Coffeeble 受读者支持。 当您通过我们网站上的链接购买时,我们可能会免费为您赚取会员佣金。 了解更多

最佳肯尼亚咖啡豆:事实+值得购买的大品牌

当谈到世界上最好的咖啡种植区时,肯尼亚必须在名单上。 与大型出口商相比,它只生产少量的咖啡。 然而,鉴赏家高度推崇它的产品!

如果您对这些咖啡豆为何享有如此高的声誉感到好奇,我们汇总了一些关于该国及其咖啡的最重要的信息。 继续阅读以了解如何选择顶级肯尼亚豆类。

乍看上去:

2022 年最佳肯尼亚咖啡品牌

对于喝咖啡的人来说,好消息是肯尼亚收获的大部分咖啡都是为出口而生产的。 因此,尽管豆子的质量使它们备受追捧,但它们也很容易获得。 您甚至可以在当地的星巴克找到肯尼亚混合饮品。 但如果你想知道为什么据说肯尼亚生产一些 世界上最好的咖啡豆,试试这些选定的品牌之一。

1. 屏幕 18 肯尼亚 AA 单一来源咖啡

“Screen-18-Kenyan-Premium-Crafted”

产品参数

  • 豆类:阿拉比卡

  • 最适合:法国媒体
  • 磨碎或整粒:整豆

该品牌得名于用于按大小对咖啡豆进行分类的分级屏幕。 他们从世界各地采购适合这个等级的豆子,包括 哥斯达黎加 和埃塞俄比亚。 这个屏幕尺寸相当于肯尼亚 AA 级咖啡,所以这正是我们在这里找到的。 肯尼亚豆通常是轻度或中度烘焙,但这些都经过了中度深度烘焙。 然而,您仍然会发现肯尼亚咖啡豆以葡萄酒般的酸度而闻名,以及浓郁的水果风味。 作为更广泛的 Colonial Coffee 公司的一部分,Screen 18 致力于通过为所有咖啡豆支付高价来改善咖啡农的生活。

2. Volcanica 肯尼亚 Peaberry

产品参数

  • 豆类:阿拉比卡、豌豆

  • 最适合:爱乐压
  • 地面或整体:地面和整体

Volcanica 长期以来一直是我们最喜欢的咖啡供应商之一。 他们勾选了我们想要的品牌的所有框:合乎道德的采购、有竞争力的价格和一些真正优质的豆子。 他们专注于采购一些世界上最受欢迎的豆类,包括 哥伦比亚咖啡牙买加蓝山咖啡.

他们从位于肯尼亚山西坡的主要咖啡种植区 Nyeri Highlands 采购这些咖啡豆。 这里只有豌豆豆是从农作物中手工挑选出来的,约占总收成的 5%。 Volcanica 的肯尼亚 Peaberry 豆具有与该国咖啡相关的经典风味特征——大胆的黑醋栗味和酒味酸度。 天然甜味增强了豌豆豆闻名的这一点。

3. Fresh Roasted Coffee LLC 肯尼亚 AA Nyeri Ichamara 咖啡

“肯尼亚 - 伊查马拉 - 新鲜 - 烤咖啡”

产品参数

  • 豆类:阿拉比卡

  • 最适合:法国媒体
  • 磨碎或整粒:整豆

与火山豆一样,Fresh Roasted Coffee 的肯尼亚咖啡也产自 Nyeri 地区。 Ichamara 指的是来自特定小区域的工厂,当地咖啡农将他们的作物进行加工。 这些豆子来自几个使用同一磨坊的小型家庭农场。

它是一种混合咖啡豆,其中包含肯尼亚的几种咖啡豆品种:SL28、SL34、Ruiri 11。这些咖啡豆经过肯尼亚风格的湿处理,然后在凸起的床上干燥。 虽然该地区的其他咖啡对水果很重,但这些肯尼亚咖啡豆偏向于花香。 期待尝到像桃花这样的味道,还有一些橙皮形式的柑橘味。

这些特殊的咖啡豆没有经过公平贸易或有机认证,但新鲜烘焙咖啡在非洲做得很好 有机咖啡,包括 埃塞俄比亚咖啡和刚果基伍省。

购买肯尼亚咖啡你需要知道的

如果你有兴趣尝试这种世界级的咖啡,你在哪里看? 从值得信赖的供应商处选择肯尼亚豆是一个好的开始。 但是,如果您想扩展一点,那么用一些关于肯尼亚咖啡为何如此出色的知识来武装自己会很有帮助。

产品展示 详情 按键
屏幕18 屏幕 18 肯尼亚 AA 单一来源咖啡
  • 豆类:阿拉比卡
  • 最适合:法国媒体
  • 地面或整体:整体
亚马逊标志 在亚马逊上查看
肯尼亚_PEABERRY Volcanica 肯尼亚 Peaberry
  • 豆类:阿拉比卡、豌豆
  • 最适合:爱乐压
  • 地面或整体:地面,整体
点击查看价格
Fresh Roasted Coffee LLC 肯尼亚 AA Nyeri Ichamara 咖啡 Fresh Roasted Coffee LLC 肯尼亚 AA Nyeri Ichamara 咖啡
  • 豆类:阿拉比卡
  • 最适合:法国媒体
  • 磨碎或整粒:整豆
亚马逊标志 在亚马逊上看到
屏幕 18 肯尼亚 AA 单一来源咖啡
屏幕18
  • 豆类:阿拉比卡
  • 最适合:法国媒体
  • 地面或整体:整体
Volcanica 肯尼亚 Peaberry
肯尼亚_PEABERRY
  • 豆类:阿拉比卡、豌豆
  • 最适合:爱乐压
  • 地面或整体:地面,整体
Fresh Roasted Coffee LLC 肯尼亚 AA Nyeri Ichamara 咖啡
Fresh Roasted Coffee LLC 肯尼亚 AA Nyeri Ichamara 咖啡
  • 豆类:阿拉比卡
  • 最适合:法国媒体
  • 磨碎或整粒:整豆

肯尼亚的生长条件

像世界上许多伟大的咖啡种植区一样,咖啡豆质量的很大一部分取决于自然环境。 您可以在肯尼亚山和内罗毕之间找到咖啡生产的主要区域。 海拔、丰富的火山土壤和稳定的温度非常适合种植优质咖啡。 将肯尼亚与其他一些种植区区分开来的一件事是缺乏遮荫。 虽然遮荫种植的豆子经常受到追捧,但肯尼亚充足的阳光带来了您在这里可以找到的独特风味。

然而,这不仅仅是地理的祝福。 该国以其高度组织化的合作社系统而闻名,该系统从头到尾为农民提供支持,包括种植、收获、加工和拍卖销售。 自 1930 年代以来一直在运行的政府拍卖有一个透明的定价系统,鼓励农民专注于质量而不是数量(1).

最后是咖啡加工本身。 肯尼亚和其他几个国家一样,使用一种称为双重洗涤处理或双重发酵的方法。 顾名思义,这意味着在干燥之前将豆子进行第二次浸泡和发酵。 这个过程更耗时,当然也会使用更多的水,但会让您的咖啡变得更干净、更清脆(2).

肯尼亚咖啡

成绩是什么意思?

虽然大多数国家对他们的豆子进行分级,但世界范围内没有标准系统。 肯尼亚咖啡豆仅根据大小分级,这是在咖啡豆仍然是绿色的时候,在烘焙之前完成的。 分级通常会决定他们在拍卖会上的价格。

咖啡分级对于杯子质量和确定咖啡价值至关重要,但在行业之外通常不被探索。

汤普森欧文,甜玛丽亚的

在肯尼亚,咖啡等级为 AA、AB、C、PB 和 E。肯尼亚 AA 咖啡豆被认为是最高品质的,相当于 18 号屏幕。 AB 次之,其次是 C 级。 E 和 PB 用于不同类型的豆类。 E 代表象豆,从技术上讲,它是最大的,由两个一起生长的种子组成。 PB 是为豌豆保留的,这是一种遗传缺陷,其中生长一个小咖啡豆,而不是通常发现的两半(3).

肯尼亚咖啡有什么期望

肯尼亚咖啡被广泛认为是世界上最好的咖啡之一。 但这究竟意味着什么? 当你用来谈论味道时,你会听到的最常见的词之一是 多汁

虽然您当然会因地区而异,但大多数肯尼亚咖啡都非常果味。

该国咖啡特有浓郁的黑醋栗味,但您也会尝到柑橘、红浆果的味道,偶尔还会闻到巧克力或坚果味。 由于豆类生长在高海拔地区,它们往往具有较高的酸度。 这是一种明亮的酸度,呈现出柑橘或白葡萄酒的味道。 如果酸度不是你的东西,请查看我们的一些最佳指南 低酸 咖啡。

在将肯尼亚豆变成日常咖啡时,建议使用浸泡法。 法式压榨机、爱乐压机,甚至是冷萃咖啡,都能提供浓郁的酒体,同时让花香和水果的味道散发出来。

这一判决

如果您喜欢一杯 joe 中明亮的果味风味,那么肯尼亚咖啡就在您的小巷里。 这份清单上的任何一种咖啡都会让您对这个国家的咖啡有一个美味的介绍,但我们建议您从 Volcanica Kenyan Peaberry 开始。 肯尼亚咖啡的风味特征不仅非常典型,而且还是以优惠价格获得豌豆豆的机会。

常见问题

肯尼亚咖啡因其高品质而价格昂贵。 劳动密集型种植收割和双洗加工方法增加了成本。

肯尼亚人用一个高大的黄铜水壶在炭炉上煮咖啡。 Kahawa Chungu 包括生姜、豆蔻和肉桂,被认为是一种壮阳药。 尽管这里生产的咖啡质量更高,但大多数人都喝茶。

肯尼亚咖啡主要是阿拉比卡豆,尽管该国确实种植了一些罗布斯塔作物。

参考资料
  1. 肯尼亚。 (nd)。 取自 https://www.coffeehunter.com/coffee-country/kenya/
  2. 干净、清脆和一致:肯尼亚的双重发酵工艺。 (2016 年 14 月 16 日)。 检索于 2021 年 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日,来自 https://www.fivesenses.com.au/blog/clean-crisp-consistent-kenyas-double-ferment-process/
  3. 肯尼亚的咖啡分级系统。 (nd)。 取自 https://mareterracoffee.com/en/blog/coffee-grading-system-in-kenya
复制链接
版权所有 社交快照

Coffeeble is reader-supported. When you buy via the links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission at no cost to you. Learn more.

Kenyan Coffee: Facts + Great Brands to Buy

When speaking about the best coffee-growing regions in the world, Kenya has to be on the list. It only produces a small amount of coffee compared to the big exporters. Yet, the connoisseurs highly revere its produce!

If you’re curious as to why these beans have such a great reputation, we’ve put together some of the most important things to know about the country and its coffee. Read on for how to select the top Kenyan beans.

At A Glance:

The best Kenyan coffees in 2021

The good news for coffee drinkers is that most of the coffee Kenya harvests is produced for export. So although the quality of the beans makes them highly sought-after, they’re also readily available. You’ll even find a Kenyan blend at your local Starbucks. But if you want to know why Kenya is said to produce some of the best coffee beans in the world, try one of these selected brands.

1. Screen 18 Kenyan AA Single Origin Coffee

“Screen-18-Kenyan-Premium-Crafted”

Specifications

  • Bean type: Arabica

  • Best for: French press
  • Ground or whole: Whole bean

The brand gets its name from the grading screen used to sort coffee beans by size. They source beans from all around the world that fit into this grade, including Costa Rica and Ethiopia. This screen size is equivalent to the Kenya AA grade coffee, so that’s exactly what we find here. Kenyan beans are often light or medium roast, but these have been treated with a medium-dark roast. Yet you’ll still find some of the wine-like acidity that Kenya coffee beans are known for, along with deep fruit flavors. As part of the wider Colonial Coffee company, Screen 18 is dedicated to improving the coffee farmers’ lives by paying premium prices for all their coffee beans.

2. Volcanica Kenya Peaberry

Specifications

  • Bean type: Arabica, peaberry

  • Best for: Aeropress
  • Ground or whole: Ground and whole

Volcanica has long been one of our favorite coffee suppliers. They tick all the boxes for what we want in a brand: ethical sourcing, competitive prices, and some truly excellent beans. They focus on sourcing some of the world’s most sought-after beans, including Colombian coffee and Jamaican Blue Mountain coffee.

They sourced these beans from the Nyeri Highlands, a prime coffee growing region on the western slopes of Mt Kenya. Here only the peaberry beans are hand-selected from the crops, around 5% of the total harvest. Volcanica’s Kenyan Peaberry beans have the classic flavor profiles associated with the country’s coffee – bold blackcurrant notes with winy acidity. The natural sweetness enhances this that peaberry beans are known for.

3. Fresh Roasted Coffee LLC Kenya AA Nyeri Ichamara Coffee

“Kenya-Ichamara-Fresh-Roasted-Coffee”

Specifications

  • Bean type: Arabica

  • Best for: French press
  • Ground or whole: Whole bean

As with the Volcanica beans, Fresh Roasted Coffee’s Kenyan coffee is grown in the Nyeri region. Ichamara refers to the factory from a particular micro-region, where local coffee farmers take their crop to be processed. These beans come from several small family farms that use the same mill.

It’s a blend in that it contains several of Kenya’s coffee bean varietals: SL28, SL34, Ruiri 11. These have been wet-processed in the Kenyan style, then dried on raised beds. While other coffees from the region are heavy on the fruit, these Kenyan coffee beans lean towards the floral side. Expect to taste flavors like peach blossom, with some citrus tang in the form of orange zest.

These particular beans aren’t certified fair-trade or organic, but Fresh Roasted Coffee does a good line in African organic coffee, including Ethiopian coffee, and Congo Kivu.

What you need to know about buying Kenyan coffee

If you’re interested in trying this world-class coffee, where do you look? Choosing a Kenyan bean from a trusted supplier is a good start. But if you’d like to branch out a little, it’s helpful to arm yourself with a bit of knowledge about what makes Kenyan coffee so good.

product details Button
screen 18 Screen 18 Kenyan AA Single Origin Coffee
  • Bean type: Arabica
  • Best for: French press
  • Ground or whole: Whole
amazon-logo See on Amazon
KENYA_PEABERRY Volcanica Kenya Peaberry
  • Bean type: Arabica, peaberry
  • Best for: Aeropress
  • Ground or whole: Ground, whole
CLICK TO CHECK PRICE
Fresh Roasted Coffee LLC Kenya AA Nyeri Ichamara Coffee Fresh Roasted Coffee LLC Kenya AA Nyeri Ichamara Coffee
  • Bean type: Arabica
  • Best for: French press
  • Ground or whole: Whole bean
amazon-logo SEE ON AMAZON
Screen 18 Kenyan AA Single Origin Coffee
screen 18
  • Bean type: Arabica
  • Best for: French press
  • Ground or whole: Whole
Volcanica Kenya Peaberry
KENYA_PEABERRY
  • Bean type: Arabica, peaberry
  • Best for: Aeropress
  • Ground or whole: Ground, whole
Fresh Roasted Coffee LLC Kenya AA Nyeri Ichamara Coffee
Fresh Roasted Coffee LLC Kenya AA Nyeri Ichamara Coffee
  • Bean type: Arabica
  • Best for: French press
  • Ground or whole: Whole bean

Kenyan growing conditions

Like so many of the world’s great coffee-growing regions, a large part of the bean quality comes down to the natural environment. You can find the main areas for coffee production between Mt. Kenya and Nairobi. The elevation, rich volcanic soil, and consistent temperatures are perfect for growing coffee of high quality. One thing that differentiates Kenya from some of the other growing regions is the lack of shade. While shade-grown beans are often sought after, Kenya’s full sun leads to the unique flavor profile you’ll find here.

However, it’s not all simply the blessing of geography. The country is known for its highly organized cooperatives system that supports farmers from start to finish, including growing, harvesting, processing, and selling at an auction. The government-run auctions, which have been running since the 1930s, have a transparent pricing system that encourages farmers to concentrate on quality rather than quantity (1).

Finally, there is the coffee processing itself. Kenya, along with a few other countries, uses a method known as double-wash processing or double fermenting. As the name suggests, this means that the beans are soaked and fermented for a second time before drying. The process is more time-consuming and, of course, uses more water, but results in a cleaner, crisper taste in your cup of coffee (2).

kenyan coffee

What do the grades mean?

While most countries grade their beans, there is no standard system worldwide. Kenyan coffee beans are graded on size only, which is done when the coffee bean is still green, before roasting. The grading will usually determine the price they fetch at auction.

Coffee grading is critical to cup quality and determining coffee value, but isn’t often explored outside the trade.

Thompson Owen, Sweet Maria’s

In Kenya, coffee grades are AA, AB, C, PB, and E. Kenyan AA coffee beans are considered the highest quality and are equivalent to a size 18 screen. AB is the next smallest, followed by a C grade. E and PB are set aside for different types of beans. E stands for elephant beans, which are technically the largest, consisting of two seeds that have grown together. PB is reserved for peaberries, a genetic defect in which a single small coffee bean grows instead of the two halves typically found (3).

What to expect from Kenyan coffee

Kenyan coffee is widely considered to be some of the best in the world. But what exactly does that mean when it comes to drinking it? One of the most common words you’ll hear when used to talk about the flavor is juicy

While you will of course get some variation in flavor from region to region, most Kenyan coffee is very fruit forward.

Strong black currant notes are particular to the country’s coffee, but you’ll also taste citrus, red berries, and occasionally chocolate or nuttier notes. Due to the high elevations that the beans are grown at, they tend to have higher acidity levels. This is a bright acidity that presents as citrus or white-wine flavors. If acidity isn’t quite your thing, check out our guide to some of the best low-acid coffee.

When it comes to turning your Kenyan beans into your daily cup of coffee, immersion methods are recommended. French press, AeroPress, or even cold brew will provide a brew with a full body while allowing the floral and fruit flavors to open up.

The verdict

If you’re a fan of bright, fruity flavors in your cup of joe, Kenyan coffee will be right up your alley. Any of the coffees on this list will give you a delicious introduction to the country’s coffee, but we’d recommend starting with the Volcanica Kenyan Peaberry. Not only is the flavor profile highly typical of Kenyan coffee, but it’s also an opportunity to get peaberry beans at a good price.

FAQs

Kenyan coffee is expensive due to its high quality. The labor-intensive growing and harvesting and the double wash processing method are used to add to the cost.

Kenyans make their coffee in a tall brass kettle over a charcoal stove. Kahawa Chungu includes ginger, cardamom, and cinnamon and is considered an aphrodisiac. Despite the higher quality coffee produced here, the majority of the population drinks tea.

Kenyan coffee is predominately Arabica beans, though the country does grow some Robusta crops.

References
  1. Kenya. (n.d.). Retrieved from https://www.coffeehunter.com/coffee-country/kenya/
  2. Clean, crisp & Consistent: Kenya’s DOUBLE FERMENT PROCESS. (2016, December 14). Retrieved March 16, 2021, from https://www.fivesenses.com.au/blog/clean-crisp-consistent-kenyas-double-ferment-process/
  3. Coffee grading system in Kenya. (n.d.). Retrieved from https://mareterracoffee.com/en/blog/coffee-grading-system-in-kenya
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap