Coffeeble 受读者支持。 当您通过我们网站上的链接购买时,我们可能会免费为您赚取会员佣金。 了解更多

如何实现 SCA金杯咖啡标准品

咖啡专业人士通过科学测试建立了精品咖啡协会 (SCA) 的一套标准。 他们的规则提供了一种可量化的方式来生产和复制一杯完美的咖啡。 从青豆,到完整的酿造过程,采用 SCA的金杯咖啡 标准确保您捕捉到最好的咖啡。

继续阅读以了解如何将这些标准应用到您的咖啡冲泡中。 了解如何在家享用黄金标准咖啡。

SCA 标准是什么?

SCA 的标准委员会为四个标准建立了有科学依据的基准。 该标准允许行业专家、咖啡店和家庭爱好者对咖啡的质量进行量化测量。 他们的要求是生豆、咖啡品尝过程(称为拔罐)、冲泡用水以及冲泡方法本身(1).

生咖啡标准

咖啡专家根据生咖啡豆的缺陷数量和水分活度对其进行分级。 SCA 还规定了分析生咖啡样品时必须使用的表面类型、照明和样品大小。 首先,对于 特色咖啡, 生豆样品不得超过一个 1 类缺陷。 这是干樱桃或异物。 其次,它可以有不超过五个第 2 类缺陷。 这些是破碎或碎豆之类的东西。 

最好的咖啡还必须具有不超过 0.70 aw 的水分活度测量值。 水分活度是一种类似于水分含量的测量方法。 然而,它提供了对食品中存在的水的更精确的计算。 当谈到生咖啡豆时,高含水量会使豆子更容易变质。 它还通过增加在烘烤过程中蒸发的重量人为地抬高了它们的价格。

拔罐标准

杯测咖啡大多只是品尝咖啡。 主要区别在于以规定和注意的方式品尝它,就像咖啡爱好者的品酒版本一样。 杯测咖啡的方法有很多种。 尽管如此,根据专家的说法,SCA 标准是一个特别高级的版本(2)。 SCA 规定了许多杯测咖啡的标准。 这些范围从显而易见的到更深奥的。 例如冲泡咖啡的重量或搅拌勺的大小。 

最重要的是,测试人员必须在每 8.25 毫升水中使用 150 克全豆咖啡来冲泡咖啡。 水的温度应为 200 ℉ 并符合 SCA 水标准。 然后,咖啡必须装在玻璃或陶瓷容器中,容器容量为 7 到 9 盎司,顶部直径在 3 到 3.5 英寸之间。 其他规则包括研磨大小、烘烤的深度,甚至是杯测台类型。

水质标准

咖啡主要是水。 尽管家庭酿酒师经常忽略这个因素,但冲泡时使用的水对一杯咖啡的质量有重大影响是有道理的。 SCA 水标准针对水的硬度、气味、颜色、碱度和酸度。 为了能够达到标准,水必须无色无味且不含氯。 它也应该接近中性,pH 值为 7.0。

如果水太碱性或太酸性,它会影响杯子的萃取和风味。

令人惊讶的是,咖啡冲泡水的硬度更好。 因此,标准不推荐软化水或蒸馏水。 尽管蒸馏水可以防止咖啡机内部结垢,但此建议至关重要。 矿物质与咖啡相互作用,赋予咖啡更柔滑的口感和更好的口感(3).

酿造标准

SCA 有一个非常具体的冲泡标准,规定了理想的冲泡强度。 这个理想被称为金杯标准,它指出(4):

咖啡的冲泡强度(以总溶解固体计)为 11.5 至 13.5 克/升,对应于 SCA 冲泡控制图上的 1.15% 至 1.35%,由 18% 至 22% 的可溶物提取率产生。

SCA金杯标准

但这实际上意味着什么? 让我们深入研究下一节。

金杯的标准是什么?

金杯标准是 SCA 对理想啤酒的定义。 这个理想从根本上阐明了使用总溶解固体作为可量化的衡量标准的最佳冲泡强度。 咖啡店和咖啡机制造商都努力满足这一准则,并且 SCAA 认证的咖啡机 保证能够实现。

两杯符合 SCA 金杯咖啡标准的拿铁

为达到标准,咖啡与水的所需比例为每升 55 克。 水温必须为 200 ℉。 希望满足此标准的咖啡机需要保持特定的水咖啡接触时间。 这同样取决于研磨:细研磨 1 到 4 分钟,滴磨 4 到 6 分钟,粗研磨 6 到 8 分钟。 此外,它必须提供湍流,以使咖啡和水均匀混合,以实现均匀萃取。 最后,过滤器必须尽量减少咖啡的风味和醇厚,同时限制杯中的沉淀物。

SCAA 的杯测协议

在品尝咖啡以建立这些标准时,测试人员遵循特定的杯测协议。 重要的是,该协议还符合上面讨论的杯测标准。 首先,它发生的房间必须光线充足,并且没有令人分心的气味、景象和声音。

拔罐时,必须能够将所有感官完全集中在手头的任务上。

测试的咖啡必须在品尝后 24 小时内烘烤,并在不超过 15 分钟前磨碎。 然后,考官将磨碎的咖啡放入杯具中,并将热水直接倒在上面。 让地面陡峭 3 到 5 分钟。 之后,专家们对咖啡的香味、风味、余味、酸度、醇厚、平衡、均匀度、干净的杯子、甜度和缺陷进行评估,从咖啡冷却的不同方面考虑。 

第一步是目视检查咖啡,然后搅拌并评估香味。 冷却 8 到 10 分钟后,将其啜饮并啜饮,以测试风味、余味、平衡、酒体和酸度。 最后,随着咖啡接近室温,对均匀度、干净的杯子和甜度进行评分。 Cuppers 使用 咖啡品尝者的风味轮 准确定义味道和香气。 随着咖啡达到 70 ℉,评估停止。

最后的思考

了解 SCA 的标准是将您的咖啡鉴赏提升到更高水平的第一步。 事实上,有些规则比其他规则更容易在国内实施。 本文提供了可行的建议,让您的咖啡从好到好,达到黄金标准。 从小处着手,掌握完美的水温或理想的冲泡时间。 掌握这一点,您将立即酿造出更好的 Java!

參考資料
  1. Coffee Standards. (2018). Retrieved from https://static1.squarespace.com/static/584f6bbef5e23149e5522201/t/5d936fa1e29d4d5342049d74/1569943487417/Coffee+Standards-compressed.pdf
  2. 图勒,斯宾塞。 (2019 年 10 月 2019 日)。 拔罐的复杂性:通过校准和校准确保准确性和可信度。 取自 https://dailycoffeenews.com/09/10/XNUMX/the-complexity-of-cupping-ensuring-accuracy-and-credibility-through-alignment-and-calibration/
  3. 水中溶解的矿物质及其对咖啡的影响。 (nd)。 取自 http://grindscience.com/2016/03/dissolved-minerals-in-water-and-their-effect-on-coffee/
  4. 美国精品咖啡协会。 (2015 年 23 月 XNUMX 日)。 SCAA 标准 | 金杯。 取自 https://www.scaa.org/PDF/resources/golden-cup-standard.pdf

发表评论

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

通过分享
复制链接
版权所有 社交快照

Coffeeble is reader-supported. When you buy via the links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission at no cost to you. Learn more.

How to Achieve the SCA Golden Cup Coffee Standards

Coffee professionals established the Specialty Coffee Association’s (SCA) set of standards through scientific testing. Their rules provide a quantifiable means of producing and reproducing the perfect cup of coffee. From the green beans, through the complete brewing process, employing the SCA’s Golden Cup coffee criteria ensures you’re capturing the best coffee has to offer.

Read on to learn how these standards can be applied in your coffee brewing. See how you can enjoy gold standard coffee at home.

What are the SCA standards?

The SCA’s Standards Committee has established science-backed benchmarks for four criteria. The criteria allow industry experts, coffee shops, and home enthusiasts to have quantifiable measures of a coffee’s quality. Their requirements are the green beans, the process of coffee tasting, known as cupping, the water used for brewing, and the brewing method itself (1).

Green Coffee Standards

Coffee experts grade green coffee beans according to their number of defects and their water activity. The SCA also mandates the type of surface, lighting, and sample size that one must when analyzing a sample of green coffee. Firstly, for specialty coffee, a sample of green beans must have no more than one category 1 defect. Such is a dried cherry or foreign material. Secondly, it can have no more than five category 2 defects. These are things like broken or chipped beans. 

The best coffee must also have a water activity measurement of no more than 0.70 aw. Water activity is a measurement similar to moisture content. However, it offers an even more precise accounting of the water present within a foodstuff. When it comes to green coffee beans, high water content makes the beans more prone to spoilage. It also artificially elevates their price by adding weight that will evaporate during roasting.

Cupping Standards

Cupping coffee is mostly just tasting coffee. The main difference is tasting it in a prescribed and mindful way, like a coffee lover’s version of wine tasting. There are many ways of cupping coffee. Still, according to experts, the SCA standards are a particularly high-level version (2). The SCA dictates many standards for cupping coffee. These range from the obvious to the more esoteric. For example, the weight of brewing coffee or the size of the stirring spoon. 

Most importantly, the testers must brew coffee using 8.25 g of whole bean coffee per 150 mL of water. The water should be at a temperature of 200 ℉ and meet SCA water standards. The coffee then must be served in a glass or ceramic vessel that holds 7 to 9 ounces and has a top diameter between 3 and 3.5 inches. Other rules include things like the grind size, the darkness of the roast, or even the cupping table type.

Water Standards

Coffee is mostly water. Although home brewers often ignore this factor, it does make sense that the water used in brewing has a significant impact on the quality of a cup of coffee. The SCA water standards target water hardness, odor, color, alkalinity, and acidity. To be able to meet the standards, the water must be color and odor-free and contain no chlorine. It should also be close to neutral, with a pH of 7.0.

If the water is too alkaline or acidic, it can affect both extraction and flavor in the cup.

Surprisingly, a little bit of hardness is better for coffee brewing water. Thus, the standards don’t recommend softened or distilled water. This recommendation is crucial, despite distilled water preventing a scale build-up inside your coffee machine. The minerals interact with the coffee to give it a creamier body and enhanced mouthfeel (3).

Brewing Standards

The SCA has a very specific brewing standard that dictates the ideal brew strength. This ideal is known as the Golden Cup standard, and it states (4):

Coffee shall exhibit a brew strength, measured in Total Dissolved Solids, of 11.5 to 13.5 grams per liter, corresponding to 1.15 to 1.35 percent on the SCA Brewing Control Chart, resulting from a solubles extraction yield of 18 to 22 percent.

But what does that mean in practical terms? Let’s dig deeper into the next section.

What is the Golden Cup standard?

The Golden Cup standard is the SCA’s definition of an ideal brew. This ideal fundamentally clarifies the optimal brew strength using total dissolved solids as a quantifiable measure. Coffee shops and coffee machine manufacturers both strive to meet this guideline, and SCAA-certified coffee makers are guaranteed to achieve it.

two cups of latte that meet the SCA Golden Cup Coffee Standards

To meet the standard, the required ratio of coffee to water is 55 g per liter. The water temperature must be 200 ℉. A coffee maker that is looking to meet this standard needs to maintain a specific water-coffee contact time. This, again, depends on the grind: 1 to 4 minutes for a fine grind, 4 to 6 minutes for a drip grind, or 6 to 8 minutes for a coarse grind. Additionally, it must provide turbulence such that there is even mixing of coffee and water for uniform extraction. Finally, the filter must minimally affect the flavor and body of the coffee while limiting sediment in the cup.

SCAA’s Cupping Protocol

When tasting coffee to establish these standards, the testers follow a particular cupping protocol. Importantly, the protocol also meets the cupping standards discussed above. To start, the room in which it takes place must be well lit and free from distracting odors, sights, and sounds.

When cupping, it is essential to be able to entirely focus all of one’s senses upon the task at hand.

The tested coffee must have been roasted within 24 hours of the tasting and ground not more than 15 minutes before. The examiner then places ground coffee in the cupping vessels and pours the hot water directly on top. The grounds are left to steep for 3 to 5 minutes. Afterward, the experts evaluate coffee for fragrance, flavor, aftertaste, acidity, body, balance, uniformity, clean cup, sweetness, and defects, with different aspects considered as the coffee cools. 

The first step is to visually inspect the coffee and then stir it and evaluate the fragrance. After 8 to 10 minutes of cooling, it is slurped and sipped to test for flavor, aftertaste, balance, body, and acidity. Finally, as the coffee approaches room temperature, the uniformity, clean cup, and sweetness are scored. Cuppers use the coffee taster’s flavor wheel to define tastes and aromas accurately. Evaluation ceases as the coffee reaches 70 ℉.

Final thoughts

Understanding the SCA’s standards is the first step to taking your coffee appreciation to a higher level. Indeed, some rules are easier to implement at home than others. This article offers actionable advice to make your coffee from good to great, to the gold standard. Start small, by mastering the perfect water temperature, or the ideal brewing time. Master this and you’ll be brewing better java in no time!

References
  1. Coffee Standards. (2018). Retrieved from https://static1.squarespace.com/static/584f6bbef5e23149e5522201/t/5d936fa1e29d4d5342049d74/1569943487417/Coffee+Standards-compressed.pdf
  2. Turer, Spencer. (2019, September 10). The Complexity of Cupping: Ensuring Accuracy and Credibility Through Alignment and Calibration. Retrieved from https://dailycoffeenews.com/2019/09/10/the-complexity-of-cupping-ensuring-accuracy-and-credibility-through-alignment-and-calibration/
  3. Dissolved Minerals in Water and Their Effect on Coffee. (n.d.). Retrieved from http://grindscience.com/2016/03/dissolved-minerals-in-water-and-their-effect-on-coffee/
  4. Specialty Coffee Association of America. (2015, December 23). SCAA Standard | Golden Cup. Retrieved from https://www.scaa.org/PDF/resources/golden-cup-standard.pdf
Golden Cup Coffee (How You Can Achieve the SCA's Standards)

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap