Coffeeble 受读者支持。 当您通过我们网站上的链接购买时,我们可能会免费为您赚取会员佣金。 了解更多

埃塞俄比亚咖啡:事实、指南 + 最佳品牌

埃塞俄比亚是咖啡的发源地。 你喝什么咖啡并不重要。 您可能可以追溯到这个东非国家。 因此,一些世界上最好的咖啡仍然在那里种植,其完美的生长条件和几个世纪以来不断发展的专业知识,也就不足为奇了。

如果您想亲自尝试埃塞俄比亚咖啡,本指南将引导您了解您需要了解的一切。 继续阅读,您将了解埃塞俄比亚的所有咖啡:

乍看上去:

选择埃塞俄比亚咖啡

埃塞俄比亚是咖啡的故乡,它仍然是地球上拥有独特品种阿拉比卡咖啡的地方(1)。 如果您想在一杯咖啡中体验您从未预料到的风味,埃塞俄比亚就是您的起点。 

它是世界上最大的咖啡生产国之一,也是非洲最大的咖啡生产国。 2016 年,种植和加工了超过 375,000 吨咖啡。 咖啡生产占埃塞俄比亚经济的近三分之一。

知道这一切后,选择埃塞俄比亚咖啡来尝试可能会令人生畏。 这就是本指南的用武之地。我们将介绍一些关于埃塞俄比亚咖啡的有趣事实,并重点介绍可帮助您找到最适合您的咖啡豆的提示和技巧。

CI_埃塞俄比亚咖啡豆指南

埃塞俄比亚的咖啡种植区

来自埃塞俄比亚的咖啡仍然主要生长在它最初进化的地方,即该国西南部。 但令人困惑的是,许多咖啡种植区的名称与地理区域重叠。 更令人困惑的是,许多著名的咖啡种植区实际上是其他种植区内部的小区域。 我们不会太疯狂地试图解开这一切。

埃塞俄比亚的三个中部咖啡种植区是 Sidamo、Harrar 和 Kaffa,其中 Sidamo 和 Harrar 以特色咖啡而闻名。 Sidamo 位于 Yirgacheffe 和 Guji,这两个不同的地区因其独特的风味和高品质的豆类而值得指定。

埃塞俄比亚咖啡的期望

由于阿拉比卡咖啡植物最早出现在埃塞俄比亚,该国仍然包含其绝大多数的遗传多样性。 因此,他们必须保护这样的资源以保持行业的活力。 全国各地种植着数千种葡萄品种,其中许多没有命名和描述。 只有人们种植它们的农场才知道它们。

这就是为什么许多埃塞俄比亚咖啡将被列为包含“传家宝品种”而不是更具体的原因。 这可能意味着单一品种或混合物,其中任何一种都可以以自己的方式美味(2).

我发现由于埃塞俄比亚的传家宝是如此独特,混合而不是分离品种可以真正改变杯子的轮廓。

Triup Coffee 的共同所有人 Erik Liao

从风味的角度来看,埃塞俄比亚的咖啡通常采用两种方式之一,当然,有很多重叠和多样性(3).

来自 Sidamo 南部地区(包括 Guji 和 Yirgacheffe)的咖啡往往带有柑橘的酸度,并带有薰衣草和茉莉花等花香。 对于在高海拔地区种植的咖啡尤其如此。 蓝莓和覆盆子等多汁的水果往往占主导地位,还有红茶的味道。 Sidamo 咖啡通常非常顺滑,酒体轻盈,味道微妙。

相比之下,来自哈拉尔地区的咖啡往往更浓郁,带有浓郁的葡萄酒和干果味。 它经常被比作 肯亚的 咖啡 豆类. 它仍然非常果味,带有黑莓和黑醋栗等深色浆果,但柑橘酸度和花香不那么突出。 这些咖啡更浓郁,但整体体验仍然干净温和。 

加工事项:水洗还是天然?

世界上大多数与咖啡生产有关的地区都喜欢特定类型的咖啡加工。 这就是咖啡植物变成准备烘烤的干咖啡豆的方法。 他们使用自然(干)方法的洗涤(湿)方法。 在特定情况下,他们使用其他方法,如蜂蜜加工或湿法脱壳。

但在埃塞俄比亚,水洗和自然加工都很常见。 因为使用的加工方法决定了最终咖啡的一些特征,所以在您购买埃塞俄比亚咖啡豆时,有必要了解一下加工和风味之间的联系(4).

埃塞俄比亚是咖啡的发源地,被广泛认为是世界上最美味咖啡的生产国,但其许多农民却是最贫穷的。

Geoff Watts,Intelligentsia Coffee

在自然加工的咖啡中,整个咖啡果实被放置在允许空气流通的凸起床上晒干。 这是最古老的咖啡加工方法,几乎​​与埃塞俄比亚咖啡本身一样古老。 除了敏锐的眼睛,它不需要特殊的设备来挑选任何可能开始腐烂的咖啡樱桃,这是贫困农村地区的一个关键因素(5).

随着干燥的发生,水果内的咖啡豆继续从周围的果肉中吸收糖分。 因此,干加工咖啡豆往往具有更甜和更复杂的味道。

在湿法加工的咖啡中,外层水果在干燥前被去除。 这避免了腐烂咖啡樱桃的风险,因此它是一种非常可靠和一致的方法。 因此,它在世界范围内更受欢迎。 洗过的咖啡通常会产生更清洁且不那么甜的杯子。 然而,一个主要的缺点是洗咖啡需要大量的水,在农村地区管理废水可能是一项艰巨的任务。

埃塞俄比亚咖啡文化

与许多咖啡种植区不同,咖啡主要是出口作物,埃塞俄比亚人喜欢喝咖啡! 其实国内有一句俗语是“布纳达波瑙,”这意味着“咖啡是我们的面包”——这清楚地表明了咖啡在社会中所扮演的重要角色。

事实上,埃塞俄比亚的咖啡仪式是该国文化的重要组成部分。 在许多村庄,它被认为是最重要的社交场合之一,被邀请是一种非常尊重的表现。 

埃塞俄比亚咖啡仪式可能需要长达 3 小时! 它传统上由家庭妇女执行。

它从生咖啡豆开始,经过烘焙、在研钵和研杵中研磨,最后冲泡和饮用咖啡。 

3 年 2022 种最佳埃塞俄比亚咖啡

产品展示 详情 按键
画板2 埃塞俄比亚 Golocha Harrar
  • 豆类:阿拉比卡
  • 磨碎的或整颗的豆子:要么
  • 最适合:倒杯、滴漏咖啡、冷冲泡
点击查看价格
psfdqxunfavyvclwo0m3.jfif Anodyne 埃塞俄比亚 Yirgacheffe YirgZ
  • 豆类:阿拉比卡
  • 磨碎的或整颗的豆子:要么
  • 最适合:过滤咖啡、爱乐压、法压壶
点击查看价格
ESN-M_1_720x 皮特的埃塞俄比亚超级天然
  • 豆类:阿拉比卡
  • 磨碎的或整颗的豆子:要么
  • 最适合:摩卡壶、浓缩咖啡、法压壶
点击查看价格
埃塞俄比亚 Golocha Harrar
画板2
  • 豆类:阿拉比卡
  • 磨碎的或整颗的豆子:要么
  • 最适合:倒杯、滴漏咖啡、冷冲泡
Anodyne 埃塞俄比亚 Yirgacheffe YirgZ
psfdqxunfavyvclwo0m3.jfif
  • 豆类:阿拉比卡
  • 磨碎的或整颗的豆子:要么
  • 最适合:过滤咖啡、爱乐压、法压壶
皮特的埃塞俄比亚超级天然
ESN-M_1_720x
  • 豆类:阿拉比卡
  • 磨碎的或整颗的豆子:要么
  • 最适合:摩卡壶、浓缩咖啡、法压壶

作为咖啡的原产地,埃塞俄比亚仍然拥有该植物的大部分遗传多样性。 在该国发现了数千种传家宝品种,在世界其他任何地方都没有(6). 

尽管种类繁多,但埃塞俄比亚咖啡往往以一组特定的风味特征而闻名,例如明亮、酸性、果味和花香。 然而,这可能因种植区域甚至个别农场而异。

在本文中,我们将研究来自埃塞俄比亚三个最受欢迎的种植区的三种咖啡:Harrar、Guji 和 Yirgacheffe。 每一个都以独特而令人兴奋的方式展示了埃塞俄比亚的风味。 尝试所有这些,找出为什么这个国家以拥有世界上一些 最好的咖啡 豆类.

1. 埃塞俄比亚 Golocha Harrar

产品参数

  • 豆类:阿拉比卡

  • 磨碎的或整颗的豆子:要么
  • 最适合:倒杯、滴漏咖啡、冷冲泡

Volcanica Coffee 的埃塞俄比亚 Golocha 咖啡来自埃塞俄比亚最大的种植区之一哈拉尔。 这个特别的选择来自 10 个小咖啡农,每个咖啡农约 5 公顷。 它们位于海拔 5000 英尺以上的高海拔地区,是种植特色阿拉比卡咖啡的理想条件。

农场种植的传家宝品种在世界其他任何地方都找不到,这使其成为一种独特的混合物,可以随着季节的变化而变化。

他们在收获后自然加工咖啡豆,为这款已经多汁且果味浓郁的咖啡增添了额外的甜味。 通过轻中度烘焙,您将品尝到埃塞俄比亚咖啡以干蓝莓和薰衣草而闻名的花香和果味。 伴随着甜味蜂蜜和牛奶巧克力,使杯子变得光滑平衡。

尝试使用滴滤式咖啡机等过滤冲泡方法或倾倒咖啡,以充分利用这些咖啡豆。 他们也很特别 冷泡咖啡豆, 以其清爽明亮的味道。

2. Anodyne 埃塞俄比亚 Yirgacheffe YirgZ

产品参数

  • 豆类:阿拉比卡

  • 磨碎的或整颗的豆子:要么
  • 最适合:过滤咖啡、爱乐压、法压壶

目前,耶加雪菲可能是埃塞俄比亚最著名的精品咖啡产区,世界各地的高端烘焙商都提供优质的耶加雪菲咖啡豆。 它们通常是轻度烘焙的,以突出该地区典型的明亮风味,但这款来自 Anodyne 的中度烘焙咖啡是一种令人兴奋且有价值的替代品。

Anodyne 是一家位于威斯康星州密尔沃基的小批量咖啡烘焙机。 他们致力于通过技术与技能和经验的重要结合来提供卓越的咖啡。

他们的 YirgZ 仍然提供经典的 Yirgacheffe 红茶、花茉莉花和柠檬柑橘酸度,略带龙舌兰的甜味。 凭借其额外的焦糖化程度,这种烘烤类型增加了浓郁的巧克力味,使这种酿造从好到卓越。

3. 皮特的埃塞俄比亚超级天然

产品参数

  • 豆类:阿拉比卡

  • 磨碎的或整颗的豆子:要么
  • 最适合:摩卡壶、浓缩咖啡、法压壶

这种罕见的深焙埃塞俄比亚咖啡来自 Peet's,这家公司拥有丰富的深焙专业历史,来自古吉地区。 和耶加雪菲一样,古吉也位于更大的西达摩区域内,但其咖啡的独特性足以保证其分类。

这是一款限量发行的咖啡,只展示了古吉汉贝拉地区最好的咖啡豆。 就像哈拉尔的咖啡一样,这款咖啡也经过晒干和自然加工,具有甜美的干果风味。 干式加工需要一丝不苟的照顾和关注,但结果值得付出努力。 准备好品尝浓郁的蓝莓,搭配蜜饯柠檬酸和花香。

该判决

如果您是咖啡爱好者,那么了解咖啡和文化以及埃塞俄比亚是必不可少的。 作为咖啡诞生的地方。 埃塞俄比亚继续生产地球上其他任何地方都没有的品种和风味。 

如果您正在寻找完整的埃塞俄比亚咖啡体验,请尝试本文中的所有三种咖啡。 因为每一个都来自不同的种植区域并且具有不同的烘焙水平,所以您一定会全面了解这个东非国家所提供的东西。 您甚至可能想为自己尝试一次咖啡仪式!

常见问题

埃塞俄比亚咖啡是阿拉比卡。 在世界上许多条件不适合种植阿拉比卡咖啡的地方,可以种植罗布斯塔咖啡。 但埃塞俄比亚的情况并非如此。 这里的条件非常适合阿拉比卡咖啡,以至于它独自出现在那里。

埃塞俄比亚的咖啡最初是在一位牧羊人注意到他的羊群表现得异常活泼和兴奋时被发现的。 根据 咖啡的历史,一位山羊牧民将他们行为的根源追溯到他们正在吃的灌木丛,当然,这些灌木丛竟然是咖啡树!

由于种植阿拉比卡咖啡的理想环境,埃塞俄比亚咖啡豆非常好。 这就是为什么植物首先出现在那里的原因。 南部山区有高海拔农场,种植浓稠可口的咖啡豆。 这与干燥和阳光充足的气候、肥沃的土壤和良好的降雨后排水相结合。

参考资料
  1. Motteux, N.(2020 年 28 月 2020 日)。 埃塞俄比亚走向世界:非洲咖啡的起源。 取自 https://perfectdailygrind.com/02/XNUMX/ethiopia-to-the-world-the-origins-of-coffee-in-africa/
  2. 北卡罗来纳州卡斯特拉诺(2020 年 20 月 2020 日)。 探索埃塞俄比亚的传家宝咖啡品种。 取自 https://perfectdailygrind.com/10/XNUMX/exploring-ethiopian-heirloom-coffee-varieties-nardos-coffee-export/
  3. Palaikyte, P.(2018 年 26 月 2018 日)。 非洲咖啡豆:来自埃塞俄比亚和肯尼亚的鲜活风味。 取自 https://www.baristainstitute.com/blog/paulina-palaikyte/january-XNUMX/african-coffee-bean-vivid-flavors-ethiopia-kenya
  4. 加西亚,O.(2020 年 29 月 XNUMX 日)。 水洗的还是天然的? 传家宝埃塞俄比亚咖啡的两种方法。 取自 https://www.seattlecoffeeworks.com/blog/Washed-or-natural-Two-approaches-to-heirloom-Ethiopian-coffee
  5. 布朗,N.(2020 年 29 月 1.34 日)。 首届埃塞俄比亚卓越杯拍卖产生创纪录的 2020 万美元。 取自 https://dailycoffeenews.com/06/29/1/first-ethiopia-cup-of-excellence-auction-generates-record-high-34-XNUMX-million/
  6. Kornman, C.(2019 年 7 月 2019 日)。 咖啡烘焙师的咖啡品种和栽培品种完整指南。 取自 https://dailycoffeenews.com/02/07/XNUMX/the-coffee-roasters-complete-guide-to-coffee-varieties-and-cultivars/
复制链接
版权所有 社交快照

Coffeeble is reader-supported. When you buy via the links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission at no cost to you. Learn more.

Ethiopian Coffee: Facts, Guide + Best Brands

Ethiopia is the birthplace of coffee. It doesn’t matter what coffee you’re drinking; you can probably trace its roots to this East African nation. So it’s no surprise that some of the world’s best coffees are still grown there, with its perfect growing conditions and centuries of evolved expertise.

If you want to try Ethiopian coffee for yourself, this guide is here to walk you through everything you need to know. Keep reading, and you’ll learn all about coffee in Ethiopia:

At A Glance:

Choosing an Ethiopian Coffee

Ethiopia is coffee’s homeland, and it remains the place on earth with the unique varieties of Arabica coffee (1). If you want to experience flavors you’d never anticipate in a cup of joe, Ethiopia is the place to start. 

It’s one of the world’s biggest coffee producers and the biggest coffee-producing nation in Africa. In 2016, over 375,000 tonnes of coffee were grown and processed. Coffee production makes up nearly a third of Ethiopia’s economy.

Knowing all that, it can be intimidating to choose an Ethiopian coffee to try. That’s where this guide comes in. We’ll cover some fascinating facts about Ethiopia coffee and highlight tips and tricks that will help you find the perfect beans for you.

CI_Ethiopian Coffee Bean Guide

Ethiopia’s Coffee Growing Regions

Coffee from Ethiopia is still primarily grown where it first evolved, in the southwest of the nation. But confusingly, the names of many coffee-growing regions overlap with geographical regions. And even more confusingly, many of the famous coffee growing regions are, in fact, small zones inside other growing areas. We won’t go too crazy trying to untangle it all.

The three central coffee-growing regions in Ethiopia are Sidamo, Harrar, and Kaffa, with Sidamo and Harrar known for specialty coffee. Within Sidamo lie Yirgacheffe and Guji, two distinct regions that warrant their designation thanks to their unique flavors and high-quality beans.

What to Expect from Ethiopian Coffee

Because the Arabica coffee plant first arose in Ethiopia, the country still contains the vast majority of its genetic diversity. Therefore, they must protect such a resource to keep the industry alive. There are thousands of varietals growing around the nation, many of which are unnamed and undescribed. They’re known only by the farm on which people grow them.

This is why many Ethiopian coffees will be listed as containing “heirloom varietals” rather than anything more specific. This can mean either a single varietal or a blend, either of which can be delicious in its own way (2).

I’ve found that because Ethiopian heirlooms are so distinct, blending instead separating varieties can really change the cup profile.

Erik Liao, co-owner of Triup Coffee

From a flavor standpoint, coffee from Ethiopia generally goes one of two ways, though, of course, there is plenty of overlap and variety (3).

Coffee from the southern Sidamo region, which includes Guji and Yirgacheffe, tends to be bright with citrus acidity and fragrant with florals like lavender and jasmine. This is especially true of coffees grown at higher elevations. Juicy fruits like blueberries and raspberries tend to dominate, along with notes of black tea. Sidamo coffee is typically very smooth, with a light body and subtle flavors.

In contrast, coffee from the Harrar region tends to be more intense, with rich winey and dried fruit flavors. It’s often compared with Kenyan coffee beans. It’s still very fruit-forward, with darker berries like blackberry and currant, but the citrus acidity and floral notes are less prominent. These coffees have more of a full-body, but the overall experience is still clean and mild. 

Processing Matters: Washed or Natural?

Most regions of the world concerned with coffee production prefer a particular type of coffee processing. That is the method by which the coffee plant becomes the dry coffee beans ready for roasting. They use either the washed (wet) method of the natural (dry) method. In the specific case, they use other methods like honey processing or wet-hulling.

But in Ethiopia, both washed and natural processing are common. Because the processing method used dictates some of the characteristics of the final coffee, it’s worth understanding a bit about how processing and flavors are linked when you’re buying Ethiopia coffee beans (4).

Ethiopia is the birthplace of coffee and widely considered to be the producer of the most delicious coffees in the world, yet many of its farmers are among the poorest.

Geoff Watts, Intelligentsia Coffee

In naturally processed coffees, the whole coffee fruit is left to dry in the sun on raised beds that allow for air circulation. This is the oldest method of coffee processing, nearly as old as Ethiopian coffee itself. It requires no special equipment other than a keen eye to pick out any coffee cherries that might start to rot, a key factor in poor, rural areas (5).

As drying occurs, the coffee bean inside the fruit continues to absorb sugar from the surrounding flesh. As a result, dry-processed coffee beans tend to have a sweeter and more complex flavor.

In wet-processed coffees, the outer fruit is removed before drying. This avoids the risk of rotting coffee cherries, so it’s an exceptionally reliable and consistent method. For this reason, it is more popular worldwide. Washed coffees usually yield a cleaner and less sweet cup. However, a major downside is that washing coffee uses a lot of water, and managing the wastewater can be a severe hardship in rural regions.

Ethiopian Coffee Culture

Unlike many coffee growing regions, where coffee is mainly an export crop, Ethiopians LOVE to drink coffee! In fact, a common saying in the country is “buna dabo naw,” which means “coffee is our bread” — a clear indication of the vital role played by coffee in society.

Indeed, the Ethiopian coffee ceremony is a key part of the nation’s culture. In many villages, it is considered one of the most important social occasions, and it is a sign of great respect to be invited. 

The Ethiopian coffee ceremony can take up to 3 hours! It’s traditionally performed by a household woman.

It starts with green coffee beans and progresses through roasting, grinding in a mortar and pestle, and finally brewing and drinking the coffee. 

The 3 Best Ethiopian Coffees in 2021

product details Button
Artboard2 Ethiopia Golocha Harrar
  • Bean type: Arabica
  • Ground or whole bean: Either
  • Best for: Pour over, drip coffee, cold brew
CLICK TO CHECK PRICE
psfdqxunfavyvclwo0m3.jfif Anodyne Ethiopian Yirgacheffe YirgZ
  • Bean type: Arabica
  • Ground or whole bean: Either
  • Best for: Filter coffee, Aeropress, French press
CLICK TO CHECK PRICE
ESN-M_1_720x Peet’s Ethiopian Super Natural
  • Bean type: Arabica
  • Ground or whole bean: Either
  • Best for: Moka pot, espresso, French press
CLICK TO CHECK PRICE
Ethiopia Golocha Harrar
Artboard2
  • Bean type: Arabica
  • Ground or whole bean: Either
  • Best for: Pour over, drip coffee, cold brew
Anodyne Ethiopian Yirgacheffe YirgZ
psfdqxunfavyvclwo0m3.jfif
  • Bean type: Arabica
  • Ground or whole bean: Either
  • Best for: Filter coffee, Aeropress, French press
Peet’s Ethiopian Super Natural
ESN-M_1_720x
  • Bean type: Arabica
  • Ground or whole bean: Either
  • Best for: Moka pot, espresso, French press

As coffee’s place of origin, Ethiopia still holds much of the plant’s genetic diversity. There are thousands of heirloom varietals found in the country and nowhere else in the world (6). 

Despite this abundance and variety, Ethiopia coffee tends to be known for a particular set of flavor profiles, things like bright, acidic, fruity, floral. However, this can vary by growing region and even by an individual farm.

In this article, we’re looking at three coffees from three of the most popular growing regions in Ethiopia: Harrar, Guji, and Yirgacheffe. Each of these showcases the flavors of Ethiopia uniquely and excitingly. Try them all and find out why the country is known for having some of the world’s best coffee beans.

1. Ethiopia Golocha Harrar

Specifications

  • Bean type: Arabica

  • Ground or whole bean: Either
  • Best for: Pour over, drip coffee, cold brew

Volcanica Coffee’s Ethiopia Golocha coffee is from Harrar, one of Ethiopia’s largest growing regions. This particular selection is from a collection of 10 smallholder coffee farmers of about 5 hectares each. They’re located at high elevation, well over 5000 feet, ideal conditions for growing specialty arabica coffee.

The farms are growing heirloom varieties you cannot find anywhere else in the world, making this a unique blend that can change season to season.

They process the beans naturally after harvest, which adds additional sweetness to this already juicy and fruit-forward coffee. With the light-medium roast, you’ll taste the floral and fruity flavor Ethiopian coffees are known for in the form of dried blueberry and lavender. This is accompanied by sweet flavors honey and milk chocolate for a smooth and balanced cup.

Try them using a filter brewing method like a drip coffee machine or a pour over to get the most out of these beans. They are also exceptional coffee beans for cold brew, with their refreshing and bright flavors.

2. Anodyne Ethiopia Yirgacheffe YirgZ

Specifications

  • Bean type: Arabica

  • Ground or whole bean: Either
  • Best for: Filter coffee, Aeropress, French press

Right now, Yirgacheffe is probably the best-known region in Ethiopia for specialty coffee, with high-end roasters worldwide offering premium Yirgacheffe coffee beans. They’re typically light roasted to highlight the bright flavors typical to the region, but this medium roasted coffee from Anodyne is an exciting and worthy alternative.

Anodyne is a small batch coffee roaster based in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. They’re committed to exceptional coffees through the all-important combination of technology with skill and experience.

Their YirgZ still offers that classic Yirgacheffe profile of black tea, floral jasmine, and lemon citrus acidity, with just a hint of agave sweetness. With its extra degree of caramelization, the type of roast adds a rich chocolate note that takes this brew from good to remarkable.

3. Peet’s Ethiopian Super Natural

Specifications

  • Bean type: Arabica

  • Ground or whole bean: Either
  • Best for: Moka pot, espresso, French press

This rare dark roast Ethiopian coffee from Peet’s, a company with a rich history of dark roast expertise, hails from the region of Guji. Like Yirgacheffe, Guji also lies within the bigger zone of Sidamo, but its coffees are distinct enough to warrant its classification.

This is a limited-release coffee, showcasing only the best beans from the Hambela region of Guji. Like the coffee from Harrar, this one is also sun-dried and naturally processed for a sweet, dried fruit flavor. Dry processing requires meticulous care and attention, but the results are well worth the effort. Prepare to taste intense blueberries paired with candied citron acidity and floral notes.

The Verdict

If you’re a coffee-lover, the coffee and culture and Ethiopia are essential to understand. As the place where coffee was born. Ethiopia continues to produce varietals and flavors available nowhere else on earth. 

If you’re looking for the whole Ethiopian coffee experience, try all three coffees in this article. Because each stems from a different growing region and has a different roast level, you’re sure to end up with a well-rounded picture of what this East African nation has to offer. You might even want to try a coffee ceremony for yourself!

FAQs

Ethiopian coffee is Arabica. In many parts of the world where conditions are unsuitable for growing Arabica, Robusta coffee can be grown instead. But this is not the case in Ethiopia. The conditions here are so perfect for Arabica that it emerged there all on its own.

Coffee in Ethiopia was first discovered when a goat herder noticed his flock acting incredibly peppy and excited. According to the history of coffee, a goat herder traced the source of their behavior to the bushes they were eating, which, of course, turned out to be coffee trees!

Ethiopian beans are so good due to an ideal environment for growing Arabica coffee. That is why the plant arose there in the first place. The southern mountains have high elevation farms, which promote dense and flavorful coffee beans. This is paired with a dry and sunny climate, rich soils, and good drainage after rainfall.

References
  1. Motteux, N. (2020, February 28). Ethiopia to the World: The Origins of Coffee in Africa. Retrieved from https://perfectdailygrind.com/2020/02/ethiopia-to-the-world-the-origins-of-coffee-in-africa/
  2. Castellano, N. (2020, October 20). Exploring Ethiopian Heirloom Coffee Varieties. Retrieved from https://perfectdailygrind.com/2020/10/exploring-ethiopian-heirloom-coffee-varieties-nardos-coffee-export/
  3. Palaikyte, P. (2018, January 26). African Coffee Bean: Vivid Flavors from Ethiopia & Kenya. Retrieved from https://www.baristainstitute.com/blog/paulina-palaikyte/january-2018/african-coffee-bean-vivid-flavors-ethiopia-kenya
  4. Garcia, O. (2020, September 29). Washed or natural? Two approaches to heirloom Ethiopian coffee. Retrieved from https://www.seattlecoffeeworks.com/blog/Washed-or-natural-Two-approaches-to-heirloom-Ethiopian-coffee
  5. Brown, N. (2020, June 29). First Ethiopia Cup of Excellence Auction Generates Record High $1.34 Million. Retrieved from https://dailycoffeenews.com/2020/06/29/first-ethiopia-cup-of-excellence-auction-generates-record-high-1-34-million/
  6. Kornman, C. (2019, February 7). The Coffee Roaster’s Complete Guide to Coffee Varieties and Cultivars. Retrieved from https://dailycoffeenews.com/2019/02/07/the-coffee-roasters-complete-guide-to-coffee-varieties-and-cultivars/
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap