهوتك من جيدة إلى رائعة ، إلى المعيار الذهبي. ابدأ على نطاق ضيق ، من خلال إتقان درجة حرارة الماء المثالية ، أو وقت التخمير المثالي. أتقن هذا وستتمكن من تخمير جافا أفضل في لمح البصر!

مراجع
  1. Coffee Standards. (2018). Retrieved from https://static1.squarespace.com/static/584f6bbef5e23149e5522201/t/5d936fa1e29d4d5342049d74/1569943487417/Coffee+Standards-compressed.pdf
  2. تورير ، سبنسر. (2019 ، 10 سبتمبر). تعقيد الحجامة: ضمان الدقة والمصداقية من خلال المحاذاة والمعايرة. تم الاسترجاع من https://dailycoffeenews.com/2019/09/10/the-complexity-of-cupping-ensuring-accuracy-and-credibility-through-alignment-and-calibration/
  3. المعادن الذائبة في الماء وتأثيرها على القهوة. (اختصار الثاني). تم الاسترجاع من http://grindscience.com/2016/03/dissolved-minerals-in-water-and-their-effect-on-coffee/
  4. رابطة القهوة المتخصصة الأمريكية. (2015 ، 23 ديسمبر). معيار SCAA | الكأس الذهبية. مأخوذ من https://www.scaa.org/PDF/resources/golden-cup-standard.pdf

اترك تعليق

يستخدم هذا الموقع نظام Akismet لتقليل الرسائل الضارة. تعرف كيف تتم معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

شارك عبر
انسخ الرابط

Coffeeble is reader-supported. When you buy via the links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission at no cost to you. Learn more.

How to Achieve the SCA Golden Cup Coffee Standards

Coffee professionals established the Specialty Coffee Association’s (SCA) set of standards through scientific testing. Their rules provide a quantifiable means of producing and reproducing the perfect cup of coffee. From the green beans, through the complete brewing process, employing the SCA’s Golden Cup coffee criteria ensures you’re capturing the best coffee has to offer.

Read on to learn how these standards can be applied in your coffee brewing. See how you can enjoy gold standard coffee at home.

What are the SCA standards?

The SCA’s Standards Committee has established science-backed benchmarks for four criteria. The criteria allow industry experts, coffee shops, and home enthusiasts to have quantifiable measures of a coffee’s quality. Their requirements are the green beans, the process of coffee tasting, known as cupping, the water used for brewing, and the brewing method itself (1).

Green Coffee Standards

Coffee experts grade green coffee beans according to their number of defects and their water activity. The SCA also mandates the type of surface, lighting, and sample size that one must when analyzing a sample of green coffee. Firstly, for specialty coffee, a sample of green beans must have no more than one category 1 defect. Such is a dried cherry or foreign material. Secondly, it can have no more than five category 2 defects. These are things like broken or chipped beans. 

The best coffee must also have a water activity measurement of no more than 0.70 aw. Water activity is a measurement similar to moisture content. However, it offers an even more precise accounting of the water present within a foodstuff. When it comes to green coffee beans, high water content makes the beans more prone to spoilage. It also artificially elevates their price by adding weight that will evaporate during roasting.

Cupping Standards

Cupping coffee is mostly just tasting coffee. The main difference is tasting it in a prescribed and mindful way, like a coffee lover’s version of wine tasting. There are many ways of cupping coffee. Still, according to experts, the SCA standards are a particularly high-level version (2). The SCA dictates many standards for cupping coffee. These range from the obvious to the more esoteric. For example, the weight of brewing coffee or the size of the stirring spoon. 

Most importantly, the testers must brew coffee using 8.25 g of whole bean coffee per 150 mL of water. The water should be at a temperature of 200 ℉ and meet SCA water standards. The coffee then must be served in a glass or ceramic vessel that holds 7 to 9 ounces and has a top diameter between 3 and 3.5 inches. Other rules include things like the grind size, the darkness of the roast, or even the cupping table type.

Water Standards

Coffee is mostly water. Although home brewers often ignore this factor, it does make sense that the water used in brewing has a significant impact on the quality of a cup of coffee. The SCA water standards target water hardness, odor, color, alkalinity, and acidity. To be able to meet the standards, the water must be color and odor-free and contain no chlorine. It should also be close to neutral, with a pH of 7.0.

If the water is too alkaline or acidic, it can affect both extraction and flavor in the cup.

Surprisingly, a little bit of hardness is better for coffee brewing water. Thus, the standards don’t recommend softened or distilled water. This recommendation is crucial, despite distilled water preventing a scale build-up inside your coffee machine. The minerals interact with the coffee to give it a creamier body and enhanced mouthfeel (3).

Brewing Standards

The SCA has a very specific brewing standard that dictates the ideal brew strength. This ideal is known as the Golden Cup standard, and it states (4):

Coffee shall exhibit a brew strength, measured in Total Dissolved Solids, of 11.5 to 13.5 grams per liter, corresponding to 1.15 to 1.35 percent on the SCA Brewing Control Chart, resulting from a solubles extraction yield of 18 to 22 percent.

But what does that mean in practical terms? Let’s dig deeper into the next section.

What is the Golden Cup standard?

The Golden Cup standard is the SCA’s definition of an ideal brew. This ideal fundamentally clarifies the optimal brew strength using total dissolved solids as a quantifiable measure. Coffee shops and coffee machine manufacturers both strive to meet this guideline, and SCAA-certified coffee makers are guaranteed to achieve it.

two cups of latte that meet the SCA Golden Cup Coffee Standards

To meet the standard, the required ratio of coffee to water is 55 g per liter. The water temperature must be 200 ℉. A coffee maker that is looking to meet this standard needs to maintain a specific water-coffee contact time. This, again, depends on the grind: 1 to 4 minutes for a fine grind, 4 to 6 minutes for a drip grind, or 6 to 8 minutes for a coarse grind. Additionally, it must provide turbulence such that there is even mixing of coffee and water for uniform extraction. Finally, the filter must minimally affect the flavor and body of the coffee while limiting sediment in the cup.

SCAA’s Cupping Protocol

When tasting coffee to establish these standards, the testers follow a particular cupping protocol. Importantly, the protocol also meets the cupping standards discussed above. To start, the room in which it takes place must be well lit and free from distracting odors, sights, and sounds.

When cupping, it is essential to be able to entirely focus all of one’s senses upon the task at hand.

The tested coffee must have been roasted within 24 hours of the tasting and ground not more than 15 minutes before. The examiner then places ground coffee in the cupping vessels and pours the hot water directly on top. The grounds are left to steep for 3 to 5 minutes. Afterward, the experts evaluate coffee for fragrance, flavor, aftertaste, acidity, body, balance, uniformity, clean cup, sweetness, and defects, with different aspects considered as the coffee cools. 

The first step is to visually inspect the coffee and then stir it and evaluate the fragrance. After 8 to 10 minutes of cooling, it is slurped and sipped to test for flavor, aftertaste, balance, body, and acidity. Finally, as the coffee approaches room temperature, the uniformity, clean cup, and sweetness are scored. Cuppers use the coffee taster’s flavor wheel to define tastes and aromas accurately. Evaluation ceases as the coffee reaches 70 ℉.

Final thoughts

Understanding the SCA’s standards is the first step to taking your coffee appreciation to a higher level. Indeed, some rules are easier to implement at home than others. This article offers actionable advice to make your coffee from good to great, to the gold standard. Start small, by mastering the perfect water temperature, or the ideal brewing time. Master this and you’ll be brewing better java in no time!

References
  1. Coffee Standards. (2018). Retrieved from https://static1.squarespace.com/static/584f6bbef5e23149e5522201/t/5d936fa1e29d4d5342049d74/1569943487417/Coffee+Standards-compressed.pdf
  2. Turer, Spencer. (2019, September 10). The Complexity of Cupping: Ensuring Accuracy and Credibility Through Alignment and Calibration. Retrieved from https://dailycoffeenews.com/2019/09/10/the-complexity-of-cupping-ensuring-accuracy-and-credibility-through-alignment-and-calibration/
  3. Dissolved Minerals in Water and Their Effect on Coffee. (n.d.). Retrieved from http://grindscience.com/2016/03/dissolved-minerals-in-water-and-their-effect-on-coffee/
  4. Specialty Coffee Association of America. (2015, December 23). SCAA Standard | Golden Cup. Retrieved from https://www.scaa.org/PDF/resources/golden-cup-standard.pdf
Golden Cup Coffee (How You Can Achieve the SCA's Standards)

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap