Coffeeble 受读者支持。 当您通过我们网站上的链接购买时,我们可能会免费为您赚取会员佣金。 了解更多

Baratza Virtuoso Plus vs Encore:哪个是更好的咖啡研磨机?

放弃预磨咖啡应该是您迈向更好喝咖啡的第一步。 即使您不熟悉家庭酿造也是如此。 如果你真的想尝尝不同,跳过刀片研磨机,直接去毛刺那种。 这就是为什么我们为您详细介绍了两种流行型号:Baratza Encore 与 Virtuoso Plus。 

通过仔细查看质量、一致性和易用性,您可以决定这两款研磨机中的哪一款将在您的厨房中找到一席之地。 

巴拉察安可

就 Baratza 研磨机而言,Encore 可能位于阵容的底部,但不要让它让你失望。 Baratza 品牌以其专业级设备而闻名,因此您在这里获得的是市场上最好的入门级研磨机之一。 

主要吸引力是钢制 M3 毛刺磨床,可调节 40 种磨削设置。 粗细之间有如此多的变化,它适合尝试大多数家庭酿造方法。 Encore 由直流电机供电,该电机的设计不仅噪音更小,而且效率更高。 高效的电机不会产生过多的热量,这可能会影响咖啡豆的味道和香气。

机器本身的设计考虑了家庭用户。 它有适合家庭厨房而不是咖啡馆的足迹。 它高 13.8 英寸,应该可以整齐地放在大多数橱柜下面,而大容量 8 盎司的料斗意味着它不需要经常重新填充。 使用研磨机很直观,侧面有一个开关开关和一个前置脉冲按钮。

要了解更多信息,您还可以阅读我们的 Baratza Encore 咖啡研磨机评论.

相关新闻: Baratza Encore vs Capresso Infinity

Baratza Virtuoso Plus

Virtuoso 于 2005 年推出。它的目标客户是拥有更精确研磨机的家庭咖啡师,他们希望在不购买专业产品的情况下更认真地对待他们的咖啡。 

该模型一直保持不变,直到 2019 年 Virtuoso Plus 发布,它取代了原来的模型。

升级增加了一些新功能,使其更加用户友好。 首先是在垃圾箱中引入 LED 背光。 它看起来确实很酷,但实际上与美学无关。 它可以帮助您查看垃圾箱何时装满。 第二个升级是 40 秒计时器,带有数字显示而不是手动表盘。 凭借在十分之一秒内进行调整的能力,您可以进行更精确的磨削。

内部工作与原来的 Virtuoso 保持一致。 锥形 M2 毛刺研磨机可产生令人难以置信的一致研磨效果,减少咖啡中的细粉。 在 40 种研磨设置中,您可以获得 200-1200 微米的范围,但 Virtuoso 也可以手动校准(1).

比较:Baratza Virtuoso Vs Encore

比较同一品牌的两个型号时,会有很多相似之处。 那么让我们来看看这两款磨豆机的区别。 Virtuoso Plus 有一些额外的功能,但它们值得大涨的价格吗?

Baratza Encore vs Virtuoso 加信息图

建立质量 

良好的制造质量是从同时生产商用设备的品牌购买家用电器的最大好处之一。 虽然这些研磨机可能不具备 Baratza 高端机器的所有功能,但您仍然可以获得高质量的结构。

Encore 采用全塑料机身,但这是一种经久耐用的优质塑料树脂。 它还使其轻巧且易于清洁。 Virtuoso Plus 的某些外壳使用相同的优质塑料,并结合了不锈钢底座和前板。 这确实给它一种更坚固的感觉,但也增加了一点重量。 钢和塑料 Virtuoso 的重量为 8 磅,而 Encore 的重量为 7 磅。 

Encore 和 Virtuoso 都使用耐用的 ABS 塑料来制作料斗,这种塑料着色有助于保护您的咖啡豆免受有害紫外线的伤害。

Baratza 的机器不仅以高度耐用着称,而且如果它们发生故障,几乎所有部件都可以更换或修理。 这对于小型家用电器来说是一种罕见的情况,因为它们的垃圾往往比修理便宜。 Baratza 专门着手通过可更换部件和在线维修教程来阻止这种购买和倾销循环。

在内部,Barzta Encore 和 Virtuoso 均采用不锈钢 40 毫米锥形毛刺。 我们知道毛刺研磨机比刀片研磨机(切割而不是研磨)产生的研磨效果要好得多,但是不同类型的毛刺研磨机呢?

您将看到的两种类型是锥形磨床和平面磨床。 顾名思义,扁平研磨机有两个相互重叠的扁平环,将咖啡豆压碎在它们之间。 锥形毛刺有一个固定的外圈和一个在中心旋转的锥形毛刺,磨削是垂直进行的。 如果您只关注咖啡渣的稠度,那么平磨机每次都会胜出,但它们不一定适合家庭使用。 锥形毛刺产生更少的噪音、更少的热量并且制造成本更低。 

然后是陶瓷和金属之间的选择。 陶瓷以其令人难以置信的耐用性而闻名,即使在反复使用后也能保持锋利。 但同时,它更脆,如果石头等异物进入研磨机,会破裂。 金属磨床会随着时间的推移而磨损,但它们往往比陶瓷更锋利。 

实际上,陶瓷和金属毛刺之间几乎没有区别。

完美的日常研磨

因此,虽然您可能听说陶瓷研磨机更可取,但有些 最好的毛刺咖啡研磨机 具有金属毛刺。 即使在商业模型中,也使用不锈钢,它足以完成家庭使用的工作。 

两种型号的磨床均由转动中心毛刺的直流电机驱动。 为了延长磨床的使用寿命,设计人员通过热切断开关对其进行保护,以防止机器过热。 

获胜者:Virtuoso Plus。 这是一个接近的。 您可能会争辩说,它是电机和磨床等最重要部件的领带,但金属机身部件的添加赋予了 Virtuoso 额外的坚固性。

研磨设置和研磨速度

这是我们开始看到两个研磨机之间的主要区别的地方。 他们可能有类似的结构和设备,但与 Encore 的 M2 相比,Virtuoso 配备了 M3 磨床。 让我们看看这会如何影响事情。

谈到 Baratza Encore 与 Virtuoso 的研磨速度,没有可比性。 Encore 将以每秒 0.8 – 1.1 克的速度处理您的咖啡豆,而 Virtuoso Plus 的处理速度几乎是每秒 1.5 – 2.4 克的两倍。 如果只是你喝咖啡,Encore 应该足够快,但如果你需要研磨多杯咖啡,你会感谢 Virtuoso 增加的速度。 

Encore 和 Virtuoso Plus 都允许您从 40 种不同的研磨设置中进行选择。 但是,每台研磨机所能达到的细度范围是不同的。 虽然您可能熟悉精细、中等和粗糙,但如果您想获得技术知识,则需要以微米为单位进行测量。 为了让您了解这与咖啡类型的关系,浓缩咖啡的研磨尺寸应该在 200 微米左右,而 900 微米非常适合制作过滤咖啡(2).

Encore 提供 250 至 1200 微米的研磨范围,使其成为完美的 倒咖啡研磨机 和其他手动冲泡方法,如爱乐压。 Virtuoso Plus 的研磨范围从 200 到 1200 微米,使其在 浓缩咖啡研磨 而且,在这个规模的另一端,也更适合粗磨 法国媒体 冷酿。 

据说 Virtuoso Plus 中的 M2 研磨机也可以用更少的细粉产生更一致的研磨。 细粉是最终被磨碎的颗粒小于您所追求的研磨尺寸,通常低于 100 微米。 制作意式浓缩咖啡时,通常认为罚款是可以的,但这可能会导致在制作过滤咖啡时萃取过度(3). 

我们一直发现,即使是普通的咖啡饮用者也会注意到研磨不佳和研磨适当的咖啡之间的味道差异。

钢丝钳

因此,虽然所有这些规格在纸上看起来可能没有太大差异,但细微的变化会对您的研磨产生很大的影响,最终影响咖啡的味道。 

获胜者:Virtuoso Plus。 研磨一致性是一杯好咖啡的关键,因此 Virtuoso 必须成为这里的赢家。

用户友好

作为入门级研磨机,Encore 的设计非常人性化。 这里没有什么要学习的——你打开侧面的开关来开始研磨过程,然后关闭它来停止。 如果您需要短暂的爆发来获得额外的一点点或磨成便携式过滤器,前面有一个脉冲按钮。 研磨尺寸通过扭转料斗进行调整,尺寸为 1-40。 没有办法计时或测量研磨度,但这可以通过在添加豆子之前称重来轻松解决。 

Virtuoso Plus 旨在比 Encore 更上一层楼,因此具有一些更高级的功能。 Virtuoso 不是简单地打开和关闭研磨机,而是让您计时研磨。 此功能与 Encore 不同。 这是原始型号上 60 秒计时器的侧面安装表盘,计时标记为 10 秒增量。 前面板上有脉冲按钮。 

使用经过改进的 Virtuoso Plus,您可以在前面和中间获得一个数字计时器。 现在更准确了。 它可以以十分之一秒到 40 秒的增量进行编程。 除了使其免提外,它还可以让您从今天开始获得一致的剂量。 定时器拨盘也可用作脉冲按钮。 您需要按住它几秒钟才能进入脉冲模式,这可能不如单独的脉冲按钮方便。 

两台研磨机的豆斗容量为 8 盎司,而咖啡渣盒可容纳 5 盎司。 虽然这些垃圾箱是用透明塑料制成的,但一些顾客报告说他们不知道什么时候装满了。 这导致 Baratza 在经过改造的 Virtuoso Plus 的垃圾箱上添加了 LED 背光。 虽然这似乎没什么大不了的,但过度填充会导致咖啡渣被推回滑槽,从而堵塞研磨机。 

获胜者:Virtuoso Plus。 虽然 Encore 的控制更加简单,但 Virtuoso Plus 的额外功能使其在日常工作中更加方便。

该判决

我们的 Baratza Encore vs Virtuoso 概要表明,这两款研磨机都提供了令人印象深刻的制造质量,能够为多种冲泡方法和咖啡饮用者研磨咖啡。 Virtuoso Plus 具有一些额外的功能,可以改善咖啡的味道和易用性,但您是否认为它们值得涨价取决于您。 

在以下情况下使用 Baratza Encore:

  • 你的预算有限
  • 您使用手动酿造方法
  • 这是你的第一台研磨机

在以下情况下使用 Baratza Virtuoso Plus:

  • 你需要更均匀的研磨
  • 你想要精确的计时
  • 您需要更快的研磨速度

常见问题

如果您每天都使用咖啡研磨机,您应该每周清洁一次。 您还需要每隔几周或至少每月一次使用研磨颗粒进行更深入的清洁。

该公司已停产 Baratza Preciso (4)。 Preciso 被认为是 Virtuoso 的升级版,具有宏观和微观研磨调整的能力。 此功能现在在 Baratza Sette 270 咖啡研磨机上提供(5).

你不应该用大米来清洁你的研磨机。 尽管这已成为一种流行的清洁技巧,但不建议这样做。 大米比咖啡硬,可能会对电机造成过度压力,而且大米中松散的淀粉可能会导致研磨机堵塞。 Baratza 还指出,他们不会在保修期内以这种方式清洁造成的任何损坏(6).

參考資料
  1. 锥形毛刺磨床的重新校准。 巴拉察。 (2015 年 25 月 XNUMX 日)。 取自 https://baratza.com/recalibration-of-a-conical-burr-grinder/。
  2. 研磨:粒度和提取。 咖啡智商。 (2019 年 6 月 XNUMX 日)。 取自 https://www.coffeeiq.co/en/grinding-particle-size-and-extraction/。
  3. 斯科特·拉奥。 (2018 年 28 月 2017 日)。 细粉:适合浓缩咖啡,不适合过滤器。 斯科特·拉奥。 取自 https://www.scottrao.com/blog/8/27/XNUMX/fines-fine-for-espresso-not-so-fine-for-filter。
  4. Baratza Preciso 咖啡研磨机。 咖啡第一名。 (nd)。 取自 https://www.1stincoffee.com/baratza-preciso.htm。
  5. Baratza Sette 270 咖啡研磨机。 咖啡第一名。 (nd)。 取自 https://www.1stincoffee.com/baratza-sette.htm。
  6. 赖斯,这不是一个好主意(用于清洁!)。 巴拉察。 (2014 年 17 月 XNUMX 日)。 取自 https://baratza.com/rice-its-just-not-a-good-idea-for-cleaning/。

发表评论

本网站使用Akismet来减少垃圾邮件。 了解您的数据如何处理.

通过分享
复制链接
版权所有 社交快照

Coffeeble is reader-supported. When you buy via the links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission at no cost to you. Learn more.

Baratza Virtuoso Plus vs Encore: Which is the Better Coffee Grinder?

Ditching the pre-ground coffee should be your first step towards a better cup of joe. And this is true even if you’re new to home brewing. And if you really want to taste the difference, skip the blade grinder and head straight for the burr kind. This is why we’ve given you a detailed rundown on two popular models: Baratza Encore vs Virtuoso Plus. 

With a close look at the quality, consistency, and ease of use, you can decide which of these two grinders will be finding a place in your kitchen. 

The Baratza Encore

The Encore might sit at the bottom of the line-up as far as Baratza grinders go, but don’t let that put you off. The Baratza brand is known for its professional-grade equipment, so what you’re getting here is one of the best entry-level grinders on the market. 

The main attraction is the steel M3 burr grinder, adjustable for 40 grind settings. With this many variations between coarse and fine, it’s suitable for experimenting with most home brewing methods. The Encore is powered by a DC motor that’s not only designed to be less noisy, but also more efficient. An efficient motor won’t produce excess heat that might affect the taste and aroma of your coffee beans.

The machine itself has been designed with the home user in mind. It has a suitable footprint for domestic kitchens rather than a cafe. At 13.8 inches high, it should fit neatly under most cabinets, and the generous 8oz hopper means it won’t need constant refilling. Using the grinder is intuitive, with a toggle on/off switch on the side and a front-mounted pulse button.

The Baratza Virtuoso Plus

The Virtuoso was introduced to the line-up in 2005. It was aimed at the home barista with a more precise grinder who wanted to get a little more serious about their coffee without buying something professional. 

The model remained unchanged until the release of the Virtuoso Plus in 2019, which replaced the original.

The upgrade adds some new features to make it more user-friendly. The first is the introduction of LED backlighting to the grounds bin. It does look cool, but it’s not actually about aesthetics. It’s there to help you see when the bin fills up. The second upgrade is the 40-second timer with a digital display rather than a manual dial. With the ability to adjust it within a tenth of a second, you’ve got much more precise grinding.

The interior workings remain the same as the original Virtuoso. The conical M2 burr grinder produces an incredibly consistent grind, with fewer fines ending up in your cup of coffee. Across 40 grind settings, you can get a range from 200-1200 microns, but the Virtuoso can also be manually calibrated (1).

The Comparison: Baratza Virtuoso Vs Encore

When comparing two models from the same brand, there will be a lot of similarities. So let’s look at the difference between the two grinders. The Virtuoso Plus has a few extra features, but are they worth the big jump in price?

Baratza Encore vs Virtuoso plus infographic

Build quality 

Good build quality is one of the greatest benefits of buying home appliances from a brand that also makes commercial equipment. While these grinders might not have all of the features of Baratza’s higher-end machines, you’re still going to get quality construction.

The Encore features an entirely plastic body, but this is a premium plastic resin that’s built to last. It also makes it light and easy to clean. The Virtuoso Plus uses the same premium plastic for some of the casing and incorporates a stainless steel base and front plate. This does give it a much sturdier feel but also adds a bit of heft. The steel and plastic Virtuoso weighs in at 8 pounds compared to the Encore’s 7 pounds. 

Both Encore and Virtuoso use a durable ABS plastic for the hopper, which is tinted to help shield your beans from harmful UV rays.

Baratza’s machines not only have a reputation for being highly durable but if they do happen to break down, almost all parts can be replaced or repaired. This is a rarity for small household appliances, which are often cheaper to trash than repair. Baratza specifically sets out to stop this buy-and-dump cycle with replaceable parts and online repair tutorials.

On the inside, both the Barzta Encore and Virtuoso feature stainless steel 40mm conical burrs. We know that burr grinders produce a far superior grind than blade grinders (which chop rather than grind), but what about the different types of burr grinders?

The two types you will see are conical grinders and flat grinders. As the name suggests, flat grinders have two flat rings that lie on top of each other, crushing the coffee beans between them. Conical burrs have a fixed outer ring and a rotating cone-shaped burr in the center, with the grinding happening vertically. If you’re looking purely at the consistency of your coffee grounds, a flat burr grinder will win every time, but they aren’t necessarily suitable for home use. Conical burrs produce less noise, less heat, and are much cheaper to make. 

Then there is the choice between ceramic and metal. Ceramic is known for being incredibly durable, staying sharp even after repeated use. But at the same time, it is more brittle and can crack if foreign objects such as stones enter the grinder. Metal grinders will wear down over time, but they tend to be sharper than ceramic as new. 

In reality, there is little difference between ceramic and metal burrs.

Perfect Daily Grind

So while you might have heard that a ceramic grinder is preferable, some of the best burr coffee grinders feature metal burrs. Even in commercial models, stainless steel is used, and it’s more than good enough to get the job done for home use. 

The grinder is driven in both models by a DC motor that turns the central burr. For the grinder’s longevity, the designers protected it by a thermal cutoff switch that will prevent the machine from overheating. 

Winner: Virtuoso Plus. This is a close one. You could argue that it’s a tie for the most important parts like the motor and grinder, but the addition of the metal body parts gives the additional Virtuoso sturdiness.

Grind settings and grinding speed

This is where we start to see the key differences between the two grinders. They might have similar construction and equipment, but the Virtuoso features an M2 grinder, compared to the Encore’s M3. Let’s see how that affects things.

When it comes to grinding speed on the Baratza Encore vs Virtuoso, there is no comparison. The Encore will process your coffee beans at a speed of 0.8 – 1.1g per second, while the Virtuoso Plus is almost twice as fast at 1.5 – 2.4g per second. If it’s just you drinking coffee, the Encore should be fast enough, but you’ll be grateful for the Virtuoso’s added speed if you need to grind for multiple cups of coffee. 

Both Encore and Virtuoso Plus allow you to choose from 40 different grind settings. However, the range of fineness that each grinder can achieve differs. While you might be familiar with fine, medium, and coarse, if you want to get technical, you will need to measure in microns. To give you an idea of how this relates to types of coffee, the grind size for espresso should be around 200 microns, while 900 microns is great for making a filter coffee (2).

The Encore offers a grind range from 250 to 1200 microns, making it the perfect grinder for pour over coffee and other manual brewing methods like the AeroPress. The grind range on Virtuoso Plus runs from 200 to 1200 microns, making it slightly better at grinding for espresso and, at the other end of this scale, also better for coarse grinds for French press cold brew. 

The M2 grinder in Virtuoso Plus is also said to produce a much more consistent grind with fewer fines. Fines are the particles that end up being ground smaller than the grind size you’re after, often below 100 microns. Fines are generally considered alright when making espresso, but this can lead to over-extracted brews when making filter coffee (3). 

We’ve consistently found that even the casual coffee drinker notices the difference in taste between poorly ground and properly ground coffee.

Wirecutter

So while all these specs might not look so different on paper, minor variations can make a big difference to your grind and, ultimately, the taste of your coffee. 

Winner: Virtuoso Plus. Grind consistency is key to a good cup of coffee, so Virtuoso has to be the winner here.

User-friendliness

As an entry-level grinder, the Encore is designed to be incredibly user-friendly. There’s nothing to learn here – you turn the switch on the side to start the grinding process and turn it off to stop. If you need a short burst to get just that little bit extra or to grind into a portafilter, there’s a pulse button on the front. Grind size is adjusted by twisting the hopper, with the sizes from 1-40 marked. There’s no way of timing or measuring your grind, but this can be easily solved by weighing your beans before you add them. 

The Virtuoso Plus is designed to be a step up from the Encore, and as such, has a few more advanced features. Rather than simply switching the grinder on and off, the Virtuoso allows you to time your grind. This feature is different from Encore. This was a side-mounted dial for the 60-second timer on the original model, with timing marked into 10-second increments. The front panel featured the pulse button. 

With the revamped Virtuoso Plus, you get a digital timer front and center. It’s now more accurate. It can program in increments of a tenth of a second up to 40 seconds. As well as making it hands-free, it allows you to get a consistent dose from day today. The timer dial also works as the pulse button. You will need to press and hold it for a couple of seconds to access pulse mode, which could be argued as not as convenient as having a separate pulse button. 

Bean hopper capacity for both grinders is a good 8 ounces, while the grounds bin will fit 5 ounces. Although the bins are made from transparent plastic, some customers reported having trouble knowing when it was full. This led to Baratza adding LED backlighting on the bin for the revamped Virtuoso Plus. While this might not seem like a big deal, overfilling can lead to coffee grounds being pushed back up the chute where they can clog the grinder. 

Winner: Virtuoso Plus. While the Encore’s controls are more straightforward, the extra features of the Virtuoso Plus make it more convenient on a day-to-day basis.

The Verdict

Our Baratza Encore vs Virtuoso rundown has shown that both grinders provide impressive build quality, capable of grinding coffee for a host of brewing methods and coffee drinkers. The Virtuoso Plus has some extra features that will improve both the taste of your coffee and the ease of use, but whether you think they’re worth the price increase is up to you. 

Use the Baratza Encore if:

  • You’re on a budget
  • You use manual brewing methods
  • This is your first grinder

Use the Baratza Virtuoso Plus if:

  • You need a more uniform grind
  • You want precision timing
  • You need faster grind speed

FAQs

You should clean your coffee grinder around once a week if you use it every day. You’ll also need to do a more intensive clean using grinder pellets every few weeks or at least once a month.

The Baratza Preciso has been discontinued by the company (4). The Preciso was considered a step up from the Virtuoso, with the ability for macro and micro grind adjustments. This feature is now offered on the Baratza Sette 270 coffee grinder (5).

You should not use rice to clean your grinder. Although this has become known as a popular cleaning tip, it is not recommended. Rice is harder than coffee and may cause undue stress on the motor, plus the loose starch from the rice may lead to your grinder clogging. Baratza also notes that they will not cover any damage caused by cleaning this way under warranty (6).

References
  1. Recalibration of a Conical Burr Grinder. Baratza. (2015, March 25). Retrieved from https://baratza.com/recalibration-of-a-conical-burr-grinder/.
  2. Grinding: Particle Size and Extraction. COFFEE IQ. (2019, May 6). Retrieved from https://www.coffeeiq.co/en/grinding-particle-size-and-extraction/.
  3. Scott Rao. (2018, December 28). Fines: Fine for Espresso, Not So Fine For Filter. Scott Rao. Retrieved from https://www.scottrao.com/blog/2017/8/27/fines-fine-for-espresso-not-so-fine-for-filter.
  4. Baratza Preciso Coffee Grinder. 1st in Coffee. (n.d.). Retrieved from https://www.1stincoffee.com/baratza-preciso.htm.
  5. Baratza Sette 270 Coffee Grinder. 1st in Coffee. (n.d.). Retrieved from https://www.1stincoffee.com/baratza-sette.htm.
  6. Rice, It’s Just Not a Good Idea (for cleaning!). Baratza. (2014, February 17). Retrieved from https://baratza.com/rice-its-just-not-a-good-idea-for-cleaning/.

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap